Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautifully Appointed Apartment With Lift Access And Full Air Conditioning

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Luxury apartment close to Santa Maria, Sal Island, Cape Verde

Luxuriously appointed apartment, fully air-conditioned, secure, and overlooking children’s pool and playground, bar and adults pool. Lift access to apartment and whole resort built for ease of pushchair and wheelchair users. Includes satellite TV, DVD player, washing machine, full size fridge freezer, safe, balcony, maid service on request. Guest services on site to arrange airport transfers, taxis, car hire, trips and excursions, travel to neighbouring islands. Free shuttle bus to Santa Maria and beaches. Free WIFI at reception, in public areas and around pool. Supermarket on site.


Owner
Jeanette Brunton
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
August 8, 2017

About Jeanette Brunton

I am married, aged 54, with an adult daughter, son in law and beautiful granddaughter, and a professional career. My husband and I have travelled all over the World and when looking for a holiday home to buy, we wanted somewhere that we could get to quickly, without any down-time due to jet lag, and with reasonably price flights. We love Portugal but as with many European countries, it is not pleasant in winter - we wanted somewhere we could visit at any time of the year and not have to worry about the weather. Cape Verde is constantly around 25 degrees, has long, sunny days, beautiful sunsets, warm and friendly locals, and a really laid back attitude to life. We first visited Cape Verde some 12 years ago and did some island hopping. All the islands are very different, rather like the Canary Islands, but we were enchanted by Sal.

Jeanette Brunton purchased this apartment in 2006

Why Jeanette Brunton chose Sal

It's easy to get to, the climate is fantastic, the locals are friendly and welcoming, the food is amazing, the beaches are fantastic, the sea is warm, it's paradise!

What makes this apartment unique

The apartment is very well equipped and feels like a real home from home. Air conditioning is a blessing although there is usually a lovely breeze from the ocean and we enjoy sleeping with the window open instead. We travelled to Cape Verde many times whilst waiting for our apartment to be finished, and found that the standard of some of the local accommodation was very basic and left a lot to be desired.

Vila Verde has been built to the more exacting European standards and so not only are the finish and furnishings far superior to elsewhere, but there are lifts, sprinklers, fire alarms, safety rails where needed, etc.

The resort is ideally placed close to Santa Maria, but also in a peaceful location.

Amenities

Santa Maria Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed ...
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Resort
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , bidet
  • Bathroom with shower over the bath.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 2 (1 Bedroom) Notes on bedrooms: 1 bedroom with two 3' beds convertible to 6' super king bed, wardrobe, dressing table, drawers and air conditioning.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • playground
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • horseback riding
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: You will be met at the airport and a welcome food pack awaits you on arival. Baby cots and high chairs available at additional cost on request. Outside: Lantana is served by a large adults pool, smaller children’s pool, and a children’s playground. Two minutes walk away there is a football pitch and tennis courts. The onsite supermarket is open 6 days a week, there are several insite restaurants and there are numerous more shops and supermarkets in Santa Maria. Free shuttle bus into Santa Maria and taxis are available within a 2 minute walk of the apartment. Reception/guest services is directly opposite the apartment and is open 24 hours. Santa Maria is a lovely town and there are lots of restaurants, bars and shops catering for all tastes. The beach extends for around 7 KMs, you can join it from Ponta Preta beach, closest to the Vila Verde resort, or go into Santa Maria and try surfing, diving, deep sea fishing. A midweek maid service is available on request. Bedding & towels are included. Please bring your own beach towels

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

77% Complete
11% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Beautifully Appointed Apartment With Lift Access And Full Air Conditioning
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 9 reviews
5

Perfect - home away from home

  • 5 of 5

Perfect location for us, away from the hustle and bustle, within walking distance of Santa Maria centre (great now the new road and footpath is finished) within walking distance to Ponta Preta beach, (beautiful beach and quieter than the main beach in Santa Maria) ideal for watching sunsets.

The apartment has everything you need, a home from home. The air conditioning is a definite bonus for those who are not used to such humid temperatures.

Lizy and Stuart were extremely helpful and informative, they were also available any time should you need them.

A perfect holiday for relaxation if you like peace and quiet.

There isn't much available on the island (as it is very small) unless you are into watersports, and just relaxation, however, it is improving all the time. There are beach buggies, quads, horse riding, boat trips, surfing lessons, island tours, fly boarding etc

A casino has now opened too.

Vila Verde is a quiet resort with little entertainment but this suited us fine and the price of the apartment reflected this, the apartment was a bargain and would definitely recommend.

Communication was always prompt and extremely helpful from Jeanette, can't thank you and your staff enough for a great experience.

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for a wonderful review. As a team we do our very best to ensure guests have a lovely holiday and feedback like this puts a big smile on our faces! We hope that if you return to Sal in the future we will be able to welcome you to stay again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Fabulous apartment

  • 3 of 5

Wonderful apartment, but complex like a morgue. Nothing going on....supermarket a waste of time...no fresh meat, veg or fruit, and expensive. Restaurants had limited menus and again, were expensive. Snack bar had appalling service, slow & expensive for what they served. Waited over 1 hour one day for 2 burgers. Closed at 9pm, with kitchen closed at 8pm!! Free bus into Santa Maria useless, time wise. Only ran about every 3 hours, but Santa Maria had nothing to offer anyway. Annoying sellers who wanted you "to look in my shop" as soon as you got to the main street. Not many restaurants serving decent food...had about 3/4 decent meals in the whole fortnight we were there. Very disappointing. No atmosphere anywhere.

  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi, I'm so sorry you didn't enjoy Santa Maria and appreciate the resort won't be to everyone's taste. We have always had positive feedback about Santa Maria and Vila Verde and so I'm disappointed that it wasn't what you expected. However I hope your next holiday is more to your liking and thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
United Kingdom
5

Lovely holiday apartment!

  • 5 of 5

The apartment was just as the pics show. It was lovely and spacious and very clean. The beds were comfy too. Stuart showed us to the apt and is such a lovely guy to welcome us on holiday. It is a quiet unit and the sun comes onto the balcony in the late afternoons just in time for gin & tonics! The restaurants onsite were fine to eat and drink each night. We went into Santa Maria several times and the free shuttle bus is an excellent service. We would definitely stay at Jeanette's place again. Thank you so much to Jeanette, Stuart and Ildo our lovely taxi driver!

  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and we hope to welcome you to stay again soon! Jeanette
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very nice apartment

  • 5 of 5

Like I Wrote on the title, it is a very nice apartment, sited in the Vila Verde Resort, with every kind of commodity. You have all you need to have a perfect stay in Sal. It's located 5 minutes far from Santa Maria using a taxi (3 euro/day - 4 euro/night) or 20 minutes by walking. Near the apartment (2/3 minutes in taxi, 10 walking) there is the beautiful beach of Ponte Preta (imho the best of Sal). Everything was as the owner (Mrs Jeanette Brunton) told me before I started my holidays. When I arrived at the apartment, I found Trevor, a nice man that helped me to know the apartment and its services in 30 minutes. He explained me everything about the apartment and gave me his phone number In case I needed help. The apartment was very clear and well-mainteined. You can also find a very detailed book with the instructions for everything in the apartment and very precious advices about your stay in Capo Verde. The only "problem" (but if you go to Capo Verde to relax is not a problem, I suppose) is that into the apartment there's no wifi. You can solve this "problem" going in the Cactus block's pool, sited 20 meters in front of the apartment. So it's not a real problem.. In Santa Maria my favourite restaurant was Chez Pastis (fantastic tuna steak) and regarding the excursions, I tried Mr. Enel of "360 Sal" sited with is desk just out the Bravo Village in Santa Maria (good prices and good service). Finally, If you like me don't want to stay in a village, i highly recommend this apartment for a very high value for the money you spend.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and I'm delighted you enjoyed your holiday. The management company are currently working in improvements throughout the Vila Verde resort and wifi in the apartments is one of those improvements. We have a free shuttle bus which runs several times a day into Santa Maria and so you can use this to reduce taxi costs. Thank you again. Jeanette
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Spacious apartment

  • 5 of 5

Had a great stay, nice and spacious and had everything we needed and more.

Free bus into town was a bonus.

Jeanette the owner was very good at communicating with us.

Would not hesitate to stay here again if we came back to Cape Verde.

  • Submitted: May 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you again in the future. Jeanette
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

villa verde

  • 4 of 5

large apartment nice view of pool great large place

  • Submitted: Dec 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Car: not necessary

Special interest holidays:

Ideal location for keen surfers - wind, body, kite and paddle surfing are all popular pastimes. Annual windsurfing championships held here January/February each year. Also excellent for deep sea fishing, diving, snorkelling and sun bathing. Jazz and music festivals held May to August each year. Great base for island hopping for longer stay guests.

Coast/Beach:

A steady 15 - 30 minute walk in either direction will bring you to a beach - in one direction a soft, powder sand beach for sun bathing and swimming, in the other a coarser beach for watching wind and sand surfing. A leisurely 20 - 30 minute walk brings you to Santa Maria's soft, white sand beach where you can swim, surf, arrange diving and deep sea fishing.

Travel:

Sal's airport is 20 minutes away by taxi. Car hire is not needed as the area around the resort is level and easily accessible on foot or by bicycle. Taxi's are readily available and inexpensive. However, if you wish to arrange car hire Guest Services can arrange this for you or one of the agents in Santa Maria will be able to accomodate your needs.

Distances:

The nearest town is Santa Maria, a leisurely and level 20-30 minute walk away. Further afield, Espargos is around 1 hour away and is the main commercial town on the island.

Further Details:

The Cape Verde islands are paradise found, marooned in the Atlantic ocean a little over 5 hours flying time from the UK. There are 10 very different islands with an excellent inter-island airline for those who'd like to stay a little longer than usual and do some island hopping. The beaches and climate mirror the Caribbean, but without the jet lag (there is only a 1 hour time difference) and no hurricane season! Lunar-like Sal is the most cosmopolitan island, dotted with small colourful towns, such as Santa Maria. Cobbled streets are lined with surf shops, rainbow painted shops, white churches, small and intimate restaurants, and amazing beaches flanking the turquoise sea. The temperature rarely dips below 25 degrees, so no need to worry about whether it will be warm enough, and the rainy season is usually a day in August! The locals are friendly and although their national language is a mixture of Portuguese and Creole, most speak enough English to make themselves understood. This is a laid back, chilled out place, where their mantra is "No Stress". It doesn't get much better than sitting in the sun, watching the local fisherman bring in their daily catch or some breathtaking surfing, with an ice-cold beer or fabulous cappuccino in hand..................wish you were here?

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Additional Guest Fee $12.89 per person per night

Booking Notes:
A refundable deposit of £100 is required to hold the apartment whilst you secure flights, once flights are booked this becomes a firm deposit. Full payment is required 12 weeks prior to travel and is then non-refundable. Please note the apartment rate per week assumes 2 occupants, if there are more than 2 guests please add £50 per week to the rate to cover the cost of additional linen, towels and bedding.

Changeover Day:
We are flexible with which day you wish to arrive & leave. The apartment will be ready on arrival regardless of the time & you can stay until you need to leave for the airport, unless we have same day arrivals which we try to avoid for your comfort.

Notes on prices:
The price is for the apartment and not per person and assumes 2 occupants, additional charges are due if there are more than 2 guests to cover the cost of extra linens, towels and bedding.

The price quoted is in pounds sterling, if you wish to pay in Euros please contact us. Payment can be made by bank transfer or credit/debit card. A small charge of 5% is applied for payment via Paypal in Euros or by credit or debit card.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties