Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Spacious, attractive accommodation with south facing garden

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Walks straight from the front door. Ideal for families, groups and couples!

Butley is a small village lying between Woodbridge and Orford. The house, which sits in a secluded south facing garden, is in two parts; an old cottage built in 1778 and a more recent extension built in 1990. The house is ideal for a family or equally a couple or two. There are walks and cycle paths straight from the front door, an extensive array of historic sites, nature reserves, golf courses, sailing and riding clubs, beaches, pubs and restaurants to visit as well as world renowned music and dance at Snape. There is something for everyone. Wifi now available. Ideal for working remotely, calm and relaxing. The Oyster Inn has recently re-opened, so there is now a lovely pub with good food, within a few minutes walk of the house. A village shop and micro brewery are coming soon!


Owner
Miranda Gomperts
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, french
Calendar last updated:
August 7, 2017

About Miranda Gomperts

I am a working mother of two. My children love walking and exploring. Our cottage provides a home away from home, perfect to get away from the stresses and strains of work and school. It provides us with a place to spend quality time together and unwind. We hope you will enjoy it as much as we do.

Miranda Gomperts purchased this house in 1998

Why Miranda Gomperts chose Suffolk

My grandmother used to take my sister and I and various friends and partners away to Suffolk. After she died we continued the tradition ...

What makes this house unique

Wonderfully quiet and dark nights (when there is no moon). Fabulous night skies. Exceptional pubs, bakery and fresh fish at Orford. A Norman castle. Sutton Hoo. Walks and cycling straight from the door. Music at Aldeburgh. Birds on the estuaries and at RSPB Minsmere. Wild snowdrops, blue bells and daffs at Butley woods. Tide Mill and golf course at Woodbridge.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We have spent amazing days here. Beautiful scenery, so peaceful. I guess we might be the first Koreans who stay in this cottage ever! We have only good memories about this cottage.The Oyster is the best pub in the world! Great staff, great food, amazing atmosphere!
Apr 2017
  • 1 of 11

Amenities

Woodbridge House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • River
  • Rural
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Shower room 1 - shower
  • En-suite bathroom to bedroom 1 with bath/shower over and wc. Family shower room with wc and shower cubicle.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 6 (3 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 with queen sized double bed. Bedroom 2 with twin beds. Bedroom 3 with twin/link beds.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • forests
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: Please, no pets or smoking in or around the property. Outside: Secluded south facing garden, garden furniture and barbecue supplied. The garden has a small pond. Other: Large sitting room with fire place, piano hifi and TV.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

58% Complete
33% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Spacious, attractive accommodation with south facing garden
average rating of 4.5 based on 23 reviews
Hempstead gillingham
3

Well equipped cottage but in need of some TLC.

  • 3 of 5

Very roomy cottage, but seriously in need of some attention. The ensuite bathroom basin tap needs replacing as it had a serious fast leak and you could not stop it. It was obvious from the calcium build up around the spout that it had been leaking for some time.

The bath had a shower hand set as part of the tap but you could not use it as it sprayed out in all directions and would have soaked the floor as there was no screen or curtain.

The bathroom smelt as if it had just had a fresh coat of paint on the bath wall, but this was probably done to give the impression that it was OK. It really needs replacing.

The beds were comfy, but one of the top pillows had what looked like two small grease stains on them which was not very nice.

Downstairs the TV did not work at all. It kept giving out no channels available despite my sons best effort to make it work. However the DVD worked fine so we were able to watch some old classics that had been provided.

The kitchen was well equipped but again was probably last fitted out in the 70s.

Overall though we enjoyed our stay and used this cottage as a base to explore beautiful Suffolk.

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your detailed feed back. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay but obviously concerned that there were things that you felt were not up to scratch! The water is terribly hard in the area and this does cause problems. We have replaced the washer in the leaking tap in the ensuite, and will be replacing both hot and cold taps in that bathroom shortly. The shower head has also just been replaced. I am sorry you could not get the TV to work. We do not have a satellite dish so you would not have got extra terrestrial channels to work. Standard terrestrial channels are available and there is an HDMI cable if you wish to plug in a computer. We have now added some extra instructions on how to operate the TV. As you noticed there is a big selection of DVDs and there are also lots of books for all ages as well as games and puzzles. So if the weather is bad there is lots of entertainment to be found at the house. Our kitchen was indeed installed some years ago but it all works well, and we have good quality utensils, pots and pans, oven and table ware. We also try to ensure that there is always a supply of olive oil, salt and pepper, herbs, dish washer tablets and other items - something we find useful when we stay away from home! Thank you again for getting back to us. We hope you enjoy the rest of the summer!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The house is really delightful, very comfortable with modern facilities but also full of character.

  • 5 of 5

Six of us stayed at the house for a long weekend. This was our second visit. The extension with a large comfortable lounge and the additional open staircase to the ensuite bedroom above it gives a spacious feel to the house. We all felt very much at home as there was a folding table in the lounge for the jigsaw fanatics as well as the large dining table. This time we explored some of the local walks as well as a visit to Snape and Aldeburgh. We also made another visit to the oyster restaurant. This time the weather was nice enough to enjoy the garden. So a relaxing and enjoyable weekend.

  • Submitted: May 18, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is always lovely when people return for another visit! Thank you for booking with us again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely Cottage

  • 5 of 5

Very enjoyable stay in a spacious cottage.

Was perfect.

  • Submitted: May 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed it! Its particularly good now that the Oyster Pub has reopened! Do come and stay again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Lovely cottage, really enjoyed our family break

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time, loved the set up of the property and really enjoyed cosy evenings by the fire. Short drives to excellent day trip venues: Aldeburgh and Southwold particularly popular with the kids.

  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: That us just what we like to hear! So glad you enjoyed your stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Country Cottage

  • 4 of 5

We stayed as a group of 6 friends for a long weekend in this cottage. The cottage is well located to explore the numerous villages in the vicinity, we went to some lovely pubs and restaurants nearby (need a car/taxi) and the cottage is great if you're after peace and quiet. The cottage is well equipped with games and jigsaws which we also enjoyed, the kitchen was a bit dated but fully functional, overall it was a pleasant stay.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: News Update! The Oyster Inn, just a few minutes walk away from the house has reopened. They offer lovely meals to eat in or take away, and a variety of excellent beers. There is a very nice beer garden and in time there will even be a micro brewery! So, no need to drive any where for a good night out! Check their Facebook page for events: https://www.facebook.com/butleyoyster/
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A lovely property very well equipped,

  • 5 of 5

Our friends and ourselves spent a lovely week in this cottage, accommodation was good, the area delightful. The cottage catered very well for our needs, with two separate wings it enabled us to have our own bedrooms and bathrooms which is something we always opt for. Highly recommended

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! Please do come and stay again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
67 Miles
Stansted
Car: necessary

Coast/Beach:

5 miles to Orford, 11 miles to shingle beach at Aldeburgh, 21 miles to sandy beach at Walberswick and 27 miles to sandy beach at Southwold.

Travel:

67 miles from Stansted airport, 127 miles from Heathrow airport, 70 miles from Cambridge.

Distances:

5 miles to Orford, 6 miles to Sutton Hoo, 7.5 miles to Woodbridge, 14 miles to Minsmere, 11 miles to Aldeburgh.

Further Details:

Excellent fresh local fish can be bought at Orford which also has an wonderful butcher, superb local bakery, (the famous Pump House Bakery that serves excellent breakfasts, lunches and a wonderful selection of breads, pastries and exquisite hand made single estate chocolates) and general store, 5 miles from the property. Our neighbours sell produce from their allotments.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $122.49

Changeover day is flexible.

We will consider long term stays.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties