Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Luxury Apartment on the Melia "Tortuga Beach and Spa Resort"

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,485 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

5* Apartment, Sal Island, Cape Verde. Only Metres from the Magnificent Ponta Preta Beach

This luxury 5* apartment is located on the 'Melia' Tortuga Beach and Spa Resort, only a few steps from the beautiful Ponta Preta beach with its crystal clear waters and tropical beaches.

The resort has its own restaurants/pool bar/restaurant and live music/entertainment every evening. There are also numerous restaurants in the nearby town of Santa Maria. Private spa and gym. 2 large swimming pools with a swim-up bar. There are ample sunbeds around both pools and on the beach. The resort has a secured gated community with a 24 hour concierge service.

More Details

Owner
Paul and Sandy Withey
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
February 20, 2018

About Paul and Sandy Withey

We, Paul and Sandy are the private owners of 2 properties in Cape Verde which consist of a Luxury Villa and a Luxury Apartment.

We purchased them when we visited the island in 2008. We simply fell in love with the island and its people and decided that others would do the same! Now that we are both retired, we pride ourselves with the personal service that we are able to give to our clients.

Paul and Sandy Withey purchased this apartment in 2008

Why Paul and Sandy Withey chose Santa Maria

This apartment is the only one on the resort that has a combination of, a private balcony, (most have a shared balcony), located on the 1st floor (more privacy), 2 bathrooms, faces south (sunshine all day) and is located in a nice quiet position on the resort.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi Paul

Just wanted to drop you a quick note to say a massive thank you for letting us stay at your property in Cape Verde. The apartment was stunning, very well equipped for all our needs and in a fabulous setting and resort.



We visited some of the restaurants you mentioned in your information pack and also a few other places in Santa Maria. The resort itself was fantastic and the staff were so friendly and attentive. We came back so relaxed and all thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Thank you so much for all your handy hints and the information you provided on booking with you.



Kindest Regards

Tracy



Hi Paul.

The Holiday was perfect, we loved the place !!! We thought it is still so unspoiled which makes it even more beautiful. The apartment was wonderful, it had everything we needed and we loved the walks along the beach.

Thank you again for contributing to our lovely holiday. Maria
Sep 2010
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Santa Maria Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1485 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • Resort
Theme:
  • Family
  • Holiday Resort
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Shower room 1 - toilet , shower , bidet
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , bidet
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 4 (2 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 with king size bed, wardrobe and 32" HD flat screen TV. Bedroom 2 with twin beds and wardrobes.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Boat ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Sauna ...
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
42" flat screen TV/DVD in the lounge with a further 32" flat screen TV in the main bedroom with independent satellite channels available. Outside: The apartment has its own private 1st floor balcony (not shared) with table, 4 chairs and parasol. The large swim up pools and children's pools are only a few metres away, as is the popular children's club. The beach is also only a few steps away with lots of free comfy sunbeds and parasols. The resort also enjoys beautiful landscape gardens. Towels, linen, cleaning and air-con are included. Beach towels not provided

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

76% Complete
11% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Luxury Apartment on the Melia "Tortuga Beach and Spa Resort"
average rating of 4.647059 based on 18 reviews
5

Lovely family holiday in well appointed apartment

  • 5 of 5

We had a lovely holiday in this two bedroom apartment. The apartment is very well equipped in a nice quiet sunny position on the alll-inclusive resort. Sitting outside on the balcony in the sun was a joy with the upstairs position affording extra privacy.

There is a nice beach at the resort but we would recommend walking 10 minutes to ponta preta beach which was gorgeous and virtually empty.

In the evenings a 5 minute taxi ride (cost 3 or 4 euro) takes you to the local town with a number of restaurant options.

Paul was very helpful throughout the process with prompt, friendly and informative replies.

There isn't a huge amount of things to do in Sal but if you are after a relaxing holiday in the sun we would recommend this as a good option !

  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

2 Bedroom apartment 441, Tortuga Beach.

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I spent 10 days in Paul's apartment in February.

It is well located, within 2 minutes of of the reception and dining facilities as well as the upper of two swimming pools. The beach is a 3 minute walk. It is quiet and the large south facing balcony is perfect for sunbathing and dining.

The apartment in well equipped and beds are comfortable, with aircon if you need it. We did not since February appeared to be the coldest month and in fact, fleeces were our saviour in the evenings.

We were self catering and so did not take advantage of the 'all in' at the Tortuga, there was an option to upgrade at around 80 euros per person/ per day!. Paul provided us with an information sheet and we soon found the bakery and small supermarket in the Vinho Verde development. You just walk across the road from the entrance foyer and through a 'gap in the wall'. The supermarket stocks a range of basics and the bakery has good bread and the best 'Pastel de Nata' this side of Belem!!

We did not take too much notice of the in house entertainment, it was very 'resort' based.... you could be anywhere. Instead we took a taxi each evening to Santa Maria, 4 euros each way, and found the local bars and restaurants.

During the day, there were beds by the pools and on the beach, the bar here played the standard 'beep beep' music... I don't know why, I think maybe only the staff like it!.

There is a nice walk on the beach to the sand dune, and you can also walk into Santa Maria along the road, around 30 minutes.

One negative about the Tortuga beach, the gym is awful.... 6 machines of which only 2 were actually working and a really dreary interior with poor lighting. For a ' 5 star' resort this is a real no no!

To sum up, a very good apartment on a standard resort development.

