Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

4 Bedroom Former Stone Watermill In The Countryside With An Indoor Swimming Pool

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House in Rudry, Nr. Cardiff, Wales - Set In 3 Acres Of Landscaped Gardens Its A Very Peaceful Location With Many Country Walks Available

The Mill has manual operated driveway gates, a laurel lined driveway leads to the front of the property providing ample car parking. It seems to have more a modest two storey building at the front whilst the accommodation is in fact arranged over four floors as evidenced by the considerably more substantial rear elevation. Professionally interior designed throughout, the watermill offers traditional character with a luxurious contemporary twist. From the central hall, the accommodation at ground level includes a large sitting room which enjoys the striking feature of the mill machinery. Further living accommodation is found on the ground floor with a spacious family dining room. The kitchen and breakfast room is extensively fitted and arranged sociably around a central island. There is lots of space for eating and entertaining. Outside, the leisure wing has a heated swimming pool, gym and changing room. Whilst a large hot tub is available it enables the visitor to see the view.


Owner
chris norman
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
October 22, 2017

Map

Nearest Airport
36.3 Kilometres
Cardiff airport
Nearest Beach
35.8 Kilometres
Barry Island

Special interest holidays:

Lisvane village centre offers a parade of shops, church and public house whilst the well regarded Maenllwyd pub restaurant is very nearby.

The owner of the property is very knowledgeable of sporting events in the area and would be happy to discuss further on request.

Travel:

The property is based between Bristol and Cardiff airport. They are approx 20 miles each way.

Distances:

The village of Rudry is a mile away, Rudry castle and many scenic walks are nearby which information can be made available The area also has an envious mountain biking fraternity due to the many scenic parks nearby.

The city of Cardiff is only 5 miles away.

Further Details:

The Maenllydd pub and restaurant has many visitors both far and wide so a visit is recommended. It is only a five minute walk from the property.

Amenities

Cardiff House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Village
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower
    Toilet 1 - toilet
    Shower room 1 - shower
    Shower room 2 - shower
  • Bedroom 1 en-suite with wc and shower Bedroom 2 en-suite with wc, bath and shower Bedroom 3 en-suite with wc and shower Bedroom 4 adjacent bathroom with wc bath and shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 8 (4 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 with a double bed Bedroom 2 with a double bed Bedroom 3 (family room) with two twin beds and a double bed Bedroom 4 with a double bed
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Indoor Pool
  • Private Pool
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: Certain dogs allowed. Check-in from 4pm on arrival day and property must be vacated by 10am on the departure day. No smoking policy. Pool towels are provided. Cot bedding is not provided. High chair supplied at no extra cost. (please request cot & high chair on booking). There are four bedrooms in total, the luxurious master bedroom featuring a large fully fitted dressing room and quality contemporary en-suite. The second bedroom also has a dressing room and en-suite whilst the third bedroom has its own en-suite shower room too. The fourth bedroom utilises the main family bathroom. Outside: Outside the generous kitchen is an extensive balcony which an early breakfast can be enjoyed sitting on outdoor furniture provided. The leisure wing incorporates a heated swimming pool, gymnasium and changing room. Outside the leisure wing is an entertaining area complete with garden furniture and large hot tub. The gardens are ornamentally laid featuring lawnstone terraces. Utility Room: The utility room has a washing machine and tumble dryer. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Towels and linen are included. The property is cleaned before and after the visit. If more cleaning is necessary this can be made available at the guests cost. Other: The dining room has a large marble table with ornamental table lamps and beautiful accessories. It can accommodate 8 persons comfortably.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(22 traveler reviews)

86% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
4 Bedroom Former Stone Watermill In The Countryside With An Indoor Swimming Pool
average rating of 4.7272725 based on 22 reviews
5

What an amazing house

  • 5 of 5

We have just had the best time staying at the Old Watermill. Organising the booking with Chris was straight forward followed with the helpful meet and greet with Alex. When we pulled up to the property, the house looks like a small cottage, very well presented and welcoming. Inside the house is very homely with beautiful interior and very well equipped for your needs.

We were a bit concerned after reading a negative review on here so close to our booking, the only concern that we identify was a very small number of curtains had been scorched in the sun. Did that affect our stay in this beautiful property? Not at all.

This is by far the best property we have stayed in over the past 7 years and will be returning next year. We as a family had so much fun in the pool and there are lots to see and do in the surrounding area. Alex's local knowledge was helpful as she suggested a few attractions age specific for our children.

Overall we are delighted to have found a great place to enjoy some family time. Thank you Chris and Alex

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for your review, we constantly work on the property to ensure that all guests have the holiday that they deserve. We pride our selves on the meet and greet, as we realise its importance to the guests on their arrival. Once again many thanks Chris & Alex
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect country home

  • 5 of 5

My family, mixture of adults and children enjoyed a fun week at this beautiful home. We all enjoyed the tub and pool so much we hardly left the place! There was everything you could need and want from a home and more. We forgot our baby bath But thankfully there was already one in the house which we were able to use.

As a family we loved the living room, kitchen and dining room for all being able to be together in the same room with so much space.

We are already planning to return next year.

  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Oct 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Outstanding place

  • 5 of 5

Just left this lovely home after a stay with family from all over the country. We had a wonderful time and couldn't ask for anything more. House well presented with a homely feel, look forward to visit again soon.

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful unique property...all home comforts and then some!

  • 5 of 5

We were 3 generations of family, ranging from 9 to 70...all of us equally enjoyed the house and leisure facilities. The house is huge yet feels so homely, the swimming pool is fab along wit the hot tub. Really lovely unspoilt location, very quiet and rural but 5 min walk to lovely pub and forest walks, and supermarkets and town in easy reach. A really enjoyable relaxing break in luxury ...hope to be back one day!

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
Staffordshire
1

Very Disappointing

  • 1 of 5

From the moment we arrived it was apparent that the Old Water Mill had not been cared for the way it showed in the pictures from arriving the gates didn't work the paths around the mill had broken bricks which were very unsteady to walk on and inside I can only describe as way overdue for a complete renovation job. From curtains in the bedroom & dining room literally falling off the windows through sun damage, the smell of drains from the en-suite were sickening and almost every sink had so much water damage around it with lifted counter tops and the toilet in the main bathroom propped up on tiles and a seat that won't allow you to sit on it. No drawer space in one of the main bedrooms and the other bedroom one 4ft bed and two singles....so crowded. The state of the bedding was very cheap and had seen much better days. the kitchen was just about workable again water raised counter tops and a hob which was very hit & miss and a fridge with just 2 shelves in it impossible to store food in for 8 people.To top it off we had a flood through the lounge lights and was told maybe we were over using the shower, this place looked nice so we were keen to go and stay there but it was the biggest disappointment yet. We have stayed in Home & Away properties now for 8 years and this is the first time I've had reason to complain. Told Chris the owner he said shame I didn't mention it when there as they could have sorted things out.......These jobs are regular maintenance for most properties but not obviously for this one. The cleanliness of the Old Mill was poor many many cobwebs and lots of dust shame it could be very nice but sadly not this time. when l go away rom home i expect at least the standard l leave behind but this place was so far below that l & the rest of the party were pleased to leave it. Photographs look good but they must have been taken a very long time ago.

Pat Imrie.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The lady that has written the review, has saddened us tremendously. As previous tenants have testified the quality of the property, and the 24/7 attention that Alex gives. We have looked at our emails and phones, concerning this matter. We had received 8 texts and Alex had visited twice and at no such time did the tenant complain. We always strife to maintain and improve the property but also give our undivided attention when required. We assess all reviews and will improve or change when appropriate. If any tenant is unhappy during their stay please notify us whilst you are there, as not only giving us the opportunity to rectify any faults but for the client to enjoy their stay. For the record The gates are manual as we have found it easier for the client to manage, especially when there are multiple visitors. Two cobbles have been found to be loose and have been cemented. The curtains are made of silk and due to their design, they may have discoloured in their lining, but cannot be seen from inside the room. There is no evidence of smells in any ensuite. A new toilet seat has been installed. All basins in property are fully functional. Their is ample storage space in all bedrooms. The family room has a twin and two singles to give tenants more flexibility as it has provision of 10 guests if and when required. even though the property is advertised for 8 guests. The bedding is purchased from Dunelm and is not considered cheap. There is ample storage in the fridge, all white goods in the kitchen are working and tested. Not knowing the reason for the leek, we have installed a new shower door, as we have previously found out, some water damage has been down to the end user. The property is professional cleaned after every visit and is inspected by Alex, the cleanliness of the Mill is paramount to our guests stay with us. I trust that I have clearly responded to the previous tenants complaint, but rest assured we are always willing to listen. Kind regards Chris & Alex
Did you find this review helpful?
6 3
5

Great property, great location

  • 5 of 5

We had a long weekend at the Old Watermill, bringing all our immediate family back to the area for a family get-together. The property was ideal - lots of room for everyone, a pool to keep the children happy and space outside for children and dog to run around. There was plenty of crockery/glasses etc (which is sometimes sadly lacking in holiday properties) and Alex was extremely welcoming and helpful on arrival.

  • Submitted: May 28, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much, look forward to seeing you again. Regards Chris & Alex
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable damage deposit $395.67

Booking Notes:
30% deposit required to secure dates (non refundable). Balance due 8 weeks prior to the start of the holiday. £300 refundable bond due 2 weeks prior to the start of the holiday.
Long term rental would be considered.

Changeover Day:
Flexible

Notes on prices:
We have recently increased the number of bedrooms to 5, prices on application.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties