Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Spacious Villa With Private Pool, Not Located on an "All Inclusive" Noisy Resort

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Space 1,829 sq. ft.
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Lovely Villa on Sal Island. Only 10 Minutes From The Magnificent Ponta Preta Beach

This spacious (170 sq mets) luxury 3 bedroom/3 bathroom villa is wonderfully situated on the Vila Verde Resort and only a short stroll from the magnificent Ponta Preta Beach, which is a haven for sun lovers with its crystal clear waters and tropical beaches. The villa has its own private pool, terraces, balconies and large enclosed garden all complete with sun loungers, table and chairs. It also faces south, therefore enjoying the sun all day long. It has full air-conditioning throughout and has been fitted with a water purifier, providing drinking water, therefore no more expensive water bottles to buy and bring home.

Facilities on the resort include an a la carte restaurant, a buffet restaurant, a pool bar/restaurant, pizzeria/bakery, ice cream parlour, sports bar, supermarket, bank, tourist information office. There is a BBQ evening every week with entertainment. There are also numerous bars, restaurants, shops and supermarkets in the nearby town of Santa Maria.

FREE private airport collection is arranged for all guests.

More Details

Owner
Paul and Sandy Withey
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
November 19, 2017

About Paul and Sandy Withey

We, Paul and Sandy are the private owners of 2 properties in Cape Verde which consist of a Luxury Villa and a Luxury Apartment.

We purchased them when we visited the island in 2008. We simply fell in love with the island and its people and decided that others would do the same! Now that we are both retired, we pride ourselves with the personal service that we are able to give to our clients.

Why Paul and Sandy Withey chose Sal

Peaceful location with restaurants, bars, shops nearby. The villa is NOT located on an "All Inclusive" resort, (which can be rather noisy and commercialised). The villa is ideal for either couples or families who simply want a relaxing holiday, but still have the advantage of either eating out in the many local restaurants in Santa Maria or dining on the villas terraces.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We spent a lovely 10 days at this villa which has everything one could want from a holiday home. It was very clean and comfortable. The owner and the local representative, Trevor, were very helpful in all respects. The pool was a welcome way to cool down as the weather was extremely hot. The house is located within a recent development which is still quiet. There is a small supermarket within the resort which has a supply of basic goods but we chose to eat out on most days. Our favourite places were the nearby Ponta Preta Beach with its restaurant and the Barracuda near the pier on Santa Maria beach which is also a great place for swimming.
Sep 2016
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Sal Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1829 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Resort
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , bidet
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , bidet
    Shower room 1 - toilet , shower
  • Bathroom for main bedroom is en-suite with bath/shower, vanity basin, bidet, wc and hairdryer. Bathroom for bed 2/3 with bath/shower, vanity basin, bidet and wc. Bathroom 3 has a large shower, vanity basin and wc.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 baby crib
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 6 (3 Bedrooms) + cot Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 has a king size bed, dressing table and armchair with its own dressing room area, with extensive fitted wardrobes, plus en-suite bathroom. Bedrooms 2 and 3 have two large twin beds, dressing table and armchair, with extensive fitted wardrobes.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Tennis ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: Outside: The Villa has its own private pool, large terraces, balconies and private garden all complete with sun loungers, table and chairs. It has a wonderful location, as well as being a few minutes walk to the magnificent Ponta Preta Beach where you can just sit and watch the local wind and kite surfers showing off their undoubted skills. There are also numerous bars, restaurants, shops and supermarkets in the nearby town of Santa Maria. Bike hire, tennis, and other activities are all available on the resort. There is also a Free shuttle bus that runs several times a day between the resort and the local town of Santa Maria. Cleaning: Towels, Laundry, Cleaning and air-con are all included. Beach towels are not provided.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

83% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Spacious Villa With Private Pool, Not Located on an "All Inclusive" Noisy Resort
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 14 reviews
5

Awesome

  • 5 of 5

Having just returned from Cape Verde, all we can say is please take us back. Firstly what an incredible island, the climate, the food, the people and the beaches well where do we begin. If your looking for Magaluf/Ibiza/ Ayia Napa (well you get the drift) then stay away - if your looking for piece/ quiet and just general solitude then this place is for you.

