Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Charming one bedroom garden flat with patio in beautiful West Sussex village

Bedrooms 1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

Self-catering rental close to Downs Cylle link and historic market town

The flat looks out on to beautiful well maintained gardens and is close to walks, cycle paths, 18 hole golf course and riding stables and tennis nearby. The market town of Horsham is 3 miles away with a lively town centre, theatre, cinema, shops and railway station. Brighton is 40 minutes by car, and London 55 minutes on the train. An hourly bus service connects the village to Horsham town centre in less than 15 minutes. There is a village shop and post office within walking distance, and a friendly pub with beer garden close to the shop. The flat itself has been recently redecorated and has a well equipped kitchen and new shower. There is a double bed in the bedroom and sofa bed in the sitting room, which has a sliding patio door looking out onto the garden. This accommodation is ideal for couples looking for a peaceful location and lots of walks and local exploring.

David Robertson
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
December 13, 2017


Slinfold Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage (semi-detached)
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Village
  • Away From It All
  • Sports & Activities
  • Broadband Access
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Towels Provided
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , new
  • Nicely refurbished bathroom with shower enclosure.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Bedroom looks out onto garden. There is a pine wardrobe with hanging space and shelves. There is a double sofa bed in the sitting room. This would mainly suit a family of 4 with small children or one extra adult for the sofa bed.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Television
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Terrace
  • 4 garden chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • swimming
  • tennis
Cozy, bright accommodation ideal for a couple but could accommodate 3/4 people with sofa bed in sitting room. Quiet, friendly village, with helpful family in adjoining house. Patio area suitable for outdoor meals under shelter of well established grape vine. Private garden area for exclusive use.


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

81% Complete
0% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
9% Complete
Charming one bedroom garden flat with patio in beautiful West Sussex village
average rating of 4.4545455 based on 11 reviews

Lovely self-contained annexe in a very pleasant location.

  • 5 of 5

Excellent accommodation at a very reasonable price. It was the ideal place for our week long stay near Horsham - just as described on the website. The local pub serves good food and the bus stop if required is conveniently placed just a few yards from the gate. If we hadn't been so busy helping our daughter move from London to Horsham we could have enjoyed a nice relaxing holiday here!

  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfectly adequate. Good location. Photos fairly accurate

  • 3 of 5

It would have been good to have control of the heating and hot water! Especially when the owners were away, and the weather was quite chilly in the evenings, and when they had guests, as there was no hot water for a shower.

  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately, a gaff on my part in setting the timers while we were away, resulted in the above problem. Our guest (very kindly) decided " it would be unkind to disturb your holiday" though in the light of the review, I wish she had. I have offered compensation which has been accepted, as " very kind of you ". A mistake, I sincerely hope, never to repeat
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

very shabby and damp

  • 1 of 5

Disappointed in this accommodation although the area and village itself are very pretty we would not stay at this cottage again, my husband is still recovering from a cough we believe was caused by the dampness.

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Where to begin .... As well as the above, the mirrors were too high, the loo roll was in the wrong place if you were left handed and the English weather in May was too cold and damp ( understandable if you've just arrived from Australia ) After being on the receiving end of an outburst of temper, the writing was on the wall and we knew a bad review would follow. Is it shabby and damp ? We don't think so. Our current guests don't think so and we have been delighted with all our previous reviews. So, we leave you to judge but hope to welcome you to our cosy and comfortable flat. David and Anna
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


  • 5 of 5

We booked to stay for a month while our new home was renovated, flat is lovely beautiful views of the garden, everything clean and tidy and off parking for two cars a real bonus.

The Owners were great and very friendly, the village is beautiful and the local pub does great food and is in walking distance.

If you want a tranquil comfortable break in lovely countryside then tis is hard to beat.

  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


  • 5 of 5

El apartamento estaba muy bien, hemos pasado 7 noches muy buenas y eso que el tiempo no nos ha acompañado mucho, pero en el apartamento se estaba muy bien, calentitos y con todas las comodidades: buena cama, tv plana, WiFi, cocina equipada, etc. Ha valido la pena. Teníamos completa libertad para actuar a nuestro aire y hemos recorrido toda la zona.

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Below is a google translation of the above review The apartment was fine , we spent seven very good night and that time has not been with us long , but the apartment was very nice, warm and with all the amenities : good bed, flat TV , WiFi , kitchen, etc. It was worth it. We had complete freedom to act on our own and we have traveled throughout the area.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

superb cottage in a wonderful setting.

  • 5 of 5

we would strongly recommend this accom and express our sincere thks to david and anna for all they did for us... great value, exceptional gardens, and very comfortable throughout.... once again thks

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
19 Miles
London Gatwick
Nearest Barpub
500 Metres
Red Lyon, Slinfold
Nearest Ferry
45 Miles
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Slinfold Golf and Country Club
Nearest Train
3 Miles
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
500 Metres
Red Lyon, Slinfold
Car: necessary

Close to historic towns of Horsham, Petworth, Guildford. Petworth is a centre for antiques and Petworth House and grounds are open to the public. Brighton beaches are 40 minutes drive away. The Downs cycle link is very close and you can walk or cycle from Guildford to Shoreham -by- Sea through beautiful Sussex countryside. There are walks on the South Downs close by, and Southwater country park is less than 10 kilometers from the village.

Other Activities: tennis.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable damage deposit $134.32

A returnable deposit of £100.00 required. Cash on arrival preferably. Breakages will be deducted from the deposit.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties