Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Newly refurbished 5-star 2-bed (en-suite) apartment with front-line ocean views

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,722 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 5 - 21 nights


About the property

Clear ocean views through 180 degrees, everything new, pool, Wi-Fi and air-con.

Newly renovated apartment with no expense spared and every facility you could wish for! Just metres from the seafront the living quarters have fantastic south-facing views over the Atlantic. Quiet, private location just off the popular "Lido" area just to the west of Funchal. Car parking included, as is high-speed Wi-Fi, with shops, supermarkets, cafes and restaurants close at hand - just a short walk away - as are high frequency buses that get you into the centre of Funchal in less than ten minutes.

Property Manager
Madeira Island Direct
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english, spanish, portuguese
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 15, 2018

About Madeira Island Direct

Madeira Island Direct have been managing holiday rental properties on the island of Madeira since 2006. We only look after apartments that meet the most exacting standards - most of which we have looked after on behalf of private owners for a number of years.

Why Madeira Island Direct chose São Martinho

This is genuinely one of the most luxurious apartments in Funchal, with clear, unrestricted ocean views.

What makes this apartment unique

Privacy. South-facing balcony with remarkable ocean views.


São Martinho Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 4
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1722 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • All arrivals by 9pm unless otherwise organised
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Air Conditioning
  • Elevator
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • rain forests
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

92% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Newly refurbished 5-star 2-bed (en-suite) apartment with front-line ocean views
average rating of 4.928571 based on 14 reviews

Beautiful flat in superb position

  • 4 of 5

The apartment was just as presented on the website.

There were a few small issues. There was no DVD player which was an issue as we specifically identified this as a reason for selecting this particular flat, and took DVDs for the evenings. This problem was accentuated by the super large TV only having Portuguese channels. (The bedroom wall tv did have some English channels.)

The bed pillows were very poor especially when compared with the high overall standard of the accommodation.

The management arrangements including the transport to and from the airport were excellent and were there to greet us as agreed and returned to sort out a minor light bulb issue.

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your largely positive review. With regard to your small issues we have responded below: You should have let us know that there was no DVD player - we had planned to install one, which was still in its box - we did call out to change a light bulb as you requested and could have done this at the same time had we been notified. This has been rectified now. The cable TV has 140+ channels - it looks like you had set the TV to the wrong input (terrestrial TV is just the five Portuguese channels). Again this could have been resolved had we known. The normal cable input includes lots of English channels (Sky News, BBC News, BBC Entertainment etc). With regard to the pillows, they are "standard issue" on the island, but we will look at supplying better ones immediately.
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0

Nice and well located apartment

  • 5 of 5

I found it exactly as noted by others. Great location. We made good use of the very nice kitchen and enjoyed the ocean sounds and view. Management was helpful and professional. Some people may find the beds a bit hard and there was a small problem about sewer gas in the back bathroom but overall we had a nice experience. I highly recommend their driver, Manuel, for airport pickup and day island tours: far better choice than renting a car.

  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Delighted you enjoyed your stay. We are afraid all beds here are hard, and there are actually some "mattress toppers" at the apartment which could have been fitted. The smell in the second bathroom has been eradicated. The location is excellent, as you observe. Manuel is always very good!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful apartment

  • 5 of 5

The apartment is exactly as it appears in the photos! The views are stunning, the furniture and fittings are fresh and clean, the decor is modern and very attractive. We had a wonderful 10 day holiday, the first visit for both of us to Madeira. The location of the apartment is great, with a short walk to a huge range of restaurants, shops, cafes, the Lido and bus routes. We got a taxi on arrival, but picked up the Aerobus on return at the end of our holiday. €5 each, and excellent service. As far as the apartment itself goes, some minor things would make it much better. The mattresses are very firm, and the pillows poor. More mugs, some small pots and a proper toaster would all be a great help. None of this spoiled our stay.

  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Beautiful apartment

  • 5 of 5

This is a beautiful apartment which is exactly like the photos. Good location close to lots of restaurants and shops. Would definitely return.

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Excellent apartment with great views.

  • 5 of 5

Apartment was close to some really nice restaurants and bars. We had a great holiday and enjoyed sitting on the balcony on an evening watching the ocean.

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Delighted you enjoyed your stay - the ocean views can be addictive!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Ideal location, comfortable home from home, nothing too much trouble! Excellent 👌

  • 5 of 5

Enjoyable stay, great location, no need for car walked to most places. You gain access to Lido and the sea after 10 minute walk just a small charge per person.

Nice restaurants and shops all local.

This apartment has excellent views across the sea, would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you - we look forward to seeing you. There is no need for a car here if you are just here to relax.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
20 Kilometres
Madeira (FNC)
Nearest Barpub
100 Metres
Nearest Ferry
2 Kilometres
Porto Santo
Nearest Golf
12 Kilometres
Nearest Motorway
1 Kilometres
Nearest Restaurant
100 Metres
Nearest Beach
3 Kilometres
Praia Formosa
Car: not necessary

We meet all of our guests personally and will happily answer ans questions and make recommendations for restaurants , tours etc if requested. There is also information on the island in the apartment.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $30.77

We are unable to accept arrivals Tuesday through Thursday

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.