check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Sandra and Colin Bingham-Wallis

Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french

4 ****apartments, with pool, in the heart of rural provence- Aups - L'Amandier

19 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Aups Apartment Rental Photos and Description

3 well- equipped apartments 1x 2 bedroom, 2x 1 bedroom in private gardens

Boutique Apartments with pool in Provence- Le Diamant Noir offers 4 star accommodation in three, tastefully-furnished garden apartments, surrounded by lovely gardens and easy access to the swimming pool, where sun loungers are provided to enjoy the wonderful climate of Provence.

2016 will be our 10th year at Le Diamant Noir, so we have learned a lot about our guests' requirements and preferences.

We have a two- bedroomed apartment , perfect for two couples or a family of four and two one- bedroomed apartments, ideal for couples.

Each apartment has been individually styled with great attention to detail , providing the necessary equipment, not only to reach four star standard, but to make your holiday experience as easy and comfortable as possible.

Each apartment has well-furnished bedrooms, shower room, comfortable living area with full kitchen corner, including dishwasher, private terrace and small garden, provided with garden furniture.

Two of the three apartments are situated next door to each other, screened by a well established laurel and elaeagnus hedge. If you have a larger party, you can easily holiday with your friends next door by booking L' Amandier for 4 and Le Genévrier for 2

High quality linen and towels are included in the price- swimming towels are also provided.

We are situated 1km from the market town of Aups- an easy and pleasant walk. This makes a drink and meal in a typically provencal restaurant, an easy walk away, with no need to take the car.

A typical Provencal town, Aups offers all the necessary amenities with shops, restaurants, cafés, a wealth of history and its twice weekly market, brimming over with the local produce of the surrounding area.

Ample, secure, off- road parking is at your disposal, within our gated grounds.

This also makes a safe environment for families. With swimming pool. table tennis and a boulodrome there are on-site facilities for family fun.

Aups is the Southern gateway to the Gorges Du Verdon - known for its picturesque scenery and many sporting activities. Located in the Verdon National Park, close to the Gorges du Verdon and the Lac Sainte Croix there are numerous outdoor pursuits for those who are actively minded. White water sports to include rafting canyoning and kayaking are available along with sailing and fishing. Climbing, hiking, horse riding and mountain biking are available in the area.

The lavender plateau of Velensole is only a short drive away and for those who want to venture further, both the Alpes of Haute Provence and the resorts of the Côte d'Azur, such as St Tropez, Antibes, Cannes and Nice are easily accessible by car.

The Haut Var area is steeped in history and there are many medieval villages to visit, all telling their own stories. Several of these perched, hilltop villages can be found around us - Aiguines, Tourtour, Moustières, Saint Marie, Moissac Bellevue, Cotignac, Villecroze to name but a few.

There are provençal markets in the region every day. Aups itself has a twice weekly market overflowing with colourful produce. during the winter moths theres is an active truffle market every Thursday

We are surrounded by domains and chateaux all producing their own very drinkable wines. Most of these establishments offer wine tasting. You are not compelled to buy wine in bulk. You can buy a single bottle. Some of the vineyards also have shop selling other local specialities.

Aups is a very attractive, genuine provençal town and provides all the amenities that you require - banks, post office, pharmacy, medical service, numerous food shops, cafés, bars, several good restaurants, gift shops, tourist office, tennis courts etc. All of these are within easy walking distance. The well-stocked supermarket is conveniently situated just across the road.

As an alternative to self-catering we offer home-made, pre-prepared meals, from finest local ingredients, frozen to be reheated at your convenience at any time during your stay, or a meal of your choice to have ready with accompaniments, on your arrival to make that first evening totally hassle free.

More Details

Details for L'Amandier 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4, 1 Bathroom

This attractively decorated, light and airy one floor garden gite has two comfortable bedrooms, with generous wardrobes. One bedroom has a double bed and the other twin beds, bedside tables and lamps. Each has a dressing table with mirror and hairdrier. A large, tiled shower room also houses a washing machine. The fully equipped kitchen with microwave, cooker, hob, oven, dishwasher, fridge-freezer and various utensils, leads on to a dining area and sitting area with TV and DVD player. There is also a CD player. French doors open on to a covered terrace, providing an outdoor living space for al fresco dining. A gas barbecue and tools are provided for outdoor cooking. Garden furniture is provided.

This apartment accommodates 4 people maximum

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Sandra and Colin Bingham-Wallis (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french

About Sandra and Colin Bingham-Wallis

Having moved to France, for a change of life-style, over fourteen years ago, we spent some time on the coast. Being country lovers, we were delighted when the opportunity arose to move inland We chose our property at Aups, just inside the Parc regional du Verdon, and started to welcome guests from all over the world.

We are going into our 10th season here.

Sandra and Colin Bingham-Wallis purchased this apartment in 2006

Why Sandra and Colin Bingham-Wallis chose Haut-Var - Verdon

We chose this property as it lent itself to a holiday letting business. The property allows us to live on site, with each apartment having its own privacy. Because this is our home, we are able to offer a personal touch, and also we are able to keep our eye on any maintenance that is required.

What makes this apartment unique

Each apartment is individually designed and equipped and furnished to a high standard

The property stands in 2500m2 of pretty well-kept gardens

We are only 1km from the centre of Aups, one of the Var's "villages de caractère"

As we live onsite, we are available to deal with any problems that may arise, and having lived in the area for several years, we can offer advice on local landmarks, if required.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a very relaxing time here . Very well equipped accommodation Great location for exploring this part of France The supermarket across the road was a bonus, once inside the grounds of the house you would not know it was there. Colin and Sandra were the perfect owners ie around when needed and very willing to give advice and sort things out, but not intrusive We would highly recommend this accomodation - See more at: http://www.provence-holidayrental.com/visitors-book/#sthash.hOtPd6qp.dpuf
Jun 2015
  • 1 of 5

Reviews

4.9
based on 19 traveler reviews

L'Amandier
average rating of 4.894737 based on 24 reviews
5

Excellent

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic time at Le Diamant Noir. The accommodation was perfect for us with two adequately sized and well appointed bedrooms, a nice bathroom and a good sized and well-equipped kitchen/living area. The gite had everything we needed - including towels and linen - and there were some nice touches which made our stay more comfortable. Whilst there was no air conditioning, we managed perfectly well without it as the windows opened and there were mosquito screens. There was a private garden area for outside eating and relaxing and a decent sized pool shared with the other two 2-person gites and the owners. Our family often had sole use of the pool.

The owners were superb hosts. They were very friendly and were available if we needed any help, but did not intrude in any way.

We loved the area. Aups is a pleasant small town, and is within 15 minutes walk. It has several decent restaurants. There is a Supermarket opposite the entrance to the gites, and we found it extremely useful to have this facility so close to us. It didn't disturb us. There are several other pleasant towns nearby as well as a number of tourist attractions such as museums, galleries and vineyards. The Verdon Gorges are within an hour's drive and there is some other superb scenery and natural features within reach.

It was certainly the best accommodation we have had in France, and one of our favourite holidays.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Ideal summer holiday for couple or young family

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic stay at Le Diamont Noir in Aups in July 2015. The property was lovely, well furnished with great facilities which made it easy to look after our 20 month old daughter. The pool was a good size with sun loungers and parasols. The property was clean and we were provided with fresh linen after a week. A big plus for us was the fact that beach towels were provided and there was a machining machine available. Sandra and Colin were helpful and friendly and gave us plenty of space but made it clear they were available if needed. Location was an easy walk into the quaint town of Aups which had a great choice of restaurants, bars and shops. The supermarket across the road was very handy and also carried some nice local wines.

Thanks for a lovely holiday!

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Lovely stay with great surroundings!

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay very much, the apartment was clean, very well equipped and settled in a beautiful garden. We loved the pool. The location was perfect, it was close to the city centre, grocery store, the nice surrounding villages and the La Croix gorge and lake. We felt well taken care of by the lovely landlady and landlord, Sandra and Colin, and recommend the Diamant Noir strongly for a great vacation!

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We welcome guests from all over the world. We are glad that Sweden is being represented. We are all enjoying another beautiful summer here in Provence.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful apartment in perfect setting.

  • 5 of 5

La Truffiere apartment at Le Diamont Noir is brand new and beautifully appointed, with lovely individual touches. It's just big enough for two, with a lovely private terrace. Colin and Sandra are wonderful hosts and the position is perfect; ten minute walk into the lovely village of Aups with its market, restaurants and shops, or 100 yards across the road to the supermarket for fresh bread for breakfast. We have to return, as we are two matches all in table tennis and three matches all in boule! It will not be a hardship; we simply adored it.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay and the village. For those who have never been to Aups before- We are surrounded by hilltop villages,steeped in history, but Aups itself, has achieved the status of "village de caractère" So not only does it provide all amenities, you can stroll through history on our doorstep,following the tourist office's guided map which highlights and explains the points of interest, as you venture down the quaint old streets. Such a good place to have a coffee and watch the interesting local characters. La Truffière has been specially designed for 21st century living,and to provide a couple with a good base for exploring our region, and with a little touch of luxury for the times spent " at home". Pleased that you appreciated the finishin touches. We will look forward to welcoming you back.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Our stay in Provence

  • 4 of 5

We spent a lovely week staying at Le Diamant Noir. The gite couldn't have been better equipped and the whole environment of the pool and garden was beautiful and relaxing. It was the perfect base to explore the surrounding area.

Sandra and Colin couldn't have been more welcoming and had lots of great advice on where to visit and eat!

We hope to come back...

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Au(ps) Pays des Merveilles !

  • 5 of 5

Un gîte absolument superbe, conforme en tous points au descriptif proposé ! Mieux même, j'allais oublier la bouteille de vin qui n'est pas sur les photos et que les propriétaires avaient posé sur la table pour notre arrivée ! Colin & Sandra sont très sympathiques et accueillants, à la fois désireux de répondre aux sollicitations ou besoins tout en restant très discrets. A 10 minutes à pied du centre du village, vous vous épargnerez le bouchon le jour de marché ! Et le gîte est également à une distance très raisonnable en voiture des fabuleuses gorges du Verdon (environ 25 kms). Et quand vous vous serez bien promenés sous la chaleur, vous apprécierez le calme de la piscine et la quiétude et l'ombre du parc ! Si vous hésitez...et bien n'hésitez plus ! Et vive l'Entente Cordiale Franco Britannique !!!

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is a great pleasure to welcome our guests from all over the world- and of course from France. Le Diamant Noir is ideally situated for the Gorges du Verdon and about an hour from the coast. July and August are busy monthsin our area, and Aups is truly bustling, especially on market days. the popularity has led to some very good stalls with a huge variety of local produce and crafts. It is great bonus to be able to go into the village on foot, with no need to find a parking space. Likewise the accommodaation is an easy walk back from town, after a night in the bars and restaurants! For those who prefer for things to be a little quieter, September abd October are lovely months and autumn is the Verdon is beautiful
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
114 Kilometres
Nice ,Toulon/ St Tropez, Marseille
Nearest Barpub
1 Kilometres
Aups
Nearest Train
34 Kilometres
Les Arcs
Nearest Motorway
43 Kilometres
Le Muy A8
Nearest Restaurant
1 Kilometres
Aups
Nearest Ski
136 Kilometres
La Foux, Allos
Nearest Beach
59 Kilometres
Frejus
Car: recommended

Provence holiday accommodation- Var-Aups. Join us at Le Diamant Noir for a memorable stay in the Verdon National Park. Although you need go no further than our local and historic town of Aups for a taste of real Provence with its famous truffle market, we are in a region of extreme natural beauty with a wealth of flora and fauna for nature lovers. Situated at the foothills of the alps we are surrounded by spectacular scenery, from fortified medieval hill-top villages to the magnificent Gorges du Verdon, from the Lac Sainte Croix to the Lavender Plateau of Valensole. Surrounded by local producers there are gastronomic delights at every corner not forgetting many hectares of vineyards and wine-tasting opportunities. Both the Alpes of Haute Provence and the resorts of the Cote d’Azur are easily accessible by car.

Other Activities: kayaking, canyoning and rafting in the Gorges Du Verdon.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Aups Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Late Autumn
Sep 24 2016 - Dec 23 2016
3 night minimum stay
$208
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$214
 

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable damage deposit $450

A 30%deposit is payable on booking. Balance becomes payable 8 weeks before arrival.
A security deposit is payable of €400.
Payment via Paypal or online through homeaway
Linen, towels and end of stay clean are included in the rental rates. There will be an extra charge for electricity during the winter months.
Changeover days for weekly lets Saturday to Saturday.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Aups Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment (semi-detached)
Building Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 43 m²
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Town
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Terrace
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Outdoor Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • forests
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
For extensive information on the accommodation and the area do consult our blog site www.provence-holidayrental.com For those with reduced mobility, there are two small steps at the entrance of each apartment We try to ensure that all the products you are likely to need are already here. Dishwasher products are provided along with washing up liquid, other cleaning products, kitchen paper, toilet rolls and gas for the barbecue. We also provide store cupboard ingredients to include herbs and spices, olive oil, vinegar, flour and sugar. There is an optional contribution towards the store cupboard fund. What we are trying to achieve is no unnecessary expense on arrival. Catering As an alternative to self-catering we offer home-made, pre-prepared meals, from finest local ingredients, frozen to be reheated at your convenience at any time during your stay, or a meal of your choice to have ready with accompaniments, on your arrival to make that first evening "hassle-free"

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties