Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Cosy 17th Century Cottage, 4 Star Rating, 2 En-suite Bedrooms and 2 Car Parking

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 828 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Anne Cottage in Bakewell, Derbyshire, England - A Short Walk To The Town Centre And Easy Access To All The Places Of Interest

Anne Cottage which has a Visit Britain 4 Star rating is in Bakewell, famous for its Bakewell Pudding, which nestles on the banks of the River Wye and is a tourist attraction with its Monday market and old world charm. Unusually because it was once two cottages, there is a separate staircase to each en-suite bedroom, one of which has a king size bed and the other twin beds which affords our guests the extra privacy of separate suites. The cottage is about 800 yds up hill from the centre of town and so offers the visitor the opportunity to walk into town to sample the many pubs and restaurants or visit the Monday market where you might pick up a bargain. There is a great selection of shops selling antiques and gifts, walking gear and some fabulous food shops to tempt you into something delicious for dinner. Bakewell is also a great centre to access the beautiful countryside whether you wish to drive or walk, and attractions such as Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall and Alton Towers. We now also offer free Wi-Fi access with the log on details in the handbook.


Owner
Charles Kirkman
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
June 6, 2017

About Charles Kirkman

Christine and I live in Baslow just 4 miles from Bakewell and so are able to be on hand to look after our cottages and our guests if there are any problems. We have a local business which provides services all over the Peak District and so we love the area and know it well and are always pleased to give local information to help you make the most of your stay.

Charles Kirkman purchased this cottage in 2004

Why Charles Kirkman chose Derbyshire Dales

Christine and I moved to the area 19 years ago and set up a business providing services to local residents and businesses which has enabled us to become part of the community and also to come to know the area very well.

We love the beauty of the countryside but also the diversity in the villages, the local customs and festivals and of course the people who live here.

Bakewell is in the centre of the Peak District and is a real tourist attraction in its own right, but it also makes the surrounding area very accessible whether by car, on foot or by public transport.

What makes this cottage unique

Whilst on a hill the cottage is truly within easy walking distance of the town centre and other attractions. It is near the church and the Bakewell Museum for example. Parking in Bakewell is always an issue so we ensured each of our properties have designated parking, and at Anne Cottage there are places for two cars. For your convenience free Wi-Fi access is available.

Anne Cottage is rated 4 Stars by the Tourist Board and has the modern facilities you would expect but at the same time retaining many 17th century features and the charm of an old quaint cottage.

Amenities

Bakewell Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 828 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • River
  • Town
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Shower room 1 - toilet , shower
  • En-suite bathroom to bedroom 1 with bath/shower over, w/c and basin. En-suite shower room to bedroom 2 with w/c and basin.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 4 (2 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 with king-size bed, Bedroom 2 with twin beds.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: Dogs are welcome downstairs (Supplement payable) Wi-Fi is available free of charge. Outside: There is a very small enclosed yard to the rear but it is not suitable for dogs. Utility Room: Fridge freezer, microwave, washing machine/tumble drier and sink. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Towels and linen are included and the property is cleaned weekly or between lets.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

Cosy 17th Century Cottage, 4 Star Rating, 2 En-suite Bedrooms and 2 Car Parking
average rating of 4.6 based on 10 reviews
5

Lovely Cosy Cottage

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Anne Cottage. It was extremely clean and was well equipped with everything you would need. The weather wasn't brilliant over the Easter period, so it was so nice to come back to a warm cottage after a day out walking! The parking was a bonus, and it was good to be able to walk a short distance down the road, into the centre of Bakewell. I would not hesitate to recommend a stay here.

  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We love to hear that our guests have had a great time in our properties and have appreciated the features of the cottage as we try very hard to deliver on our promise of warm, comfortable, well appointed accommodation which should be a treat to stay in and feel like Home from Home. Our other two properties in Bakewell, Brew House and Butts Cottage deliver in the same way as Anne Cottage we believe with efficient heating, good quality fixtures and fittings, many of them new, parking and proximity to the centre of Bakewell and the surrounding Peak Park area.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent location, just a short walk into Bakewell and a good base for touring the area.

  • 5 of 5

This is an old cottage and as a result not really suitable for anyone with mobility problems ie steep stairs and unmarked steps. Lots of character and well equipped. Unusual split kitchen. We enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

  • Submitted: May 30, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are really pleased that Jeff and his party had a great time at Anne Cottage and enjoyed its character and location. As the cottage is over 300 years old and was originally 2 cottages knocked together it has some unusual features, not least of which is the two bedroom and bathrooms being served by individual stairs. We don't promote the cottage as being suitable for anyone with disabilities or mobility problems as those features which make it quirky and attractive, ironically also make it unsuitable for guests affected in that way.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Absolutely perfectly placed in Bakewell WITH parking for 2 cars directly outside, which is a must.

  • 4 of 5

Anne Cottage had everything we needed for a home from home vacation. Fully equipped kitchen and a welcoming fire made our stay so easy. The cottage is delightful and lent itself well to a cosy evening in after a day walking around The Peak District. We took special DVDs but forgot to take CDs for a boogie while we prepped supper. The cottage is on a minor, but busy road. Considering the location it's surprising how well used it is. However, DO NOT let this put you off. It's worth a mention and no more. Our stay was fabulous and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Submitted: May 13, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are delighted our guests appreciated all that Anne Cottage has to offer and have been so positive particularly about the parking which is quite rare in Bakewell and particularly in a situation within an easy walk of the town centre. Our other properties, Brew House and Butts Cottage share these features too.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Ann Cottage, Bakewell, March 2017 - Review

  • 4 of 5

A cracking little cottage in a central, yet quiet, location. The cottage was clean and had everything we needed for our stay. We were able to access countryside walks without having to drive, which was a huge plus. There was a frequent bus service (one of which went to Chatsworth House). Really nice relaxing stay. Only disappointment was that we were unable to book dinner at a highly recommended French restaurant. Book well in advance!

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're sorry that our guests missed out on Piedaniels Restaurant in Bakewell as it is well worth visiting, however we're delighted they enjoyed Anne Cottage and found it really convenient and well presented which we always seek to do. Our other properties offer the same advantages and quality, Brew House and Butts Cottage.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very clean and well equipped cottage

  • 5 of 5

Just back from a long weekend in this cottage. We found it very equipped, and there was nothing that hadn't been thought of. We arrived to find milk in the fridge, a fresh loaf in the bread bin, tea, coffee, dish wash tablets etc. It was spotlessly clean. We could not fault it and hope to return.

  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are delighted our guests loved Anne Cottage and it's great to get such good feedback. We have two other properties of the same standard, Brew House (8124269) and Butts Cottage (8119544) which are also in Bakewell and can be found on Owners Direct.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Nottingham
4

Comfortable and cosy

  • 4 of 5

A very comfortable cottage with everything one could need . We had a lovely winter break in Bakewell and the cottage was warm and welcoming.

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: When I met our guests they had nothing but praise for Anne Cottage and their comments bear that out so we are disappointed with their star rating but hope to see them again in the future nevertheless.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Manchester
Nearest Barpub
500 Metres
Rutland Hotel, Bakewell
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Bakewell
Nearest Train
12 Miles
Chesterfield
Nearest Motorway
16 Miles
M1 Junction 29
Nearest Restaurant
500 Metres
Pierdaniel's
Car: recommended

Special interest holidays:

If you are a cyclist we can help you with routes locally. There are numerous flat cycle routes such as the Monsal Trail and the Tissington Trail nearby which are old railway lines and are car free and where cycle hire is available and of course there are many hill tracks and trails where we can help.

Fly fishing is available on the Wye.

Travel:

We are about an hour from East Midlands and Manchester Airports. Local bus routes can be used if you want to avoid a car and the nearest train stations are Grindleford or Chesterfield.

Distances:

Chatsworth House 2 miles

Haddon Hall 1 mile

Alton Towers 29 miles

Photos

Rates & Availability

Bakewell Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
L' Eroica
Jun 16 2017 - Jun 18 2017
3 night minimum stay
$666
Flat fee
 
 
June
Jun 19 2017 - Jul 20 2017
3 night minimum stay
$207
$744
 
 
Summer
Jul 21 2017 - Aug 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$201
$770
 
 
Autumn
Sep 1 2017 - Oct 19 2017
3 night minimum stay
$175
$705
 
 
Oct Half-Term
Oct 20 2017 - Oct 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
$207
$828
 
 
November
Oct 27 2017 - Nov 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$140
$530
 
 
December
Dec 1 2017 - Dec 20 2017
3 night minimum stay
$136
$511
 
 
Christmas
Dec 21 2017 - Dec 27 2017
7 night minimum stay
$970
Flat fee
 
 
New Year
Dec 28 2017 - Jan 1 2018
5 night minimum stay
$809
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$194
$841
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $45.28

Booking Notes:
We have a Booking Form with our Terms and Conditions which we ask you to complete and return.


Changeover Day:
Weekly bookings: Friday or Monday
Short Breaks: either Friday or Monday

Notes on prices:
Our changeover days are Friday and Monday
Short Breaks are Friday to Monday or Monday to Friday and are normally charged at 75% of the weekly rate but please phone for a quotation as it may be less.
We charge a supplement per dog of £5.00 per night
Wi-Fi is available free of charge

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties