Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Historic Home with Modern Amenities in the Heart of Jim Thorpe

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Space 1,700 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

3 bedroom/1.5 Bath Home Filled with Antiques

Right in the heart of downtown historic Jim Thorpe this home, built in 1896 sleeps up to 6 people. The home has a fully equipped kitchen, dining room and living room on the first floor. The second floor includes a formal sitting room with large windows overlooking the town's main street along with a bedroom with a queen sized bed and a large bathroom with a claw foot tub. Take the stairs to the third floor where you will find two additional bedrooms with full sized beds.

The home comes equipped with a flat screen TV, cable and wifi, internet radio and streaming video. The bedrooms are all air conditioned.

Please note that this home has steep/narrow stairs to the second and third floors and a claw foot tub/shower. It is not recommended for those with small children or those who have difficulty climbing stairs.

More Details

Owner
Charlie Sproule
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
November 18, 2017

About Charlie Sproule

We have a romantic history with Jim Thorpe. Family of ours owned hotels and a bottling company during the late 19th and early 20th centuries. As sometimes happens, the accountant ran away with all the money, so we just get to look at our lost inheritance and think about what might have been. Jim Thorpe was the first place we vacationed together as a couple and was the site of our wedding ceremony on a gorgeous May day. It's a place where our family toiled in the mines and in the sewing factory and raised their kids. It’s where every street had a bar and a church and people you dated had to live within walking distance. Now, Jim Thorpe is about artists, adventure and the art of dining, all of which we believe in and support. We can mountain bike, hike or antique and then dine on American cuisine or attend the strawberry festival at a local church. We like it all and are local business owners in the town and committed to its continuing success.

Charlie Sproule purchased this house in 2014

Amenities

Jim Thorpe House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • not suitable for children ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , First Floor half bath
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Claw Foot tub/shower combo
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

68% Complete
25% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Historic Home with Modern Amenities in the Heart of Jim Thorpe
average rating of 4.625 based on 16 reviews
5

The home was just beautiful and in the perfect location.

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful weekend in this home. It was in a perfect location to all the shops and restaurants, and very nicely decorated. The owners were extremely thorough in their instructions for access and parking. We will absolutely recommend this home to other as well as rent it again in the future.

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

I love Tim Thorpe. No crazy about the property.

  • 3 of 5

I wouldn't go back to the property. Bathroom need to be upgraded. TV didn't work no iron. Place need to dusted thoroughly Who is having joint pain in the legs. Didn't go there. Too many stair. No good for older guest.

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. However, just a few clarifications: The TV does work fine and has cable, blue ray DVD, Netflix, Amazon Prime, along with a sound bar and sub woofer. It is a bit confusing on how to use the various remotes and we would have been happy to show you how to use them. The bathroom has a claw foot tub in keeping with Victorian theme. Otherwise, the bathrooms are modern. With respect to stairs, we do note in our description that there are two flights of stairs and that the rental is not ideal for younger children or older folks who have difficulty doing stairs. We even have the stairs pictured with the description "steep staircase." I'm sorry you didn't see that description. Yes, we did not have an iron, but I brought you one within the hour after I received your request. We do have the house cleaned between each visit. Thank you for the feedback regarding dusting. I'll make sure that is concentrated on by our cleaners and will inspect it in the future. I would encourage potential renters to read our other reviews before making a decision on our property.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very nice quiet place

  • 5 of 5

Nice place to stay, close to everything.. people are very nice .

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

3 floors and 3 bedrooms!

  • 4 of 5

Fit our purposes well for our stay in Jim Thorpe and host was quick to respond to queiries.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Philadelphia, PA USA
5

Hstoric Jewel in jim Thorpe...

  • 5 of 5

This spacious, clean, beautifully appointed home is perfectly positioned in historic Jim Thorpe--right on the Main Street, but just enough distance from 'downtown' (a few minutes walk) to feel quiet and private. The house itself, on all three floors, is tastefully furnished, spotlessly clean, and fully equipped. Owner Charlie could not have been more welcoming and accommodating, at all times ready and willing to go the extra distance, even assuring us a table at his busy, popular restaurant nearby. All in all, a restorative and thoroughly enjoyable long weekend in JT--highest recommendation for this terrific rental.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location.

  • 4 of 5

House was exactly as advertised. Only issue we had was finding the parking spot due to weeds hanging over the sign. That was resolved with a short call to Charlie. Liked being able to walk to all of the historic sites.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Payment is required two weeks prior to arrival, although last minute availability is possible. A $300 security deposit is also required.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.