Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

2-bedroom well-appointed apartment near Jolly Harbour and beaches - Garden Apartment 4

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,000 sq ft
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

Description

Garden Apartment 4

Hamilton House stands at the back of the Estate behind the villas. Access to the apartment is on the ground floor at the rear of the house. The long open-plan living area of the apartment includes a fully equipped kitchen and plenty of space for comfortable everyday living. An open arch leads to an inner hall accessing the bedrooms and bathrooms. The apartment features a spacious, covered veranda enjoying superb hillside views to the side and towards Jolly Harbour to the front and has a charcoal barbeque. The master bedroom has an en-suite bathroom. French doors lead from the master bedroom and the living room directly on to the veranda and can be secured open during the day to take full advantage of the cooling breezes and glorious sunshine. The guest bedroom also has a full bathroom. Ceiling fans and air conditioning are fitted in the bedrooms and the living area. The apartment is serviced with cable television, DVD player, hi-fi, and high-speed wireless Internet connection.


About the property

with large swimming pool set in a delightful tropical garden.

Hamilton Estate is a private development of villas and apartments adjacent to Jolly Harbour, the premier marina, golf and leisure resort in the Caribbean, situated on the beautiful west coast of Antigua. Hamilton House stands in its own tropical garden with a large 30 feet long swimming pool and comprises four well-appointed and delightfully furnished 2-bedroom apartments.

We are situated next to the new luxury Sugar Ridge boutique hotel which offers a spa, a gym, two restaurants and sophisticated nightly entertainment.

Jolly Beach is about a 7 minutes walk away; a long sweep of soft white sand and turquoise sea fringed by palm trees, and the entrance to the marina is also just a ten minutes walk away.

Guests staying at Hamilton House can choose to include one or more days of their holiday aboard our 50' sailing yacht. Further details are shown below.

More than just a property rental: We pride ourselves in making every Jolly Villas holiday a special and personal experience. It's our job to make sure your visit to Antigua is as relaxing, carefree and memorable as you would wish, from helping you arrange flights, meeting and greeting you at the airport, providing you with a welcome pack on arrival, and supporting you with 24/7 local customer service should you experience any concerns during your stay; all in one of the world's most desirable holiday locations. We can arrange your car hire, help you with any excursions you may be tempted by and, of course, get you on to the water in a wide range of activities, including a really special day on our 50’ yacht “Jabberwocky”.

Combine your stay with a day's sailing: For a very special experience, a day on our 50' sailing yacht will definitely prove a holiday highlight. The yacht is spacious and fitted out to an extremely high standard with a comprehensive inventory of equipment for personal safety and comfort. For fun and relaxation there are fins, masks and snorkels and a plethora of water toys; plus the tender for pottering about and shore leave.

There are so many places to explore around the coast of Antigua that each day on board offers new sights and destinations. You can choose to take it easy and relax for the day, leaving our crew to take care of everything, or you can actively participate in sailing the yacht. Snorkel over coral reefs and observe the Caribbean marine life - exotic fish, rays, turtles and dolphins - or laze on deck and enjoy freshly prepared meals with a choice of drinks. To end the day, drop anchor in another secluded bay, and enjoy canapés and cocktails as the sun goes down.

More Details

Owner
Howard and Cheryl Adams at Jolly Villas
Member since: 2007
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 15, 2018

About Howard and Cheryl Adams at Jolly Villas

We absolutely love Antigua. We came on a visit and hardly seem to have been away since. Antigua is the heart and soul of the Caribbean, an exotic tropical island with an abundance of palm-fringed beaches, warm sparkling seas, English-speaking and life-loving locals, a wealth of land and water based activities, a huge choice of delicious international cuisines, and a background soundtrack of calypso and reggae. No wonder we decided to make Antigua our second home.

Howard and Cheryl Adams at Jolly Villas purchased this apartment in 2007

Why Howard and Cheryl Adams at Jolly Villas chose Jolly Harbour

Location, location, location. Scenic, convenient, comfortable, and a true home from home.

What makes this apartment unique

We pride ourselves in making every Jolly Villas holiday a special and personal experience. It's our job to make sure your visit to Antigua is as relaxing, carefree and memorable as you would wish, from helping you arrange flights, meeting and greeting you at the airport, providing you with a welcome pack on arrival, and supporting you with 24/7 local customer service should you experience any concerns during your stay; all in one of the world's most desirable holiday locations.

Available Rentals

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Notes

Additional nights over 7 days are pro-rata.
Rental rates apply to arrivals between the dates shown for each period, ie if guests arrive on 16th December 2016 the weekly rental will be £775 but the rental will be £995 for guests arriving after that date.
A deposit of 20% of the rental price is required at the time of booking with the balance due 60 days before your arrival in Antigua.


Amenities

Jolly Harbour Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 0
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • The en-suite bathroom of the master bedroom features a large walk-in shower. The guest bathroom has a 5' low level bath with shower above.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
  • Each bedroom has plenty of wardrobe and drawer space. Each room is equipped with a ceiling fan and air conditioning.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Terrace
  • 8 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

78% Complete
15% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Garden Apartment 4
average rating of 4.736842 based on 19 reviews
5

Lovely apartment in a great location!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in apt no’4 - downstairs. It was exactly what we were looking for. Spacious, spotless, very well equipped, with a shady veranda overlooking the garden. The lovely pool was steps away from our door.

Jenny arranged our transport from and to the airport and although our flight arrived 4 hours late, Cosmore, the driver was right there to meet us at Arrivals and let us into the apartment. Jenny (who was very friendly and helpful) had hoped to be at the apartment, but had another meeting which clashed with our late arrival. Even so, she rang us to make sure everything was ok and came over to see us in the morning.

There is a well stocked (if rather pricey) supermarket 10-15 minutes stroll away atJolly Harbour and four beautiful beaches within 2 miles. (Our favourite being Valley Church beach which took us about 15 minutes to walk to.) We had thought of hiring a car to explore further afield, but decided in the end not to bother as we were enjoying ourselves so much just wondering around locally.

Everyone we met was friendly and welcoming - we had a fantastic week and can’t wait to go back!

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Nice quiet location. Kitchen well equipped nice roomy terrace. Jenny was lovely and helpful.

  • 3 of 5

Sadly the apartment was not very clean, when you walked across the floor your bare feet were always dirty. The plumbing in the kitchen and separate bathroom was poor, very little flow on the kitchen tap and virtually non existent in the bathroom sink. No problem with the sink in the on suite, hence the 3 star rating.

  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Barbara for your feedback and I am glad that in the main you enjoyed your stay at Hamilton House. As you might be aware Antigua suffered a storm surge a few weeks back which had an affect on the local water supply for a while. One of our desalination plants was put out of action and this led to some drop in the water pressure. I am sure that is what you experienced as the pressure you mentioned is generally strong in bathroom and kitchen. However, I will send in a plumber to investigate just in case. Regrettably, dust and sand do tend to settle on the tiled floors and unless they are mopped on a daily basis the bottom of one's feet can get a little dusty. Best regards, Howard
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
-
5

Wonderful home from home in the Caribbean

  • 5 of 5

This apartment is in a fantastic location, close to Jolly Harbour with its supermarket, shops and restaurants, and a few minutes by car or a short walk to some of the best beaches on the island. The apartment is very comfortable, the gardens are attractive and the pool proved wonderful after a glorious day on the beach. Jenny who looks after the guests really could not do more to make our holiday enjoyable. The Sugar Ridge Resort next door it is perfect for sipping your cocktails whilst watching the sun go down over Jolly Harbour. A lovely holiday enjoyed by all the family we would definitely recommend Hamilton House, and we are sure to return in the not too distant future!

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Well equipped, spacious apartment in best location

  • 4 of 5

This was our 7th visit to Antigua, but the first time at the end of season. The villas we usually book were too expensive, but the cost here was very reasonable. The booking experience was extremely straightforward and our host, Jenny, was very helpful.

Hamilton House Apartment 4 is on the ground floor of a large property with 3 others. The garden is well maintained, with a full-size outdoor pool with a sundeck, canopy and loungers. The accommodation is spacious, fully equipped and relatively clean. There are air conditioning units in each room, fast internet, cable TV, as well as a large cooker, dishwasher and washing machine. These apartments are 10 years old, but most of the fixtures fittings and appliances are near their end of life, with signs of age, wear-and-tear and corrosion. Some parts would benefit from a deep clean, but the overall standard was perfectly acceptable and clean bedding and towels are provided. There is no backup generator, but we only had one short power cut during two weeks. There is also an outdoor veranda and barbecue area exclusive to the apartment.

It is very close to the Jolly Harbour, with a small, well stocked Epicurean supermarket. However we still did our main shopping at the Epicurean near St Johns, as it is much bigger. There are several very lovely beaches nearby, such Valley Church beach, and Coco beach with its excellent snorkelling. There are many more fantastic beaches just slightly further afield, such as Darkwood, Deep Bay and Hawskbill. There are plenty of restaurants, although we did not try any of them because one of my family suffers from serious food allergies.

During our stay, we also hired a 19ft self drive motorboat from Paradise Boats for a day and we had a fantastic time visiting Five islands, Cades reef, Hermitage beach and Rendevous Bay. We were saw a shark, turtle and sting ray during this trip, as well as plenty of beautiful fish! It is best to have some previous motor boat experience though, as it was choppy in some places the day we went, plus the reef is extremely shallow.

At this time of year, the weather was a wetter and cloudier than earlier in the year. However it was still lovely with plenty of warm sunshine on many days. The sea water was particularly warm, the hottest we remember it!

If you are looking for good value, well equipped, spacious self-catering accommodation set in one of the best locations on the island, then Hamilton House Apartments are an ideal choice.

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A great location and ideal setup

  • 5 of 5

We booked this appt as a base for a week in the sun watching the cricket. Having looked at many of the properties in the Jolly Harbour we liked the look of Hamilton House. The location is a short walk from the harbour location, but there are a few restaurants and bars across the road and on the way to the main resort. Booking the villa was painless and also included collection and drop off for the airport. We continued to use the transport service (the local taxi driver) for our trips to the cricket and this was made so easy by the owners leaving a local payg mobile so we easy access to the mamangement company and the taxi driver. Overall a great find for us and we'll look to return for the cricket in two years time

  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Excellent and as described.

  • 4 of 5

Most enjoyable. Probably our best holiday ever. Close to beaches, supermarket and restaurants. Having a car proved to be an excellent decision as if one beach was crowded we drove to another. All in all a wonderful holiday with outstanding customer service.

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
V C Bird International
Car: not necessary

Hamilton Estate is situated on the Caribbean west coast of Antigua, a fifteen minutes drive to the capital St John's and twenty-minutes from the airport. The delighful setting is nestled under wooded hillsides and is just a 7 minutes walk away from Jolly Beach. The entrance to Jolly Harbour Marina and resort is also just a 10 minutes walk from Hamilton Estate. This extensive complex offers the largest and finest marina in the Caribbean and superb recreation facilities. A fine 18-hole golf course and a sports centre with swimming pool, tennis courts, and a squash court cater for the actively minded, whilst the commercial centre has a wide range of shops, restaurants, bars and a supermarket to sustain the needs for everyday living. For all its many amenities, Jolly Harbour remains a sophisticated and tranquil setting to while away the holiday hours.

Photos

You might like these similar properties