check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Owner

Member since: 2001
Speaks: english

Kanaloa 2BR Family Condo

15 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Kailua-Kona Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Kanaloa at Kona 1002 provides the perfect blend of luxury and value in an unsurpassed Hawaiian setting. This large (1500+ sq.ft.) and elegant VRBO Kona condo is situated on the north edge of the Kanaloa complex, facing the Kona Country Club course about 100 yards off the ocean. It's an ideal setting for fun family vacations or tranquil getaways. We've just completed new kitchen and living room upgrades, so it's looking better than ever.

The four-star Outrigger Kanaloa at Kona resort is famous for its gorgeous tropical landscaping and peaceful ambiance. Kanaloa features three swimming pool and spa complexes, lighted tennis courts, and fabulous oceanside dining on the premises at Jameson's Grill and Bar. The location is close to downtown Kona but away from the crowded 'condo row' along Ali'i Drive. There are lots of nice places you can walk right from the front door. Escape the traffic!

Our unit is beautifully decorated and furnished, with a king bed in the master suite and two twin beds (or king conversion) in the second bedroom, plus two sofa beds. Very complete kitchen, TV/DVD/VCR, second TV in master bedroom, stereo, washer/dryer, and many extras. Wireless internet is free and available both in the unit and poolside. The large, shady lanai is surrounded by greenery, with lovely golf course and mountain views.

Please see the slideshow on our owner's website and our Kona condo pictures here on VRBO. Please contact Scott or Jen and let us help you plan your trip to the Big Island. Mahalo!

Keywords: Condominium (1700 sq. ft.)

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Owner
Member since: 2001
Speaks: english

About The Owner

The Norris family has been traveling to Hawaii for years. We have listed this great Kanaloa at Kona condo on VRBO since we purchased it in 2001.

The Owner purchased this condo in 2001

Why The Owner chose Kona Coast

We have stayed at many places in Kona and we looked at everything on the market. Kanaloa at Kona simply stood out from the rest, and as soon as we saw this unit the decision was easy. For overall size and quality, plus the great location and expansive setting, Kanaloa is tops.

What makes this condo unique

For us one of the big things is traffic--or lack of it, when staying at Kanaloa. We have rented ocean view units at the Bali Kai and others where you get a nice view--from the living room. But in 2BR units the second bedroom may be facing the street! Step outside in those places and there's nowhere to walk or run except up and down the bike lane on Ali'i Drive. So we love Kanaloa where you can step outside and walk barefoot on lawns down to the shoreline, or stroll along the oceanfront or over to the nearby marina.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Just wanted to let you know we enjoyed staying at your home in Kona. You have a really nice place and our stay was very comfortable and relaxing. Thanks so much for opening your home to us and providing all the information for your home and the island. Everything went well. We had a great vacation in Hawaii and can’t wait until we can go back again.
Aug 2007
  • 1 of 11

Reviews

4.6
based on 15 traveler reviews

Kanaloa 2BR Family Condo
average rating of 4.6 based on 26 reviews
1

A poorly maintained property. Renter beware

  • 1 of 5

I have stayed in this area of Kona 8 or 9 times over the last decade and this is easily the worst property I have experienced.

For starters it could use a paint job, carpet cleaning and some solid elbow grease to make it presentable. Just to give you a flavor of some of the issues:

1. The property management company had put dirty dishes back in with clean dishes, so the first order of business was to take all the dishes out and load the washing machine. Unfortunately , we couldn't get to dishwasher to work.

2. It was very hot when we arrived (mid 90s, which is warm even for Kona). We turned on the AC and the only cold air you could feel was if you stood on top of a vent/register. After 3 hours, the room temperature had barely dropped into the mid-80s. The AC might be adequate for spring or fall conditions, but I can't image it would have made the condo very livable during our stay.

3. The AC system has few or no registers in the back bedrooms and master bathroom. There are some basics fans, but sleeping on the couch in the main room would probably be the only reasonably cool area. AC seems to be a retrofit for these condos so your experience may vary from unit to unit.

We called the landlord, who was apologetic, but not particularly interested or able in fix anything. There is only so much someone can do from 5000 miles away. We ended up renting a condo in a different complex (across the bay) run by a different management company . In contrast it was clean, comfortable, recently remodeled, well maintained, and LESS expensive.

This vacation was the last time our family was going to spend together before my daughter left for college. Maybe we could have ironed out the problems, but I was not willing to waste a couple days of our last vacation together dealing with a sub-standard property. We packed up and left within 4 hours of arrival. I paid for 10 days of rentals that I never used.

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful

  • 5 of 5

We were right on the Kona Country Golf Course and a four minute walk to the breathtaking ocean views. The condo was clean and love the open floor plan. One person in our group does not do well with stairs so this place was perfect, first floor. The concierge, Hank was extremely helpful and personable in finding various sightseeing options. Lucy, housekeeper responded very quickly with our request. We will definitely use Kanaloa again.

  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great stay in Kona!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay at Scott's condo! It is very large, air conditioned and has a fully equipped kitchen. We loved the layout and location of the Kanaloa Kona resort...quiet, beautiful grounds and an excellent pool overlooking the ocean. We preferred it to those right on Alli'i drive that appeared busy and cramped. Supermarket and drug store 5 minutes away and a short drive to the hustle and bustle of the nearby town. We got all of our food and some of the cleaning and paper products we needed at nearby Target very reasonably. Would definitely recommend!

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Sheryl, I'm glad you enjoyed the condo!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hot Sulphur Springs, CO, USA
5

Kona, HI Condo Stay

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for 8 nights at the Kanaloa Kona resort at a 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo. We had our son, his wife, and three kids with us, and there was plenty of room for everyone. I especially liked the kitchen and the convenience of having a washer and dryer in the unit. Had a great stay and would stay there again in a heartbeat! Thanks, Scott, for taking such good care of us!

  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Vancouver, Canada
5

roomy, comfortable and convenient condo in a quiet setting

  • 5 of 5

My husband and two boys (late teens) recently stayed at condo 1002 in Kanaloa for 5 nights. We loved the condo - it is so roomy! Very comfortable living space for us. The kitchen had everything we needed for meals at home, which we really appreciated. It also has a dishwasher and washer-dryer. The location is fabulous - 5 minute drive from the village of Kailua-Kona, the complex is right on the water - so great for sunsets, and because the condo is south of Kailua-Kona it is close to some great snorkelling at the City of Refuge and the Captain Cook monument. And the rental cost is very reasonable. Also, the complex is quiet. We will definitely stay here again when we are on the big island.

  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
East Wenatchee, Wa
4

Paradise in Kailua, Kona @ Kanaloa

  • 4 of 5

We stayed in this condo a total of 50 days beginning early Jan 2011. This condo is well equipped, located on the 11th fairway of the Kona Country Club ocean course. You can sit out on the lani and watch all the golfers play their shots into the 11th green.

If you are planning a trip to the Big Island, and spending time in Kailua,Kona this would be a good choice, would highly recommend this condo, scott was easy to work with.

a.c.

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kailua-Kona Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall 2016
Sep 7 2016 - Dec 15 2016
3 night minimum stay
$155
 
 
Winter 2016-2017
Dec 16 2016 - Mar 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$225
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$155
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $120
Tax Rate 13.25%

Air conditioning is included, no extra charge.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kailua-Kona Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front
  • Golf Course View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Shared Hot Tub
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Condo Amenities: Recently refurnished, King bed in master bedroom, Two twins with possible king setup in second bedroom, Phone and answering machine, Fax, Air Conditioning, Cable TV and VCR, 2nd TV in Master Bedroom, Full kitchen with microwave, coffee maker, blender, rice cooker, All linnens provided. Resort Amenities: Gated complex with three swimming pools with spas(one for adults only), lighted tennis courts, oceanside bar and gourmet restaurant on the premises, reserved covered parking, beautifully landscaped with breathtaking ocean views

Partner Offers