check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Large Secure Garden, Beautiful Views, Great For Groups And Family Occasions

Sleeps11
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
11
Bedrooms
5
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
1 - 7 nights

Description

Chelmorton House Rental Photos and Description

Holiday Home in Chelmorton, Peak District, Derbyshire - Less Than 5 Mins Walk To Pub and Playground, Very Peaceful, Stunning Location

Nestling at the end of a quiet lane in the village of Chelmorton, the cottage is in it’s own secure grounds with lawned garden areas. It enjoys superb views of the surrounding landscape and especially of Chelmorton Low. Have cosy nights in by the fire, or afternoons and evenings sat on the large patio, admiring the views and the sunset with a glass of wine! Jolly Field Farm makes an ideal base for walking, climbing and biking and is just a short drive from historic towns Buxton and Bakewell. It is especially well suited to larger parties with its large, well-equipped family kitchen, large games room with table football and pool table, plus plenty of space for the kids to play in the expansive garden. Comfortable accommodation with exposed beams, wooden floors and wood burning stove.

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm

Owner
Ruth Russell
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
November 23, 2016
Call Owner

About Ruth Russell

.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We really enjoyed staying at Jolly Field Farm.  The accommodation fitted our needs perfectly.  The grandchildren made full use of the games room, toys and games.  The adults really raved over the spacious and well-equipped kitchen.  We liked the setting and the accessibility to a lot of the attractions in the area.
Oct 2016
  • 1 of 3

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

Large Secure Garden, Beautiful Views, Great For Groups And Family Occasions
average rating of 4.111111 based on 12 reviews
5

Take a peek

  • 5 of 5

Had booked to stay elsewhere for a friends 30th but unfortunately due to a spell of severe weather we had to reaarange - high praise for Rachel (where we were planning on staying) as she sorted Jolly Field for us!! Ruth was ever so accomodating as she had squeezed in a large group of us in at the last minute and my were we very impressed! A tardis of clean, lovely decorated rooms PLUS a sneaky games room!

The cottage is simply beautiful with stunning views over the peaks and very spacious as the 10 of us never felt like we were in each others pockets. The kitchen is impressive and the log burner fire felt very cosy. Ideal for a relaxing weekend away and the local pub, The Church Inn served tasty food and reasonable prices.

I slept in the smaller double bedroom at the top of the stairs (next to the bathroom) which was a little snug for 2 people so I'd probably recommend a single person to sleep in there but we adapted to the room well. The WiFi wasn't the best but wouldn't expect anything less for 10 people connecting at the same time. Perfect opportunity for people to speak to each other!!

All in all a fabulous weekend, where we made a lot of wonderful memories. We couldn't have made it so special if it wasn't for Jolly Field Farm! Just a little disappointed for 2 reasons - that we only stayed for a weekend and that we discovered the tree swing as we were leaving!

Highly recommended - will stay again for sure! Ease of interaction between Ruth and I was spot on too!!

  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I was very glad I could help you out at such short notice and chuffed to hear you all had a lovely time! All the best. Ruth
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Spacious, clean, warm and well-furnished

  • 4 of 5

Ideal for our reunion of 10 people. very clean and tidy with all conveniences (three fridges!). Effective central heating, and cosy wood-burning stove. Easy to walk out into the countryside and excellent pub round the corner! Only two snags: the shared toilet flush needs a new diaphragm in the siphon, and the rustic metal door latches on some of the bedroom doors were quite noisy in operation.

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Brilliant

  • 5 of 5

We turned up and didn't know what to expect after reading the bad review, but I can honestly say it was great, we must have just missed the cleaners as when we arrived the floors was still wet, the place is very welcoming, I cannot fault the bedrooms, the beds are very comfy and I slept in the attic room and I'm 6ft.. It also has sofas in most rooms down stairs if you just want to crash out..the kitchen is perfect it has the normal electric oven and hob but you need to use the aga, "cooking made easy" don't be afraid of it just use it!! And you can easily fit 10 round the table..The games room is cool, with a pool table which has a good cloth and a good table football, there's also a fridge for your beers, there's plenty of space outside with a large table to sit round and have fun.. All in all a great place which we will visit again..

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing

  • 5 of 5

Delightful stay at Jolly Field Farm. Great amenities. The cottage was spotless and we were well catered for. Booked in for a party of 10 we especially enjoyed the games room with the pool table and table football. Stayed for three relaxing nights and had great fun. We'll definitely be back.

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect for 2 week stay whilst working in the area

  • 5 of 5

This was our second stay at Jolly Field Farm. We work at a biannual event in Buxton and need a base nearby for our workers. This place is perfect and fits all our needs. Ruth is very accommodation of us and understands we are not using the house as a holiday stay, just somewhere to eat and sleep after a hard days work! Would definitely recommend.

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Its a disgrace - DO NOT BOOK THIS COTTAGE

  • 1 of 5

You DO NOT get what you have paid for.

SMELLS

Kitchen - a permanent 'sick' smell. Told to use bleach !

Games Room - Foisty & damp smell, disgusting. NO dart board or Bar

Dead & CRUSTY flies all over cottage, only outdone by the number of cobwebs everywhere.

Bins full for 4 days before you can put out rubbish

The place is a disgrace and there is not enough room for me to write what I would like.

Just book somewhere else, its awful.

John & his very upset family.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are extremely sorry you did not have a good experience at the property and had cause to give a poor review & claim compensation. If you had let us know at the time of your stay we would have been more than happy to rectify and amend any temporary concerns. Since receiving your feedback we have investigated fully and can assure future guests there is no cause for concern when booking this property.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 4

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Manchester
Nearest Train
4 Miles
Buxton
Car: necessary

Travel:

Nearest airport - Manchester - 1 hour.

Distances:

Buxton - 4 miles.

Bakewell - 8 miles.

Manchester - 32 miles.

Rates & Availability

Chelmorton House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Low Season
Oct 1 2016 - Dec 21 2016
Changeover Day: Friday
3 night minimum stay
$207
From
$398
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,449
 
 
Christmas 2016
Dec 22 2016 - Dec 28 2016
7 night minimum stay
$3,150
 
 
New Year
Dec 29 2016 - Jan 4 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,150
 
 
Low Season
Jan 6 2017 - Apr 6 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
3 night minimum stay
From
$399
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,449
 
 
Mid Season
Apr 21 2017 - May 25 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
3 night minimum stay
From
$441
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,575
 
 
High Season
May 26 2017 - Jun 30 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
3 night minimum stay
From
$441
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,701
 
 
Peak Season
Jul 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
$1,953
 
 
Low Season
Sep 4 2017 - Oct 19 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
1 night minimum stay
From
$398
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,449
 
 
October Half Term
Oct 20 2017 - Oct 27 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
3 night minimum stay
From
$504
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,701
 
 
Xmas/New Year 2017
Dec 22 2017 - Jan 5 2018
7 night minimum stay
$3,150
 
 
Standard price
3 night minimum stay
$1,323
 

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Changeover Day:
Friday but we're flexible where possible.

Notes on prices:
Short breaks are available depending on availability - please call.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Chelmorton House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Village
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , bidet
    Shower room 1 - shower
    Shower room 2 - shower
  • 2 x en-suite shower rooms. 1 x main bathroom with bath.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 baby crib
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 10+1 (5 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom1 - double bed, large wardrobes, en suite shower room. Bedroom 2 - double bed. Bedroom 3 - double bed. This is a small double and has sloping ceiling. Bedroom 4 - twin bed. low headroom - perfect for children - is accessed by a short flight of stairs Bedroom 5 - Annex with vaulted ceilings, en-suite shower room.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • spelunking
  • tennis
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: Sorry no pets, no smoking. Short breaks available Sep-March unless last minute booking - ie within 4 weeks of arrival date. Please note there is a refundable security deposit of £200 on all bookings. Outside: Large garden with circular drive. Large grassed areas. Patio area with seating to the rear of the property with amazing south west facing views. Adjoining paddock where we're going to grow veg and keep chickens and a goat or two! Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: All linen and towels provided. Cleaning can be arranged if staying for more than 1 week.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties