Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Amapola House**August Special**Buy 4 nights, get the 5th free**

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 2,200 sq ft
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

4 levels, 4 large bedrooms, 3 full bathrooms, sleeps up to 8

Amazing Rincon villa near the popular beaches of Puntas. Puerto Rico’s Amapola House is a private getaway minutes from the quaint town of Rincon, nestled near sweeping hillsides and tropical scenery in the Caribbean islands. Located a few minutes away from pristine Sandy Beach and the best Rincon restaurants and bars, Amapola House provides a comfortable resting place for those that want to have an activity-filled day, but a quiet place to return to at night. Backup electric and water ensure a completely pleasant stay.

The owners make sure that Amapola House feels more like second home than a hotel. Built by the Avilés family, who has lived in the area for generations, the house features modern design and stylish décor. Named after the hibiscus flowers that used to bloom on the property of the family matriarch, Amelia Avilés, Amapola House features sepias of Old Rincon going back to the 1890’s.

Once situated, guests can sit in comfortable chairs and look out into the tropical scenery from the Starlight Veranda, the private suite terrace or the lower California pool deck. They can also sunbathe on the Sun Deck, which also features a jumbo-sized spa tub, perfect for relaxing evenings.

Amapola House is a four-level vacation home with four bedrooms. All the bedrooms include large closets and either a queen bed or two twin beds. With three full bathrooms, the house comfortably accommodates up to eight people. Rooms are decorated in rich yellow and terracotta tones in a contemporary style. A private suite is located on its own level with a private terrace and outdoor dining area. Guests who like to cook on holiday will love the fully equipped kitchen and cocktail bar. Amapola House also offers a dining service for eight, and several great restaurants are minutes away.

Amapola House offers a unique vacation experience that vastly differs from others in the area. Located in a private area that is only reachable through nearly untraveled roads, it gives guests seclusion and tranquility, while still being close to the area’s best beaches and hotspots. The art, antiques and photos offer a glimpse into Rincon’s past and the history of surfing. Guests will truly feel at home at Amapola House, which was designed to do just that.

The golden sands and pristine waters of Sandy Beach are only two minutes by car and ten minutes on foot. Our Sun Deck sunsets are unforgettable and and the nights are filled with millions of stars and serious moonlight.

The interior is designer-decorated and contains a private collection of heirloom antiques and vintage photographs of Old Rincon and Surfing legends, which are part of The Amapola House Story.

Everyone that stays at Amapola House only regrets not staying longer and wishes to return soon, as indicated in our Guest Book entries.

Our kitchen and bar are well-equipped. Guest sleeps quite comfortably in beds with high-quality mattresses and high-count linens (no futons or pull outs). Extra large closets keep your living accommodations spacious.

Our oversized towels are plush and so are our beach towels. The large bathrooms offer rain shower heads, glass basins and oversized mirrors to allow you to pamper yourself as you prepare for the evening, after a day at the beach or a day trip.

iPod stereos, DVD players, flat screen TV's and cable TV service provide entertainment between outings. High-speed wireless Internet keeps you connected when you want to be.

Our caretaker is always nearby and available to assist you during your stay at Amapola House and to ensure that your stay is a comfortable one.

This home has four levels with stairs and may not be suitable for wheelchairs and persons with limited mobility.

To reserve your stay or for more about Amapola House, go Reservations or call us at

(August special discount will be applied at the time of booking)

More Details

Owner
Nicole & Heather
Member since: 2018
Speaks: english, spanish
Calendar last updated:
August 17, 2018

Why Nicole & Heather chose Puntas

While we are new Host on Home Away. This property has been a Five Star vacation rental in Rincon since 2008. Our Family has been vacationing in Rincon at least twice a year for the last twelve years. We rented the Amapola House twice over the last five years. When we heard it was on the Market, be it only for 5 days. We flew down and bought it. The previous owner was a Super Host on Home Away. Amapola House is one of the highest rated properties in Rincon. We will happily provide copies of the previous reviews by email.

Amenities

Puntas Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Max. adults: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Microwave
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • caves
  • forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

82% Complete
17% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Amapola House**August Special**Buy 4 nights, get the 5th free**
average rating of 4.8235292 based on 17 reviews
Waterford Lakes, FL
5

Amapola House: More Than We Expected

  • 5 of 5

We're among the first to stay at Amapola House, because it's brand new. It's much more than what we saw online. The stay was totally enjoyable. The place is quiet has everything you'd want for a beach-area villa and more. The view from the rooftop is awesome, with unforgettable sunsets, especially from the spa tub. We loved all the modern touches, such as super-quiet A/Cs, the bar and wine cooler, silky mega-count linens and super thick towels. The beaches, only minutes away, were pristine and we had great lunches and dinners at the many restaurants located at Sandy Beach; the beach bars had live music and friendly barkeeps and locals. We took advantage of the promotional introductory rates, but will gladly pay the full rate to spend more time at Amapola House when we return for our Winter vacation.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2008
  • Stayed: July 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: At Amapola House, we appreciate the feedback that we receive from our Guests. We strive to improve our accommodations and amenities to ensure a comfortable and enjoyable stay, by providing sensible lodging services in an elegant setting, surrounded by the natural beauty of Rincon.
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Did you find this review helpful?
30 5
Rumford, Maine USA
5

Clean and comfortable

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed staying here. Anthony was very accommodating and flexible when we had to reschedule due to the hurricane. The house is in a very quiet neighborhood and the rooftop deck was very relaxing. The kitchen was well equipped and had everything we needed to prepare family dinner. If i could make one suggestion it would be to put a little more information in the binder such as grocery stores, post offices and their addresses.

  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are always looking for ways to make our guests stays fun and easy. We frequently update our guest guide book and also provide a copy of the local tourist magazine that contains the latest information about where to eat, drink, shop and have fun.
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Enjoyable vacation

  • 4 of 5

The amapola house was very much as shown on the vrbo site. It was clean and well maintained. The location is excellent and we had a great time. Peter was responsive and handled the one problem quite quickly... we asked for groceries to be shopped for and paid but they weren't there I called and they were delivered an hour or so later... no worries and nice they provide this service. 2 notes . The driveway is poor, unless you pull in just right or you have a car w high clearance you will bottom out every time... this should be fixed. Also the beach chairs provided are the stadium chairs that are really uncomfortable we bought our own. Both of these things are very minor and are only intended to improve a property I highly recommend.

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're glad that our house and services are well appreciated by our guests and will continue to read and listen to all suggestions and comments to keep Amapola House a 5 Star Vacation Home. We strive to provide the best of everything to our guests. After heavy rainstorms washed out the public road gutters, instead of waiting for the city road crews, we've hired a private contractor to make improvements that will level and beautify our entrance. We're constantly buying beach chairs to replace the damaged and missing ones and we always try to locate the best ones available at the local vendors.
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
St Louis
5

Nice place. Good location in Puntas. Accurate description. Clean.

  • 5 of 5

We were very pleased with our stay. The description and pictures on the website were quite accurate. Gorgeous views and plenty of space. The roof top was great. We saw lots of rainbows. Beach chairs included, a plus! Be aware the fourth bedroom has its own entrance and cannot be accessed from the main part of the house. Overall we were very comfortable. We would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We make every effort to ensure that Amapola House is a perfect fit for our Guests. Our pictures and descriptions are constantly updated to show the upgrades and improvements that we are constantly making. Our repeat Guests always find something new when they come back to Amapola House. Our second level suite is a favorite with guests who really like its intimate location and privacy, having their own private full bathroom, the separate sunset view terrace and quick access to the the pool deck.
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Meriden, CT
5

Beautiful property and sorroundings

  • 5 of 5

The listing was accurate with regards to the location, layout and amenities in the house. The house is absolutely beautiful and the views are breathtaking. From the color, the art work, the layout of all the rooms - everything was well maintained and clean and resembled the online pictures. The property manager welcomed us and was available whenever we had questions or needed to borrow something (like sugar for our coffee). We also got some yummy avocados and bananas from around the property.

There is plenty of surfing beaches and quiet areas to go suntan. Plenty of restaurants and shops within driving distance. Our stay was great. We were able to relax and enjoy the stay.

  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Everything About Amapola is Beautiful and Clean!

  • 5 of 5

I stayed at the Amapola House for 4 days with myself, 5 other adults and my 6 year old daughter. The house is beautiful as are the views and outdoor areas, and it is kept immaculately clean (which is a must for my travel companions). The photos are a perfect representation of the house. The location of the house is wonderful as it is on a "side street" rather than the next street over which can be used as a cut through to get to the beaches, so it is nice and quiet.

We were planning our next stay at Amapola halfway through our first day staying in it -- so we will be back!

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2016
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
17.5 Miles
Aquadilla, PR (BQN)
Nearest Barpub
800 Metres
Pools Bar, Tamboo Bar, Big Kahuna
Nearest Golf
20 Miles
Punta Borinquen Golf Club & Royal Isabela
Nearest Restaurant
800 Metres
Pools Bar, Tamboo Bar, Big Kahuna
Nearest Beach
850 Metres
Sandy Beach & Pools Beach
Car: recommended

Rincon is a wonderful and secluded beach town that has allowed time and the troubles of the world to pass it by. It is a special place, filled with delightful sights, sounds and friendly people. If you haven't been to Rincon, Puerto Rico, visit us soon, but be warned: you may never want to leave.

In Rincon, a palpable positive energy perks you up and makes you want to swim, dive, fish, snorkel, surf, body-board, sail, hike, ride, eat, drink, party and find romance.

Surf big waves at the north beaches, then snorkel in the calm waters at the south beaches. See humpback whales frolic near the shore, during the Winter. Take a boat trip to nearby Desecheo Island and go fishing, snorkel its shallow emerald pools, or dive a reef wall. Explore tropical forest and seaside nature trails. Eat & Drink at our great restaurants and beach bars and enjoy a wide range of delicious Caribbean cooking. In Rincon, Puerto Rico, USA, no American Passport is required.

Other Activities: casinos, clubs, salsa dancing

Golf: Golf at nearby Borinquen Golf Club, located only 25 minutes away from Amapola House.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.