About the property
- Half Baths0
- Minimum Stay3 nights
Cottages in Upper Onibury, Craven Arms, Nr. Ludlow, Shropshire, England - Just 5 Miles From Ludlow Famous For Its Gourmet Restaurants, Annual Festival And Castle
Each cottage is well equipped offering satellite television (Sky), free satellite WiFi, full catering facilities including cooker, microwave cooker, dishwasher, freezer, garden area, patio furniture, duvets, linen and towels. Electricity, including electric fire and full central heating is within the tariff. There is parking. Ludlow, famous for its gourmet restaurants, annual festival, castle and parish church as well as its many interesting shops and pubs, is just 5 miles away. Stokesay Castle and the Shropshire Hills Discovery Centre are 2 miles and historic Shrewsbury and the Ironbridge Gorge are easily accessible. Fishing, golf and National Hunt racing are under 5 miles away with a good selection of shops and pubs serving food only ½ mile away. Wonderful walks start from the cottages through our 2000 acre estate or further afield in the historic Border country. Well behaved pets are only permitted by prior arrangement.
- Response time:
- within a few days
- english, french, spanish, italian
- Calendar last updated:
- Mar 15, 2018
Why Gina chose Onibury
Peaceful and relaxing and intimate Private use of pool may be booked daily
What makes this Cottage unique
accessibility from north and south unique central england position for large groups
Pool / Spa
Local Services & Businesses
Sports & Adventure Activities
Check-in: 4:00 PM
Check-out: 11:00 AM
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.
It did not live up to its descrippion on the web site
Our main issue with this property was that the OD web site said it had "6 bedrooms - all ensuite”. It didnt. 2 bedrooms had a bathroom sandwiched in-between which 4 people had to share, and one bedroom had a “private” bathroom, i.e. not directly connected to the bedroom. We would not have booked this property had we known this as our primary requirement for our annual group holiday is always 6 ensuite bedrooms.
There was only one fridge which, for 12 adults self-catering, is not adequate.
The web site said there was a freezer but this was not in the house. It was elsewhere on the site.
The "patio furniture” only seemed to comprise one 4-seater picnic bench which for a house of 12 people is inadequate.
The wi fi only works in one corner of the house, although admittedly the web site doesnt advertise that the house has wi fi.
The location is lovely, the countryside is lovey - but we do feel that the description on your web site of the bedrooms in particular is misrepresentation
There was an error in number of bathrooms on website which has now been fixed.
Guests have been reimbursed for inconvenience caused
Larger fridge freezer is now installed and additional picnic tables
wifi is available in all cottages now by satellite so much improved
What a woundful break
What a lovely family break.nothing to much trouble.sharon( the manger) even put our Tesco shopping delivery away for us! As we got held up in traffic.it was so lovely being greeted and showed where every thing was by sharon and having a lovely welcome pack.The cottage was very clean, lovely views and loads of open space.the swimming pool and tennis court was a big hit with the children.many thanks for a unforgettable hoilday well done!!
OK but definitely not luxury
Whilst the area is picturesque and the cottage is clean with all the basics, it didn't meet all of our expectations and we were slightly bemused by the lack of equipment and "luxuries" as indicated on the website. There was no cot (I asked specifically for one but on arrival, I was told that they had been allocated to other guests). There was no working wifi in the cottage and we had to walk elsewhere on the grounds. The TVs were very old, no DVD player and no extractor fan in the kitchen (important when cooking Christmas lunch for 12!) I would have also thought that there would be a washing machine in each cottage (there is one, in the pool room). All in all, the cottage is reasonably priced and perhaps we are spoiled these days, but I would have expected more "modern" conveniences.
Since your visit back in 2014, we have undertaken extensive modernisation of the property which includes a new Mackintosh Kitchen.
Great place for a walking group, beautiful scenery all around and loved having an ensuite room for each couple. The indoor pool was a bonus. Very clean, with plenty of comfortable seating in the lounge and dining room. Could have done with more fridge space and some coat-hooks. Booking and arrival arrangements all very laid back and easy. Stokesay castle is nearby and well worth a visit.
We all 24 of us had a fantastic weekend, my daughter was thrilled with the whole weekend
Cottages are well worth every penny, location was brilliant very peaceful but close enough to village and Ludlow was a short taxi ride
Hospitality from yourself and husband taking us into the village hall on Sunday and picking us up and no one could believe the army truck it went down so well.
Swimming pool was fantastic nothing was to much trouble for you to ensure our weekend went to plan
We are looking at a reunion in the summer and certainly looking at all the family coming next Christmas
I have given about 5 of our friends who couldn't make this weekend your details already in last couple of days and they to are looking at your cottages
Just cant thank you enough, no words could describe the incredible weekend we had just PERFECT
Advertised shared laundry facilities not available.
No coat hooks
Two dishwashers and two cookers but one so old you could not read any of the markings.
Few power points
6 bathrooms but only one shower and it had very poor operation
We still had a good holiday
Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you had a good holiday and work hard to ensure the comfort of our guests. In response to your review comments, we have not advertised shared laundry facilities for 4 or 5 years now and we do not provide this. The electric cooker has been replaced - it was on order at the time of your stay. This was a brand new conversion at the time you stayed and coat hooks have now been fitted.
Bikes may be hired Walks on marked trails Spectacular views from all cottages private gardens and walks on owners land
Rates & Availability
Additional information about rental rates
Booking Notes: The Walton, Onibury and Whettleton are all available for letting on a weekly basis from Friday to Friday or on a short term basis either Friday to Monday or Monday to Friday. Changeover Day: Please enquire.