check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Cottages with superb views of the River Dordogne:-with heated pool - Tabac

6 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type barn
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
7 nights


Calès Barn Rental Photos and Description

Modern self-catering facilities, en-suite bedrooms with beautiful heated pool

Cour du Fleuve is situated within the famous Cingle de Tremolat, lies on the top of a high bank overlooking the Dordogne River. Properties display the traditional oak roof structure within, and have been tastefully modernized, recently. Kitchens are well equipped, with modern appliances and open onto a covered patio area, with gas bbq and wooden garden furniture. The garden backs onto farmland, with views of the far banks of the river. A pool 12m x 6m, provides the opportunity for a welcoming chance to cool off, or for the more serious, is big enough for a swim. It is fenced, has a child secure gate, with areas for relaxing. Each property offers the shade or direct sun, depending on requirements of the guests. Upstairs, bedrooms are spacious, with either a double or twin beds, each having their own dedicated bathroom. Each bedroom has a wardrobe and drawer space, and is tastefully decorated and equipped.

The properties look across to the river and Tremolat, which has restaurants and bars To the rear, it looks across fields to the far banks of the river. It has an air of peace and tranquillity, which even when fully occupied still prevails, a great place to lie back and relax, especially with the clear night skies and sunsets we often experience here.

Can I get more information about the property?: We have an excellent website, linked on this site near the bottom of the page, which provides more photographs of all our properties, information of the many events that go on during the high season, has a link to Google maps, comments from our previous guests, and a scrapbook, which has more photographs of events that have happened in the area. We also provide a diary of local events so that you may see what will be happening during the period when you will be here. The website also shows floor plans, so that you can see the layout, and will have hopefully give no surprises on arrival. We also are able to give much more detailas to the location and what the surrounding area has to offer,

Is there plenty to do in the area?: We have had families who have chosen to totally relax and do very little here at Cour du Fleuve, and those who spent almost everyday enjoying what the area has to offer. There is so much to see and do in this area of France, steeped with the history of early man, the Hundred Years War and other events. There are gardens, grottos (close to twenty) where you can travel by rail or even boats into the bowels of the earth. Markets occur every day, with the famous one of Sarlat (Saturday) taking over the centre of the town with local produce. For the more active, there are a number of different canoe routes up the river, tennis in the village opposite, a small water sports and water skiing centre. If you prefer dry land, then walks through woods, cycling in the many chemins can offer shade from the sun, should you want. The garden is landscaped, with space for boule and a casual badminton court. The12X6m pool is fenced, with a security gate, and has a good area to relax and enjoy the sun

Food and drink and entertainment: Famous for its wine and cuisine, there are any restaurants and auberges in the area which offer the traditional menu, at reasonable prices. In addition, many of the local villages and towns have regular 'Gourmet' evenings, in particular Cadouin offering this event weekly, from June through to September. Here, you buy your meal at one of many of the stalls around the square, take it to a table laid out specially in the centre and savour the delights of the region. In most cases, there is also live music or a disco later on, creating a magnificent atmosphere where groups of all ages can enjoy an evening til quite late. There is also the occasional 'hunters feast' laid on in the village halls, where a five hour marathon of eating and drinking can challenge even those with a healthy capacity for good food and drink.

More Details

Details for Tabac 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8, 3 Bathrooms

This property enjoys views on three sides, so that the famous 'Cingle' can be seen in the distance, looping around Cour du Fleuve. Downstairs, the lounge and dining area are integrated, and at the front, opens out onto a furnished patio with views to the River Dordogne. Equipped with freeview TV, DVD and cd player, the lounge/seating area has two settees and a comfortable sofabed. The separate kitchen is adjacent and is well set out with modern units and appliances, essential for easy self-catering; fridge/freezer, oven and hob, microwave, dishwasher and washing machine are readily to hand. It opens onto a screened rear patio area, offering privacy, and again with wooden furniture and a gas BBQ, and then the garden. The garden is attractively planted with shrubs, with areas for games such as badminton and petanque (although we do not permit football). The 12X6m swimming pool, fenced and with security gate, has areas for relaxation and is equipped with lounger,

  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only

Sue and Mike Cope
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 20, 2016
Call Owner


based on 6 traveler reviews

average rating of 4.3333335 based on 6 reviews

Think twice before confirm your booking at Cour du Fleuve!

  • 1 of 5

On the whole we had a pleasant holiday at Cour du Fleuve, the property itself is well maintained and in good order, the grounds are well kept and the location promises a lot when you first arrive.

Unfortunately from day one Mike complained about our kids playing in the pool, specifically the amount of water he was losing daily and its cleanliness. I remember he suggested that 3500 litre's were lost in a single day due to our kids constantly getting out of the pool and jumping in complaining about the associated costs of filling and heating the pool. The pool was dirty when we arrived, you could not see the bottom and required constant deep cleaning the first of which was after only a single day of us actually using it. He tried to insist that our kids should be washing off any sun cream before entering the pool, with 36 degree heat seems pretty unreasonable plus our sun cream was all water proof so once dry it doesn't come off! Needless to say after a few days the pool started to clear so the issue was obviously apparent prior to our arrival.

In addition we were lucky if the pool was open by 10.30am, so if you or your family like an early morning swim you need to head to the river I'm afraid. Mike continued to complain on various occasions to us and even threatened to limit our time in the pool and worst case close it altogether. Other guests staying at the same time to us said that he was the same to them during their stay and had even removed the pool filter at one stage to show them to make his point.

All these issues with the pool were very negative and impacted our ability to relax and enjoy our holiday. But this was nothing in comparison to have to listen to Mike disrespect and complain about other guests to us, but the lowest point in the holiday that was very upsetting to my wife and I was when we overheard him disrespect us to the same guests he was saying negative things to us about. Apparently we were the worst group he had ever had in 10 years, so if like us you enjoy watching and playing with your kids in a pool on holiday and you happen to book here who knows you might just be awarded the new worst group Mike has ever had.

Finally Mike has decided to withhold a percentage of my security deposit, I have emailed him to ask why and have heard nothing from him at all.

After reading this if you are still considering risking a holiday at Cour du Fleuve I hope it's great and we were just very unlucky!

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're sorry you feel the need to make your comments,but would like to explain our viewpoint We have been running our little enterprise for some twelve years now, and have spent considerable time modifying our guidelines to ensure that it provides all our guests with the best holiday we can offer. We also put information on our website and in our booking conditions, which you agreed to and accepted. The reason we installed a pool shower was to prevent an excess of sun creams from interfering with the pool's filtration system,thereby creating cloudy water, a noticeable scum line and unpleasant swimming conditions. You chose to ignore our request that you and your family wash off the excess cream before swimming with the obvious results: cloudy water.The pool was fine when you arrived and cleared the second day after your departure. We ask our guests not to continually bomb or dive for two reasons: in consideration for other guests and the fact that water is a scarce resource here during the very hot summers. You frequently chose to ignore our request, causing distress to others and wasting a valuable resource. We did close the pool, but that was because that morning it was overcast and raining therefore the cover was left on. I explained this to you and the other guests, and also told you that we would uncover it when you wanted to use it. The deposit. You received an explanation for the £8 we charged you within a couple of days of your departure. Two 'not so cheap' wine glasses broken, and the laundering of a new curtain which had your childrens' finger marks on it, your responsibility. This policy is clearly spelt out in the booking conditions Generally our guests do not need to be reminded about the consideration of others. Unknown to you, we were having to make our apologies to our other guests for this holiday being affected by your actions. We are very fortunate that many of our guests return year after year, one family for six years running. We would suggest that they and many others like them appreciate our high standards, peaceful setting and friendly atmosphere.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

We liked it so much we came back!

  • 5 of 5

We first stayed in July 2009 with our teenage daughter and friend. We all loved the Cottage, the location, the views, the pool, the garden and long evenings outside watching the sun set and the stars come out. This year just the two of us came back and stayed in the Sechoir.

A great base to explore round about, and we really appreciated coming back to the peace and calm after a busy day out. We found plenty for everyone to do nearby, including water skiing, canoeing, the open air meals in local villages, candlelit gardens and vineyards -not to mention raiding the local boulangerie for fresh baked goodies!

Mike and Sue are excellent hosts, friendly and offering helpful suggestions about things to do and see. The properties are very well presented, extremely comfortable and well equipped. Gardens and pool also meticulously maintained.

We thoroughly recommend this as a beautiful and relaxing place to stay. We have travelled a lot in France and this really is one of the nicest places we know.


  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Hong Kong

2 delightful weeks

  • 5 of 5

We needed a getaway that was both peaceful and also catered for our children. The house was very well maintained and the pool and toys were perfect for the kids.

There is a lot to do in the vicinity; a small car is recommended for getting about.

From the moment of arrival to departure the owners were friendly and helpful.

I would recommend this location to a friend and will go again next time France beckons.

  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Cour du fleuve - a most beautiful place

  • 5 of 5

We booked Cour du Fleuve as a pretty last minute holiday but were not disappointed. The Cottage (2bed) was absolutely beautiful, tastefully decorated without being over-fussy, exceptionally clean and with the most wonderful views over the river to Tremolat. Waking up in the morning to the sun on the river was a real pleasure.

Mike and Sue met us on arrival and were perfect hosts, always there in the background if we needed them for anything, but never intruding at all. The swimming pool is a delight and the gardens are obviously their pride and joy - absolutely immaculate - but they still let us play badminton on the lawn! Tremolat is a 5 minute drive, with a divine bakery (chocolate mini-doughnuts), a pizzeria and a bistro. The bistro does a FAB chocolate pudding which just has to be eaten! The area is wonderful and it is really easy to get around.

All in all, this is one of the best and most relaxing holidays we have had for a long time. Thank you Mike and Sue, you have the most wonderful place and we WILL see you again! We still have the canoeing on the Dordogne to do! I really cannot fault this property at all and would happily highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
Dublin, Ireland

Fantastic holiday in wonderful location

  • 5 of 5

Cour du Fleuve offers a wonderful holiday experience in the heart of the Dordogne. The location is fantastic, beside the gently flowing Dordogne and close to a range of lovely french villages filled with charm and good food. We loved the markets in Sarlat and Le Bugue and spent many afternoons kayaking along the river and working up an appetite for ice cream and cool beers in Tremolat. The quality of the accomodation is great, immaculately clean and stylish and furnished with great flair. Sue and Mike, the owners were always on hand to offer advice and help and brought us to several march nocturnals where we sat outside eating and drinking as the sun set and the music played. Our teenage children loved the pool, the badminton and the boules and we loved sitting outside on the patio each evening watching the Dordogne meander along. This is a wonderful location for a relaxing holiday - check out the town of Cadouin, a jewel of a place with a wonderful restaurant and a great gallery with contemporary furniture and jewelery. We bought a Warhol themed chair there for our daughter's room and it arrived ten days after our return bringing with it wonderful memories of a great holiday. We flew from Dublin to Toulouse and hired a car for our two week stay.

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
Dublin, Ireland.

Cour du Fleuve (Tabac) June/July 2008

  • 5 of 5

We found Cour du Fleuve to be an excellent property, maintained to a very high standard. Sue and Mike Cope are genuinely committed to ensuring that their guests, adults and children, have a very enjoyable holiday. We experienced nothing but warm hospitality together with great practical advice on local activities. Our property (Tabac) was impeccably clean throughout, as was the pool area, garden and and lawns. Having travelled throughout France, over many years, Cour du Fleuve was our best experience of a gite/holiday cottage. When not relaxing in the peace and quiet we availed of the many holiday activities in the surrounding area. This property is a dream for anyone looking to experience 'real' France.

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2


Nearest Airport
12 Miles
Nearest Barpub
1.5 Miles
Nearest Ferry
350 Miles
Le Havre
Nearest Train
2 Miles
Nearest Motorway
40 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
1.5 Miles
Nearest Beach
120 Miles
Car: recommended

Nestling inside the horseshoe curve of the river, and about 12 miles from Bergerac, Cour du Fleuve lies in an area renowned for its wines and characteristic cuisine, is under thirty minutes from the airport (Ryanair and Flybe). There are a several excellent restaurants within easy reach with many places of interest, from château /castles, gardens, caves, markets and gourmet activities. For the more active, canoeing, water skiing, fishing, tennis walking and cycling are all to be enjoyed in the immediate locality. Also, regular local events, gourmet evenings, hunters’ feasts, concerts ensure plenty of options during the high season to give a taste of the local culture. For children of all ages, there are also a number of interests within a short drive.

For those who enjoy tranquility, Cour du Fleuve offers peaceful surroundings and views, with spectacular sunsets, and a night sky that can only be marveled at. For more information, see our website, linked below.

Golf: There are few a number of golf clubs in the area, a short drive away, which offer can offer a challenge even to the more accomplished. The Golf Clube de Lolivarie at Siorac has eighteen holes, and has been well regarded by our previous guests. Another 18 hole club is Golf de la Marterie at Saint Felix de Reilhac., which is nicely set out. Chateau les Merles has a nine hole course and a driving range. They have web sites and links can be found under the activities tab on our own website.


Rates & Availability

Calès Barn Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Jul 1 2017 - Sep 2 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable damage deposit $366

For up to date availability, please contact us or check our website
Rates include all electricity & gas, linens and facilities. Deposit of £250 per week to be sent with booking form
Optional house cleaning service, on departure £75 (or you can clean it yourselves, and leave as found)
Pool towel hire available for £4 per towel, per week.
We offer a considerable reduction for rents during June and September for a couple. Please contact us to find out more.
We prefer to deal with booking enquiries personally rather than by an automated system as we can advise them about the individual properties. We normally take bookings directly, but we will also use the Homeaway/Owners Direct/VRBO online system if the guest prefers.

The rates table above shows the prices that we charge our guests. We accept payments via bank transfer or cheque. We are also able to accept payments by credit card using the Homeaway payments system. We would like to point out, that should you use their online system, then Homeaway/Owners Direct/VRBO will charge guests, a service fee.

We are happy to provide you with a quote for your holiday rental, just contact us with details of your travel dates and any specific questions or requirements. Or you may find all the information on our

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Calès Barn Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • barn (semi-detached)
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 100 m²
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Village
  • Away From It All
  • Tourist Attractions
  • ISDN Access
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • The main bedroom has a bath/ shower, toilet and washbasin, whilst the other bedrooms have a shower cubicle, toilet and washbasin. Towels are provided.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double , cot available
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • With three double bedrooms, all en-suite, this gives a family plenty of living space. Two of the bedrooms have double beds, and the third has twin beds, all furnished with a wardrobe and dressing tables. Each bedroom is private, with easy access to the en-suite. Downstairs, the lounge equipped with a very comfortable double sofa bed gives additional sleeping area, bringing the number that can be accommodated in the Tabac to eight. Bed linen is provided with good quality duvets and 'mainly cotton' linen. Towels for the bathroom are also provided, and where guests are staying for more than a single week, linen and towels will be changed. Towels for the pool can be hired for an additional fee.
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Terrace
  • 8 garden chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Cour du Fleuve Tabac has a superb view, to the river and lies within a very attractive area of France. The patio area leading out to the garden at the rear looks across fields to the far banks of the Dordogne. The pool is set in a fenced area for security, with areas in which to relax. The ambiance is tranquile and ensures the opportunity to sit on the patio area and take in the view across the river, whether it be during the day or during the peace of the evening. The property offers a cool escape from the heat of the sun, with a generous lounge area, a kitchen where those who want to cook have all the facilities they need, and bedrooms where one can only marvel at the roof structure created 150 years ago. Whether it is to enjoy solitude, or to seek the company of others, the tabac offers superb accommodation both inside and out. The aspect of the property allows guests to enjoy shade or the sun, by using either the front or rear patio, and give space to larger groups.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties