Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful Stone Built Cottage with large garden.

Bedrooms 2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

Cosy comfortable 400 year old cottage. Within walking distance of Whitby.

This beautiful 2 bedroomed cottage is conveniently located on the high street in Ruswarp, just a 20 minute scenic walk into the centre of Whitby, the path follows between the banks of the river Esk and the Whitby to Pickering Steam railway.

Trout, Salmon, Seals, Herons, Kingfishers are all regularly seen on the stunning river Esk.

The village has all you need for a relaxing self catering holiday, close by is the Bridge pub (100mtrs) serving real ales, food and a very good value Sunday carvery. Up the road is Jacksons the butchers (50mtrs), here you can get without doubt the finest local meats, breads, cheeses and freshly made (throughout the day) pies and sandwiches. Across from the cottage is the village store, all the essentials are here, including wines and beers.

A short walk along the river(150mtrs) and you can hire rowing boats or canoes, visit the river bistro, there is also a miniature steam railway for kids young and old. Across the road from here is Mini Monsters a large indoor play barn which also has a licensed café for mum and dad.

Whitby. The jewel of Yorkshires coast,

Fish and Chips; History and Culture; Views and Festivals; Vampires and Goths: it’s all on offer at Whitby, one of the Yorkshire Coast’s best-loved seaside towns.

The cottage itself has recently under gone a full refurbishment and has all the comforts of home, perfect for a cozy romantic break for 2, or a family holiday.

The accommodation is split over 3 levels, the ground level having the lounge and separate kitchen.

The lounge,

Comfortable seating consisting of a 2 seater sofa, single upholstered chair and a large leather gentleman's club chair.

We have unlimited WiFi, a smart TV which is connected to the internet (no aerial), a DVD player with a selection of discs and a Hifi unit which has DAB radio and bluetooth to connect to your phone.

The lounge also has a dining area which has an oak table and seating for 4 people.

The kitchen is modern and fully equipped including everything you will need for a self catering stay.

The first floor, comprises of the main double bedroom which has its own luxury ensuite with bath and shower.

The cottage also has a 2nd separate family shower room on this floor.

The 2nd double bedroom is situated on the 3rd floor.

The cottage is beautifully decorated through out, and is fitted with high quality furnishing and fittings.

We have full gas central heating as well as a Dimplex optiflame electric stove fitted in the lounge.

Outside we have a large well kept enclosed garden, the top entertaining area has a table and chairs, barbecue and if you are feeling adventurous a brick built pizza oven, there is another decked area closer to the cottage, this also has outdoor furniture, for drinks and dining, this area has outdoor lighting.

The garden is very well stocked with herbaceous borders and lawned areas.

If require we can make available a secure brick built store room, ideal for bikes etc. Please ask.

Parking, we don't have any private parking for the cottage, but there is free road side parking throughout the village, the nearest being about 50mtrs away.

We have tried to think of everything to make your holiday perfect.

Any special requirements please ask, if we can help, we will.

More Details

Robert Fisher
Member since: 2017
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 17, 2018

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you for a lovely stay! We love this cottage and the garden. Really enjoyed the walk into Whitby and the bacon and egg butties from the butchers, thanks for the recommendations. It was a great surprise arriving to chilled fizz and chocolates. Thanks very much! We hope to come back!
Jun 2016
  • 1 of 1


Whitby Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Rural
  • Village
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , ensuite for bedroom 1
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 baby crib , Travel cot available, bedding for cot not supplied.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
  • forests
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • pier fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

71% Complete
21% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Beautiful Stone Built Cottage with large garden.
average rating of 4.642857 based on 15 reviews

Just perfect, absolutely lovely.

  • 5 of 5

We stay in lots of cottages and this is definitely our favourite. The location is great, with all the amenities you need with Whitby being a gentle stroll along the river. The cottage is well equipped and finished to a high standard. The extra touches left by the owners were really appreciated and made our stay extra special. We sat outside and had breakfast in the garden and struggled to leave the cottage to go out and explore. I could not recommend this cottage higher, we will be definitely be returning. PS the Butchers across the road is the best ever. Thanks for a perfect holiday.

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your glowing review. We are very happy that you had a good time. And always happy to see you again. Robert.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Lovely village

  • 4 of 5

The walks into Whitby were delightful. Cottage was fine, although small. Well equipped. A warning about the absence of mobile phone coverage would have been helpful, especially over Christmas, as I could then have made other arrangements.

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

lovely cottage much thought gone into decor and garden

  • 5 of 5

Really enjoyed our stay in Ruswarp Everything you need in cottage, and interior is lovely

Nice touch of prosecco and cholates on arrival , and seaside themed decor throughout. Only 20 min walk to Whitby, or 5 mins train. You can even catch a NYMR steam train from Ruswarp.

Area great for coastal and rural walks.

Only slight negative is availability of parking and there is some traffic noise as cottage is on busy road

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful Cottage

  • 5 of 5

Lovely stay in Ruswarp! The cottage was beautiful and the extra touches were much appreciated. The walk into Whitby was lovely alongside the railway, I was able to do it with the pram too which was a bonus! Would definitely stay again!

  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, very please that you have enjoyed your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Would highly recommend

  • 5 of 5

Couldn't fault it at all, we had a lovely time and felt right at home in this lovely cottage, we would 100% stay again and would highly recommend! The added extras like a bottle of prosseco and chocolates made it feel very welcoming. Thanks again

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your glowing review. We are very happy that you had a good time in Ruswarp and are welcome back anytime. Robert.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Suffolk, UK

Beautiful garden and cottage has issues

  • 3 of 5

My husband and I have just returned from a week in this cottage. I believe in giving a fair and thorough review of accommodation.

Good points…

· The location is fantastic, it is an easy and pretty walk along the footpath into Whitby – probably about 25 minutes. There is also a wonderful butchers over the road which is always packed – very reasonable too

· The garden is stunning, it is clear a lot of effort has gone into it and it’s really paid off. Beautiful colours and designed with guests in mind

Now the not so good points…

· I had booked this cottage as it was two bedroom and two bathrooms – I only ever book places with this number+ – even though we are a couple. On arrival I commented on how nice the shower in the en suite looked, a big rainfall shower with an attachment too. Only there was a sign hanging on it saying not to use it! Worse still, the second bedroom, in my opinion the nicer of the two, wasn’t made up! I’ve never experienced this before. I paid for the whole house and expect to be able to use it, we ended up with basically a one bed and one bathroom place and given that’s half what we paid for I wasn’t impressed

· Parking is very hard to come by. There is on road parking at the bottom of the hill near the school/ green but we only managed to get a space here twice in a week. The alternative is to park on a really steep hill – do not do this! We did when we first arrived but our car just couldn’t handle reversing up the gradient as someone had parked right in front of us – was not fun! It meant we had to park at the top of the hill on most occasions – it’s very steep and long and not much fun either way as cars and tractors thunder past

· On that note the property and bedroom are right on a busy road, no one seems to obey the speed limit

· The cottage is damp – not unusual for an old property but the downstairs feels very damp and dark – patches are visible through the wallpaper, the carpets and settee ‘feel’ damp too

· The gas fire was a great asset for the first half of the week, despite the fact it was July the sitting room was cold. One day my husband was turning it on when a large flame flashed out of the bottom – he is ok but his hand was singed!

Just a side note – this property is advertised as pet free but would not be suitable for someone with an allergy to dogs as the (lovely) neighbours walk through the garden.

Enjoyed NY but wouldn't stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your frank review. Some points which are in my control I will attempt to address. Previously I have assumed when only 2 people book they will need only one bedroom, (unless otherwise advised), this will be changed and both rooms will be made up in future. My apologies. I have not experienced the problems of damp to the degree you have described, as a 400 year old property this is a problem which can be present, I will look into any improvements which can be made. The fire is serviced yearly but this will be checked immediately. Yes, although I love dogs, we have a no dog policy, to help keep the cottage clean. Our very nice neighbours do have a dog, and due to shared access to get to their property it can be walked past the rear of our cottage, but they have no access to our garden which is fenced and gated. Parking is at a premium in all areas of Whitby, I have never failed to get parked in the bottom area of Ruswarp, but yes, during busy periods you may have to park on the hill above the cottage. Although beyond my control, I apologise for the person who inconcideretly parked in front of you. Thank you again for your review, without such observations we cannot improve. Robert.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Barpub
100 Metres
The Bridge
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Nearest Train
100 Metres
Nearest Restaurant
100 Metres
The Bridge
Nearest Beach
1.5 Miles
Car: not necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Peak period 7 or 14 night stays only.
Key and more detailed cottage information will be sent 14 days prior to your stay.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties