Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Scandinavian style log cabin with private hot tub, Windermere, Lake District

Bedrooms 3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

3 bed 2 bath pet friendly log cabin with hot tub in magnificent mountain setting 5 minute walk to pet friendly pubs

Limefitt Lodge is a contemporary Scandinavian style, pet friendly, log cabin with private hot tub located within the prestigious 5 star rated Limefitt Park just 3 miles from both Ambleside, Windermere and close all major attractions, the perfect place to explore and enjoy the magic of the Lake District.

Tucked away in the tranquil Troutbeck Valley and with direct access to the fells for fantastic walks it provides a uniquely peaceful environment set in some of the Lake District's most spectacular and majestic moutain scenery. The lodge occupies an attractive corner site, has 3 bedrooms and comfortably sleeps 6, master with ensuite, 2 twin rooms ( one can be made into a double on request ), 2 bathrooms, spacious open plan living room with vaulted wood ceiling, well equipped modern fitted kitchen, gas central heating, double glazing, log effect fire, large French windows open onto large sunny deck with outdoor furniture and hot tub. Flat screen TV, DVD player, iPod docking station. Free w-fi ( it's the Lakes so can be intermittent ) Private parking next to the lodge. Short stroll to shop and character cosy, pet friendly pub with woodburning stove, comfy armchairs, great local beers and good food.

Limefitt Park is very close to several well known gastro pubs including the famous Mortal Man and the Queen's Head. Limefitt Lodge really is the perfect base for families, groups of friends or couples to explore the beautiful Lake District or simply just kick back and relax away from it all. There is a sports field, children's play area, a pretty river running through the park and horse riding is available. Many lovely walks and bike rides start directly from the park. Pets welcome ( max 2 at an extra £10 each ).

Short breaks with minimum 3 night stay are welcome most of the year Mon-Fri ( 4 nights ) and Fri-Mon ( 3 nights ) please contact us in first instance for up to date prices and availability.

Free Health Club Membership for all our guests !

We have arranged passes for all our guests at a brand new luxury health club only 5 minutes from the lodge, just down the road at Troutbeck near Windermere.

Guests ( including children ) enjoy unlimited use of the indoor heated pool, gym, sauna, steam room and studio classes, spinning etc. The gym, the largest and best equipped in the Lakes, features the latest cardio equipment available today including personal TV screens. There is also coffee lounge area where guests can relax afterwards.

For families or larger groups who like to holiday together our 2 bed lodge with hot tub situated just next door offers combined accommodation for a total of 10 ( see property ref E6702 for photos/details ) We also own a 3 bed and a 2 bed lodge at nearby White Cross Bay on shores of Lake Windermere ( property refs E7568 and E5450 ) Limefitt closes each year between January 14 and February 9.

More Details


Windermere Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:30 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Max. adults: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21 ...
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed ...
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Rural
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Shower room 1 - shower
  • En-suite bathroom with wc and shower. Second bathroom with bath/shower over. wc.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 baby crib
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 6 (3 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 with double bed, private en-suite, TV, fitted wardrobes. Bedroom 2 and 3 both twin bedded with fitted wardrobes, share second bathroom, full size bath with overhead shower.
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • live theater
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Outside: The lodge has a large sunny deck with hot tub and great views. Outdoor furniture is provided. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Towels and linen are provided at no extra cost, changed weekly or fortnightly depending on length of stay. A maid service and more frequent changes by arrangement at nominal extra cost.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

87% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Scandinavian style log cabin with private hot tub, Windermere, Lake District
average rating of 4.75 based on 9 reviews

Lovely family holiday

  • 5 of 5

Limefitt Lodge is lovely. Looks gorgeous on the outside and is very nice on the inside. The layout is lovely. Added bonus of the hot tub which was installed after we booked the lodge! The kids loved it and so did we although when in there on an evening it's not overly private. There is fencing around the hot tub but not so that people can't see you. We had a couple looking in on us as their living room faced the hot tub through big double doors. The site is gorgeous but if you need shopping then you are going to have to travel as the onsite shop literally has a few essentials. The pub onsite is lovely and the staff couldnt do enough for the kids (we have 4). You could relax while the kids played with the toys in there or even watch a DVD in the kids corner. The play park is great and the beck for the kids to splash in is good too, lovely on a hot day! We did not do the pony rides as i thought at £25 per child it was pretty steep to be honest. Nice walks leading off the park and only 10 minutes in the car to Windermere. The only things i would say about the lodge is that the cleaners could have done a better job (i fully appreciate this is not the owners fault at all)... we left the lodge far better than it was when we arrived. There was a lot of dust around, the windows had not been cleaned (marks all over them), the kitchen blinds need cleaning attention and we wouldn't clean those. Also, the windows in the bedrooms do not lock from the inside which was a concern for us as we have 3 girls aged 2 - 5 and once they found out they could open the windows themselves from only sitting on the beds... well we had a few attempted escapes. The decking when wet (which was at least once per day when we were there - we expected this being in the lakes though) was very very slippery and slimy also. Could do with a very good scrub down to avoid the slime build up. Having said all of that, we would of course attend the lodge again the in the future although i would feel safer if the windows locked from the inside as mentioned before.

The location of the lodge is on the corner of a row and the site is very quiet throughout the day and in the evening too. We hardly heard anything actually which was nice. As a family we all 100% enjoyed our stay and have already recommended to friends and family.

Nice contact with the owner throughout the year while paying for the holiday and always received payment receipts to keep record of.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for taking the time to submit such a comprehensive review we really value feedback and will address any issues raised to ensure future guests enjoy they stay. I was very pleased you and your family enjoyed the lodge and the hot tub and had a fantastic holiday at Limefitt Lodge. As you say the hot tub was only installed recently and we are aware privacy needs improving, I'm actually taking some tall bamboo plants to the lodge this Saturday which will greatly improve things and make the hot tub area much more private. The question of locks on the bedroom windows hasn't arisen before but it's an excellent point and I'll look into seeing what can be done about it. Your comments on the cleaning have been noted and passed onto my cleaning company who are normally very reliable and well aware of the high standard we expect, apologies for this aspect of your stay. On their own initiative they put a note in the lodge last year requesting guests to phone them if not entirely satisfied with any aspects of cleaning on arrival, they live locally and will always return within an hour to rectify any issues. It does rain quite a lot in the Lakes and the decks do get slippery we regularly power wash them and will arrange to get it done again very soon. Thanks again for your review and very constructive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon !
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Nice size accommodation

  • 3 of 5

We stayed here last weekend and I was a little disappointed with the first impressions not the cleanest of accommodation spiders web as you walk through the door and dust a plenty. On the plus side the location is brilliant the crockery and cutlery etc was plentiful. We loved the site and all of its facilities just thought the accommodation could be cleaner.

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking the time to write a review we really value feedback from our guests. I must apologise if you were a little disappointed with the cleanliness of the lodge on arrival. My cleaners ( on their own initiative ) placed a sign in the lodge asking guests to contact them immediately on arrival if they were not 100% happy with any aspect of the lodge. They live locally and guarantee to come back within the hour to rectify any issues. I provide the same information in the pre-arrival documentation. On the plus side I was pleased you thought the lodge was well equipped and enjoyed the site, the facilities and its magnificent location. Thanks again.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Fantastic lodge, fantastic location

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for 3 nights and my only complaint is that wasn't long enough! The lodge was very welcoming and clean. It exceeded our expectations. The park is in a great location with lots to do and a good pub that also does food. It felt very safe for my 2 children and was not too far from Windermere. We had lots of walks during the day and looked forward to coming back to the lodge to relax at night. Everything we wanted. I would definitely recommend this lodge as a great place to stay. Thank you

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2016
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your feedback delighted to know you enjoyed the lodge and its location. Pleased too that you found the park safe for your children and not far from Windermere. Thanks for recommending us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future !
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

An amazing place to stay

  • 5 of 5

We had an absolutely fantastic time, the lodge was perfect - clean, homely, spacious & well equipped. The park and the weather were fabulous too! We can't recommend this place enough. Perfect location for day trips out. We will definitely be back next year!

