Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautifully Appointed Apartment With Lift Access And Full Air Conditioning

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Luxury apartment close to Santa Maria, Sal Island, Cape Verde

Luxuriously appointed apartment, fully air-conditioned, secure, and overlooking children’s pool and playground, bar and adults pool. Lift access to apartment and whole resort built for ease of pushchair and wheelchair users. Includes satellite TV, DVD player, washing machine, full size fridge freezer, safe, balcony, maid service on request. Guest services on site to arrange airport transfers, taxis, car hire, trips and excursions, travel to neighbouring islands. Free shuttle bus to Santa Maria and beaches. Free WIFI at reception, in public areas and around pool. Supermarket on site.


Amenities

Santa Maria Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible
  • /
  • Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 2 ...
  • Max. adults: 2
  • Min. age of primary renter: 22
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Smoking allowed ...
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Resort
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , bidet
  • Bathroom with shower over the bath.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 2 (1 Bedroom) Notes on bedrooms: 1 bedroom with two 3' beds convertible to 6' super king bed, wardrobe, dressing table, drawers and air conditioning.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • playground
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • horseback riding
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: You will be met at the airport and a welcome food pack awaits you on arival. Baby cots and high chairs available at additional cost on request. Outside: Lantana is served by a large adults pool, smaller children’s pool, and a children’s playground. Two minutes walk away there is a football pitch and tennis courts. The onsite supermarket is open 6 days a week, there are several insite restaurants and there are numerous more shops and supermarkets in Santa Maria. Free shuttle bus into Santa Maria and taxis are available within a 2 minute walk of the apartment. Reception/guest services is directly opposite the apartment and is open 24 hours. Santa Maria is a lovely town and there are lots of restaurants, bars and shops catering for all tastes. The beach extends for around 7 KMs, you can join it from Ponta Preta beach, closest to the Vila Verde resort, or go into Santa Maria and try surfing, diving, deep sea fishing. A midweek maid service is available on request. Bedding & towels are included. Please bring your own beach towels

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

76% Complete
15% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Beautifully Appointed Apartment With Lift Access And Full Air Conditioning
average rating of 4.6923075 based on 13 reviews
5

Great Christmas Getaway

  • 5 of 5

We reallly enjoyed our stay at villa Verde. The apartment is spacious and has all the amenities you need. The complex is very nice and well set out. The free shuttle bus to Santa Maria is good advantage and runs regular. We had some lovely meals in Santa Maria at chez pastis and le prive. We also enjoyed a days sailing trip and a tour of the island. Sal is a great place and We would definitely stay at Villa Verde again.

Emma & Barry Liverpool

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Emma and Barry, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and also to let us, and future guests, know of restaurants you particularly enjoyed and worthwhile excursions. We hope you will consider our apartment for your next stay in Cape Verde. Jeanette
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2
Wales UK
5

Lovely apartment in a really nice complex

  • 5 of 5

Your apartment is great we really felt at home there. It's very roomy and

comfortable and had everything we needed. The beds are comfortable and there is plenty of wardrobe space and hangers. We did not need the air conditioning as it was cool enough in the evening. The fly screen in the bedroom is a great addition as you can open the door for fresh air without worrying about possible mozzies or flies coming in.

The complex is very nice and well kept and clean. The staff working there are also very nice people and can't do enough for you. The Lantana pool area is spotless, lots of sunbeds and nice and quiet. At the start of the holiday we thought that we were too far out from Santa Maria as we went in there every night, either walked (wind permitting), free bus or taxi. But as the holiday went on we thought it was an advantage being outside Santa Maria as we could then walk into the town in the day for something to do. The transfer from the airport was seamless and Lizzy was waiting for us to show us around the apartment.

Your welcome pack was a real bonus and very, very welcome. You have thought of everything that someone could possibly need to start off their holiday. We will be going back to Sal next year and if your apartment is vacant for the dates we want we will definitely book yours.

  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Maria for taking the time to write a review. I hope you will book with us again for your next holiday to Cape Verde! Jeanette x
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Our Honeymoon

  • 4 of 5

A very clean comfortable apartment. Great winter sun, warm seas and a wonderful relaxing holiday.

  • Submitted: Dec 21, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Anna, for taking the time to post a review. It would be really helpful to understand why you awarded us 4 stars rather than 5 so that we can work on improving. Thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great appartment in Villa Verde

  • 5 of 5

It was a great stay in the appartment with all the luxury as promised, there was even a washing machine. It was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. The appartment was situated on a very good spot with downstairs the swimming pool with bar.The airco worked perfect. The owner even arranged a taxi for us to pick us up at the airport. There was also Lizy who did a perfect job as the contactperson in Vila Verde. She bought some grocery for us because the shops were alllready closed when we arrived. We defenitely wil go back again.

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Marion for your much valued feedback. We look forward to welcoming you to stay in the future. Jeanette
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Perfect - home away from home

  • 5 of 5

Perfect location for us, away from the hustle and bustle, within walking distance of Santa Maria centre (great now the new road and footpath is finished) within walking distance to Ponta Preta beach, (beautiful beach and quieter than the main beach in Santa Maria) ideal for watching sunsets.

The apartment has everything you need, a home from home. The air conditioning is a definite bonus for those who are not used to such humid temperatures.

Lizy and Stuart were extremely helpful and informative, they were also available any time should you need them.

A perfect holiday for relaxation if you like peace and quiet.

There isn't much available on the island (as it is very small) unless you are into watersports, and just relaxation, however, it is improving all the time. There are beach buggies, quads, horse riding, boat trips, surfing lessons, island tours, fly boarding etc

A casino has now opened too.

Vila Verde is a quiet resort with little entertainment but this suited us fine and the price of the apartment reflected this, the apartment was a bargain and would definitely recommend.

Communication was always prompt and extremely helpful from Jeanette, can't thank you and your staff enough for a great experience.

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for a wonderful review. As a team we do our very best to ensure guests have a lovely holiday and feedback like this puts a big smile on our faces! We hope that if you return to Sal in the future we will be able to welcome you to stay again.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Fabulous apartment

  • 3 of 5

Wonderful apartment, but complex like a morgue. Nothing going on....supermarket a waste of time...no fresh meat, veg or fruit, and expensive. Restaurants had limited menus and again, were expensive. Snack bar had appalling service, slow & expensive for what they served. Waited over 1 hour one day for 2 burgers. Closed at 9pm, with kitchen closed at 8pm!! Free bus into Santa Maria useless, time wise. Only ran about every 3 hours, but Santa Maria had nothing to offer anyway. Annoying sellers who wanted you "to look in my shop" as soon as you got to the main street. Not many restaurants serving decent food...had about 3/4 decent meals in the whole fortnight we were there. Very disappointing. No atmosphere anywhere.

  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi, I'm so sorry you didn't enjoy Santa Maria and appreciate the resort won't be to everyone's taste. We have always had positive feedback about Santa Maria and Vila Verde and so I'm disappointed that it wasn't what you expected. However I hope your next holiday is more to your liking and thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Owner

Jeanette Brunton
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
February 22, 2018

About Jeanette Brunton

I am married, aged 54, with an adult daughter, son in law and beautiful granddaughter, and a professional career. My husband and I have travelled all over the World and when looking for a holiday home to buy, we wanted somewhere that we could get to quickly, without any down-time due to jet lag, and with reasonably price flights. We love Portugal but as with many European countries, it is not pleasant in winter - we wanted somewhere we could visit at any time of the year and not have to worry about the weather. Cape Verde is constantly around 25 degrees, has long, sunny days, beautiful sunsets, warm and friendly locals, and a really laid back attitude to life. We first visited Cape Verde some 12 years ago and did some island hopping. All the islands are very different, rather like the Canary Islands, but we were enchanted by Sal.

Jeanette Brunton purchased this apartment in 2006

Why Jeanette Brunton chose Santa Maria

It's easy to get to, the climate is fantastic, the locals are friendly and welcoming, the food is amazing, the beaches are fantastic, the sea is warm, it's paradise!

What makes this apartment unique

The apartment is very well equipped and feels like a real home from home. Air conditioning is a blessing although there is usually a lovely breeze from the ocean and we enjoy sleeping with the window open instead. We travelled to Cape Verde many times whilst waiting for our apartment to be finished, and found that the standard of some of the local accommodation was very basic and left a lot to be desired.

Vila Verde has been built to the more exacting European standards and so not only are the finish and furnishings far superior to elsewhere, but there are lifts, sprinklers, fire alarms, safety rails where needed, etc.

The resort is ideally placed close to Santa Maria, but also in a peaceful location.

Map

Car: not necessary

Special interest holidays:

Ideal location for keen surfers - wind, body, kite and paddle surfing are all popular pastimes. Annual windsurfing championships held here January/February each year. Also excellent for deep sea fishing, diving, snorkelling and sun bathing. Jazz and music festivals held May to August each year. Great base for island hopping for longer stay guests.

Coast/Beach:

A steady 15 - 30 minute walk in either direction will bring you to a beach - in one direction a soft, powder sand beach for sun bathing and swimming, in the other a coarser beach for watching wind and sand surfing. A leisurely 20 - 30 minute walk brings you to Santa Maria's soft, white sand beach where you can swim, surf, arrange diving and deep sea fishing.

Travel:

Sal's airport is 20 minutes away by taxi. Car hire is not needed as the area around the resort is level and easily accessible on foot or by bicycle. Taxi's are readily available and inexpensive. However, if you wish to arrange car hire Guest Services can arrange this for you or one of the agents in Santa Maria will be able to accomodate your needs.

Distances:

The nearest town is Santa Maria, a leisurely and level 20-30 minute walk away. Further afield, Espargos is around 1 hour away and is the main commercial town on the island.

Further Details:

The Cape Verde islands are paradise found, marooned in the Atlantic ocean a little over 5 hours flying time from the UK. There are 10 very different islands with an excellent inter-island airline for those who'd like to stay a little longer than usual and do some island hopping. The beaches and climate mirror the Caribbean, but without the jet lag (there is only a 1 hour time difference) and no hurricane season! Lunar-like Sal is the most cosmopolitan island, dotted with small colourful towns, such as Santa Maria. Cobbled streets are lined with surf shops, rainbow painted shops, white churches, small and intimate restaurants, and amazing beaches flanking the turquoise sea. The temperature rarely dips below 25 degrees, so no need to worry about whether it will be warm enough, and the rainy season is usually a day in August! The locals are friendly and although their national language is a mixture of Portuguese and Creole, most speak enough English to make themselves understood. This is a laid back, chilled out place, where their mantra is "No Stress". It doesn't get much better than sitting in the sun, watching the local fisherman bring in their daily catch or some breathtaking surfing, with an ice-cold beer or fabulous cappuccino in hand..................wish you were here?

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
Please note the apartment rate per week assumes 2 occupants, if there are more than 2 guests please add £50 per week to the rate to cover the cost of additional linen, towels and bedding.

Changeover Day:
We are flexible with which day you wish to arrive & leave. The apartment will be ready on arrival regardless of the time & you can stay until you need to leave for the airport, unless we have same day arrivals which we try to avoid for your comfort.

Notes on prices:
The price is for the apartment and not per person and assumes 2 occupants, additional charges are due if there are more than 2 guests to cover the cost of extra linens, towels and bedding.

The price quoted is in pounds sterling, if you wish to pay in Euros please contact us.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties