About the property
- Half Baths0
- Minimum Stay1 - 7 nights
Nestled in the picturesque Camel Valley in North Cornwall, Cobnuts Cottage is the ideal country retreat for couples. Enjoy woodland walks on our 42 acre estate and direct access to the Camel Trail; a peaceful and idyllic location on the River Camel.
The rate advertised is per night for a 7 night minimum. 1-3 nights are charged at 80% of the weekly rate, 4 nights at 90% and 5-7 nights at 100%.
Cobnuts Cottage is a delightful and quaint stable conversion full of character. Cobnuts is an open plan layout with french doors opening into your fully-enclosed private garden and decking area with stunning views over the Camel Valley Vineyards.
Cobnuts has a comfortable king-size bed, dressing room and lounge area with TV and log burner. The log burner and log store are at your disposal for a cosy and comfortable stay. There is a TV/DVD & iPod dock with DAB radio. There is also a BBQ for warmer evenings.
There is a 3-night minimum during off-peak times and a Our peak weeks are a 7 night minimum from Saturday to Saturday - unless weeks are unsold then we will open them up for shorter stays. Otherwise 1-3 nights are charged at 80% of the weekly rate, 4 nights at 90% and 5-7 nights at 100%. Prices shown are per night based on a 7-night stay.
Please ask in advance if you need a travel cot (no linen) or high-chair.
Cobnuts Cottage is one of 4 holiday cottages on the Butterwell Farm Estate. With 40 acres to explore it remains private, quiet and peaceful for our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you at Cobnuts Cottage and telling you more about the local area! We provide a welcome information pack and we're also more than happy to advise you about eating out, beaches, walks and other local attractions.
We are located in Nanstallon village - a quaint Cornish village situated half way between Bodmin and Wadebridge on the Camel Trail, just 20 minutes from the coast. Our nearest pub is 1.5 miles away or a 30minute walk along the Camel Trail. We are located opposite the Camel Valley Vineyards which hosts a fantastic wine tour and tasting once a week.
We are ideally located in Central Cornwall and the perfect base for exploring the whole of Cornwall with a host of nearby sandy beaches such as Polzeath, Constantine Bay, Newquay, Mawgan Porth, Rock, Harlyn, and Trevone. Or follow the Coastal Path and visit beautiful small villages like Tintagel, Port Isaac and Boscastle. Other nearby attractions include the Eden Project (9 miles), Bodmin and Wenford Steam Railway (2 miles) and the Jamaica Inn. Nearby Bodmin Moor also offers a walkers paradise with its rugged beauty.
Our nearest train station is Bodmin Parkway (7 miles) which has direct link to London Paddington (4hrs).
We have a unique location at Butterwell Farm with our own private stretch of the River Camel - one of the UK's top salmon and trout rivers. Contact us in advance for details about how you can reserve to fish our river.
No smoking, No parties or events, Check-in is after 3PM
Well-behaved dogs are welcome, however they should be kept on a lead when outside of the enclosed garden. Please clean up after them and make sure their bags go inside a bin liner in your outside bins. No dogs in the river please. Please do not leave your dogs in the property unattended at any time and they are not allowed in the bedrooms. Maximum of 2 dogs at £20 per dog for the duration of your stay.
The river is reserved for fishermen only - please stick to the higher path away from the river. Dogs and guests are not permitted to play in the river or throw sticks or stones as this will cause disturbance to the fish.
We provide linen but not towels.
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within one hour
- Calendar last updated:
- May 4, 2018
Sports & Adventure Activities
Check-in: 3:30 PM
Check-out: 10:00 AM
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.
Cobnuts was a beautiful property in a lovely quiet location.
The owner was very friendly and the property was beautiful, there were a couple of tiny things, just attentions to detail really. There was no internet!! Connected to WiFi fine but nothing. The property was VERY cold on arrival, thank god for the log burner. No towels!! I should have paid more attention to “what’s included” but every other cottage I’ve ever stayed in provided towels. Very slippy rugs by the bed, slipped every time we stood on them, someone will get hurt! we ended up taking them up. And I know it’s petty but the cheapest loo rolls ever, you pay good money to stay in a place like this, you kinda expect half decent loo rolls. As I said silly little details really, and nothing that impacted our stay, just sometimes you remember the petty things. Overall beautiful, peaceful and tranquil, just what we were looking for for the weekend.
Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed the tranquil setting of Cobnuts at Butterwell Farm.
We are so sorry there were a few things you didn't find up to standard, and it's disappointing you didn't bring these to our attention sooner as we live on site we could have rectified them immediately.
To reassure our future guests the WIFI only needed re-booting which we could have done remotely.
I'm sorry it felt cold. The log burner is fantastic and will heat the place very well and we provide an unlimited supply of logs. There are efficient electric heaters in the property which guests are welcome to use as little or as much as they like. In future we will make sure to turn them both on in advance of an arrival rather than relying on guests to do it once they have arrived.
We are sorry to hear the rugs were slippery - we had some non-slip under-rug material at the house which we could have fitted very quickly and immediately, and of course we have done so in retrospect.
It is true we do not provide towels as noted in our property description. We do however have a large stock of towels at the house should guests forget to bring them so we could have run some over immediately.
I do think toilet roll might be down to personal preference as we use the same toilet roll in our house and are very comfortable with it. It's not Andrex softest but it is recycled paper as we are extremely environmentally conscientious throughout our business and home life. Our property isn't an "eco home" but we do everything we can to minimise the impact on the environment whilst providing a comfortable 4* experience for our guests.
Again we offer you our sincerest apologies these things weren't rectified whilst you were here and we are relieved it didn't impact the overall enjoyment of your stay.
With best wishes,
Rachel and Sam