Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

XVIIIth Century restored stone farmstead & heated pool. Near Salles Courbatiers

Bedrooms 4
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 7 - 14 nights


Minimum Stay
7 - 14 nights

About the property

Farmhouse near Villeneuve d'Aveyron, Midi-Pyrénées -Peacefully situated at the end of a small hamlet with No Through Road glorious country views.

This charming old house with its stone walls, old beams and flagstone floors is privately situated on a south facing hill, at the head of a small hamlet in deepest France, amidst spectacular unspoilt countryside. La Mothe offers everything for the leisurely lifestyle of the Aveyron, with glorious, uninterrupted views from the house and pool, sunny and shaded terraces and large lawns. The sun drenched heated salt water pool with its Roman end and spacious terraced surround overlooks the valleys. There are garden games, table tennis in the barn, barbecue, satellite television and full central heating. The cool vaulted cave provides a relaxing space on hot sunny days. The area is steeped in history with many places to visit including ancient Bastides, especially Villeneuve and Villefranche de Rouergue and also Conques, Cordes, Cahors and Albi. Aveyron is the Ramblers’ department renowned for its flora and fauna. Nearby is riding, tennis, vineyards and farms offering regional specialities.

Rosemary Clark
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english, french
Calendar last updated:
November 19, 2016

Why Rosemary Clark chose Aveyron

After searching in the Lot, Lot et Garonne, Tarn et Garonne and Gers at last we found Aveyron, a peaceful undiscovered Department of immense character, historical interest and with spectacular views. The rolling countryside has scattered farming communities living in old stone houses with steep slate roofs and pigeonniers. The people and artisans were very friendly and welcoming.

What makes this farmhouse unique

At the head of a small hamlet with four other houses, the lane becomes a grassy track leading up into the wooded hills. Our neighbour's garden has been classified as a Jardin Remarquable ( She would love to show you around. Both the house and the heated salt water pool have spectacular views across the valley. The upper floor of our large detached barn has a full size table tennis table.

We have allowed a young couple to have the use of our roadside hangar to keep their bee hives in winter. Eddy would be happy to show you some of his 200 hives and sell you honey, sweets and soap.

The fields to the front and side of the property are planted with sunflowers, maize or clover with wild flowers. We have a variety of wild birds including green and spotted woodpeckers, golden oriels, house martins, swallows, tree climbers, redstarts and hedge sparrows. You may see wild boar and hares.

In Salles Courbatiers there is a small trout farm. The owner sells his trout in the large market in Villefranche on Thursdays. The XVIIIth century Bastide, Villeneuve d'Aveyron ( has a Sunday market and larger ones throughout the month. The Church is on the Route de Saint Jacques de Compostella and contains XVIIIth murals. Nearby is the Crusader fortress of Peyrusse-le-Roc. During the season there is a superb son et lumiere ( Throughout the summer the surrounding villages hold traditional fetes and historical presentations.

In addition to the information in the house a visit to the Tourist Office in Villeneuve is well worthwhile.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We have just returned from 2 fabulous weeks at La Mothe. The house was beautifully restored and had all mod cons whilst retaining so many original features. As a party of 9 (4 adults and 5 children), it was perfect and the fact that every bedroom had it's own bathroom was a huge bonus. The boys loved the attic room at the top of the house, whilst the girls enjoyed having their own space downstairs. We were blessed throughout with glorious weather and due to the position of the garden, it was great to be able to sit outside in the sun all day and evening. The children all loved the pool and spent hours in it, hugely I feel due to it's position in respect to the house which was ideal, as was the outdoor eating area where the adults spent plenty of time eating and drinking and admiring the beautiful views and wildlife, including deer in nearby fields and an abundance of various birds of prey swooping over the fields. Although we did not venture out much, we went on several walks.
Dec 2005
  • 1 of 1


3.7/5 -
(3 traveler reviews)

XVIIIth Century restored stone farmstead & heated pool. Near Salles Courbatiers
average rating of 3.6666667 based on 4 reviews

Wow! So comfy and pretty!

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful home, pool, location and region! We loved lunch under the ash tree and dinner on the massive man-toy barbecue. The veggies from the market in Villefranche are wonderful - peppers, amazing lettuce(!), garlic, saucisson, ham, fish - wonderful! Rosemary has created such a welcoming home - Thank you!

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your comments - we look forward to welcoming you again. Please do let us know if there is anything you think we can improve on. Kind regards, Rosemary
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Charming home, so lovely

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at La Mothe for 2 weeks and could not have been happier. The hamlet is quiet and the countryside is beautiful. The pool was warm and has an amazing view. There is plenty of loungers and furniture and the terraces are lovely. It is very rural but has satellite TV and fast internet access. The house is nicely decorated and very well furnished. This is clearly a loved home. Let's be clear - this is rural France - not the Ritz and that's exactly what we wanted!

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Ellen, Thank you so much for your kind remarks. It was lovely speaking with you and we are so glad you enjoyed yourselves at La Mothe. Please let us know if you have any suggestions for next year and look forward to speaking with you soon again! just for clarity your stay was from 24/5 to 6/6.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Character property needing TLC

  • 1 of 5

This is an old character property in a lovely position however we felt that the description was not entirely accurate. When we arrived the property had not been prepared properly and the pool had not been cleared since the previous summer. The pool maintenance person came on our 4th day and said that it was a shame that it would take 3 days for the pool to clear, it was still filthy on the day we left. The grass needed cutting and there was no proper shade except under 1 tree for part of the day, there was an umbrella which could not be used due to the wind. The pool had no alarm, which would worry me if I took children there. There was an old barn with a table tennis table but this had been neglected and was covered in bird excrement. The position of the house and the countryside is lovely but there is no attention to detail. On our last day the cleaner barged into the house at 9.00 while we were still packing, even though the leaving time was 10.00. I was very disappointed with this gite and do not feel that is offers good facilities, or that it caters adequately for 10 people. As a couple we did not find that it offered good value. Also it was not cleaned to a good standard.

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments - we are so sad that you have felt the need to leave such a negative review. We have been sharing the family home we love for over 20 years and this is the first time someone has responded in this way. To address each of your points: We asked for a security deposit which you did not pay. We allowed you to stay in our home nonetheless. We're sorry we couldn't meet your request for a discount. Checkout: is at 0930. Our cleaner Marie-Ange does arrive at 0900 as there's a lot to do on changeover day. This is in the Information pack provided. Pool alarm: There is a pool alarm. It was not set up as there were no children. This is to minimise accidental activation as it can be heard 3km away. We would have set it up if asked. This is in the Information pack. Set up for 10 people: We do not set up all outdoor furniture for a party of 2. We are surprised you do not mention the 36 plates, 12 bowls and 12 sets of cutlery & 2 further ensuite double bedrooms. The 4 bed ensuite attic was locked. TLC: In the past 3 years we have: replaced the pool liner & equipment & installed a heater & new, fully fitted kitchen & Siemens ovens. Every year we plant nearly 100 geraniums. Inside is a range of antique furniture, ornaments, books, satellite TV & broadband. Please say if you have suggestions. Shade is provided throughout the day by the 50ft ash tree on the patio, plum tree on the lawn, shrubs on the terrace and parasol by the pool as can be seen in a number of the photographs. Unfortunately the parasols do blow over in gusts - we've tried everything & now replace them when needed. Grass: We are sorry but it had rained a lot and the wet grass couldn’t be cut. It was cut the week before and as soon as it was dry. Pool: We twice, immediately arranged cleaning. The pool company & we are very upset by your comments which I forwarded to them: they absolutely deny saying the pool couldn't be used for 3 days or that the pool hadn't been cleaned this year. Before the 2nd clean, they sent photos showing leaves in one corner. It's impossible to stop leaves blowing in an outdoor pool. Previous tenants used the pool net provided. The pool is regularly cleaned, most recently the previous week. Table tennis: There's a cover that I put on myself so I can only assume it had been left off. Unfortunately the endangered barn owl family can not be removed. Discount: We are sorry we were unable to meet your multiple requests for a 30% discount
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Grotte de Foissac
Nearest Airport
100 Kilometres
Nearest Barpub
8 Kilometres
Villeneuve d'Aveyron
Nearest Golf
45 Kilometres
Nearest Train
3 Kilometres
Salles Courbatiers
Nearest Motorway
50 Kilometres
A20 Jct 56
Nearest Restaurant
8 Kilometres
Villeneuve d'Aveyron
Nearest Beach
58 Kilometres
Lac de Pareloup
Car: necessary


There are sandy beaches and safe swimming at Lac de Pareloup, south east of Rodez.


Various airlines fly to Toulouse. 90 minutes away.

Cross Channel ferries to Calais or Boulogne about 9 hours driving, Le Havre 7 hours driving.

There is a railway station at Salles Courbatiers.

A car is essential.

GeoRef 44 27' 58" N 2 06' 12" E

Villeneuve, 8 kms., has a good supermarket, other shops, banks, restaurants, small Sunday morning market and large market on 1st Monday of each month. Villefranche de Rouergue, 20 minutes, is a large market town/bastide, all facilities, excellent restaurants, market day Thursday. Figeac, 30 minutes, market town, excellent restaurants, all facilities, market day Saturday.

Further Details:

We keep a comprehensive collection of brochures about local events including riding, tennis in the village, canoeing things to do and places to visit.


Rates & Availability

Salles-Courbatiès Farmhouse Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Mid season
May 27 2017 - Jul 14 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
Jul 15 2017 - Sep 8 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
14 night minimum stay
Mid season 2
Sep 9 2017 - Oct 21 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable damage deposit $499

Booking Notes:
A 20% deposit is payable at the time of booking. The balance and a refundable security deposit of £400 is payable 12 weeks prior to arrival. Directions and key collection details will be sent on receipt of the final payment.
Changeover Day:
Change over day is Saturday. The house should be vacated by 0930. The keys will be available between 4.30 and 7.00 pm.

Notes on prices:
High Season prices shown are for the property per week in UK Pounds.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Salles-Courbatiès Farmhouse Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • farmhouse
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Family
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Master bedroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Pine bathroom - toilet , shower
    Petit salon - toilet , shower , bidet
    Grenier - toilet , shower
  • With radiators En-suite to Master bedroom - bath/shower over, hand basin and wc. En-suite to bedroom 2 - shower, bidet, hand basin, wc. Adjoining bathroom to bedroom 3 - shower, hand basin and wc. En-suite to Grenier bedroom shower, hand basin, wc.
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen , En suite bathroom and loo
    Pine bedroom - 1 double , Adjoining shower room and loo
    Petit salon - 2 twin/ single , En suite shower room and loo
    Grenier - 4 twin/ single , En suite shower room and loo
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 10 + cot (4 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Master bedroom with double bed. Bedroom 2, ground floor, twin beds. Bedroom 3 with double bed. Attic 4 single beds.
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool ...
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • museums
  • pond
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes on accommodation: Weekly cleaning. There is full central heating and two wood burning stoves. Fans are in all rooms. Because it is our second family home it is comfortably furnished and equipped to a high standard. Outside: Access by large gates. The gardens, mainly lawn, are enclosed and extend to about 2 acres making it safe for children. There are sunny and shaded terraces. Outside a teak table seating 12 on a shady terrace is near a gas fired barbecue. Poolside furniture includes, sunbeds, easy chairs, tables and parasols. The private, heated, salt water pool measures 11.5 x 5m and is alarmed. On the surrounding terrace is a fresh water shower. There is a small sand pit. Extensive parking. Cleaning / Towels / Linen : All towels and linen, except beach towels, electricity and water are included. Weekly change of towels and linen provided. 2 hours' cleaning provided on the middle Saturday and on leaving. Other: Barn upper level - table tennis and garden games

Partner Offers