check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Juliet Jarvis

Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french, italian

Central Nice, quiet, stunning 5 bed, 6 bath 'loft' house, parking, 100m to beach

13 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms6
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview

Gambetta House Rental Photos and Description

5 Bedrooms all with en suite facilities, plus Jacuzzi area and shower. Sleeps 10

This luxury conversion was completed in May 2007. Located in a private courtyard off Rue De France, this three-floor conversion of a former industrial building (the lower level bedrooms are built into the wine bottling chambers!) is extremely quiet, with nobody above or below, and has the enormous benefit of private parking – a rarity in central Nice! The loft-style house has an enormous vaulted, open plan living area including designer Italian kitchen and huge glass windows to the courtyard, and to indoor Jacuzzi area with glass roof. State of the art air con and humidity control is installed throughout, with mood lighting. All bedrooms are en suite with either shower and/or bath. Two bedrooms are located on the glass-walled first floor mezzanine and three in the sous sol/basement. Located just one block back from the Promenade des Anglais and with every amenity on the doorstep, the sea is just 100 metres away, Nice Old Town an easy 20 minute walk, and the airport 15 mins by car.

Jacuzzi : We do everything possible to ensure that the Jacuzzi is available to our renters. However, please note that the Jacuzzi is NOT offered as a guaranteed feature of the house. Like any hotel or leisure facility, at certain times due to maintenance requirements and availability of spare parts (unfortunately generally when Jacuzzi is out of action, generally due to renter abuse) the Jacuzzi will not be operational. Children under the age of 16 are not permitted to use the Jacuzzi. We stipulate no food, glasses can be taken into the Jacuzzi, and users should shower first, to remove pebbles and sand etc.

Sleeping arrangments : All renters should be aware that there are five bedroms in the house. Two on the Mezzanine above the salon, and three in the sous sol/basement. The two mezzanine rooms look down onto the salon and have a partial glass wall, although it is impossible to see up from the salon into the rooms. There is a blind in the twin room on the mezzanine providing privacy from the other mezzanine room.

The three rooms in the sous sol do not have windows to the outside, although two have a privacy glass panel cut into the floor of the salon above: very contemporary! All have air con and humidity control allowing airflow from outside ensuring ventilation.

All ensuite bathrooms are integral to the bedroom areas. There is a separate additional (no. 6) WC on the ground floor.

There is a small terrace area at the front which the salon glass doors and front door opens directly on to.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Juliet Jarvis (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french, italian

Why Juliet Jarvis chose Nice

There is no better city for a weekend away, or longer, with numerous flights from all over Europe daily; azure blue seas on the doorstep, mountains and skiing an hour 30 minutes away and of course, French cuisine in the charming old (and new) areas of Nice. This house was converted over 12 months from an old industrial building, that had formerly been a printing press and a wine bottling plant: the domed shape of the wine cellars can still be seen in the bedrooms below. It has a truly enviable location on the doorstep of everything in Nice (including a fantastic boulangerie at the courtyard gates), yet is located in an incredibly peaceful courtyard, with parking. For a stay up to a week, there really is no need for a car. Explore the old town and Cours Saleya flower market. Take the train to Villefranche harbour - magical - or even rent a boat there. Head for museums and art galleries, or the pebbly beach and its concessionaires for a lazy sunbed. Nowhere else does rose wine taste as good as lunch on the beach in some excellent restaurants,, overlooking the blue of the Baie des Anges, with only a 100 metre stagger home....

Reviews

4.8
based on 13 traveler reviews

Central Nice, quiet, stunning 5 bed, 6 bath 'loft' house, parking, 100m to beach
average rating of 4.769231 based on 13 reviews
Darlington
5

Fab villa

  • 5 of 5

We were a large family group differing ages and this villa had everything we needed. Property description is correct we were aware about lack of privacy in bedrooms upstairs and although strange and could be seen as being very indiscreet there were ways to rectify!! Air con to main bedroom not working however Joanna did everything she could to resolve this cannot recommend highly enough !! Jacuzzi was fab and would visit again. Thanks to Juliet for allowing us to share her beautiful home

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Beautiful property, convenient location!

  • 5 of 5

The house was clean, beautifully decorated, and perfectly situated within Central Nice. We were so lucky to be come by this listing and it more than satisfied every need of our family during our trip to Cote D'Azur for our wedding.

The bedrooms are spacious and it had every amenity a family could need to live abroad for nearly two weeks. Our parents went out every morning for a relaxing stroll on the Promenade and conveniently located near supermarkets, patisseries, cafes, and restaurants. It was walkable distance to tourist sites including Old Nice and Cours Saleya. We had a wonderful time.

We would like to especially thank the owner, Juliet, and the guardian, Joanna, as well for accommodating our extraordinary needs. Our trip was extended due extraneous circumstances and both Juliet and Joanna very kindly and professionally worked with us to find a solution for our living situation. THANK YOU SO MUCH!

  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Amazing!!!

  • 5 of 5

The location and the apartment were amazing. 5 min walk from the centre and beach, very easy to find. The apartment was extremely high spec, 5 double bedrooms with en suite, perfect for a large family/group. Supermarket was over the road and a bakery on the corner serving delicious croissants. I'd definitely recommend this apartment.

  • Submitted: May 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Excellent

  • 5 of 5

Location: Very close to see. At center of nice.

House: Seems an ordinary house from outside but inside is a completely different world. Excellent interior design. Good decorated. Beautiful kitchen. Very easy to rent. (paper works, deposits and rest...)

Cons: just 2 thing

1)Seem to have a problem with water pressure system. Max. two people can take a shower each time. Others should wait.

2)A more powerful Cd player will be nice.

After all if I will go to Nice again, I will definitely rent the same house.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Awesome place!

  • 5 of 5

Super close to beach, the bakeries, butchers, grocers, and the tourist spots.

Beds were comfortable, all necessary items for great cooking, and house was beautiful, and being in a secluded courtyard made it that much more private for a city home.

Only thing I would recommend? Some drapes for the upstairs rooms, because it was tough to sleep if someone came into house after lights were out or you wanted to nap..

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Wiltshire
4

GOOD LOCATION FOR A WEEKEND GETAWAY

  • 4 of 5

The house was very clean and had plenty of space for all of us. good location, especially for the cake shops. My main concern was that the bedroom was below ground with no windows, a slight problem for someone with claustrophobia. There were 2 bedrooms upstairs with more natural light and space but you could see into each others rooms if both had been used.

The room we had downstairs had a broken shower button so we were unable to use it and had to go upstairs to the jacuzzi shower instead. I feel the shower would have made the bedroom very hot and wet anyway. Shame for everyone that the jacuzzi didn't work. Thanks to Joanna for the safe return of my jewellery. D&E.

I thought the house was good, it offered everything it said on the website, enough space and equipment for all of us. Plenty of hot water too however they should say there is no natural light or air in the downstairs bedrooms and the bathrooms have no doors (not great for us conservative brits! ) P & C

I thought the house was great for a weekend, very central, clean and comfortable minimalist (could do with some toilet doors) Shame about the jacuzzi too J & G

The house is in an excellent location, central yet very quiet, be aware there is no outside space so we sat on the front doorstep to get some fresh air. Yes, we are not townies !

We were able to walk to the beach, shops, bars, restaurants and the train station to go to Cannes and Monte Carlo so no need for a car. Massive disappointment that the jacuzzi was not working as this was a major factor in choosing this property. S & L

This property provided a central base for our stay but the accommodation did not really suit our needs, should have read the property description more carefully.

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Kilometres
Nice Cote d'Azur International Airport, 15 minutes
Nearest Ferry
5 Kilometres
Nice Port
Nearest Train
4 Kilometres
Nice Gare SNCF and local
Nearest Motorway
6 Kilometres
A8
Nearest Beach
100 Metres
One minute walk!
Car: not necessary

This very modern property is located in central Nice in a very quiet courtyard just behind the Promenade des Anglais, opposite the Sheraton hotel and five minutes from the world-famous Negresco Hotel. The beach is just 100 metres away and virtually the whole of Nice town is within walking distance. The Old Town and Cours Saleya (flower market) is around 15/20 minutes walk along the Promenade. With the benefit of private parking at the property, this also puts towns such as Monaco and Cannes, and villages such as Eze and Vence within an easy drive. Even ski resorts such as Isola 2000 are just over an hour away during winter months. The airport is only 15 minutes by taxi, and the location of the property on fantastically easy-to-use bus routes also makes moving around extremely simple. Every amenity is on the doorstep, from artisan boulangeries; Nice's seven-day-a-week indoor farmers' market; supermarches; and a range of excellent restaurants, even without heading to the Old Town.

Other Activities: shopping, dining, flower market, old town, Promenade des Anglais.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Gambetta House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer 2016
May 1 2016 - Oct 9 2016
4 night minimum stay
$3,379
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$2,599
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $0

Rental rates on request. minimum four night stay
Special periods - School half term, Christmas, New Year, Easter, bank holidays, Monaco Grand Prix etc, on request

Payment in GB pounds or Euros welcome.

Landlord reserves right to request security deposit of £500 paid as cash on arrival, returned at end of rental.

50% deposit required with booking, full payment required eight weeks in advance o

50% deposit payable on booking, balance eight weeks before arrival. Payment by BACS sterling or euro, or sterling cheque.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.

Amenities

Gambetta House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house (semi-detached)
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 235 m²
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Downtown
  • Near The Ocean
  • Town
Theme:
  • Luxury
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Parking
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 6 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 6 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master room
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single , Double or twin beds
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Basement
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , Basement
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , Basement
  • Two bedrooms on first floor mezzanine, glass panels to salon area below. Three in sous sol (basement). All include en suite bathroom areas with bath and/or shower. Bedroom 2 (mezzanine, next to master bedroom) can be made up with two single beds or double bed.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
Outside:
  • Balcony
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Indoor Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • gambling casinos
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • roller blading
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
The balcony is shown in the photograph of the front of the house, and forms part of the entrance to the house, overlooking the courtyard. The door of the loft's windows opens onto this area.

Partner Offers