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a positive review we love to know what people think about the lodge and its location. As you discovered Limefitt Park is the perfect base to explore the beautiful Lake District being so close to all major places of interest yet such a tranquil setting to return to. Hope to welcome you back before long, thanks again !
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Great location and clean property

  • 5 of 5

Great location. Lodge was lovely and clean. Has everything you need, home from home feel. Pub on site do great food. We couldn't get a signal with our mobiles so they ordered us a takeaway one night. Went into Bowness and Ambleside. The Watersedge Inn in Ambleside do amazing food.

Thanks Tony for answering all my questions.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2015
  • Stayed: June 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking the time to write a review we love to hear from guests and get their feedback. Pleased you enjoyed your stay at Limefitt Lodge and found it welcoming and comfortable. My cleaning ladies are brilliant and work very hard to maintain the high standards we strive for. The couple who run the on-site Pub are great and go out of their way to help guests in any way they can. Thanks again.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Limefitt Lodge

  • 5 of 5

This was our first time in the lodge, we had amazing weather which helped. The lodge itself was spotlessly clean, roomy, comfortable and really had no complaints. The area is easy to find and close to Windermere. If i was to find fault it would have been the fact there is no pool on the site as advertised and there is only one TV in the property and not two as advertised, otherwise it is great, well recommended.

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2015
  • Stayed: June 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for taking the time to write a review we really do appreciate guests comments and take them very seriously. I was pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay and found the lodge clean and comfortable. I do apologise for the lack of the 2nd TV which is normally to be found in the main bedroom. A new one was recently purchased unfortunately our maintenance company weren't able to install it in time for your arrival, There is no swimming pool at Limefitt Park and it isn't mentioned in the property description, apologies for any confusion. Thanks again.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Tony Mole
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, french
Calendar last updated:
February 18, 2018

About Tony Mole

I recently moved back to Cumbria after spending 8 years in the South of France where I set up and ran a property business. Before moving to France I was owner of a graphic design studio and worked for many national and international clients. Ex-rugby player and keen on all sports including skiing,

mountain biking, rowing and walking. We hope you enjoy them as much as we do!

Tony Mole purchased this cabin in 2012

What makes this cabin unique

Our guests ( including children ) enjoy unlimited free use of a new health club in Windermere only 10 mins from the lodge. State of the art gym, indoor pool, hot tub, sauna and steam room. A great place to relax after a hard day on the fells or somewhere to burn off a few holiday calories on a wet day.

Guestbook comments from the owner

'' Really enjoyed our week, the lodge is very comfortable and well equipped, the perfect base to explore this fantastic area. Superb food at the Queens Head, can highly recommend it.''

''Thanks Tony, thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your super cabin. We'll be back !''

''Great lodge, great area, enjoyed a glass of rose on the deck after a long day on the fells ! See you next year ! ''
Jul 2012
  • 1 of 1


Car: recommended


Limefitt Park is easily accessible from the North or South via the M6 motorway. A car is essential to explore this spectacular area although there is public transport throughout the Lake District.


Limefitt Park is well situated to explore the magnificent Lake District National Park with its large variety of places of interest. Windermere and Ambleside are both 3 miles away, lively towns with great pubs, restaurants and shops. Limefitt is in the heart of superb walking country so don't forget to bring your boots !

Further Details:

Although a secluded, tranquil setting, Limefitt is close to every facility and convenience. Banks, petrol, supermarkets, restaurants etc are all within a short and very scenic ! ) drive. All outdoor activities are available nearby, mountain biking, sailing, canoeing, pony trekking etc.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $14.04

Booking Notes: A £50 deposit is required to confirm your booking, and the balance is due 4 weeks prior to your stay. Payment can be made by cheque or bank transfer.
4 night breaks (Mon- Fri) and 3 night breaks ( Fri -Mon) are available all year. 7 night breaks are either Mon-Mon or Fri-Fri.
Please call me on 07712 806368 for prices for 3 or 4 night stays or if you have any enquiries.

Changeover Day:
7 nights Friday/Friday or Monday/Monday
4 nights Monday/Friday
3 nights Friday/ Monday
Arrival time 3.30pm
Departure time 10am

Notes on prices:
Prices include all bedlinen, towels and tea towels, gas and electricity and free wifi which is provided by the Park.
There is a £ 10 charge per dog to cover extra cleaning costs
Owner's Cancellation Policy
100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date ( deposit non-refundable )

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.