Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

check navigate-up

Lyn Taecker

Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french, spanish

Lake Buchanan/Waterfront - Bald Eagle Cottage

19 Reviews
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee

Learn more

Overview

Lake Buchanan Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms + Loft, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6)

Imagine yourself watching the sunrise over the Colorado River flowing into Lake Buchanan while sipping coffee in a cool breeze on the multi-level deck, shaded by mature live oaks. Bald Eagle Cottage is the perfect spot to relax and commune with nature....or spend a romantic getaway, family reunion, guys/gals fun weekend. Sunsets are just as fantastic, illuminating the expanse of riverbed and hilly, forested park and ranch land. Treat your family to this serene and scenic location in Texas Lake Country.

Tow Village is literally at the end of the road, lying just south of vast ranch land and state parks. Great memories are made in unspoiled places such as this. Wildlife abounds, to be seen on short or long hikes, by kayak, canoe, fishing boat, or from the pier or deck. Bring your binoculars!

Located less than 2 hours from Austin, about 2.5 hours from San Antonio, and 4 hours from Dallas, Bald Eagle Cottage is nicely decorated, fully equipped and comfortable for 4-6 people. With two bedrooms and a loft, it's great for 4 adults or 2 adults with 2-4 children. Other features now that lake levels are high: boat ramp, fishing pier, dock and over 100 feet of waterfront. The dock is now afloat (March 2016) and ready to tie up a boat!

The LCRA provides current information regarding lake conditions, levels, ramps and weather; the Lake Buchanan-Inks Lake Chamber of Commerce covers regional attractions and activities.

We do not have wifi although cellular coverage is good. The Lakeshore Library on TX-261 offers 24/7 wifi. TV reception is limited, often to just one channel. Bring your DVDs or explore our small, mostly VHS collection. Late model TV and DVD/VHS player.

$100 reservation/damage deposit. Summer rate - $120/night; Winter - $100/night. $15 surcharge/night on holiday weekends. 10% lodging tax. $60 cleaning fee. Pet friendly! (1-2 dogs allowed at $5/night/each)

HomeAway Payments or PayPal email invoicing options. Please allow 2 days in order to process.

***2016 SPECIAL: 8 nights for the price of 1 week.***

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Lyn Taecker (Owner)
Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french, spanish

About Lyn Taecker

Lyn and Kevin have been occasional Texans for decades, thanks to relatives who live in the area.

Lyn Taecker purchased this cottage in 2005

Why Lyn Taecker chose Lake Buchanan

We always enjoy the beauty of the lake area. It is fun to explore the wider Hill Country, and to watch the varied wildlife. There's a lot to be said for this pace of life!

What makes this cottage unique

We love this quiet place, relaxing on the shady deck, stargazing away from city lights, hiking, and most especially, observing many species of wildlife. The Texas Hill Country has many attractions and activities to explore if you want to get up and go.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a wonderful and relaxing time at the cottage last weekend. I was really impressed by how nice and organized everything was! We hope to stay there again sometime soon with our friends. I think they would love it too!
Apr 2008
  • 1 of 9

Reviews

4.7
based on 19 traveler reviews

Lake Buchanan/Waterfront - Bald Eagle Cottage
average rating of 4.736842 based on 28 reviews
5

We had a wonderful time!

  • 5 of 5

Sometime it is good just to get away for a couple of days. Even though my daughter and her family live in Marble Falls just getting away to spend some good family time is well worth the time and cost.

We found the place very clean and well furnished and just had a great time with my daughters family (especially the grandkids).

As it turned out it rained 5" in Marble Falls on the days we were at the cottage but we only got about 1/2" rain at the lake and we were able to go for walks and get some fishing in.

Thank you

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Good to hear that you enjoyed the cottage and your stay - we aim to please! Do come back again, you are always welcome.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Property was nice

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time on this property. The facilities were clean and well maintained however 2 things that keeps me from giving this property 5 stars.

1) The boat house and pier did not have electricity. Disappointed cause I had to drive to Burnett to buy extension cords so I can night fish from the pier.

2) The water pressure in the house was very low. If you're washing your hands the water pressure in the shower drops to a trickle.

  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review, I am glad you enjoyed the cottage. We always appreciate helpful comments as they help us do a better job. I put an extension cord in a more obvious location and also provide helpful LED camp lanterns for night fishing. We hope to get lights working on pier. Water pressure seems OK to me, but we checked shower head, etc. which does have a lighter/heavier setting. Again, we appreciate your feedback; please come visit in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Relaxing weekend!!

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time at your cottage. It was so peaceful and quiet. We enjoyed our dinners on the deck and our kids had fun running around the property.

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Great Little Place

  • 4 of 5

Very peaceful and quit little cottage off Lake Buchanan. We were wonderfully surprised on day 2 of our stay to return from an outing and see water from Lake Buchanan come up to property line. Apparently that had not happened in a very long time. It was very hot during our stay, and the A/C's had problems putting out, as this was our only issue. Lovely owners had it replaced, and even credited us one night for our troubles. Great neighbors next door - lent our kids some left over fireworks from the 4th. I would definitely go back and rent again!!

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind observations, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We have installed two new AC units and are grateful for your extra help and patience. Come again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Peaceful, Quiet, & Restful !!

  • 5 of 5

Thank you, Kev & Lyn, for sharing your wonderful cottage with our family for the weekend. Very cozy & homey !! Great beds & amenities. It brought back lots of memories of family reunions at my uncles cabin just a short distance down the lake. Our granddaughters (15 mo & 4 yrs)loved the dock & decks & all the beautiful flowers!! Very green & lush with lots of bluebonnets and we will pray for rain to fill the lakes again. We look forward to another trip when we can stay longer.

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you and your family enjoyed our cottage - wildflower season is a great time to visit!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Marlin, Texas
5

Wonderful Family Getaway!!

  • 5 of 5

What a wonderful and peaceful place to stay!! We enjoyed this place SO much, everything about this place made us feel right at home. Had two teenage boys who couldn't get enough of exploring the lake and property. Only wish the lake wasn't so low! The neighbors were so nice and enjoyed meeting them! Already planning our next trip praying for rain so the lake will be up. Owners were so helpful and were available whenever we called or emailed.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: How nice to hear that your getaway at Bald Eagle Cottage was enjoyable! We look forward to your next visit.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Lake Buchanan Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
July 4th
Jul 1 2016 - Jul 4 2016
3 night minimum stay
$135
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Labor Day
Sep 2 2016 - Sep 5 2016
3 night minimum stay
$135
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Columbus Day
Oct 7 2016 - Oct 10 2016
2 night minimum stay
$135
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 23 2016 - Nov 27 2016
3 night minimum stay
$135
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$120
$700
$1,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $20 + Tax
Cleaning $60 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $100
Tax Rate 10.0%

Pet application is required. More than 4 adults = $10/night/pp additional. $15/night surcharge during holiday periods.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Lake Buchanan Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Rural ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Fairly roomy with lighthouse motif
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Queen size Bed (1), Twin or Single Beds (4), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Futon in loft.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • swimming

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

Contact the Owner

Tell us about your trip, then book it

This property requires that you message the owner to complete your booking request.
Enter dates to calculate a quote