Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

West Maui Vacation Condo - N. Kaanapali Beach - Ocean Views

Bedrooms 2
Space 880 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 4 nights


About the property

Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-5)

You will have the most memorable and wonderful time of your life staying at our WEST MAUI VACATION CONDO. The grounds are quiet and peaceful planted with beautiful native flora and traditional hawaiian styled architechture. You will feel like you are really in Hawaii and not some crowded resort.

Our West Maui Vacation Condo is located on oceanfront property and faces the mature gardens and ocean. Beautiful! We are at the north point of world-famous Ka'anapalii Beach in Honokowai. Our north location on the beach puts you within minutes of everywhere you want to be....Whalers' Village, historic Lahaina Town, the Cannery Mall, Old Lahaina Lu'au (best on the island), the West Maui Mountain Zip line, the Petroglyphs, Black Rock, great local restaurants, Farmer Markets, surrounded by amazing and incredible beaches everywhere and the best snorkeling and boogy boarding to be found!

Our beach is great for swimming, snorkeling, boogy boarding, or shell hunting at low-tide. Often you can snorkle off our small beach and see abundant tropical fish and sea turtles!

The picture you see on our website is of an actual sunsets I have taken on our beach! Only in West Maui will you see such spectacular sunsets. Lanai and Molokai are also on the horizon. From the months of late November to April, you can often watch humpback whales play as they birth and mate in the ocean off our beach deck.

Our property is on 3.5 acres and only 6 two story buildings which makes it a sweet gem of a place, hidden amongst the very large over crowded resorts. Our West Maui Vacation Condo is a large 2 berdoom and has been extensively remodeled in a eclectic, modern asian style using high end furnishings. The lanai is 140 sq ft making it perfect for outdoor gathering. Close by we have several BBQs for you to use. We have used travertine and granite and new tile through out. There a two new queen sized SERTA mattresses, down pillows, extra linens, new granite top vanity and sink, teak furniture, stainless steel appliances, and a fully equipped kitchen. There are three flat panel TVs, enhanced cable, A /C, DVDs, movies and games for your enjoyment. There is beach equipment for you to use - snorkeling, beach towels, boogy boards, beach chairs, free reserved parking and more.

The view from the 140 SQFT lanai is of mature tropical gardens and the ocean (about 150 ft away). There is also a pool, free BBQing, and free reserved parking for you.

Enjoy the discounted price of $189 a night - that is $47.25 a night (+ tax and fees) for a group of four!

CHECK AVAILABILITY ON OWNER website westmauivacationcondodotcom or VRBO WEBSITE - Call me and leave a message or send me e-mail. I will always get back to you within 24 hours. MAHALO.

Keywords: Maui, Maui Vacation Rental, Condominium, West Maui Rental, Hawaii Vacation, Kaanapali Beach, Maui Sands, Maui Rental, Gay friendly, west maui vacation condo, centrally located, affordable condo, spacious maui condo,

More Details

Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 20, 2017

About John

I grew up in the Far East most of my childhood because my father was in the Army. Traveling back and forth from the USA, at times we were able to spend a day or two in Hawaii when my father was re-assigned to different places in the Far East. I never forgot the magical times in Hawaii. As I got older, I would see beaches featured in travel magazines. Kaanapali Beach was always rated in the top five beaches around the World. When I had a chance to buy a second home, I immediately thought of Hawaii.

John purchased this condo in 2005

Why John chose Maui

When I was looking for a second home, i got on the internet and ran across my current property on the internet. It was exactly what I was looking for. Maui Sands has turned out to be a magical place located on North Kaanapali Beach. It is a small property of 3.5 acres, not a dense high rise resort place. I did not want to vacation with 1,000 other people. I wanted to feel like I was in Maui and not just another vacation resort place. The grounds are amazing and lush and the buildings are only 2 stories and are not jammed up next to each other. It is a very laid back place. I was also looking for a property that was located well and close by to lots of things to do. This was the property and I bought it only looking at photos the realtor sent. I did not physically see it until I signed the closing documents. I have no regrets because it is the perfect place!

What makes this condo unique

As I said, the property lends itself to giving you that feeling of being in Maui. The grounds with all the lush flora really is beautiful. I love hearing the waves from the ocean and the wind come off the West Maui Mountains rustle the numerous palm tress planted through out the grounds. Another benefit is that everything is close. The West Maui Vacation Condo is located at the end of all the resorts on Kaanapali Beach in a walking neighborhood. There are afforadable restaurants in walking distance as well as a video store and a large grocery store not more than 5 minutes walking time. Just up the block the other way there is a farmer's market, mexican food store, a coffee shop, and more stores. Being so centrally located, Lahaina, Whaler's Village, Lahaina Luau, and so many familiar shops are only about a 5 minutes drive away to the south. Also, there are so many great beaches in West Maui. Another favorite of mine is D.T. Fleming. Often the waves give you great boggy boarding. Maybe a 5-7 minute car ride to the north. Closer in is Napili Cove. It is a protected cove where you can float on a mattress and snorkel. There is abundant sealife to view. If you are lucky, you wil see the family of giant green turtles that often hang out by the rocks. There is so much so close.


Lahaina Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 880 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Queen size Beds (2) comfortable serta mattresses in both bedrooms, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) nice futon available in the closet
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Large (approx 900 sq ft) and Recently Remodeled 2/1 Condominium, Eclectic Modern Asian Design, New Ceiling Fans and Large A/C, Large Lanai and Patio Furniture, Beautiful Travertine Tile, New Carpet, Newly Tiled Bath, 42 inch flat panel & two 10 inch TVs and DVD/VHS Player, Teak Furniture, One firm, one soft Queen-size SERTA Mattresses, single size Foam Futon. Extra Sheets nd towels, Local Art, Cotton Bath/Shower/Hand Towels, Fully-equipped Kitchen, New Stainless Appliances, Blue Pearl Granite Counters, Premium Coffee Maker & Filters, Coffee Bean Grinder for Fantastic Hawaiian Beans, Belgium Waffle Maker, Rice Cooker, Bagel/Bread Toaster, Pots/Pans/Silverware/Cooking Utensils, Cleaning Materials, High-speed DSL/Wireless LAN, Cable, Games, Free Reserved Parking, Chairs/Beach Toys, Boogie Boards, Masks/Snorkel/Fins, Scuba Socks, some Starter Supplies, lazy days on the beach or pool with fantastic sunsets!


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

West Maui Vacation Condo - N. Kaanapali Beach - Ocean Views
average rating of 4.25 based on 12 reviews


  • 5 of 5

Our stay at this condo was just perfection. Loved the place and the location. Beautiful ocean views and just 50 yards to the ocean's edge while the un-crowded section of North Kaanapali Beach is just a short 5 min walk. Centrally located with grocery stores and restaurants and less than 10 min drive to Lahaina, 5 mins to Whalers Village, 10 mins to Nipoli and Kapalua.

The condo is comfortable, clean and well appointed with tv's in the bedrooms (much appreciated) as well as one large one in the LR. It has a huge lanai which was great for coffee in the morning and a glass of wine at sunset. Kitchen has every amenity you could possible need. Cross breezes were perfect at night and we never needed to turn on the A/C during our stay in SUMMER. Pool looked very nice, but never used it, and the complex is private and quiet. Would highly recommend!

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

We loved our stay West Maui Condo

  • 5 of 5

The location was perfectly central for us, since we had family staying in Kapalua and Lahaina. We had a rental car, so it was extremely easy to get to all of the beaches we wanted to visit. We could probably even walk down the boardwalk, although we usually got in the car and took off for the day. The condo was outfitted with all of the gear that we needed, so we saved a lot on having to rent. The condo was also very comfortable for 4 adults and 1 child. I could go on and on, but the bottom line is that we will be back! Mahalo!

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Palm Springs,Ca

West maui

  • 5 of 5

Had the time of my life in Maui & the property was excellent it had everything I needed along with great Naibors & awesome!! Snorkeling 50 feet from the property, we're already planning a return trip to the same place. Thx for providing us with such a cozy property right in front of the maui waters...

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Tacoma, Washington

Perfect seaside retreat!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I were fortunate enough to travel to Maui recently. Obviously, we had an amazing week and were definitely sad to leave.

The condo was perfect. It was cute, comfortable, and felt like a home away from home. It was close to all the big resorts and a few blocks away from a nice park, where we snorkeled for the first time. It also has an on site laundry and newer appliances.

Our only complaints are that the mattress was a little firm for our liking, but the sunsets from the back porch made up for that!

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Like going back in time 50 years.

  • 2 of 5

Lots of both good and bad. Bottom line: I was embarrassed to have brought my wife here for our anniversary. Just too worn out to call it quaint. The unit would be great if it were repaired. But earlier renovations, from backwards plumbing to broken kitchen floor tiles, look like they were done on the cheap and did not hold up well.

Still, we enjoyed our stay despite finding that the condo was well worn and not well taken care of. The condo is stocked with lots of quality cooking necessities, towels, and beach equipment. Sitting over coffee on the deck looking out at the water in the morning and seeing whales spout in the distance was a great way to start the day. The gardens on the property are beautiful and well kept. The grill on the property was a nice way to cook a meal. During the day other renters seemed well mannered, quiet and few. None of the crowds one finds at the big hotels down the beach. One gets the feel on this property of what Maui must have been like in the 1960's, before the crush of people descended on it.

But be aware that this condo unit has seen better days. Easy and cheap things to fix that should be done prior to any renter coming in were left for us to report to the owner who then had repairmen at the unit on four days of our stay. When we got there, after dark, we found a dozen light bulbs to be burned out including all of them in the entrance hall, most of them in the living area and the two in the refrigerator. The venetian blinds in the bedroom were sagging, inoperable, and hanging by a thread. The carpets were stained in the bedroom and torn on the deck. The drain in the bathroom sink was broken and leaked into the cabinet beneath it. And the table on the deck was rusty to the point of danger. We were surprised that some of these problems had been written up in reviews two months prior to our stay, yet the problems, easy and cheap to fix, remained when we got there. Sadly, on more than one night we were kept awake till 2:00 in the morning as late night revelers returned, talking loudly, honking their horns, and carrying on just feet from our bedroom windows which overlooked the parking lot.

We will not return.

  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Frank, Here is my update to your comments and phone call while you were in Maui. Yes the previous renter in Feb just 45 days before you reported some problems. I was able to address some of the problems between guest stays. When you called while you were in Maui I had my handyman and cleaner over there that day. Since I am off island, I rely on my cleaner to report problems and issues to me. As you see that does not always work. At the same time I wanted to get to the bottom of the issues you reported to me. I have found out the 5 can lights that had burned out bulbs were because the cleaner previously put in the wrong type of light bulbs and the dimmer made them burn out in a matter of weeks. The sagging venetian blinds came from a 2 year old just before your stay. Apparently he also climbed in the vanity cabinet and broke the drain you mentioned along with staining the carpet quite a bit. I know these things because I called the guests and the previous guests before them to ascertain how all this occurred. Many issues have been fixed, cleaned or replaced since your departure. I usually go to Maui for 2 months during the summer. This last summer I did not go. I noticed some rust on the table the previous summer. I was stunned by your picture that the rust has taken over the edge of the table. I bought that table on the lanai less than 3 summers ago. I can not control the partiers out in the parking lot. It is unfortunate because even as you stated, the guests at Maui Sands were great. However I do not agree with your assertion that it is well worn and not taken care of. Things do happen and I do my utmost to address all concerns.. I have spectacular reviews. Mahalo John
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1
Calgary, Alberta

Very relaxing condo

  • 3 of 5

We enjoyed our 10 day stay in this condo. It is older but very functional. It does need some TLC inside and out (such as cracked tiles and grout needs redoing in the bathroom and kitchen, carpet on lanai needs to be replaced, light switch in bathroom works sometimes, deck table was rusty/unsafe). The condo is well stocked with the beach toys, chairs and towels. The pool is very quiet and relaxing and we really enjoyed it. Sunsets at the beach were lovely. We only used the AC one night as the breeze coming through the windows was nicer than listening to the AC. We loved the fact that we could walk to the nearby health food store or regular grocery store. We never did snorkel off the beach as we didn't have water shoes to get over the rocks but apparently the snorkeling was decent. We drove to other beaches for snorkeling and paddle-boarding. It was a very enjoyable vacation all in all.

  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


enjoy the classic hawaiian vacation in a low key un-crowded property. relaxing comfortably and having the most memorable time of your life at West Maui Vacation Condo! we are located at the end of all the large resorts which makes us centrally located. no need to bring anything for the beach, we have it all for you to use in the closet. we ask that you rinse off the sand and salt before placing the equipt. back in the closet. there are so many activites available nearby you will not be disappointed by staying at the West Maui Vacation Condo. mahalo


Rates & Availability

Lahaina Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Cleaning Fee $160 + Tax
Mgmt fee $55 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.41%

Check in time is 3 pm - check out time is 11 am. If you miss 11 am check out you could be liable for additional cleaning fee ($140) and the next guest hotel stay for one night. Excessive laundry usage is determined by the cleaning service. For month long stays I ask you pay the elec bill. Please follow traditional custom and leave your shoes at the door. I have never had a theft of shoes - LOL!

I prefer payment in full. Payment arrangements are also available but must be paid in full 90 days before arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties