A recent review described this apartment as "Magazine Quality. Newly renovated apartment with no expense spared and every facility you could wish for! Just metres from the seafront the living quarters have fantastic south-facing views over the Atlantic. Quiet, private location just off the popular "Lido" area just to the west of Funchal. Car parking included, as is high-speed Wi-Fi, with shops, supermarkets, cafes and restaurants close at hand - just a short walk away - as are high frequency buses that get you into the centre of Funchal in less than ten minutes.
- Apartment1722 sq. ft.
- Half Baths0
- Min Stay1 - 5 nights
Clear ocean views through 180 degrees, everything new, pool, Wi-Fi and air-con.
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within one day
- english, spanish, portuguese
- Calendar last updated:
- Aug 20, 2018
About Madeira Direct
Madeira Island Direct have been managing holiday rental properties on the island of Madeira since 2006. We only look after apartments that meet the most exacting standards - most of which we have looked after on behalf of private owners for a number of years.
Why Madeira Direct chose São Martinho
This is genuinely one of the most luxurious apartments in Funchal, with clear, unrestricted ocean views.
What makes this Apartment unique
Privacy. South-facing balcony with remarkable ocean views.
Pool / Spa
Local Services & Businesses
Sports & Adventure Activities
Check-in: 4:00 PM
Check-out: 10:00 AM
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.
Beautiful flat in superb position
The apartment was just as presented on the website.
There were a few small issues. There was no DVD player which was an issue as we specifically identified this as a reason for selecting this particular flat, and took DVDs for the evenings. This problem was accentuated by the super large TV only having Portuguese channels. (The bedroom wall tv did have some English channels.)
The bed pillows were very poor especially when compared with the high overall standard of the accommodation.
The management arrangements including the transport to and from the airport were excellent and were there to greet us as agreed and returned to sort out a minor light bulb issue.
Thanks for your largely positive review. With regard to your small issues we have responded below:
You should have let us know that there was no DVD player - we had planned to install one, which was still in its box - we did call out to change a light bulb as you requested and could have done this at the same time had we been notified. This has been rectified now.
The cable TV has 140+ channels - it looks like you had set the TV to the wrong input (terrestrial TV is just the five Portuguese channels). Again this could have been resolved had we known. The normal cable input includes lots of English channels (Sky News, BBC News, BBC Entertainment etc).
With regard to the pillows, they are "standard issue" on the island, but we will look at supplying better ones immediately.
We were expecting a lot from this apartment and were not disappointed. Great sea views throughout most of the apartment. Nothing missing apart from a few more mugs. Rita very helpful. Atlantic Club just below is a great place to watch the world go by and have a sande espada and a beer - not as expensive as it looks. We hope to return.
Beautiful apartment with fantastic views in a great area of Funchal
The apartment is of the highest quality with beautiful sea views. It was a delight to get up every morning to see the sun rising over the Ocean.
The area has plenty of restaurants and bars on your doorstep and we found more life there than there would be in the restaurants of the centre of Funchal.
The apartment is lovely and bright and perfectly adequate for 4 adults although the balcony isn’t huge. An english style toaster would be a welcome addition plus a few more large glasses but other than that it was terrific.
We used the taxi service with Manuel and I would recommend that and on the day we were leaving our flight was at 8pm but Manuel collected our cases at 10am and held them until later in the day when we left for the airport.
My only real complaint is about the lack of beds at the pool. Only 8 beds for the whole complex and some of those need repaired and cleaned. I did enquire about more but that led to no improvement so I asked the pool attendant myself which also led to no change . A bit of investment in beds would make it more inviting or perhaps for Peter to purchase a couple of light beds that could be transported to and from the apartment each day. The other option is to lie on the grass.
There are no toilet facilities at the pool.
Other than that we had a fantastic time and Rita was very helpful especially as our flight was 3 hours late and arrived late at night.
Magazine worthy apartment
Superb apartment, great location and a beautiful island. Could of done with squeegee to dry shower door after use. Limited number of sun-beds at pool
Will organise a squeegee at the next opportunity, and we are assured by the management company that the number of sunbeds will be increased now that the high season has arrived - apparently they are in store somewhere!
Thanks for the 5* review!
A magnificent apartment with great views of the sea
The property was exactly as described. It was exceptionally clean and equipped to a high standard. The management staff were well organised and met us on arrival. The only problem we had was a lack of instructions for the dishwasher. However we ate out most of the time so this was not really a problem.
Nice and well located apartment
I found it exactly as noted by others. Great location. We made good use of the very nice kitchen and enjoyed the ocean sounds and view. Management was helpful and professional. Some people may find the beds a bit hard and there was a small problem about sewer gas in the back bathroom but overall we had a nice experience. I highly recommend their driver, Manuel, for airport pickup and day island tours: far better choice than renting a car.
Delighted you enjoyed your stay. We are afraid all beds here are hard, and there are actually some "mattress toppers" at the apartment which could have been fitted. The smell in the second bathroom has been eradicated. The location is excellent, as you observe. Manuel is always very good!
We meet all of our guests personally and will happily answer ans questions and make recommendations for restaurants , tours etc if requested. There is also information on the island in the apartment.
Additional information about rental rates
We are unable to accept arrivals Tuesday through Thursday