  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Painswick
4

Comfortable and clean with everything for a self catering stay

  • 4 of 5

Conveniently located apartment and fully equipped such that you do not have to rely on the all inclusive TUI facilities.

Tortuga is geared up for families and there is good segregation of pools for those with small children.

Overall an excellent location although on my trip the wind and cloudy weather was a little disappointing.

Day trips are best bought on the beach as there are better value than the ones offered direct by the hotels .

Santa Maria was a good place for eating out and the variety of restaurants was excellent. The Supermacado near the Shell fuel station was small and quite expensive but most items are imported so to be expected.

I can recommend the apartment and with two bathrooms it would make a perfect location for a small family holiday.

  • Submitted: Dec 24, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Chris Thank you so much for your review of our apartment and your holiday. I'm pleased to hear that you thought the apartment was perfect and you enjoyed your stay. Also glad that you tried the restaurants in Santa Maria as they are all normally very good and reasonably priced as well. It means a lot to me to know that you had a lovely holiday as we are always trying to make the accommodation as comfortable as possible for all of our guests. Once again thank you for your review Kind regards Paul
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Lovely apartment

  • 5 of 5

Really nice apartment with all the amenities that are required. Excellent air con in the scorching Cape Verdian heat. Balcony was our favourite place, day & night, even had a few birds come & see us every morning. Will hopefully be back again.

The resort has a wonderful beach, my only gripe with that is not enough sun beds to accommodate everyone & they are all reserved very early. But that was no reflection on the apartment at all.

  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Nichola Thank you so much for your kind review of our apartment in Cape Verde. I'm really pleased to hear that you had a great time and you enjoyed the apartment so much. I'm sorry that you found it difficult to get sunbeds. I checked this with the resorts management and they said that during November they were operating at 100 percent capacity, which is above the normal of around 70/80. However they did say they would look at increasing the number of beds very soon. I'm glad you enjoyed relaxing on the balcony as our apartment is just one of a few on the resort that have a single private balcony where most have a shared one. Once again thank you for your review , its very comforting to know that you had a great holiday and it means a lot to me to know that you have. Kind regards. Paul
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Just fantastic!!!

  • 5 of 5

This is a brilliant place to stay you have great facilities and lovely location however without the all inclusive mentality

The restaurants are great and extremely reasonable.

Santa Maria is very authentic the people are the nicest happiest people I have ever meet and have travelled extensively.

I would highly recommend this apartment and Sal as a great alternative to the Canaries and the weather was 5c warmer

Can not wait to go back

Thanks Paul

.

  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Sue. Thank you so much for your lovely review. I'm so please to hear that you really enjoyed your stay in our apartment and you also loved Santa Maria, as you said, its so authentic. I totally agree with your comments on how nice the people are as they always seem to be smiling whatever they are doing. I think some people taking their first holiday in Cape Verde get a little frustrated with the locals with their “No Stress” attitude, but that's what make it such a relaxing holiday. Once again thank you for letting me know that you had such a nice time because it means a lot to me to know that you have. We would love to welcome you back again anytime Sue. Kind regards Paul
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Beautiful villa in a great complex. Relaxing stay. Definitely will go back

  • 5 of 5

Immaculate villa with everything you need. Lovely pool areas and recommend the all inclusive offer. Very good value

  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear David Thank you for your review of our apartment and your holiday. I'm so pleased that you had a great time and you found the apartment to be immaculate and likewise with the resort. I'm also pleased to hear that you thought the "all inclusive" package, that the resort offers, was very good value. As you know, I always recommend waiting until you are there before deciding if you want to take the AI package as some guests like it and some prefer to eat out in the local restaurants in Santa Maria. Also glad to hear that you found your stay nice and relaxing because that's what most of us want when we take our holidays. Once again that you for letting me know you had a lovely time in the apartment. We are always trying our best to make sure all guests have a great holiday so its nice to hear that you did. Kind Regards. Paul & Sandy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: not necessary

Special interest holidays:

If you like adventure, then hire a quad bike and visit one of the many sand dunes or beaches that the island has to offer or why not try windsurfing, kite surfing or scuba diving. Deep sea fishing, catamaran trips or whale/dolphin watching are also available on the island. The resort has its own windsurfing/kite surfing hire and tuition facilities.

Coast/Beach:

This luxury apartment is situated right next to the beautiful Ponta Preta beach.

Travel:

Cape Verde is only 5.5 hours from the UK with only 1 hour time difference, therefore no jet lag! The international airport is only a 20 minute taxi ride to the apartment, therefore hiring a car is not essential as most of the facilities are within walking distance. Taxis are plentiful on the resort, in Santa Maria and also at the airport.

Distances:

The quaint little town of Santa Maria, with its numerous bars, restaurants, shops, banks etc is only a pleasant 20/25 minute walk away or just 3 minutes in the resorts free shuttle bus or local taxi. A visit to the salt lakes, which are situated in Pedra de Lume is worth a visit or take a look at the main capital of Espargos. A trip to the Blue Eye in the northern part of the island is also well worth a visit.

Further Details:

For those who just want to chill out, then simply watch the local fishermen bring in their daily catch on the pier or simply stroll around the many craft shops where you can buy anything from African handmade jewelry to beautiful hand paintings.

Photos

Availability

Available
Unavailable

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
Please contact the owners.

Changeover Day:
Changeover days are flexible.

Notes on prices:
All prices have just been reduced by 30%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties