check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Kim Gagnon

Member since: 1999
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french, spanish

Uptown Manse with Pool, a Southern Beauty

31 Reviews
Sleeps22
Bedrooms 7
Bathrooms7
Half Baths1
Property type estate
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Touro Estate Rental Photos and Description

Estate, 7 Bedrooms, 7.5 Baths, (Sleeps 22)

This finely appointed turn of the century home offers the family or corporate gathering a private space with superb amenities. Located in the heart of the uptown district, in a quiet neighborhood, close to the streetcar and French Quarter, you will find yourself immersed in the tropical ambiance of New Orleans. Renovated to perfection and offering all of the amenities of home for your comfort and relaxation while experiencing the Big Easy.

This beautiful home is offered as a vacation rental with the finest amentities. Sleeping for up to 22 people in the following configuration. First floor - 2 room suite with private bath, one queen bed, one single and one full bed with private entrance to verandah. Second floor: Jaune: Queen bedding, private bath, floor to ceiling plantation shutters that open to a balcony with seating area that is shared with the Burgundy room. Burgundy room has king sized plantation bed, private bath, sharing the balcony with Jaune and overlooks the pool. Jardin has 1 queen bed, private bath, Soleil, one queen and one single, private bath, and Chien Bleu, queen 4 poster antique pine bed and private bath, plus one single day bed.

Third floor suite offers a quiet room with vaulted ceilings, skylights, 2 adjoining rooms with queen bed, single bed, full bed and private bath.

Relax either poolside or on the front verandahs or simply savor the magnolia on the back deck. This property offers the finest in New Orleans living, completely updated and finely appointed with your comfort in mind. Perfect for a family gathering or a corporate retreat.

Keywords: Historic Home, family friendly, for mature guests wanting a quiet place to relax and gather.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Kim Gagnon (Owner)
Member since: 1999
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french, spanish

About Kim Gagnon

We are avid preservationists; renovating and rehabbing New Orleans properties for 20 years. We are always looking for those homes that have fallen into disrepair, but have good bones to work with. Our joy is finding that our work has breathed new life into these homes, our neighborhood and our community.

Kim Gagnon purchased this estate in 1993

Why Kim Gagnon chose Central City/Garden District

This property had originally been a single family home that had been converted to a 7 unit rooming house in the 40's. A fire had put the finishing touches to it. We knew within minutes of seeing it that it could be an incredible property if restored to it's original detail. Just one in thousands of homes with beautiful architectural detail rescued in our very unique city.

What makes this estate unique

This property offers guests the opportunity to live like a native in a neighborhood that offers a slice of the true ambiance of New Orleans. With Pascal's Manale at the corner, the aroma of BBQ shrimp and the thought of a chilled oyster adds to the unforgettable Big Easy experience.

Offering guests a place to gather family and friends.

Reviews

4.9
based on 31 traveler reviews

Uptown Manse with Pool, a Southern Beauty
average rating of 4.903226 based on 31 reviews
5

Awesome House!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Kim's house the last weekend of June, with about sixteen people, a mixture of adults and children. It was so incredibly wonderful! The house is large and beautiful. The rooms are spacious and all of them have a bathroom, which allowed families to have their own personal space. There were plenty of towels, pillows, and blankets. Kim has done an excellent job stocking the house for guests. The laundry room in the basement made it easy to keep up with wash and freshen up pool towels. It has two washers and two dryers. The pictures do not do this house justice. The location of this house is about 8 minutes from downtown and really close to Magazine St. There is a Whole Foods just down the street. We were very happy and didn't even utilize all the space this house has to offer. The kitchen is stocked with pans, dishes, seasonings, and it was easy to make all of our meals there. The pool was well maintained and offered a great relief to the Louisiana heat. The only thing about the pool is that it goes from about 3ft. to 6ft. deep relatively fast, so it isn't conducive to little ones who can't swim, but they do have a lot floating toys and pool accessories. There were a lot of rules to follow, so you may want to have Kim send them before you book to see if you are okay with them. I do wish we could have lowered the AC below 71 as that big house was hard to cool down. Overall, this house was a hit! We definitely would book here again.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beau Sejour was the perfect place for our family reunion!

  • 5 of 5

My family booked Beau Sejour so far in advance that by the time we arrived I felt that we were coming home. Kim was a pleasure to work with, answered all of our questions and bent over backwards to accommodate us. The 7 bedroom house was perfect for us - 20 in all. Kitchen supplies were ample even though we did very little actual cooking. Had the weather been just a bit warmer the swimming pool would have been a huge plus. The house itself is a typical New Orleans mansion with some beautiful antiques - everything was clean and comfortable. The location is perfect and convenient to all that New Orleans has to offer. Thank you Kim!

  • Submitted: May 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

More than expected!

  • 4 of 5

Well.. this trip consisted of 20 Adults and we had enough room to be comfortable. The rooms were spacious and the accommodations were spot on. We enjoyed our stay and if we ever plan another group trip to New Orleans I will be contacting Kim! The location was perfect for tourism and easy access to the restaurants and stores. There is even a park and a basketball court up the block. It rained the entire weekend so the pool wasn't able to be used. Maybe we'll pay New Orleans a visit during the summer months and the pool will be fully functional! Thanks for everything.

  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Completely satisfied!

  • 5 of 5

We rented Beau Sejour for a family birthday celebration in March 2016 and were delighted with everything about the home. Kim was wonderful to deal with right from the time of our initial contact. There were 17 of us that stayed in the home and everyone was happy with the choice. There was plenty of individual space as well as many areas for groups to gather to visit including the pool, the verandah and the kitchen area. A great time was had by all. The home was clean, close to the streetcar, was close to wonderful restaurants, is in nice neighbourhood, had ample space and we completely enjoyed it! We had no concerns about the appliances but couldn't speak to whether the televisions worked or not because there was so much to enjoy in New Orleans that none of us even tried out the TVs. I would definitely recommend this home for a large group and would be quite happy to rent from Kim again in the future. Absolutely loved this home!!!

  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Good house for a large group

  • 3 of 5

We enjoyed the large home in the Garden District. It was clean and furnished appropriately for a large group. However, WiFi was spotty, televisions were old, and the dishwasher did not clean well.

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Baton Rouge, LA USA
5

Thanksgiving family reunion and retirement party

  • 5 of 5

This was the perfect place to celebrate my retirement and enjoy a week with my kids and granddaughters. There were 13 of us (4 families) spread out over all 3 floors. There is also a basement. The listing says 7 bedrooms, but it really comes to 9 bedrooms.

The location uptown is perfect and the home was beautiful inside and out for a photo shoot we did with a professional NOLA photographer. New Orleans has drainage projects all over the city and one is going on out front, but it really didn't disturb us. My daughter and son-in-law strolled their baby daughter all the way to the French Quarter and took the streetcar back. We also all drove to the zoo for the day and took the streetcar to the park. Pascal Manales is a block away and has been there forever - famous for barbecued shrimp and happy hour oyster bar.

Would love to go back in warmer weather to take advantage of the pool and do some barbequing. The owner, Kim, is a delight and very accommodating and easy to work with.

  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
MSY - New Orleans International
Nearest Barpub
0.01 Miles
Pascal's Manale
Nearest Ferry
3 Miles
Mississippi Ferry
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Audubon Public
Nearest Train
4 Miles
Amtrack NO
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
I-10
Nearest Restaurant
0.01 Miles
Pascal's Manale
Nearest Beach
45 Miles
Long Beach, MS
Car: not necessary

Live like the local; enjoying fine dining, great music and entertainment. Located uptown, above the famed Garden District, this area provides the local flavor. Street fairs on Freret, oysters and BBQ shrimp at Manales, soaking in the ambiance that only New Orleans can provide.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Touro Estate Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Mardi Gras 2017
Feb 24 2017 - Feb 28 2017
5 night minimum stay
$11,000
Flat fee
 
 
Jazz Fest 2017 Wk1
Apr 27 2017 - Apr 30 2017
4 night minimum stay
$2,200
 
 
Jazz Fest 2017 Wk2
May 3 2017 - May 7 2017
5 night minimum stay
$2,200
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$1,550
$7,700
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $200

Special event rates and minimum stays apply during New Year's, Sugar Bowl, Mardi Gras, Jazz Festival, Essence Fest,
Labor Day, Thanksgiving, Christmas week and certain other major conventions.

Please contact Kim Gagnon at 504-250-3746 for dates, rates and minimum stays.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Touro Estate Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • estate
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 6000 sq. ft.
  • 3 stories
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 7 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 -
    Bathroom 6 -
    Bathroom 7 -
  • 7.5
Bedrooms:
  • 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 22
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Quiet, overlooks the pool, private bath
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , Soleil has separate sleeping areas, private bath
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , Chien Bleu, beds in same room, private bath
    Bedroom 6 - 1 queen , 1 double , 1 twin/ single , Ste on first floor, 2 rooms separated by pocket doors, PB
    Bedroom 7 - 1 queen , 1 double , 1 twin/ single , Third floor suite, private bath
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Jaune,floor to ceiling windows, opens to a balcony. PB
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , Burgandy, four poster bed, opens to balcony, PB
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (7), Double Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (4), Baby Cribs (1) pack n play... available upon request
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
This property offers unique architecture and living spaces although this turn of the century gem has been renovated to perfection with all of the modern amenities including central AC and heat, recessed lighting, an updated kitchen.

Partner Offers