Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

150 yds to ocean. Tropical retreat $169/night includes kayak

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,452 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Romantic retreat near ocean, 2bd/2ba sleeps 4, 150 yards to the beach

Kona Dreams is a private retreat in Captain Cook, 35 miles south of Kona Airport. An easy drive on highways 19 & 11 along the dramatic coastline takes you past Kailua-Kona, to history rich Keauhou, Kealakekua, Captain Cook, and Honaunau, through the Big Island’s fertile agricultural region, where coffee grows alongside macadamia, cacao, vanilla beans, avocado, and an endless feast of tree ripened fruit.

A clearly marked turn takes you from an elevation of 1,100 ft through the quiet Kona Paradise community, right down to sea level and the ocean.

Park your car and walk for less than 60 seconds to the ocean. Look for turtles or even a monk seal resting on the beautiful black lava pebble beach.

This home was designed to capture every breeze. The interior is decorated with artwork the owners collect during their travels around the Pacific Rim. A spacious living area is equipped with a flat screen TV, media player, guidebooks, and leisure reading. Comfortable furniture invites you to relax under the cathedral ceiling supported by solid ohia logs.

The airy master bedroom features a king size bed made of local ohia wood and has a separate walk-in closet, master bath, and a private lanai. The guest bedroom has a full bath and a lanai of its own. The kitchen is equipped with everything to make enjoyable meals from scratch. While you enjoy sitting on the shaded lanai, watch the tropical sunset or look for breaching whales.

You may do laundry onsite, beach towels are provided. Wifi, high-speed broadband, and free telephone calls to the mainland US and Canada keep you wired and connected.

The house sits on a lovingly landscaped lot with flowering orchids, plumeria trees, coconut palms. Feel free to pick luscious mangos and limes in season.

The bay beyond the beach is well known for scenic snorkeling and excellent scuba diving. In the garage you will find snorkel gear, water toys, beach furniture, umbrella and cooler to enjoy during your visit. Or take the kayak out for a paddle and look for dolphins swimming in the bay.

Detailed information about these and many other activities are available to guests, just ask.

The owner's apartment, downstairs next to garage, is entirely separate from the rental unit upstairs. It is rarely used.

The excellent Kona Community Hospital is 18 miles north on Highway 11.

Keywords: romantic getaway, couples retreat, honeymoon, quiet, serene, peaceful, romantic, beach house, beach, ocean, ocean view, Hawai'i vacation rental, Hawai'i accommodations, Big Island, leeward, sunset view, whales, dolphins, smoke free, non smoking, Kona Paradise, Kona Dreams, Kona coast, South Kona, Captain Cook, Pebble Beach, Kealia, Kaohe Bay, adventure travel, Merrie Monarch, Kona Coffee Cultural Festival, Ironman, Hawai'i Volcanoes National Park

Hawaii Tax ID GE-096-897-6384-01

This property is managed by Waikoloa Hawaii Vacations, LLC.

   

More Details

Owner
Heidi Bogert
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
April 17, 2017

About Heidi Bogert

We have travelled extensively around the world. The Big Island is our favorite place on earth. Kona Dreams is our refuge.

Heidi Bogert purchased this house in 2013

Why Heidi Bogert chose Kona Coast

This oceanside home is our dream home come true. We love the airy rooms, the peace and quiet, the sounds of the ocean, the sunshine and the breeze, and the stars overhead at night.

What makes this house unique

1 minute walk to beach. Spacious modern home. Hear and see the ocean from every room. Convenient to outdoor activities and shopping.

Guestbook comments from the owner

To the owner

We enjoyed your home very much. The architecture, the furniture, the decorations and the surroundings.

Aloha,

Monique, Robert and Simon (Montreal, Canada)
Jan 2015
  • 1 of 3

Amenities

Opihihale House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1452 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , Attached to master bedroom
    Guest bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , also accessible from outside for easy beach clean up
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Separate bath, large closet, private lanai w/shaded seating
    Master suite - 1 king , Custom o'hia bed, bath, walk-in closet, shady private lanai
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(40 traveler reviews)

150 yds to ocean. Tropical retreat $169/night includes kayak
average rating of 4.7 based on 43 reviews
1

Wow

  • 1 of 5

Well the house was fine, but quite far from Captain Cook's Bay.

The management of this property is horrific. I have never been treated so rudely and unprofessional in my 60 years. You see I left my swimsuit and booties at the property. I called Heidi the day after we departed. She said she would ask the maid and send back to me in the mail. And she would charge my credit card for cost of mailing. No problem. I assumed she would call me back to confirm that they were found. Two days passed with no word so I left her a voice mail. Another two passed and no word I left another VM. Another day passed and no word and I left another VM to please just let me know and I was thinking of putting this experience in this review.

Wow she calls be back saying I left things in the kitchen and I purposely did not flush a toilet. She had been sick (delayed response) and she would never rent to me again. And she was now going to charge me $25 to mail my belongings. Well I did leave a couple of things in the kitchen, but I paid a tidy cleaning deposit. We followed the directions on clean up very close. Leaving a toilet unflushed was a blatantly rude, crass, and uncalled for statement. She made it out as if we were human pigs. I must admit I have forgotten to flush a toilet in my life, but never intentionally.

It has been 12 days and no returned belongings

I would not recommend staying at this property due to the Property Management.

  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We did receive a call letting us know he left his swimsuit and booties. I immediately called cleaning team as they were cleaning the house the next day and confirmed they found items. The cleaners were upset about how bad the house was left (1 hour cleaning stovetop) and toilet not flushed. We are 1 1/2 hours apart geographically so arrangements to meet were delayed due to my contagious flu. We did mail items and they were received. We humbly apologize for any inconvenience.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

Lovely comfortable home

  • 5 of 5

Came to south Kona for a wedding and this home was in the perfect location, we could walk to the beach and ceremony - and were only minutes from many activities.

The house was appointed with everything we could need - and even stocked with extras we didn't expect. Kitchen had all the basics, and even though we brought all our own toiletries - the host had extras on hand. The beach supplies in the garage came in super handy - mats and umbrella, as well as thick plush beach towels. Kitchen has all the needed supplies and I was pleased to even find a pizza cutter and pan. The house was very clean.

Location was close to several beaches beyond Pebble Beach that we explored. A very relaxing and comfortable time in south Kona - thank you so much!

  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very nice house.

  • 4 of 5

View not so great, trees blocking the view of the ocean. The bedrooms and bathrooms at opposite ends of the house were great for privacy. The carpet was really dirty with stains. Nice size house with two lanais for sitting out. Big kitchen with nice appliances and fairly well equipped. House was very clean when we arrived.

  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Marilyn, I am glad you enjoyed our beautiful home. I agree with you about the obstructed view - the palms will be pruned in early February. The carpeting is scheduled to be replaced after our peak season ends. We hope you plan to return and enjoy these improvements. Thank you, Quentin
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Quiet house

  • 3 of 5

Nice clean house with all mod cons.the beach you cannot swim at.the nearest beach is also not 5 mins away. I wish they had better pot and pans( no Teflon) better knives ,made chopping anything difficult.up date the swimming toys.more warmer blankets and more than one toilet roll.

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Lisa, I regret you were unable to enjoy some of the amenities during your stay at Kona Dreams. In Hawai'i, ocean conditions vary with the tide, the weather, and the season. Next time you visit, the water may be smooth as glass and full of beachgoers swimming, snorkeling, and kayaking. In addition to the beach in front of the house, there is indeed a second beach a 5 minute walk down our street, just to the south past two ocean side homes. New masks and snorkels, swim noodles, and even a new fishing pole are in the garage for guests to enjoy. Sharp knives are in the knife block on the kitchen counter. Because preferences vary, there is a set of heavy stainless steel pans in one drawer, and a set of teflon pans in the drawer below. Extra blankets are in each closet. I am sorry you did not call the property manager with your concerns, she would have gladly helped you find everything you needed for a 5 star stay. Mahalo, Heidi and Quentin.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

We loved our stay!

  • 4 of 5

We loved staying at this VRBO. The area is super scenic and gorgeous. It is only a quick walk to the beach. The owners provide all the standard beach comforts (chairs, umbrella, towels, snorkeling gear, etc.). The location is fairly remote, so make sure you stop for groceries in Kona. I loved waking up the the birds chirping and seeing the little geckos as we ate breakfast. The TV and internet worked without any problems. I would definitely return--very nice!

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Seattle, Washington
4

Renters

  • 4 of 5

We have had a very relaxing time here. Lots of whale watching and hiking. A bit far to do errands and eat out but nice to be away from the busyness of Kona. House was great, no,problems at all.

  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Kona airport
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Hwy 11
Nearest Restaurant
9 Miles
Poke Shack
Nearest Beach
100 Metres
Pebble Beach
Car: necessary

Ho'okena Beach Park is minutes away. Nearby Pu'uhonoa O Honaunau (Place of Refuge) NHP illuminates Hawai'i before the arrival of Europeans. Spend a leisurely day visiting Kealakekua Bay and the charming St. Benedict's Painted Church. Drive 30 miles to the southern most point in the US. Volcanoes NP, a 90 minute drive, is open 24 hours a day and especially dramatic in the evening. Stores, farm stands, farmers markets, and numerous coffee plantations are nearby, as are a number of good restaurants serving fresh and local food.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Opihihale House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Standard Rate 2017
Jan 6 2017 - Jun 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$169
 
 
4th of July 2017
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 6 2017
5 night minimum stay
$169
 
 
Standard Rate 2017
Jul 7 2017 - Oct 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$169
 
 
Ironman 2017
Oct 2 2017 - Oct 15 2017
5 night minimum stay
$169
 
 
Standard Rate 2017
Oct 16 2017 - Dec 19 2017
3 night minimum stay
$169
 
 
Holiday Rate 2017
Dec 20 2017 - Jan 5 2018
7 night minimum stay
$169
 
 
Standard Rate 2018
Jan 6 2018 - Jun 30 2018
3 night minimum stay
$169
 
 
4th of July 2018
Jul 1 2018 - Jul 7 2018
7 night minimum stay
$199
 
 
Standard Rate 2018
Jul 8 2018 - Oct 1 2018
3 night minimum stay
$169
 
 
Ironman 2018
Oct 2 2018 - Oct 15 2018
7 night minimum stay
$199
 
 
Standard Rate 2018
Oct 16 2018 - Dec 19 2018
3 night minimum stay
$169
 
 
Holiday 2018
Dec 20 2018 - Jan 5 2019
7 night minimum stay
$199
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$169
 

Additional information about rental rates

Damage insurance policy $39
Cleaning Fee $208.33
Tax Rate 13.42%

Rates quoted are for two guests; additional fees apply to more guests. Please inquire and we will respond promptly!

A $500 Refundable Security Deposit may be collected in place of the $39.00 Damage Insurance Policy.
Cancellation Policy:
100% if cancelled 90 days prior to the Check-in Date less a cancellation fee of $100.
50% if cancelled 60 days prior to the Check-in Date
0% if cancelled 30 days prior to the Check-in Date
In the event of a debilitating illness or injury preventing Guest from arriving on the Check-In Date, with the proper documentation from a licensed physician, Owner will consider a replacement visit.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers