check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Unique Property Of 30 Acres With Spectacular Views Of Morgado Golf Reservoir, Ow

Bedrooms 3
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights


Minimum Stay
4 - 7 nights

About the property

Villa in Alcalar near Portimao, Western Algarve, Portugal - Heated Pool And Jucuzzi With Salt Water Filtration System, Wi-fi Connection

3 bedroom, 3 bathroom unique quinta with heated pool and heated jacuzzi, pool has salt water filtration system. Healthier swimming. Fully air-conditioned. Finished to the highest standard. Fabulous location set high in unspoilt pine covered hills with its own lake. Beautiful landscaped gardens with fruit trees and 2 lawned areas, ideal for photography or painting. Remote controlled gated entrance for privacy. Two golf course within 7 minutes drive, prestigious Morgado and championship Penina. Hill walking, cycling. Nearest beaches Alvor, Praia da Rocha 20 minutes drive. Spa conservation village, Caldas de Monchique, 7 minutes drive. Excellent restaurants approx 1 km.

Member since: 2005
Speaks: english, portuguese
Calendar last updated:
January 12, 2017

About Margaret

With my husband I retired to Portugal in 1999. We already had property in the Algarve and decided to build a home here. We were fortunate to acquire the land with a lake and already planted with mature pine trees. The quinta (farm) was designed around the natural garden of fir trees. The pool and jacuzzi were designed on an elevated position with fantastic views of Morgado golf reservoir. It was finished in 2006. As an artist and art teacher I use the colourful landscaped gardens for my paintings.

Margaret purchased this villa in 2005

Why Margaret chose Portimao region

Surrounded by pine trees. Fantastic views. Storks nests nearbye, igrets .

What makes this villa unique

Healthy living in the pine ,eucalyptus walks to top of hillside

Guestbook comments from the owner

"What a fantastic location. Took lots of photos of the spectacular views from the poolside and garden." thanks. Jan and Ian.

"Loved it, great central base for golfers, we will be back." John, Mat, Susan, Grace.
Dec 2005
  • 1 of 1


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

Unique Property Of 30 Acres With Spectacular Views Of Morgado Golf Reservoir, Ow
average rating of 4.642857 based on 15 reviews

Wonderful peaceful holiday

  • 5 of 5

We spent 11 fantastic days in this lovely property with our little boy. The apartment itself is large, well maintained and well equipped. It is set in a wonderful peaceful area, great for morning walks. The pool area is amazing - fabulous views, plenty of space to sit and relax and the pool/jaccuzzi itself is much larger than I expected, great for kids.

The location is great for exploring the Algarve with a car. It is quite remote which is just what we were looking for, but we had day trips to Lagos, Portimao, Albuffeira, Vilamoura and Alvor - all within comfortable driving distance for a day or afternoon trip.

Margaret is a lovely host and was available for any questions we might have had, but the apartment and access to the pool are totally self contained and very private with it's own drive and entrance.

Thanks for a great holiday, we hope to return soon!

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Helen, thank you so much for such a wonderful review, you were lovely clients. I look forward to your family,s return Thanks Margaret
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 2 of 5

We stayed in this house the first 2 weeks of October. It is set in the hills without any nearby neighbours and is accessible by a dirt road. We had a nice vacation, the part of the house that is for the guests is roomy and has 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. The swimming pool is beautifully set and has a nice space around it and the owner (we only saw Margaret) is a nice lady. However:

Contrary to what the photos suggest, you only get access to a part of the lower floor of the house. The owners live in the other part of the house. Because of this we could hear every move the owners made on the wooden floors above us. They sometimes woke us in the middle of the night because of chairs moving around. We could clearly hear their loud TV in the evening and as we had breakfast outside.

The furniture is a bit of a second hand mishmash, and some of the beds near the swimming pool were crooked. The lights often flickered and there is only wifi in the one-space kitchen / windowless living. The beds/mattresses were VERY hard. We had to put some covers under the sheets to soften them up a little. One of the bedroom screens had holes in it, and chairs instead of nightstands and also lacked a dresser.

The kitchen lacks a hood. The refrigerator is the noisiest we ever heard. The coffee machine reservoir is an old espresso, which is quite impractically, specially without a measuring spoon and with a leaking reservoir. The dishwasher broke down and we had to 'fixate' the dishwasher button with matches. And (not world shattering but never the less annoying) : the lids did not fit the pans.

We know it is Portugal and doesn't have the same standards as some other countries but for three-figure prices per week (in euros) we expected a more equipped and more peaceful place.

Tip: Be sure to take a mobile device with google maps with you for orientation, because without navigation the property is very hard to find.

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Leon, I will respond to this review in the order that it was written. It is clearly stated in the advert that this is an apartment., we do not have wooden floors. I am very sorry that you were woken during the night, but do not remember any time that our TV was on during the night. The furniture is as in the photos taken this year. We have 2 pieces of second hand furniture. One is a beautiful painted Portuguese "armario com vitrina" antique ,about 120 years old. The other a solid teak 1960s coffee table, both bought second hand from the villa of the Swedish consul. There were 4 new wooden beds, 2 plastic at poolside. As we only require 4 beds at pool ,it would have been preferable if you had advised us, and the offending bed removed. The kitchen ,living/dining area is open Poland but has 2 glass doors, also a double glass sliding glass door and a small window. If the shutters are down it may have been dark. Again all in photos. The mattresses were all the most expensive but they are hard in Portugal which we can appreciate. The coffee machine is a professional DELONGHI. expresso machine but unfortunately I did not leave the instructions as it was used successfully by previous clients who left a 5 star review. The dishwasher did break down but I offered to send the maid to wash all dishes in machine . As the problem was the starter button I was grateful that you were able to adapt. I bought a new set of 6 pots/ pans with lids, tested, all lids fit. I left 2 spare pots without lids and a spare lid which clearly did not suit. I am sorry that your experience was different to the 14 reviews received ,all 5 star except 2 -4 star. I am sorry,that you felt the the total of £888 per week was excessive for an apartment with a private pool. If I had been aware of your concerns while you were here I would have discussed this with you. I will not be renting out the apartment in the future. Regards Margaret
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Super holliday !!

  • 5 of 5

We stay with our friends in this wonderfull location. It was a little bit hard to find ( maybe some indication or flags needed) , but the property is really beautiful, quiet and peacefull. We visit every day something else and we had a really nice holliday.

Thank you, Margaret :)

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Madalina, Thank you for your kind review and being so accommodating with your friends. Especially your speaking and writing English. Thanks again .Margaret
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very well maintained with excellent facilities (particularly the pool area) and stunning views

  • 5 of 5

A wonderful and relaxing location, off the beaten track yet close to local restaurants and "mini-mercados" and only 15 minutes from the supermarkets of Portimao. Over 33 acres of the property to explore and wander round when you can get away from the pool and jacuzzi! Also such a change to have a gas fired BBQ - so much less coal/firelighters etc. to buy and clean out!

A really friendly owner in Margaret who was more than helpful and willing to sort out any issues (only the TV was a small issue) - even more so when we had to be "evacuated" because of approaching forest fires from the Monchique area. We were eventually put up for the night in a superb hotel on the Quinta do Lago complex with the help of Owners Direct people in London and returned the following afternoon to the villa - outstanding job by the firemen to limit the fire to around 75 metres from the house.

Overall the villa did everything "that it said on the tin" and we'd be very happy to return

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much, Philip, Karen, With your daughter Saskia you were ideal guests, even returning after the fires, Thank you so much. Margaret
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A beautiful, remote location, mid-way between the sea and the mountains.

  • 5 of 5

A wonderful holiday that introduced our family of four (parents + 17 and 15) to a more vertiginous Algarve. The villa has a great pool and surrounds (even if we did turn slightly green at times - Google search suggests this may be due to copper in the water?). There was plenty of sun loungers and parasols too. Lying between Monchique in the mountains and Portimao on the coast, this was an ideal base from which to explore - hire car essential. We visited the West Coast at Aljezur and found a lovely beach just to the North. An evening meal in Vilamoura didn't disappoint as we enjoyed a spicy meal at My Thai. More traditional fare was consumed at Monchique - Trip Advisor guiding us to yet another little gem.

We found the villa well-equipped with everything required for a fortnight's stay. Beds were comfortable. Air conditioning was sufficient - even if somewhat odd that the bedroom AC was available during the day but not at night. The Wifi was limited to the main living area but this wasn't a problem for us. The Gas BBQ was very easy to use and there was a nice outdoor eating area. It was quite difficult to find the villa as no real landmark to distinguish. We suggest a flag pole or similar to help future guests. Our hosts were friendly and unobtrusive. Their dogs were friendly too!

This is a great place to visit and we thoroughly recommend to anyone wishing to explore beyond the usual Algarve beach resorts.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the five star review. Lovely family. Will consider a flagpole or similar.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Peaceful, relaxing stay

  • 4 of 5

Lovely apartment- great views of the beautiful surroundings. Accommodation very well equipped - BBQ was fantastic. Car is essential as its great to pop into Alvor for meals out. Our girls (6 and 8) loved the pool and happily stayed out swimming most the day. Supermarkets 10 minute drive away. Went to the local restaurant Margaret recommended only a km away for a late lunch - lovely food and very reasonable! Wished we had stayed for two weeks rather than one!

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Solar do Farelo
Restaurante Fonte da Pedra
"Good food"
Restaurante Amadeus Garden
"Upmarket ,beautiful restaurant"
Nearest Airport
65 Kilometres
Nearest Barpub
1 Kilometres
Nearest Golf
5 Kilometres
Penina. Morgado golf
Nearest Train
10 Kilometres
Nearest Motorway
5 Kilometres
Nearest Restaurant
1 Kilometres
Tosco. ,font de pedro, Amadeus
Nearest Beach
10 Kilometres
Car: necessary

Special interest holidays:

Painting holidays. Please enquire for dates for painting holidays. Hill walking, cycling. As we have our own lake there are plenty of wildlife particularly birds and bird watching.9 stork nests nearbye. Varied birds, ducks on lake ,probably early morning. 3 terrapins in lake. Mosoleum in Alcalar.

Formula One stadium in the Portimao area. details of venues available.


Praia de Rocha with its long sandy beach and lively night life is 9km. Alvor with its beautiful beach and excellent restaurants is 9km. Boat trips including dolphin watch available from Praia de rocha and Portimao. The empty beaches on the Atlantic west coast can be reached in an hour.


Car hire is essential. 45 minutes to Faro airport. We are 5km from the motorway.


Portimao, old historic town and fishing port is 9 km. Portimao has a new marina with restaurants and bars. Boating trips up the Arade river to Silves, Lagos. From Portimao they also go to Spain. Caldas de Monchique the spa conservation village is 7 minutes by car. Monchique is further on.

Further Details:

Excellent local restaurants approx 1 km. Caldas de Monchique, spa conservation village, 7 minutes drive.


Rates & Availability

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable damage deposit $247

Booking Notes:
25% deposit to secure a booking. Balance 6 weeks prior to arrival.

Changeover Day:
Flexible day changeover .

Notes on prices:
The prices are in pound sterling per week. The price in euros is available. Please ask. 10% discount for 2 persons. Pool heating £120 per week. price includes air con which is on a time clock, 24 hour access is extra.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Alcalar Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 220 m²
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Near The Ocean
  • Rural
  • Village
  • Away From It All
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 7 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , bidet
    Shower room 2 - shower
    Shower room 3 - shower
  • Adjoining 4 piece bathroom suite to bedroom 1. En-suite toilet and shower to bedroom 2. Ensuite toilet and shower to bedroom 3
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 2 twin/ single , 1 baby crib
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 6 Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 queen size bed, fitted wardrobe, adjoining bathroom. Bedroom 2 fitted wardrobes, ensuite shower room Bedroom 3 twin beds, fitted wardrobes, ensuite shower room
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • forests
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes on accommodation: The Quinta is set in 12 hectares of pine covered hill. With exclusive use of walks in the hillsiKitchen area and bedrooms have direct access on to the dining patio. There is a cot, high chair,baby bath all new,not charged, new push chair is extra,. Cotton sheets in the summer and quilts in colder months. Outside: The swimming pool and heated Jacuzzi are secluded surrounded by trees, landscaped gardens and private, clients have exclusive use of the area. Pool area overlooks Morgado golf reservoir. Pool 12 x 6m, spectacular cascade from Jacuzzi into pool. There is a stone table and benches for dining at the pool. There are 2 outside dining areas. There are sun beds for 5 people at the poolside. Children's toys available. Beautiful walk through the fir trees to the lake. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Maid service once per week includes the changeover day. She changes towels twice per week. Bed linen changed once per week . Towels are plentiful including pool towels .

Partner Offers