check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

The Pine Chalet Owners Since 2005, Jeri & Dan.

Member since: 2002
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Spectacular Mountain Cabin Retreat with NFL Sunday Ticket

11 Reviews
Sleeps27
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Pine Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 3 Levels, 6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Loft, Walk Out Basement (Sleeps 1- 18)

Relax and enjoy the awesome views, seeing Elk, Deer and other wild life from the decks, driveway or inside the cabin from the many windows. Visit the many shops along Main Street. Check out the sites by hiking, fishing, canoeing or touring the area by car. Take in live music at the local Taverns for some good times. Spend the night gazing at the Brilliant Star Lights and see how many Shooting Stars you can spot.

The Pine Chalet is an executive cabin retreat, offering expansive and spectacular views of the forested mountains of Northern Arizona. The cabin is an hour and a half drive from Phoenix and a two hour drive to the Grand Canyon.

The picturesque mountain community of Pine is located at the base of the Mogollon rim in Northern Arizona at an elevation of 5,367 ft (1,636 m). Pine was established by four Mormon families in 1879. Pine is located at 15 miles Northwest from Payson, AZ, with a Zip Code 85544. Depending on where you are located in the metropolitan Phoenix it is as little as 90 miles away on AZ State Route 87.

The pace is unhurried and relaxing. Enjoy the cool air among the tall ponderosa pines trees during the day and the star filled skies in the evening. The Pine Chalet has deck areas on all four sides of the cabin allowing for the pursuit of sun or shade as you prefer.

Take advantage of all that the area has to offer. Visit spectacular Tonto Natural Bridge. Fish the nearby Rim Lakes. Go horseback riding through the National forest, or meander through the forest on scenic hiking trails. For serious hikers, there are wilderness trails that continue for as far as fifty miles.

The Pine Chalet is an exquisitely furnished 3,200 square foot cabin, with 3 distinct levels.

The Main Level hosts the Living Room, Kitchen, Dinning Room, Two Bedrooms and a Full Bathroom. This level has a front deck, a covered side deck and a deck in one of the bedrooms. All the decks and living areas have expansive and breathtaking views out to the front and sides of the cabin. The fully equipped kitchen opens to the spectacular views of the family room. The bedroom with a view out to the back of the cabin, where you can spot deer napping or munching on the vegetation up close has a 1 Queen Bed. The bedroom with French doors out to a Balcony with stunning views has a 1 King bed.

The Upper Level hosts the Master Bedroom with a Full Bathroom. It has French doors out to a Balcony that has beautiful views to the 10 acres in back of the cabin, it has a 1 King Bed. The upper level is also where the large Loft area with spectacular views has 3 twin beds.

The Walkout Basement hosts the Game Room, Entertainment Room, Laundry Room and a bright and roomy Full Bathroom. The Game room has games and puzzles, an Oval Game Table and 2 Twin Beds and 1 Double Bed. The huge Entertainment Room has a Pub table, Full Size Refrigerator, 2 couches, 3 chairs, and 2 Twin Beds and 2 Single Beds. One of the twin bed can convert to a 1 King Bed. The walkout Entertainment area has a patio and it to also has spectacular mountain views.

The cabin includes wireless high-speed internet, and Direct TV that can be viewed on

a Sony 42" HDTV in the Family room on the main level, a 42" HDTV Plasma Screen TV in the Entertainment Room in the basement level, and a TV in the Game Room.

Our DirectTV package includes:

The NFL Sunday Ticket, and the Movie Channels: HBO, Showtime, Cinemax, and Starz.

The Pine Chalet cabin has 3 distinct floor levels, the Upper Level, the Main Level and the Basement Level. The Sleeping Arrangements and the bathroom layouts consists of :

Bathroom #1 Top Level Full Bathroom

Bedroom #1 Top Level Master Bedroom has 1 King bed, french door out to balcony.

Bedroom #2 Top Level, Loft Area has 3 Twin beds, great views out the large windows.

Bathroom # 2 Main Level Full Bathroom

Bedroom #3 Main Level has 1 King bed, french door out to balcony with stunning views.

Bedroom #4 Main Level has 1 Queen bed, large picture window view of backyard.

Bathroom #3 Basement Level, Full Bathroom

Bedroom #5 Basement, Game Room has 2 Twin Beds and 1 Double bed.

Bedroom #6 Basement, Entertainment Room has 2 Single Beds and 1 Day bed with a Trundle or it converts to 1 King bed. The door out to front patio and driveway, also has great views out the windows.

Spur of the moment or a planned trip, just bring your personal articles and enjoy your Family, Friends, Mountain Breezes, Star Lit Nights and Spectacular Views.

Keywords: Luxurious cabin, 6 bedrooms, cabin, Pine, mountains, pines, Mogollon rim, rim country, views, furnished , private, peaceful, yard, decorated, deck, house, fireplace; friendly, adventures, relaxing, hiking, nature, vacation specials, historical, family, romantic, friendly, many extras, views, elk, deer, wild life, outdoor fireplace, fire pit, specials,

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
The Pine Chalet Owners Since 2005, Jeri & Dan. (Owner)
Member since: 2002
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About The Pine Chalet Owners Since 2005, Jeri & Dan.

Like most people we know, we are both transplants from other States. Dan's move to Phoenix, Arizona was in December 1985, and Jeri's was in July 1986.

Dan, was born, raised, and graduated from college in Wisconsin and moved to Tempe, Arizona December 1985.

Jeri, was born, raised, and graduated from college in New Mexico and moved to Tempe, Arizona July 1986.

We meet in 1987 by a mutual friend, who now lives in Colorado.

Our first backpack trip together was in 1988 and it was to Fossil Creek, we fell in love with the surrounding area. We have hiked and camped in the Tonto National Forrest, especially around the Pine / Strawberry area, for many years before purchasing our cabin. The short drive to escape the Phoenix summer heat was the major component of selecting the Pine / Strawberry area.

We both love the outdoors; biking, hiking, fishing, canoeing, white water rafting, backpacking, and camping. We have hiked, backpacked and camped at the Grand Canyon many times. We fell in love, and got married at the Grand Canyon National Park in 1991, out on the South Rim.

We purchased our cabin in Strawberry, Arizona in March 1996, and have loved every minute of it. In 2005, we decided to purchase a second cabin in Pine, Arizona, 3 miles south of Strawberry, as a cabin rental property. The Pine Chalet is the name we gave our cabin and that is how it all began.

The Pine Chalet Owners Since 2005, Jeri & Dan. purchased this cabin in 2005

Why The Pine Chalet Owners Since 2005, Jeri & Dan. chose Arizona

A hop, skip and jump away from the Valley of the Sun.

Location, Location, Location.

Our drive to The Pine Chalet is just 1 hour 15 minutes from our home in the valley of sun, and our first stop light is in Payson. The cabin is also just a 1 hour 45 minutes drive to the Phoenix Airport.

The Pine Chalet's expansive and spectacular views of the forested mountains of the Tonto National Forrest got us at first sight.

We enjoy:

+ Fishing and canoeing the Rim Lakes that are a short drive away.

+ ATV riding and mountain biking the many trails of the Tonto National forest that are just 5 minutes away.

+ Meander through the forest on the many scenic hiking trails without having to get in a car to drive to a trail head.

+++ Got us at fist sight too.

We like having a 5 minute drive to the heart of Pine, for good food and live music at the local Restaurants and Taverns. After a long day, of good times away from the cabin, just being able to unwind and spend the evening gazing at the Brilliant Star Studded Night Lights to finish off an awesome day, got us at first sight as well.

What makes this cabin unique

We love that we can share our Pine Chalet cabin with large families and friends under one roof to make awesome memories, spring, summer, fall, and winter.

Reviews

4.5
based on 11 traveler reviews

Spectacular Mountain Cabin Retreat with NFL Sunday Ticket
average rating of 4.5454545 based on 11 reviews
5

Great Memories!!!

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed staying at The Pine Chalet. The weather was perfect and we made great memories.

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Enjoyed the Pine Chalet tremendously and hope to return again !!!

  • 5 of 5

Geri and Dan, Thank you for your hospitality; we enjoyed the Pine Chalet tremendously and hope to return again sometime soon. The deck was a treasure, the house comfortably accommodated the group we brought, the backyard was enjoyed by all, and yes, we did see deer on your property (including a baby and mommy).

So much cooler than Phoenix, and we appreciated the hiking guide...... we tried two of them and a good time was had by all.

Thank you again.

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

The view is NOT worth the hassle

  • 1 of 5

If you are wanting to pay too much money to have a bad experience in a mediocre home, this is the cabin for you. The home is very outdated and old, there is nothing luxurious about it. You will need to bring your own towels since the owners don’t provide any of that for you— its extremely inconvenient. Be prepared to bypass VRBO because the owner makes you deposit CASH into her account ahead of time before even getting the ridiculous rules of the house. You will not get your deposit back! The rules of the house you will receive after you pay the owner is 2 pages long and states that any infraction will basically make you lose your deposit. The procedures for cleaning up the house upon leaving will take a minimum of 2 hours with a group of people and a single piece of trash left behind is $100 fee. One member of our group was unfortunate enough to arrive alone, 6 hours after check-in time, and the owner demanded that he help move things out of the house and into her car. Upon checking out, the owner also demanded our group stay around to help her move an oven up a flight of stairs into the house, but luckily we had to leave before she arrived.

The house itself is old and dusty, so it doesn't have a clean feeling. If you plan on sitting outside by the 'fire pit', all of the plastic chairs you will be offered are broken and will cut you...oh, and you will be charged for the plastic being broken. The entire property is sitting on a slanted lot, so it is very inconvenient to hang out in the backyard.

It is clear that the owner is not very capable of conducting a professional transaction because even the contract and documents she makes you sign are extremely poorly written and not meant to protect the renter at all. Even with video and photo documentation of leaving the house in great condition, the owner still made up bogus damage and took the whole deposit. Do yourself a favor and AVOID THIS PROPERTY!!

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Patrick was not eligible to receive the remainder of his $240.00 Security/Damage deposit because the cabin was not left damage free and he did not follow the rules, regulations and procedures for closing up the cabin that he received in emails with the payment confirmation, and 4 days prior to his arrival. He also received dated photos of his damages. A) The UFC fight of $60.00 ordered on 8/20/16, was deducted from his deposit. Patrick's Violations : 1. Garbage: He did not take his excess trash with him. The trash bin lid could not be closed all the way, and the critters got into it. His trash was all along the street on both sides. The neighbors were not happy. 2. Microwave Oven: A big chuck on the left side of the microwave oven door was damaged and missing. A new microwave had to be purchased, delivered and installed. 3. Refrigeration on Main Level; A big dent was put into the right door of the refrigerator. 4. Pavement: The Direct TV access code for purchases was engraved into the concrete pavement at door. A grinder had to be used to remove the code. 5. Carpet: Large stains on the carpet required a carpet cleaning company to be hired to address the carpet stains through out the cabin. Patrick tried to rent the cabin for a bachelor party by having a women, Megan, send the request to rent the cabin for his group. Patrick choose not to go through the VRBO payment system, he did not want to pay the VRBO's service fee and renters insurance fee. His reservation was setup for him to go through the VRBO system but he wanted to go through Megan's reservation # because I gave Megan a price break and she would not be paying the service fees. His friend that showed up early informed us that Patrick rented the cabin for a bachelor's party. Patrick called on Saturday requesting to order the UFC, we came to an agreement for it to be deduct from his deposit and we gave him the pass code. He called several times for the code on Saturday. On the last call requesting the pass code he said he would write it down. Most individual's would write it down on a piece of paper, not Patrick he engraving it into the pavement. Patrick has a record of trashing rental properties. He informed me that he did not receive and had trouble getting his deposits back from past rental property owners. Now I know why, and now looking back I understand why he had Megan try to reserve the cabin for him under her name. He is not someone you want to rent your property too.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Girls Weekend Getaway

  • 5 of 5

Rented the Pine Chalet for a girls weekend getaway. Had an awesome time! The cabin was beautiful and very roomy and very clean!. The view from the deck was beautiful! Geri and Dan were quick to respond to any questions I had. Will definitely plan another stay here soon!

Thank you Geri and Dan!!

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cozy, Relaxing, and Amazing View!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I (a total of 18ppl) choose to stay at the Pine Chalet because 1) It was a large enough cabin for a big family gathering - combination of sisters with their husbands, children, and our parents; 2) It had good reviews from past guests - especially about the cleanliness; 3) Cabin was away from Phoenix, but REALLY not too far of a drive for us who were experiencing a cabin getaway for the first time; 4) Great location for nearby towns (Strawberry & Payson)and nearby to outdoor activities - such as hiking and fishing at creeks and lakes; and 5) because we had the ability to get much more detailed information and view more pictures of the property through their website - which at the end made us feel super comfortable with our selection!

Geri and Dan are very helpful with information and responsive to comments/questions/or emails. I was in contact with them via email through the beginning process and then by text as we approached the trip dates. Always quick to respond! I even got the opportunity to meet Geri on the day of our arrival because she was at the cabin making sure that the cabin was in order and ready for us. She reminded me of the cabin rules - which at first seemed a little overwhelming because I was so paranoid the kids would drop something on the carpet or I was afraid we would loose out on our large deposit if we accidentally forgot to follow one of the check-out procedures. BUT now I totally understand why the owners set up check-out rules...It makes you realize how important it is to take care of other things - as If it was your own things/your own home. That is why the cabin is in such good shape! Others before us have taken really good care of it - which made our cabin experience great. Clean, cozy, welcoming cabin for sure!

Lastly, I am so thankful that the owners were willing to work with me before our trip and after the trip. My parents forgot three items behind and Geri was kind enough to offer and ship the items to us. The shipping cost would just be deducted from the deposit - which is reasonable. The fact that they are willing to help you out says a lot about them!

Thank you Pine Chalet for a great experience!

P.S. You could possibly have visitors - in our case it was a mom dear with her baby deer, which stayed on the cabin property throughout our whole stay! OR get rain each afternoon :)...which makes you truly appreciate mother nature... amazing view of the green pine trees!

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Arizona
4

Lots of room

  • 4 of 5

There was plenty of room for privacy, as well as for group gatherings for our extended family of eleven. People could retreat to various parts of the house or outdoor property for periods of solitude, but the main living room and dining area were very spacious and easily accommodated all of us. The kitchen had everything we needed to prepare meals, and we had a number of table choices for eating together inside or outside on the deck or patio. A family of elk visited the property both mornings we were there, which was a real treat. We had five cars among us which made parking on the property a squeeze. Because the house is three stories, it makes cooling the property uneven. The main (middle) floor was always comfortable, but the bottom floor was too cold and the top floor was too warm. Extra blankets downstairs and open windows and fans upstairs helped. We had a great visit there and highly recommend it to others.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Mountains, Largest Stand of Ponderosa Pine Trees, Mogollon Rim, Rim Country, Spectacular Views, Private, Peaceful, Adventures, Relaxing, Hiking, Nature, Wild Life, Historical.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Pine Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$300
$1,800
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

3 Cleaning Fee, Note 2 $0
Refundable damage deposit $300
2 Cleaning Fee 2 Guests $150
5 Event Call Jeri $0
1 Call Jeri 480.777.0223 $0
4 Deposit See Note 1 $0

1) Refundable Security/Damage Deposit*
= In the amount of one (1) of Your nights stay, or $300 whichever is higher.

* Security/Damage Deposit is Refundable When:

- No damage is caused to the cabin or property,
- The rules of the cabin have been followed,
- The correct number of guest have been disclosed.

2) Cleaning Fee Dependent Upon Total Number of Persons in Party (Adults and Children).
1 to 2 persons = $150.00
up to 4 persons = $175.00
up to 6 persons = $200.00
up to 8 persons = $225.00
up to 10 persons = $250.00
up to 12 persons = $275.00
up to 14 persons = $300.00
up to 16 persons = $325.00
up to 18 persons = $350.00

3) Holiday Rates Vary and Holiday Minimum Nights Stay Varies

4) Event Rates Vary and Additional:
Event Insurance Required
Event Contract Required
Event Deposit Required

5) Monthly Rates Negotiable.

6) No Pet Allowed.

7) Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.

8) Cancellation policy:

100% Refunded if canceled at least 91 or more days before arrival date.
Included in the Rental Agreement Contract.

9) Mid-Week Specials Rate (When noted on our Calendar)

Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday nights when noted on the calendar

10) Deposit
"A picture is worth a thousand words." To the Traveler reading the reviews please make your own judgment after viewing the “Deposit Forfeiture” Photo Album. A Photo Album Labeled “Deposit Forfeiture” in our Photo Gallery is in the process of being developed. This photo album will show case the dated photos given to the guests who failed to follow the Security / Damage deposit rules. These guests have either lost a portion or the entire Security / Damage deposit. The Photo Album “Deposit Forfeiture” will be live mid October 2016. The photos will include guest name, date of stay, and details of the deposit forfeiture. It is not worth the hassle to substantiate a response when "a picture is worth a thousand words."

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Pine Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Master Suite - toilet , shower
    2 Main Level - toilet , combination tub/shower
    3 Basement - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 27
  • 1 Upper Level Master Bed Suite + Patio - 1 king
    2 Upper Level Loft - 3 twin/ single
    3 Main Level Bedroom #1, King + Patio - 1 king
    4 Main Level Bedroom #2, Queen - 1 queen
    5 Basement Game Room - 1 double , 2 twin/ single
    6 Basement Entertainment Room - 4 twin/ single , The Twin Day Bed w/ Trundle can be transform into 1 King bed
    Guest 18 to 27 Sleeping Arrangements - Your own Sleeping Bag or Air Mattress, ample space in cabin.
  • 1- Upper Level Master Bedroom = 1 King Bed 2- Upper Level Loft Area = 3 Twin Beds 3- Main Level Bedroom 1 = 1 King Bed 4- Main Level Bedroom 2 = 1 Queen Bed 5- Basement Game Room = 1 Double Bed, 2 Twin Beds 6- Basement Entertainment Room = 2 Twin Beds and 2 Single Beds The beds in the cabin provide sleeping accommodations for 17 people. You are welcomed to have additional guest bring their own sleeping bag or air mattress, there is ample space on each level.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Wireless High Speed Internet Direct TV, w/ NFL package and Move Channels Two (2) 42" HDTV's (Mail Level & Basement Level) Two (2)Full Size Refrigerators (Main Level & Basement Level) No pets allowed.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties