check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

2 bed self catering apartment in pretty fishing village, Porthleven, SW Cornwall

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
apartment
Sleeps
5
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights

Description

Porthleven Apartment Rental Photos and Description

2 bedrooms; lounge/kitchen, dining area, shower-room; lobby; balcony sleeps 4/5.

The 2 bedroom self catering apartment in Porthleven, South West Cornwall is on the first floor of this large character cottage and has its own separate entrance. There is a balcony with table and chairs, and off-road parking for one vehicle is provided in the grounds of the property - a rarity in Porthleven. The holiday property is close to the harbour and local amenities. Well behaved dogs are welcome by prior arrangement*. Saturday changeover.

Please note, HomeAway/Owners Direct are now charging a "Service Fee". To avoid this, please do not use the "Request to Book" button. Please use the "Enquire Now" button instead and do not use the "Book Now" button on the enquiry form unless you are happy to pay the 8% fee.

The 'Gables' is one of the oldest properties in Porthleven, SW Cornwall. It is privately owned and divided into two flats, with the proprietors living on the ground floor. It is close to shops, cafes, restaurants etc. and only 2-3 minutes walk from the picturesque harbour, beyond which is the beach.

The accommodation sleeps 5 people and comprises: balcony, lobby, dining area, kitchen/lounge, shower room with WC and wash basin. There are two bedrooms. The large main bedroom has a double bed and a single folding guest bed bed if required. The 2nd bedroom has a triple sleeper bunk bed, i.e. a 4' wide double underneath a single upper.

Facilities include: satellite TV, DVD player/recorder. wi fi, electric cooker, microwave, fridge/freezer, electric convector heater and fan heaters. In the event of cold weather, central heating is provided. Electricity is by coin operated meter which takes £1 coins. There is off-road parking for one vehicle.

Porthleven is a picturesque fishing village nestled around its own harbour in Mounts Bay on the south coast of Cornwall. Just past the harbour there is a long stretch of beach almost 3 miles long.

Local services include: 3 public houses, Post Office, launderette, takeaways, shops, cafes and restaurants, local craft workshops, supermarket, church and chapel, small outdoor craft market in summer. Fishing trips can be booked from one of the shops on the harbourside - Tony T Shirts.

There are lovely local walks and west of Porthleven, along the cliffs, the scenery is stunning and in the distance one can see the ruins of the old copper mines. Close by, to the east, is the beautiful Penrose Estate, where one can walk through the wooded valley around Loe Pool, a large freshwater lake separated from the sea by a sandbar.

Further Details: The apartment will be ready for occupation from 3.00 p.m. Changeover day is Saturday and you are asked please to vacate the property by 10.00 a.m. on the day of departure to allow time for cleaning etc.

Please note that hire of bed linen and towels is not included in the price.However, if it is not convenient for you to provide your own bed linen we can supply this at an extra weekly cost of £8 per person. However, if you prefer to bring your own covers etc., for each double bed you will need to supply a double duvet cover four pillowcases and a sheet. The single folding bed and the top bunk each require a single duvet cover, pillowcase and sheet.

*Well behaved dogs are welcome, but not on the furniture please. We also ask that you ensure your dog is not left alone in the property at any time. An extra weekly charge if £12 is made for a dog.

Please note that Home Away/Owners Direct are now charging a "service fee" of almost 8%. If you would like to avoid this, please do not use their Online Booking system.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Alison Round
Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 26, 2016
Call Owner

About Alison Round

As a 'Cornish maid' it was wonderful to come back home to Cornwall in 2001. I love living in Porthleven. The scenery is breathtaking and always changing according to the season.

Alison Round purchased this apartment in 2001

Why Alison Round chose Lizard Peninsula

As soon as I walked into this house, it felt right and I knew I wanted to live here. It is old and has so much character as well as being in the heart of the village, yet set back from the road.

What makes this apartment unique

The Gables is full of character and although located in the heart of Porthleven, it has room for car parking in the grounds of the property, unlike many other holiday properties in the village.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Had such a lovely time and the flat was perfect. It really was the ideal place for a holiday. Very good location, quiet and close to everything and very lovely. I'd recommend it to everybody. I'm already missing it.
Aug 2006
  • 1 of 6

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(32 traveler reviews)

2 bed self catering apartment in pretty fishing village, Porthleven, SW Cornwall
average rating of 4.6875 based on 38 reviews
5

Wonderful holiday in lovely accommodation

  • 5 of 5

The owners were very friendly and helpful, but not at all intrusive on our privacy. The apartment is gorgeous. It has lots of character and wonderful slightly sloping floors. It was very clean too.

Porthleven is charming and has some great pubs and restaurants. Thursday night is quiz night at the Anchor(?) Pub, and the Rick Stein restaurant is excellent and very reasonably priced.

We hope to come again soon, and maybe next time we'll be luckier with the weather!

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your holiday at The Gables and hope to see you again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great apartment

  • 5 of 5

The Gables is exactly how it looks in the pictures. It is not upmarket but it is extremely comfortable, warm and clean - everything you could want for a visit in October. Great location being only a short walk from the restaurants and shops by the harbour. Private parking is an added bonus as are the owners who live below and who were extremely accommodating hosts. Dogs are apparently allowed in the apartment but there was no trace of any hairs or smell - we only knew as one of the notices mentioned it. So great little apartment with great hosts in a great location.

  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks very much for the lovely review and we hope to see you again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

You will not be disappointed...

  • 4 of 5

Thank you to the wonderful hosts, Alison and Mark, for making our holiday really special...we will return...soon!

The apartment was spotlessly clean, comfortable and had a relaxing atmosphere.It had everything you would need to enjoy a holiday... home from home experience. My husband and I were really pleased and surprised that you had Sky TV and wfii...not all places have these extras...but the best facility was the parking - having stayed in Porthleven before - we know how difficult it is...so top marks!!

The beds were really comfortable - I find it hard to sleep - but managed to have some really good sleeps - suppose the sea air helped as well!

Allowing dogs was a big bonus...

The Sweet Peas and home grown tomatoes were a lovely surprise...thank you - it is the little extras, like this, that make it extra special.

The location was brilliant - literally 2 minutes walk to the beautiful harbour and stunning views beyond...

Two pubs that welcomed dogs and did great food...even the pizza place welcomed dogs inside...the owner of the local chip shop, gave my dogs a sausage...so kind!

This place is really wonderful...The Gables was well worth a stay...you will not be disappointed...

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review. It was lovely meeting you and we hope to see you again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

fantastic week away

  • 5 of 5

We had a lovelly week in the Gables. The location is brilliant, walking distance to the harbour, and a lovelly balcony, we had breakfast on every morning. The accommodation is very good, immaculately clean, large (3 of us only) and the wifi was very handy. We were lucky and had excellent weather for our week. I have a soft top and hood was down every day, parking is very good as well adjacent to the apartment.

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your lovely words and we are glad you all enjoyed your holiday with us. Hope we see you again in the future and thanks for leaving the apartment so clean and tidy.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect base for exploring Cornwall

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay at The Gables. The flat is great holiday accommodation and less than a 5 minute walk to the harbour and restaurants. It was spotlessly clean and had all the facilities we needed for our stay. Lovely hosts who made us feel very welcome.

  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So pleased you enjoyed your holiday and thanks for your nice review. It was good to meet you both - and of course the lovely Luna! Hope you had a good journey back home.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location

  • 5 of 5

Lovely comfortable property, welcoming and friendly hosts, we used porthleven as a base for visiting north and east Cornwall. Perfect location and would definitely stay there again.

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your holiday and we hope to see you again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Newquay, Cornwall
Nearest Barpub
500 Metres
Harbour Inn
Nearest Ferry
75 Miles
Plymouth
Nearest Golf
8 Kilometres
Praa Sands
Nearest Motorway
114 Miles
Exeter
Nearest Restaurant
300 Metres
There are 3 close by
Nearest Beach
800 Metres
Porthleven
Car: recommended

Porthleven is a picturesque seaside fishing village with a harbour and a long beach, situated in Mounts Bay, on the south coast of Cornwall, 12-13 miles from the Lizard and approx 22 miles from Lands End. The town of Helston is 2 miles away, and the towns of Falmouth and Penzance are within easy reach. Marazion, home of the famous St. Michael's Mount is about 20 minutes by car.

There are lovely clifftop and woodland walks nearby.

The Gables is in the heart of the village, close to all amenities and about 3 minutes walk from the lovely harbour, beyond which is the long sandy beach.

Golf: Nearest golf course at Praa Sands, 10-15 minutes by car.

Homeaway/Owners Direct are now charging a service fee of almost 8%. If you would like to avoid this, please DO NOT use their Online Booking system.

Rates & Availability

Porthleven Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Low Season
Oct 29 2016 - Dec 16 2016
3 night minimum stay
$80
$412
 
 
Christmas
Dec 17 2016 - Jan 6 2017
4 night minimum stay
$101
$603
 
 
Low Season
Feb 4 2017 - Apr 14 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
$81
$425
 
 
Easter
Apr 15 2017 - Apr 21 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
4 night minimum stay
$96
$520
 
 
Spring
Apr 22 2017 - May 26 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
$86
$469
 
 
Whitsun
May 27 2017 - Jun 2 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$571
 
 
Mid
Jun 3 2017 - Jun 23 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$520
 
 
High Season
Jun 24 2017 - Jul 21 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$577
 
 
Peak Season
Jul 22 2017 - Sep 1 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$761
 
 
September
Sep 2 2017 - Sep 22 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$565
 
 
Autumn
Sep 23 2017 - Oct 27 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
$86
$476
 
 
Low Season
Oct 28 2017 - Dec 22 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
$81
$425
 
 
Christmas/New Year
Dec 23 2017 - Jan 5 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
4 night minimum stay
$101
$609
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $15

Please note that HomeAway/Owners Direct are now also charging guests a booking fee, called a "service" fee. If you want to avoid this, then please do not use their Online Booking system, or alternatively you can contact us direct on 01326 574816 to book.

Above rates do not include bed linen or towels. For each double bed you will need to provide a double duvet cover, 4 pillowcases and a sheet. The single beds each require a single duvet cover, two pillowcases and a sheet. However, if necessary bed linen and towels can be provided at an extra weekly cost of £8 per person. We do request that our towels are not taken to the beach. Rental is from Saturday to Saturday, except in low season.

An extra £12 per week is charged for a dog.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Porthleven Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment (semi-detached)
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Village
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer ...
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - toilet , shower
  • Shower enclosure, wash basin and WC.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom One - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , The single bed is a folding guest bed.
    Bedroom Two - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , Triple sleeper bunk bed: 4' wide double under a single upper
  • The main bedroom has one double bed and a single folding bed is available if required. The 2nd bedroom has a triple sleeper bunk bed with a 4' wide double underneath a single upper.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • pier fishing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
Notes:
Bed linen and towels provided if requested at an extra cost of £8 per person per week. However, you may bring your own if you prefer. Wi fi available. Well behaved dogs welcome if kept off furniture and beds. Please note that dog is not to be left unattended in the property at any time. Flat is accessed via level walkway and 5 steps.

Partner Offers