Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Harbourside Ground Floor Apartment Close To Beach & Stunning Coastal Cliff Walks

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Apartment in West Bay, near Bridport, Dorset - Perfect Location for a Wonderful Holiday or Long Weekend Retreat

Perfect location: A tastefully furnished & well-equipped (free unlimited wifi) ground floor apartment in a converted prestigious Grade II Victorian building (see main image) overlooking West Bay harbour in Lyme Bay. West Bay is a small fishing harbour village with two beaches and is a major gateway to the famous Jurassic Coast world heritage site. Take the eastward coastal cliff path to Chesil Beach & Portland, or the west coast path towards Lyme Regis, ideal for fossil hunting. West Bay has also become famous as the film set for the tv series 'Broadchurch'. From the apartment, it's just a minute’s stroll is the fine shingle beach, pubs, shops & amenities and several excellent restaurants. There’s crab fishing, river boating, angling trips, sailing, coastal and country walks, fossil hunting, many local events (like raft racing). 1.5 miles inland is the vibrant market town of Bridport with its arts centre & lots of excellent restaurants & cafes. Weymouth with sailing beaches is about a half hour drive. WE WILL CONSIDER BOOKINGS OF LESS THAN 7 NIGHTS DURING OFF-PEAK SEASON, SO PLEASE SEND AN ENQUIRY. (See 'Additional Pricing Information' below the price rates.)

There's free residents' parking adjacent to the lawn in front of Pier Terrace, on a first come first served basis for residents. West Bay also has several car parks which should have space, so if on the odd occasion you don't immediately get a free space where the residents' parking is, there's always other car parking space nearby. The public car park is free from 6pm - 8am and very cheap at other times.

Please click on 'Facilities' for additional information about the apartment.

More Details

Owner
Graham Stone
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
January 18, 2018

About Graham Stone

We love this beautiful part of England and we fell in love with the Bridport area because of the stunning scenery and cliff walks along the wonderful Jurassic heritage coast. Dorset is one of Britain's beautiful counties!

We ourselves live in Surrey, so we are not on location at the property. We have a local lady lives nearby who cleans and is on hand locally if needed.

Graham Stone purchased this apartment in 2012

Amenities

West Bay Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 0
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:30 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Bathroom with bath/shower, sink and WC. Arched ceiling, reduced height at one end. Washing/drying machine available in utility area. 6 steps down to bathroom.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 2 (1 Bedroom) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom with double bed, wardrobe, chest of drawers, mirror,and bedside tables.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: Baby accepted if bringing your own travel cot. Not suitable for toddlers. The apartment is on the ground floor - 2 steps up at entry level into communal Hall; 5 steps down to front door. 6 steps down to bathroom. No Smoking. No pets. Outside: There is free residents' parking all along the wall by the lawn in front of Pier Terrace which is on a first come first served basis for residents. West Bay also has several car parks which should have space, so if on the odd occasion you don't immediately get a free space where the residents' parking is, there's always other car parking space nearby. The public car park is free from 6pm - 8am. Private lawn area for residents' use. Towels / Linen / Bedlinen provided. One set of towels per person provided – if you need more please bring extra of your own. Please bring your own beach towels.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

53% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
13% Complete
0% Complete
Harbourside Ground Floor Apartment Close To Beach & Stunning Coastal Cliff Walks
average rating of 4.266667 based on 15 reviews
5

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5

Stayed here for a week in August 2017. The apartment is lovely and spotlessly clean. The owners provided lots of information for days out and places of interest, which we found very helpful. The kitchen/lounge was well equipped and had everything we needed and more. The bedroom was a good size with enough wardrobe space, drawers and storage etc. The bathroom is large and has a powerful shower. There is free parking by the wall facing the property. We only had a problem parking on one day, which was the bank holiday, but as the whole area was packed that day it was not an issue. There are lots of lovely bakeries, a couple of pubs, tea rooms and restaurants within a couple of minutes walk which was great. You really are right in the middle of everything and could not be closer to the beach and pier. We like fishing and caught loads of fish, some of which we cooked in the apartment. There is also a good tackle shop a few minutes walk away. All in all a very good holiday and we will certainly be back.

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for such a lovely review and we're really pleased you had such a great time, especially the fishing. It's a great place for fishermen! And we love watching the kids dangling their strings of bait as they fish for crabs by the quayside. Look forward to welcoming you back anytime. Thanks! Graham & Angie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Cosy and warm, well-equppied for s ahiort break.

  • 4 of 5

Warm and cosy apartment which was welcome, as we stayed over New Year. Good communications before we arrived with clear instructions. Tried most of the pubs and restaurants in West Bay. Quarter deck, traditional, small, independent 'local', had great seafood there one evening!

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're pleased you enjoyed your New Year's stay in our apartment. Yes, the Quarterdeck is always popular. And since West Bay is a working fisherman's harbour you're always guaranteed good seafood! We much appreciate that you took time to leave us a review Wishing you a happy 2018 and beyond!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely apartment.

  • 5 of 5

My husband & I stayed at this fantastic apartment for a few days in October. The apartment was perfect. It had everything we needed and is very spacious. Perfect location - literally footsteps from the lovely pebble "Broadchurch" beach! The apartment is right on the harbour with lovely views. We had never been to this part of Dorset before and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Thank you.

  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're really pleased you had such a lovely time. Yes, we think West Dorset is lovely too, although we are biased! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely apartment very well kitted out and clean, good to have heating and wireless !

  • 5 of 5

What an ideal place to stay for a couple, was lovely to see what's going on in harbour and to not need to use car once there-buses very good to get around on!

Think we will be making another trip there next year!!!!

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Lynda, for taking the time to leave your review. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again next year. :-)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Ground floor flat with steps !!

  • 2 of 5

Very surprised that a ground floor flat had steps down onto the flat then another 7 steps down to the bathroom ! I suffer with arthritis and really struggled in the flat , I think this should be noted for other people booking this flat as much as we love West Bay we wouldn't stay in that flat again

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Elaine - We're sorry you weren't aware there are a few steps in the apartment. It is clearly stated on the main property description page under Facilities for bathroom and again in the Notes section. Otherwise we're pleased you enjoyed your holiday. West Bay is indeed a lovely place to stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location overlooking the harbour

  • 4 of 5

We had a great few days in West Bay. The apartment was very clean and really well located, with everything we needed. We had fish and chips on the beach, and loved the fact that it was only seconds to the beach and the pub. We visited Lyme Regis on a couple of occasions, but apart from that we stayed in West Bay as there was so much to do.

The apartment is perfect for a getaway.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Coast/Beach:

The apartment is just yards from the fine shingle beach and spectacular Jurassic coastline and fabulous walks.

Most of West Dorset is designated as an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.

Travel:

Nearest airport: Exeter 1 hour drive. Bournemouth or Bristol 1.5 hr drive. Southampton 2 hrs drive. Regular bus services from West Bay into Bridport. Main line rail stations are at Crewkerne and Dorchester, both of which are under ½ hours' drive time.

Distances:

Approximate distances: Bridport 1.5 miles. Lyme Regis 10 miles. Crewekerne 11 miles. Dorchester 15 miles. Weymouth 17 miles. Exeter 40 miles. Bournemouth 40 miles.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable damage deposit $138.93

IMPORTANT: FOR STAYS OF LESS THAN A WEEK PLEASE CONTACT THE OWNER DIRECT FOR ACCURATE QUOTE. Thanks.
Booking Notes:
Please contact for Booking form and Terms & Conditions. 25% deposit is required to secure your booking. Balance is due 6 weeks before arrival plus a £100 security deposit bond which is reimbursed after your stay.

Changeover Day:
We can be flexible depending on available dates. Arriving visitors welcome from 3.00 pm and departing guests required to vacate the apartment by 10.30 am.
PARKING info: Click Facilities and then scroll down to read notes.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties