Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Experience Your Own Private 500,000 Gallon Snorkeling Aquarium

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,044 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

An extraordinary home situated on its own PRIVATE, calm, clear, warm-water lagoon, adjacent to beautiful Champagne Pond and the ocean. The only snorkeling aquarium of its kind in the world, the lagoon is filled with colorful Hawaiian reef fish...

Lagoon House is the epitome of a Hawaiian piece of paradise. This home is located at the premiere swimming spot at Kapoho and features a huge, crystal-clear, private lagoon stocked with exotic tropical fish. The lagoon is naturally heated by geothermal hot springs to a luxurious 90 degrees. Swimming here is an experience you'll never forget.

For lots more information, please see LagoonHouse.com.

The main level of Lagoon House features a spacious living room with ocean views, dining room with seating for 6, and a full kitchen. Down the hall, there's an ocean view bedroom with a queen bed and a single bed, and a second bedroom with a double bed, and a full bathroom.

You'll love spending time on the large lanai, which overlooks the lagoon and ocean beyond. A second dining table provides for your outdoor dining needs.

Downstairs is a large, shady lanai at water's edge. A third bedroom with bunk beds is located down here as well. (Note that this bedroom has a separate entrance and is not accessible from inside the upper level) There's also a second bathroom down here with a shower and changing room.

A 2-car carport includes an enclosed laundry, storage area and barbecue grill. The yard is beautifully landscaped with flowering shrubs, palm trees, a manicured lawn and other tropical plantings. Amenities also include high-speed wireless Internet, telephone with answering machine and FREE long distance calls to the US and Canada, a refrigerator, stove, breakfast bar, microwave, coffeemaker, coffee grinder, gas barbecue grill, toaster, blender, under-sink water filter, snorkel sets, deck chairs, ceiling fans, books and magazines, linens and towels, iron, stereo system with CD player, satellite TV, HiFi VCR, and more than 50 movies on tape and DVD.

GE-072-622-4896-01 TA-072-622-4896-01

More Details

Property Manager
Aloha Coast Realty/Hawaii Holiday Vac. Rentals
Member since: 2000
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 20, 2018

Guestbook comments from the manager

Exceptionally Unique property, nothing else like it in the world. Location can't be beat, and it is right here in the USA! No passports, no swine flu, no diarrhea. My 5 yo son with autism had the time of his life learning to snorkel in the lagoon. He was on his own swimming around on the second day. We'll be back for sure.
Jun 2009
  • 1 of 32

Amenities

Kapoho House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1044 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Rural
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Main Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Lagoon Bathroom - toilet , shower , By the lagoon
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 bunk bed , Separate entrance, by lagoon with bunk beds
  • Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (1), Child Beds (1) in a children's loft above a closet , Baby Cribs (1) Actually a playpen; also a high chair is available, Sleep Sofa or Futons (2), Bunk Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • hiking
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
Notes:
snorkel gear, beach mats, boogie boards, large selection of board games and puzzles, many children's books, wooden building blocks, children's movies, many toys, high chair, playpen, dining table for 6, alarm clock/radio, much more...

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(154 traveler reviews)

74% Complete
16% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Experience Your Own Private 500,000 Gallon Snorkeling Aquarium
average rating of 4.642857 based on 186 reviews
Big Island
5

Truly enchanting

  • 5 of 5

Wow! What a truly enchanting place, it's so hard to describe what a great time we had. On our next to the last day, we swam with no fewer than 10 sea turtles in the Champagne Pond next door. The fish and your pond were of course awesome. Loved the breezes, the sun, the rain, and most of all we loved how close our family became, us 3 island adventurers! Hope to visit next year! Mahalo--

P.S. I was hoping we could watch the Wizard of Oz so that Evan could see Ann's Uncle ray Bolger. Unfortunately, he was too tired from swimming with the fish and turtles to watch a movie.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2008
  • Stayed: September 2007
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
3

Amazing snorkeling

  • 3 of 5

The lagoon was amazing, we really enjoyed snorkeling with all the fish!! The house however is in dire need of some TLC!!

  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo nui for your review! The owner has renovations in the works and has been looking for a contractor to work so close to the delicate and protected marine areas. It's been a challenge! In the meantime, the rate has been reduced by about $150 per night so guests on tighter budgets can enjoy this amazing location :-) We hope you'll come visit again soon!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

5 star experience.........

  • 5 of 5

The overall experience for our family was 5 stars. You cannot beat the location or the amenity that having your own lagoon in the backyard brings. We spent a lot of time exploring the lagoon as well as the more open water just on the other side of the sea wall.

The location put us right where we wanted to be, on the ocean with everything we wanted to see nearby. With short drives to the small towns as well as the volcano and Hilo.

The experience being 5 star; the accommodations were not necessarily 5 star. The house is rather dated and we had some concerns about the stability of the porch. I would love to see the owners update some in the house to make it be as much of experience that the surroundings are.

Please don't get me wrong, we are very happy we chose to stay here and would do it again on a future trip.

Thank you.

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Needs some TLC

  • 4 of 5

The location of the home is awesome. The pond is wonderful. One could not ask for a better

place. Unfortunately, maintenance of the structure is lacking. You can still have a nice stay,

but you need to relax and enjoy the site.

  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for your review, Jane!! The owners are eager to renovate, but finding a contractor who is willing to take on a project so close to a protected marine area is proving to be a challenge. In the meantime, we've lowered the rate significantly so that guests can still enjoy the fantastic location even if the house is getting worn around the edges ;-) We're so glad you enjoyed the experience!!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

As amazing as it looks!

  • 5 of 5

This is the most amazing place I've ever stayed. I've done some cool things, but snorkeling in this lagoon was right up among the coolest things I've done in my life. We went to Molokini on Maui after this, which is also one of my favorite places in the world, and were kind of like "eh, it's ok" after this. It's true, the house could use some updating, but I'm glad they don't or they'd charge $10 grand / week and I wouldn't be able to go back. It's clean and functional and spacious and you won't care a bit what the house is like anyway. I do agree, though, it would only sleep the exact right combination of 7 people. Perfect for my family, though. Seriously, I can't believe this place isn't booked years out and I would schedule my trip around being able to go back. Thank you for sharing this with us!

  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Hawaii
4

amazing private snorkeling. old house

  • 4 of 5

I am so thankful that i got to stay here. Everyone was just mortified that we had to leave.House was much older than i was expecting⁢ didn't really fit our combo of 7 people. But who cares! Most amazing spot

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Hilo Airport (ITO)
Nearest Barpub
10 Miles
Several in Pahoa Village
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Hwy 137 / Red Road
Nearest Restaurant
10 Miles
Many in Pahoa Village
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Swim & Snorkel in Kapoho Bay 50 Yards from house
Car: necessary

lava viewing

Photos

Availability

Available
Unavailable

Notes

  • Rates are based on a party of 2; additional guests are are $10 each per night plus tax.
    There is a cleaning fee of $150. Extended stays require a monthly cleaning fee.
    All reservations require a non-refundable $35 damage protection plan and Hawaii taxes of 14.416%

    We accept major credit cards for payment.
    We require a 25% deposit to confirm, with the balance due 90 days before arrival.
    Reservations arriving within 90 days are due in full at the time of booking.

You might like these similar properties