Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Now taking bookings for 2017

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Chalet in Caswell, Swansea, Gower Peninsula, Wales - short walk from sandy beach and stunning coastal walks

SHORT BREAKS AVAILABLE OUT OF PEAK SEASON FROM £50 per night subject to a minimum of 3 nights. (Duvets included - bring your own sheets/towels/ etc.) . Please check our calendar for availability.

Beachcombers rest provides self catering accommodation situated on a select and peaceful site within walking distance of Caswell Bay. It is the perfect accommodation for those looking for a quiet but central base to suit all tastes with wonderful sands and safe surfing in the bay itself. The scenic delights of mumbles and the Gower Peninsular are within easy reach. With little mobile phone signal you won't be disturbed! We also welcome well behaved dogs but unfortunately do not accept bookings from all male / female groups as this site and the local beach is family orientated. The popular seaside resort of Mumbles is a short distance away as is the city of Swansea. For full details please visit our website.

Please note there is no phone line and mobile phone coverage is sparse - Vodavone gets better reception than O2.

Dogs are not allowed on the nearest beach April-September (inc) but there are several local walk and not too distant beaches on which they are allowed.

Wi-fi all inclusive. The Wi-Fi is provided site wide and at peak times streaming video will be frustrating! Perfect though for general internet browsing and e-mails

Electricity is via a £1-£2 coin meter but shouldn't come to more than £15-£20 a week unless heating is left on for long periods

Our change over day during peak periods is a Friday. Out of season there is no set change over day.

Guests can arrive any time after 6.00pm on their arrival date and must vacate by 2pm on departure day. This we hope will enable guests to enjoy a full weekend in Swansea if they wish and to pack a little more leisurely when leaving!

More Details

Owner
Mark Sheehan
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
April 27, 2017

About Mark Sheehan

We spent many happy weekends at Beachcombers Rest with the children during school holidays and summer weekends. However the children have now flown the nest and living in Swansea ourselves found the chalet was underused which given it's location was a real shame.

This is now our third year of letting and we use the income generated to maintain the chalet and make improvements year on year.

We hope that those who chose to stay will go home with similar happy memories to those that we have.

If you have any questions about the chalet or the area please do not hesitate to contact us.

Mark & Caroline

Mark Sheehan purchased this chalet in 2002

Why Mark Sheehan chose Wales

Caswell Bay is is such a beautiful bay with a sandy beach and lots of small rock pools. Children love it and those who want a more secluded spot can walk around the bay and find a quiet spot to sun bathe and read.

Guestbook comments from the owner

'Beechcombers Rest is a smartly presented chalet with everything you would need for a week away. We took the kids and found it very clean and comfortable with space to cook and eat. You are situated about 150 metres from Caswell Bay beach, which was fantastic, with the good quality Cafe for light lunch's and coffee and shop for ice creams and beach toys and alike. Jumping in the car we visited the beaches at Oxwich ( great for rock pools, sand dunes and dogs ) and Rhossilli, which really is as good as the photos & reviews, just amazing. The Mumbles is a short distance from the chalet and is obviously an affluent area and possibly a bit more sophisticated than Swansea. There are some nice boutique shops and places to eat, along with Verdi's ice cream parlour. The communication from the owners, Mark & Caroline, was excellent and we had a very enjoyable experience. I would thoroughly recommend this property to friends and relatives. 5 Stars.'
Nov 2012
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Newton Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Rural
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 4 (2 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: One bedroom with a double bed and one bedroom with 2 single beds. Both bedrooms have a cupboard, hanging rails for clothes and shelf for storage.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: Beachcombers Rest provides self catering accommodation for 4 people a five minute walk from Caswell Bay. Caswell Bay is a sandy bay ideally suited for children and adults alike. There are waves to surf on, rock pools to explore and a seasonal life guard. It’s a wonderful site for a beach picnic/barbecue or if you prefer there is a café and other refreshment kiosks on site. There is also a toilet block close to the beach. The quaint seaside town of Mumbles is a 10 minute drive away or for the more energetic by walking along the coastal path. For those who wish to walk and explore, the 19 mile long Gower Peninsular was Britain’s first designated area of Outstanding Natural Beauty famous for its beautiful coastline, beaches, sheltered woodlands and rolling grasslands, much of which is owned by the National Trust . This has to be a "must" in your holiday itinerary with many fabulous beaches to explore and all within very easy driving distance. The city of Swansea is 20 minutes away by car. Outside: Outside there is a large grassed area where you can relax and children can play in full view of the lounge. The area directly outside belongs to the chalet but in practice the whole of the grassed area is shared by all the chalets enabling children to play ball games . Cleaning / Towels / Linen Duvets & pillows provided. Bring your own sheets, towels etc. Cleaning deposit of £40 added to cost of chalet, refunded if chalet is left as you find it, on time and recycling done using bags provided.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(39 traveler reviews)

Now taking bookings for 2017
average rating of 4.769231 based on 40 reviews
5

Great location, very clean and well-equipped chalet

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I arrived on a sunny day and were delighted to find a chocolate cake and milk in the fridge to welcome us.The chalet is obviously cared for by the owners and it felt very clean and new-we loved the fabulous glittery tiles in the bathroom!We had bought a book of walks ready for our stay but we needn't have bought it as the information in the chalet was so helpful and all organised in such a way to make it easy for guests to access. We had beautiful weather for our entire stay , but there were several types of heater to use when needed.We ate at the chalet each evening after a long walk and we had everything we needed for cooking.It was great to be just a couple of minutes walk from the glorious beach at Caswell Bay to walk off our meal.Walked the path to Langland before returning home to Hertfordshire -worth going just to visit the waterfront Italian coffee lounge/restaurant . This is the place to go to if you just want to walk or go to the beach and are in need of a quiet break where the pace of life is not frantic!

Lots of walking done,stunning scenery , dramatic unspoiled coastline- now feeling refreshed and we hope to return next year.

  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: That's a glowing review, thank you very much! We can't take any credit weather for the weather and location but always strive to provide a comfortable base for our guests. Since your stay we have replaced the fridge with s new one as the door on the old one was not closing properly. We've also established that the meter takes the new pound coins as we'll as well as the old ones for future guests. Hope to see you next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Every thing you want was left for you in this cute little chalet. Clean tidy and with nice extras

  • 5 of 5

Would recommend and would stay again

  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We would love to have you again so please do come back. Update on a previous comment. We have now installed a new fridge as the door wasn't closing firmly on the old one, also have some large mugs for hot chocolate!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Clean, Cosy and Welcoming Chalet

  • 4 of 5

This Chalet is so cosy and ideal for Mum and Dad and 2 kids.

In the smaller bedroom, the single bed has a pullout bed that pops out from underneath.

There is all the information you will need here, what with the helpful folder on what to do and the information leaflets next to the front door.

We really appreciated the owner leaving us a lovely welcome Cake and Milk for a nice cuppa when we arrived.

The Chalet park is literally the nearest accommodation to Caswell Bay beach, being approx 200m walk, taking 2-3 mins !

The coastal cliff top walk along the cliffs from Caswell to Langland was recently completed and was terrific with a much needed late lunch and drinks at the Italian bistro terrace overlooking Langland Beach. Very nice !

I would recommend this Chalet to anyone visiting the Gower.

We would definitely book this Chalet again.

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Really glad you had a good time, the walk through to Langland is a lovely walk and time permitting can carry all the way around the coast to Mumbles. Please note that the pullout bed does include a proper mattress so is as comfrortable as the other bed in the room.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Super cozy and welcoming 👌👌

  • 5 of 5

Was very comfortable...five minutes walk to caswell bay, loads of surprises for kids in chalet, nice and clean, good value for money. Overall we loved it.

Awesome experience.

Thanks 😊

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay and bought such wonderful weather with you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Somerset
5

Cute, clean, comfortable, ideal location.

  • 5 of 5

Mark and Caroline contacted us prior to our visit with clear directions on how to reach the cabin which was very helpful. On arrival the cabin was very clean and well laid out, with welcome milk and chocolate cake. When we made up the bed we also found treats under the pillows!

A fully equipped kitchen, comfy beds, hot shower and quiet location made for a well earned rest. I particularly liked the local leaflets and maps in the display shelving very welcome.

The walk to Caswell Bay was short enough to carry a mug of tea with you, (even though there are cafes on the beach)

The cabin sits next to a wonderful nature reserve as well as the beach. My dog Pirate loved the cabin and the walks- although in season dogs can not go onto the beach.

I would highly recommend this cabin to a small family, one issue was I needed a bigger mug please! Mark has confirmed he will be getting a couple of big mugs to go with the hot chocolate which was supplied.

Brilliant place very quiet and relaxing.

Be prepared to learn alot about the local recycling system!

We will be back.

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad all of you, including Pirate, enjoyed your stay and the surrounding area - not quite found the perfect mugs yet but looking in earnest and will be in place if you can come back which we hope you will!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Clean and perfect for a summer break.

  • 3 of 5

We can't fault the property - it was exactly what the information said it was. Unfortunately, it's not ideal for a break in early March so not a criticism of the owners or the spotlessly clean chalet.

it was wet and windy and cold and we had to make use of the electric heaters that absolutely ran away with our pound coins to keep warm, so that took the edge of our enjoyment.

The location was perfect and our little Jack Russell adored the sands on Caswell Bay, so that definitively put a smile on our faces.

Because we were not warm and comfortable and the weather forecast was bleak, we left early.

We would like to thank the owners for the lovely fudge cake and excellent information and instructions. One negative was that there was no suction on the vacuum cleaner so we couldn't leave the chalet as we would have liked.

  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry that your stay at Beachcombers Rest was tempered by the inclement weather, it was a particulary cold and wild weekend! We fully understand that during cold snaps there will be a need to run the electric heaters that will put up the costs but the rental charges over the "colder" periods is significantly less and we hope will counter this cost. As an indication I spent a week in February decorating the chalet and fed £30 into the meter on the Monday amd this lasted the whole week working 9:00 - 5:00. The chalet will heat up quickly so we do not suggest running the heating while you are out or during the night when you are tucked up in bed.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Coast/Beach:

Caswell Bay is a five minute walk away and is ideal for swimming and surfing. There are also secluded areas for those who want to relax. There are refreshment kiosks, toilets, showers and a life guard on duty during the summer months. Note that dogs are not allowed on this beach from April- September inclusive. There are other beaches in driving distance that will allow dogs.

Travel:

A car is essential if you wish to sight see the surrounding area. There is a regular bus service into Swansea a 5 minute walk away. There are rail and bus stations and the city is only a ten minute drive from the M4. Cardiff is approx 45 minutes away and London approx 4 hours by car.

Distances:

The quaint seaside town of Mumbles is a 10 minute drive away or for the more energetic by walking along the coastal path from Caswell Bay. There is an intermittent bus from the Bay to Mumbles and Swansea. Mumbles has a wonderful selection of specialist shops. There are 2 supermarkets in the town along with a Post Office.

Swansea is 20 minutes away by car and is a thriving city hosting many big high street names as well as independent boutiques, specialist shops and traditional arcades.

Further Details:

The Liberty Stadium hosts premiership football with Swansea City and Magners League Rugby with the Ospreys.

If Swansea isn’t big enough for you! Then Cardiff the capital of Wales is within easy striking distance and can be reached by road or rail. The city boasts the magnificent Millennium Stadium and the Millennium Centre both of which also host major concerts and sporting events throughout the year. St Davids shopping centre is one of the top 5 shopping destinations in the UK.

Waterpark Swansea’s premier indoor water park featuring an exciting network of pools, rides and slides.

Swimming at Wales National Pool

National Waterfront Museum telling the story of industry and innovation in Wales, now and over the last 300 years.

Swansea Museum (Free admission)

Plantasia From insects, reptiles, fish and monkeys to bananas, pineapple plants, prickly cacti and giant bamboo - Plantasia has it all, and is perfect for that unique family day out, no matter what the weather!

The Egypt Centre based at Swansea University displays a wide range of Egyptian antiquities suitable for young and old alike. (Free admission)

Techniquest Where can you launch a hot air balloon, blast a rocket, create an electrical circuit and watch a colony of ants at work all in one day? Techniquest - the hands-on science centre in Cardiff Bay.

The Vue Cinema in Swansea has 12 different screens with up to date projection and audio visual technology.

The Grand Theatre in Swansea hosts a variety of shows and exhibitions throughout the year.

Swansea is a great place to shop and hosts many big high street names as well as independent boutiques, specialist shops and traditional arcades.

Travel further afield to St David’s in Cardiff which is the leading shopping and leisure destination for Wales. Swansea . Mid-way between Swansea and Cardiff you’ll find the Bridgend Designer Outlet Shopping Mall with over 90 Designer Stores and a multiplex cinema.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Newton Chalet Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Easter - Summer Half Term
Apr 21 2017 - May 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
$65
$291
 
 
6th - 11th May
May 6 2017 - May 10 2017
5 night minimum stay
$39
$194
 
 
Summer Half Term
May 26 2017 - Jun 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$97
$323
 
 
June Fill In
Jun 3 2017 - Jun 6 2017
4 night minimum stay
$45
 
 
June Fill In
Jun 14 2017 - Jun 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
$39
 
 
Summer HT - Summer
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 5 2017
5 night minimum stay
$52
$291
 
 
Summer Hols
Jul 14 2017 - Aug 31 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
$595
 
 
Late Summer
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
$84
$388
 
 
end of season
Sep 29 2017 - Oct 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$65
$213
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$65
 

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable damage deposit $51.74

Booking Notes:

Please contact us for confirmation that the dates you require are available. You can pay either by BACS transfer, Cheque or directly from the Owners Direct website. We will require the full amount + £40 cleaning deposit within 7 days. If you require the laundry service ( sheets, pillow cases, duvet covers, t-towels and bath towels) you will need to state this on your booking form and is payable at the end of your holiday. Cleaning deposit refunded if chalet is left as you found it.

Changeover Day:
From September 2015 our change over day will move to a Friday. Guests can arrive any time after 6.00 pm and must vacate by 2 pm on the following Friday. This we hope will enable guests to enjoy a full weekend in Swansea if they wish and to pack a little more leisurely when leaving!. It will also give us more flexibility for offering weekend breaks which include a Friday out of season. The details for key collection are provided prior to your holiday.

Notes on prices:
A £25 cleaning deposit is required in addition to the published price - this is refunded if the chalet is left "as you found it", departure on time and recycling undertaken using the bags provided.

Duvets and pillow cases provided - sheets, duvet covers, towels and t towels can be provided for £25 payable at end of holiday.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send Email Send Email
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties