Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

1 Bed Apartment with Spectacular Pool and Sea Views apt 14

Bedrooms 1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights


About the property

Apartment in Santa Maria, Sal Island, Cape Verde - The Best Location in Sal on the Beach next to the Pool and Sheltered Harbour for Swimming

A one bedroom apartment No 14 on the unique residence of Porto Antigo 1, right on the beach with a large pool and a private secluded beach right in front of the apartment with a sheltered old harbour for swimming. Stunning views out to sea over the pool with a spacious terrace for al fresco living in the open. There is a piano bar on the quay side for light meals and a room service . The apartment is situated on the ground floor and has easy access for all ages. There is also a restaurant on the site and a manned reception area which can be called upon for your needs should you require.

Property Manager
Michael Stuart
Member since: 2007
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
December 9, 2017

About Michael Stuart

I saw the Cape Verde Islands on A Place In The Sun, at the beginning of 2005 and thought what a great place to buy a Holiday home as it has a great climate and is the nearest place to England that is like the Caribbean

I am married with two teenage daughters who love going out there with us at every opportunity.

Michael Stuart purchased this apartment in 2005

Why Michael Stuart chose Santa Maria

I saw the Cape Verde Islands on A Place In The Sun at the beginning of 2005 and thought what a great place to buy a Holiday home as it has a great climate and is the nearest place to England that is like the Caribbean

The apartment is right in the centre of town right next to the beach in a private residence with all the amenities to hand.

What makes this apartment unique

The apartment is right in the heart of the town with all the amenities right on the door step. No need for a car for most things.The swimming pool and the beach are only yards away with fantastic views.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Hi Mike,

I am back from Cape Verde and I had a wonderful time. Your apartment was perfect and was in a super location. I just wanted to say thanks a million for everything it went so smoothly. I hope I left the apartment in good condition for you.

I will definitely be going back to Cape Verde next year, I have fallen in love with the place, I would have no hesitation in booking with you again for the same apartment same time next year if possible?

Just to say big thank you we had a fabulous time.

Kind regards,

Lynda Turley.

Just wanted to thank you for a great stay at Porto Antigo. Really amazing place and definitely the best in Santa Maria. We had a great time and something tells me we will be back there soon!

We met your sister Barbara and her husband who were lovely. All the Brits out there and the locals are so friendly, I've never met so many nice people in one week!

You have a lot of vision buying somewhere early out there. I can see things really going mad pretty soon.
May 2007
  • 1 of 1


Santa Maria Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 0
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible
  • /
  • Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Parties/events not allowed
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Downtown
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Resort
  • Town
  • Village
  • Waterfront
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Holiday Resort
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , bidet
  • Bathroom with shower cubicle, wc, bidet and wash basin. Large mirror with lights, towels also supplied.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 baby crib
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 2/4 (1 Bedroom + Sofa bed) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 with king size double bed, wardrobe, bedside lamps and tables. Safe included.
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • churches
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes on accommodation: The apartment is suitable for all ages from tots to pensioners. It has two air-conditioning units and has very good access. Outside: Spacious terrace with patio furniture provided, For having those memorable meals outside over looking the swimming pool and taking in the sea views. Next to a shared pool with sun loungers provided and mats also provided for as well. There is a secluded beach right in front of the apartment,, sheltered from the atlantic waves, By the old harbour walls with sun loungers provided as well. Utility Room: Drying rack ,brush and mop bucket. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: The apartment comes with towels for the apartment and the pool. The apartment is cleaned and the linen is changed at least every week and can be done more frequently if required by going to reception. A daily maid service is available at an extra cost. Other: Terrace furniture including dining table and chairs. There is also the use of 4 pool side mats for the sunbeds. Barbacue


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

61% Complete
30% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
1 Bed Apartment with Spectacular Pool and Sea Views apt 14
average rating of 4.4615383 based on 14 reviews

Wow what a fantastic location and apt rite at the pool definatley recommend

  • 5 of 5

Apt very clean basic but adequate you wont be dissapointed if you stay here

  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am glad you liked the apartment and its location
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fabulous apartment and position will be returning next year for sure

  • 5 of 5

Very clean only disapointment was that the on site resturant was closed but mived round to reception area hopefully when we return it will be back on the beach front

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 2 of 5

On the plus side the apartment was clean and the bed was very comfortable. On the down side we had to ask the agent for pool towels, a working hairdryer, an extra pillow as only three in apartment and instruction on how to work the air con. There was no information pack in the apartment as to the above nor with regard to nearest facilities, ATM , mini marts, best tours etc just a folder full of scruffy paper maps left by previous occupiers. The piano bar was closed so no drinks/room service. This led me to re-read the apartment description where a review from December also stated that the hairdryer was broken and the bar closed. I usually read reviews before I book not just before I go, so was disappointed not to receive an email telling us the above so giving me the chance to take my own hairdryer. The agent found one 24 hours after we arrived. Also there is no microwave, DVD (just a scart lead from the back of TV) BBQ or ceiling fans. Were we even in the right apartment ?

We did not like Cape Verde so will not be going back but would look for a different apartment if we were.

  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I did inform my agents to get a new hairdryer but they had not done so.The piano bar was supposed to be open this year So is news to me.I have passed on your comments to my agent and they are going to address them.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fantastic location and lovely apartment

  • 5 of 5

Thankyou Michael for a lovely stay at your apartment it was perfect location and just a few steps from the pool, very clean apartment with all you need for basic cooking if you wanted to we only made breakfast as we ate out every night as lots of lovely bars and restaurant to sample if could offer only one very slight thing it would be to maybe have a microwave but by no means did it matter that didnt, santa maria is a lovely unspoilt town and we wil definately stay here when we return, and hope it stays as unspoilt as it is everything was fab even the price of the internet we found ok at €45 for the week for upto 6 devices they said it was only for around pool area etc but it worked in our apartment as it was so close to the pool

Many thanks Michael we shall be returning very soon its just a shame that not enough flights as at the moment its either 1 week or 2 and we would like to do ten days

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am glad you liked the apartment and its location in Santa Maria. I myself buy a local sim for the internet but if there are a few of you the complex one may be best.The microwave we may invest in one if people keep asking.There are more flights from other airports than weekly.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Basic but very comfortable accommodation and perfect location.

  • 4 of 5

This apartment is perfectly situated right by the pool and beach and close to resort centre. Apartment was spotlessly clean and we got maid service mid way through our weeks stay with a change of sheets and towels. Shortage of glasses in the kitchen but we managed with cups. Was expecting a microwave but here isn't one but to be honest it is cheap enough to eat out. Hairdryer wasn't working but owner did try and assist with this.....might be worth checking if this is an essential for you. The bed is large and very comfortable but it does get warm as the aircon can only be set for a maximum of 2 hours so a few resets needed through the night. We did not get beach towels but on the last day realised this was because we had not checked in at reception on arrival. There were always beds available at the pool and beach and both areas kept clean. Some of the pool beds are a bit rickety but they seemed to be removing these on our last day so there may be some new ones. The onsite cafe /restaurant was not open and it seems it has been shut for some time which is such a shame as would have been nice to use it. We booked an island tour with Blinky ( just at entrance to Porto antigo 2 in the one stop shop) and it was a great day out at £25 euros each. You can find her on face book and book in advance and she can also arrange taxi from airport. If we returned to Cape Verde we would definitely stay in this apartment again. The black and white cat appreciates a spot of milk at breakfast lol.

  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location with lovely vibe

  • 4 of 5

Fab apartment, lovely complex with private section of beach, just a short stroll from the centre of the town with all the cafes,bars, banks and a few shops. Lots of live music going off which is free to sit and listen to while sipping your cocktail 🍹?. The jetty is the place to be at noon when the fisherman arrive with their catch, buy a 2 euro slice of tuna to cook at the apartment- it's delicious. Dont miss the paddle with lemon sharks or the salinas salt lake. All in all a great base in the heart of the town, would highly recommend.

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
15 Kilometres
Nearest Barpub
10 Metres
Nearest Ferry
29 Kilometres
Nearest Restaurant
10 Metres
Nearest Beach
10 Metres
Santa Maria
Car: not necessary


The apartment is built on the beach just a few steps to the infinity pool and another few more steps to the lovely sandy secluded beach front sheltered by the old harbour walls.


Sal Airport is just 12 kilometers from the apartment and a simple taxi ride away. Car hire is available if required.


Being right in the centre of the town and on the beach all amenities are within easy walking distance. There is a restaurant on the site with the local bakers one street away. The next nearest town which is called Espargos is a 15 min bus ride away. The buses are called Alugers and there is no set time table, they only set of when full which is usually every 15 minutes which costs one euro one way. There is also the local salt lagoons that you can visit near the top of the island near Espargos.

Further Details:

The local supermarket and bakers are only on the next street. There are plenty of restaurants scattered around the town to suite all tastes and all nationalities and pockets. You can change your money at the local bank and there are some cash points as well. There is a aqua centre on the beach where you can hire Jet skies, sailing dingies, pedalos etc. There are also Kite surfing schools and wind surfing schools. I enjoy going on dune buggy tours of the Island and seeing all the smaller beaches and the turtle sactuary. Quad biking is also popular as well, as you can go by yourself and explore the Island at your own pace.




Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
A £100 deposit is required on booking with the remainder required 8 weeks before departure.

Changeover Day:
As flights arrive now on different days there is no preferred change over day.The arrival time for use of the apartment is pm and the departure time is am preferred, but can be flexible if no one is using the apartment before or after you.

Notes on prices:
Prices are for the property per week in UK Pounds. 3rd week a discount of 25% will apply. Longer stay prices by negotiation.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties