expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right

Converted farmhouse 'Arzella' with pool and garden.MTA accredited

Xaghra, Malta
  • Farmhouse2690 sq. ft.
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps7
  • Bathrooms2
  • Half Baths1
  • Minimum Stay3 - 4 nights

3 bedrooms,2 bathrooms (1 en-suite) ,sleeps 6-7

Beautifully converted 150-year-old farmhouse with the aim of maintaining the rustic style, which is so typical for Gozo farmhouses, but combining this with modern comfort. It comprises a total area of 350 m2 with a sitting room, large dining/living room with dining table and sofa, partly open kitchen and toilet/washing room at the ground floor.

The kitchen has all amenities and the wash room contains a washing machine. Wide doors give easy access to a spacious garden with a 30-m2 pool, pool shower, barbecue, gazebo and garden furniture, overlooking the fields.

A classical stairs with skylight leads to the second floor with 3 spacious bedrooms and 2 luxury bathrooms, of which one is en-suite. Two bedrooms have double beds, one has two singles. Two of the bedrooms have balconies, offering nice views over the fields/part of town. All furniture is first class pine. The house is well furnishing with a combination of classical pine and rattan. AC is available for the master bedroom ( at a small extra charge) , capable of cooling other (bed)rooms to a degree.Ceiling & Standing fans are installed as is a free Wireless network ( code protected)

We are licensed by the Maltese Tourist Authority (MTA).


Frans Spijker

Member Since 2003
Premier Partner
This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.
Response rate:
Response time:
within a few hours
english, french, german, spanish, portuguese, italian, dutch, norwegian
Calendar last updated:
Apr 20, 2018
About Frans Spijker

Hi , I am Dutch by nationality and married since 1982 to a Maltese lady. My profession has made us live for the last 25 + years in 8 different countries around the world and we recently decided to settle down in Portugal .

Frans Spijker purchased this Farmhouse in 2003

Why Frans Spijker chose Xaghra

Considering our strong family ties with Malta we always wanted to purchase some property on the sister island of Gozo. Why Gozo ? because it is much quieter and more intimate than Malta, also greener throughout the year with lovely beaches close by.

What makes this Farmhouse unique

We purchased this property at the time and had it converted because we loved the location being on the outskirts of Xaghra ,with green areas behind,the possibility to have a nice garden, quietness but nevertheless still with all amenities of Xaghra within walking distance (10-15 mins)


    • Internet
    • Air Conditioning
    • Swimming pool
    • Heater
    • Satellite or Cable
    • Kids Welcome
    • Washer & Dryer
    • Parking
    • TV


      • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
      • Master bedroom
        1 queen, 1 child bed
      • Guest bedroom 1
        1 queen
      • Guest bedroom 2
        2 twin/ single
      • 2 doubles, 1 family bedroom, 1 cot and one foldable bed for a teenager. Ceiling fans in each of the rooms.


      • 2 Bathrooms, 1 Half Bath
      • Master Bathroom (ensuite)
        toilet, combination tub/shower
      • Guest Bathroom
        toilet, shower
      • Main living toilet/washroom

        Location Type

          • Near The Ocean
          • Village


              • Family
              • Historic
              • Romantic
              • Sports & Activities
              • Tourist Attractions


                  • Guests provide their own meals


                      • Parking
                        Parking available in front of the house or few steps away.
                      • Air Conditioning
                        In Master bedroom ,with capacity to cool other rooms to a degree.
                      • Hair Dryer
                      • Heating
                        Individual Electrical heaters in each of the rooms
                      • Internet
                        WiFi with reach throughout house and garden !
                      • Linens Provided
                      • Living Room
                      • Ceiling Fans
                      • Parking On Street
                      • Safe
                      • Sunbed
                      • Toilet Paper
                      • Towels Provided
                      • Washing Machine


                          • Kitchen
                          • 4 Ring Stove
                          • Dishes & Utensils
                          • Freezer
                          • Grill
                          • Coffee Maker
                          • Microwave
                          • Oven
                          • Refrigerator
                          • Stove
                          • Toaster


                              • Dining
                              • Dining Area
                              • comfy seating for 6 people


                                  • Books
                                  • DVD Player
                                  • Radio
                                  • Satellite / Cable
                                    Wide choice of English/Italian channels
                                  • Stereo
                                  • Television


                                      • Balcony
                                        One at the front overlooking the fields and one at the back facing the street.
                                      • Beach Chairs
                                      • Deck / Patio
                                      • Lawn / Garden
                                        Lush and professionally designed garden with a variety of plants and a Gazebo to enjoy outside meals or just to relax..............
                                      • Outdoor Grill
                                        Situated on the pooldeck
                                      • Patio
                                      • Terrace


                                          • Long-term Renters Welcome
                                          • suitable for elderly or infirm
                                          • wheelchair inaccessible

                                            Pool / Spa

                                              • Private Pool
                                                7 x 4 m with steps leading into the water . Shallow end 80 cms , deeper part 2 m

                                                Onsite Services

                                                  • Staff


                                                      • bay/sound
                                                      • botanical garden
                                                      • caves
                                                      • churches
                                                      • marina
                                                      • museums
                                                      • playground
                                                      • restaurants
                                                      • ruins
                                                      • winery tours

                                                        Leisure Activities

                                                          • beachcombing
                                                          • bird watching
                                                          • scenic drives
                                                          • sight seeing
                                                          • walking

                                                            Local Services & Businesses

                                                              • ATM/bank
                                                              • groceries
                                                              • hospital
                                                              • medical services

                                                                Sports & Adventure Activities

                                                                  • sailing
                                                                  • cycling
                                                                  • fishing
                                                                  • hiking
                                                                  • jet skiing
                                                                  • mountain biking
                                                                  • pier fishing
                                                                  • deepsea fishing
                                                                  • scuba diving or snorkeling
                                                                  • snorkeling
                                                                  • spelunking
                                                                  • swimming
                                                                  • tennis
                                                                  • water skiing
                                                                  • wind-surfing


                                                                      • Maid services are provided once a week. Attractive car rental can be arranged via housemanagement representative The garden is lighted and has a comfortable Gazebo where 4-6 people can dine. Wireless internet included in the price, with full plot coverage.

                                                                        37 Reviews


                                                                        Latest reviews


                                                                        Derrick R.

                                                                        A great location and lovely setting. The pool area and garden was beautiful.

                                                                        Owner's Response:

                                                                        Many thanks for taking the trouble to review your stay and obviously pleased that you enjoyed it. Hope to see you back in the future !



                                                                        Highly recommended

                                                                        Anne C.

                                                                        Lovely old building beautifully renovated. Three minute walk from the town square. Large bedrooms and very clean. Only downsides were the lack of soap and the tendency to run out of hot water (we were four people). Great value for money though.

                                                                        Excellent property and great location.

                                                                        Karen M.

                                                                        Would recommend Arzella and Xxaghra. The farmhouse was very comfortable and had everything we needed to enjoy our stay. The pool was good and lots of loungers and chairs to sit out on. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were large and lots of space for storage. We cooked on the BBQ almost every night as it was too hot to cook inside. The gas oven was a bit fiddly to light but ok. Only downside was the noisy cockerel who woke us very early every morning. We slept with the windows open as we had opted not to use Air Con so I guess we wouldn't have heard the noise so loudly if we had the shutters closed. Would definitely go back.

                                                                        Owner's Response:

                                                                        Many thanks for taking the trouble to provide us with feedback on your stay ! Obviously pleased you enjoyed it and hope to see you back ! And on the cockerel...really don't know what to do other that becoming a "persona non grata" for our neighbours.....


                                                                        Heerlijk verblijf op Gozo

                                                                        Antonie B.

                                                                        De bedoeling was om een huis op Malta te reserveren. Maar we werden geconfronteerd met veel karakterloze appartementen op dat eiland. Vervolgens letterlijk de oversteek gemaakt naar Gozo en kwamen we uit bij Arzella. We hebben het er heerlijk gehad. Mooi weer. Lekker zwembad en het huis was van alle gemakken voorzien. Zeker een aanrader.

                                                                        Owner's Response:

                                                                        Hartelijk dank voor de moeite om een evaluatie te schrijven en natuurlijk fijn dat jullie het naar je zin hebben gehad. Hopelijk tot ziens !

                                                                        Met Groet,


                                                                        Good, albeit a bit smelly

                                                                        Patricia K.

                                                                        We just came back from a one week stay at Arzella as a family of four (kids age 3 and 6). The location in Xaghra is great, very central to the rest of Gozo and the village square is charming with many cafes and restaurants. The house is spacious and clean and kitchen well stocked with pots/pans and necessities. Our main attraction to the house was the pool and garden but unfortunately we didn't spend as much time there as we hoped to. There is a chicken coop and goat shed on the other side of the garden wall so there was a constant foul poultry and animal smell. A real "farmhouse". Not sure if it was related, but there was also A LOT of flies and mosquitos.

                                                                        The bedrooms had ceiling and floor fans but it was still hard to keep them cool enough on the hot nights which meant windows were left open and more bug issues. Also not ideal if you are a light sleeper bc the rooster was VERY loud starting at the crack of dawn.

                                                                        Overall a nice stay at Arzella but be prepared with lots of repellent and no sensitivity to smells.

                                                                        Owner's Response:

                                                                        Thank you for submitting a review of your stay and pleased that you enjoyed the house !

                                                                        It is a pity that you experienced these smells during your stay ( and flies - surely related...). I requested the house management to follow-up and they informed me that the owners of the land at the back had brought in some new goats...This surely was the reason of the smells... So it was an unfortunate moment in time.

                                                                        We have been renting it out for 15 years and this was the 2nd time we had guests experiencing strong smells. The previous case was about 4 years ago and was due to the owner of land fertilizing his land with manure....The guests at the time made contact with our house management immediately and they then together with the landowner took the necessary measures to reduce the smell.

                                                                        My house management asked me if you have tried to contact them about this and the heat at night ( there is an AC in the master bedroom... ) . My concern is that you didn't manage to get hold of them or you did but they didn't follow-up and/or failed to contact me....My experience with Frank Salt is very good , but there is always a first time...

                                                                        As you know I contacted you separately in the hope to get your feedback on above , so we can learn and further improve !



                                                                        Gorgeous stone built house with pool and garden a short walk from the village square.

                                                                        Jane C.

                                                                        We really loved staying here, and even my 22month old grand daughter jumped up and down with delight when we opened the door! It was perfect for us, with two bathrooms, and a very well equipped kitchen, TV with DVD's including one for her, and comfortable loungers by the poolside. Only problem was the gas oven, which we could not work. Also the instructions were very faded... . Otherwise delightful, with a pretty garden and little pergola, to sit and have drinks, and a larger table and chairs just outside the French doors, for dining. We would happily have paid for some charcoal as we could not find any at all on the island, and would have liked to have a BBQ. The house is only a ten minute walk from the village square where they are some nice restaurants to eat or have a coffee or drink. We would love to come again!

                                                                        Owner's Response:

                                                                        Dear Jane,many thanks for taking the trouble to provide us with feedback and of course pleased that you enjoyed your stay. As regards the oven we had some problems with one of the knobs ,but presume this was fixed. It is a bit complicated,which is why we put up some instructions...but then indeed it should be readible....so we take action straight away....Strange you didn't manage to find charcoal... Not sure if you asked Frank of the management company,but we will now request him to ensure for the warm months there is always a bag of charcoal under the BBQ upon guest arrival ...Thanks again,hope to see you back and then for any problem contact our house management...afterall it is one of the services we pay them for...!




                                                                        Xaghra, Malta

                                                                        Why not spent your holiday in a converted 150 yr. old farmhouse in the mid of the Mediterranean Sea on the sunny, quiet and picturesque island of Gozo with its more than 3000 yr. of history? Farmhouse Arzella ('Shell') is a beautifully converted 150-year-old farmhouse with a spacious garden at the border of the picturesque and quiet town of Xaghra (pronounce: shara).


                                                                        Additional information about rental rates

                                                                        Rates apply for max 4 persons. Additional charge : Euro 11/person/per night up to 7 persons . Lower rates for children Higher rates may apply for Christmas/New Year and Easter periods. 30 % deposit within 2 weeks of date of booking,remaining latest 1 month before start of rental

                                                                        37 Reviews
                                                                        Wonderful 4.8/5
                                                                        Premier Partner
                                                                        Enter dates for accurate pricing
                                                                        For booking assistance, call 888-640-7927

                                                                        Property # 7566