The villa is beautiful and terrifically positioned to 'get away from it all, the pool is heaven in the hot weather and the villa stays nicely cool during the very hot days. There is a shop close by which is perfect for the essentials, a take away pizza place which is very handy if your feeling lazy (and believe we were!!!), and a bakery cooking fresh bread every day which was delightful. Believe me if it wasn't for the amazing fish restaurants around we wouldn't have moved. 20 minutes walk away is Pronta Preta beach which wouldn't look out of place on any Caribbean Island, yes it was that good, bit of a track to get there but boy well worth it. The fish restaurant on the beach is also well worth a visit. Paul (the owner) was brilliant from the start, very accommodating with great hints as to which restaurants to visit, also letting us stay late on the last day was a godsend as our flight home was very late leaving. Lizy (the onside rep) was amazing, she sorted us out with wifi from day one, which wasn't great but clearly not their fault, with hindsight wouldn't even have bothered because at the end of the day your there to get away from it all, right ?? She also arranged the famous Islander Ildo to come and get us from the airport, ferry us around when needed and return us to the airport on our way home, what a top bloke. I could quite happy wax lyrical all day but all I'll say is go "just go" and experience it yourself. In fact think I'll jump onto Thomas Cook airlines now and see when we can return !!! Here's to returning soon - very soon.

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Mark I hope you have settled back alright after your holiday. I just want to thank you for your lovely review. We have received lots of very nice reviews over the past few years, but I believe yours is one of the best that we have had, so thank you very much for taking the time to let me know how much you enjoyed your holiday. Cape Verde is not everyone's 'cup of tea' but we just love the place and it sounds if you did as well. I'm also so pleased that you enjoyed the villa, as we are always trying to make it as comfortable as possible for guests like yourselves. Glad to hear that Lizy looked after you and arranged for Ildo to take you around, he's a lovely guy isn't he ?. Thank you for your comment about myself, I place customer care and service very highly and its nice to know that any help given has been appreciated. Once again, thank you for taking the time to let me know that you had a fabulous holiday, as it really means a lot to me when I know that you have. With best wishes. Paul
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Lovely spacious villa with private pool, very quiet resort!

  • 4 of 5

Lovely spacious villa with most amenities that you need. The pool was kept lovely and clean and was nice to have a private one as never made it to any of the bigger pools (as some were not in use). The resort itself was very very quiet! Not sure if it was because of the time of year we went (April Easter holidays) but there wasn't a lot of people around - so was lovely to have piece and quiet but also almost like a ghost town. The shop on the resort was small but gave a decent amount of choice, especially compared to the 'big' stores in town.

The villa itself had 3 large bedrooms and 3 bathrooms with showers. The hairdryer is in the main ensuite so would consider bringing my own if I was to go back. Other than that our only main problem we had was a lot of ants! Kitchen was equipped well with basics. On arrival we were met by a lovely lady who welcomed us, showed us around and gave lots of useful information. Said she was on call to help, however, unfortunately most of our phones didn't work and no wifi unless you want to go to reception.

The villa wasn't far from the beach with a nice little restaurant to eat and drink. However, if you want to go out, better to get a taxi into Santa Maria town, which is only a couple of euros in a taxi (which were always to hand).

Overall had a very peaceful sunny holiday!

  • Submitted: May 4, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Kate Many thanks for your nice review. I'm pleased to hear you had a very peaceful sunny holiday. Also pleased that you enjoyed the villa and Lizy was there to meet and greet you and give you plenty of info. It means a lot to me to know that all 6 of you had a great time. Kind regards Paul
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great house - highly recommended

  • 5 of 5

We were a three generation extended family of 3 couples with two babies that enjoyed a week in this great house. All worked very well and we were welcomed by the couple that takes care of the house and they showed us all practical things (also service mined when we called). Evenings by the pool or a cab in to the lovely town of Santa Maria. Also walking distance to a nice beach-restaurant with great sea-food and a nice sunset in the ocean (bring flash-light for going home!). Perfect for us that wanted a relaxed and peaceful holiday in an almost too quite area.

  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Fantastic villa

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful villa,we loved this villas location so peaceful and relaxing.

Short walk to the stunning beach,short taxi ride to Santa Maria .

This was our 1st time to Cape Verde but won't be our last.

The villa is very spacious and beautifully furnished,everything you need for self catering.

On arrival we got a taxi into Santa Maria to get some groceries ,the taxi driver to us to 3 shops to get different things we were out for over an hour and he only charged us 10 euros plus we got to see a lot of the town.

We had a night out in ocean caf'e which was a great bar with live music,well worth a visit everyone was so friendly.

Had drinks on ponter preater beach beautiful .

Also went into Santa Maria had drinks on the beach so relaxing.

Everyone is friendly.

If you like the sun and a stress free holiday this is the place for you.

Lizzie and Stewart were on hand if you have any problems,not that we

had any.

Safe , peaceful ,beautiful villa.

Thanks Paul for sharing your beautiful villa with us.

Stayed 11th Jan 17

  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Yvonne Thank you so much for your kind words about our villa. I'm so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful holiday and you found the villa nice and relaxing. We try our best to provide a good service and make your stay as nice as can be and its very rewarding to me to know that you have enjoyed your holiday so much. Thank you once again Kind regards Paul
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Very nice property in a quiet area, excellent for a relaxing holiday.

  • 5 of 5

Paul (the owner) answers promptly to any queries, he provides a very good information for an easy stay, also resolves any problem you may have instantly. There are plenty facilities such as restaurants in the nearest town of Santa Maria, a car is recommended if you want to see the island, although, I would advise to rent it for maximum of three days, as Paul provides you with a free bus pass to go to Santa Maria.

Ana & James (UK)

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Ana and James. Thank you for your kind words about your stay in our villa. I'm so pleased you had a lovely holiday and you found the information that I provided very useful. Cape Verde is very much the place to visit now and I'm glad you had a lovely experience there and enjoyed the many restaurants in the local town of Santa Maria. Your review is very much appreciated. With kind regards. Paul
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful villa and lovely island

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here over Christmas 2016 and the villa is lovely. It is on a quiet part of the villa complex but walking distance to the main part where there is a communal pool and a bar and restaurant. It is also an easy walk to the beach which is beautiful and sandy, with a restaurant for food and drinks. There is a hotel about five minutes walk away where there are always taxis to take you into town. It is 3 euros during the day and 4 euros in the evening to get you to and from Santa Maria where there are many bars and restaurants (Barracuda was a favourite) and bigger supermarkets than the one on the resort. In terms of the villa, it is well furnished, clean and with adequate space. The kitchen is well equipped, the pool area is sunny all day and it is peaceful. Paul (the owner) was a huge help before we left, he gave us loads of information and organised for some food to be waiting for us as we didn't arrive until Christmas Eve. Trevor (manager on site) was also brilliant, greeting us when we arrived and always on hand in case there was a problem. I can highly recommend Cape Verde as a destination at this time of year, it is a lovely temperature and we had a fantastic time. This villa is well worth staying at and had everything that we needed.

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Jo Thank you so much for your review. I'm so pleased that you had such a lovely holiday and even more so that you enjoyed the villa. We are always trying our best to make sure all our guests enjoy their stay, so its very satisfying to hear the you had such lovely time. With best wishes. P
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Car: not necessary

Coast/Beach:

Only 10 minutes walk from the magnificent Ponta Preta Beach, where you will be able to enjoy all year round sunshine, with temperatures ranging from 24 to 30 degrees and almost no rainfall at all.

Its the ideal getaway what ever time of year you choose to go. In fact, Cape Verde is being called 'The New Caribbean on your doorstop', but with out the risk of any hurricanes or even rain !

Travel:

Cape Verde is only is a 5 1/2 hours from the UK with very little time difference, therefore no jet lag! The international airport is only a 15 minute taxi ride to the Villa, therefore hiring a car is not essential, as most of the facilities are all within walking/taxi distance. FREE private airport collection service is provided for all guests.

Distances:

The charming local town of Santa Maria, with its numerous shops, bars, restaurants, banks etc is only a 25 minute walk away or 5 minutes in a the free shuttle bus that runs 6 times a day.

A visit to the salt lakes, which are situated at Pedra De Lume is worth a visit or take a look at the main capitol of Espargos. If you like a bit of adventure, then hire a quad bike and visit one of the many sand dunes or beaches that the island has to offer.

Further Details:

For those who just want to chill out, then simply watch the local fishermen bring in their daily catch on the pier in Santa Maria, stroll around the many craft shops where you can buy anything from African hand made jewellery to beautiful hand paintings or just enjoy a cold beer just watching the day go by.

Whatever you chose to do, you will enjoy the truly local charm of the Cape Verdean people who have smiles as warm as the Cape Verdean sun.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
Please contact owners.


Changeover Day:
Flexible

Notes on prices:
Free Private Airport Collection for all guests.

The prices are per week and are fully inclusive of cleaning, laundry and air-conditioning. There is a supplement of £20 per person, per week, over 2 people staying.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties