About the property
- Cottage900 sqft
- Half Baths0
- Minimum Stay2 nights
Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Baths, 5 Sleeps
$250 DISCOUNT WHEN BOOKING A FULL WEEK!!
This fully furnished 2 Bed/ 1 bath cottage with 90' of private frontage on 2,063 acre all sports Green Lake has gone through a major renovation in 2012. The remodeling included all new roof, siding, windows, knotty pine walls, ceilings, flooring, landscaping and more... The cottage sits on the South end of Green Lake near the mouth of the Betsie River and 5 minutes to the Interlochen Arts Academy and 15-20 to Traverse City.
The cottage offers a 14' starcraft fishing/row boat and a paddle boat for your private use. Or if you like you can bring your own boat and tie up to the dock. You can also enjoy yourself by lounging on the new brick paver patio with built in fire pit or by spreading the sand beneath your toes on the small beach area. If working is your thing the Wi-Fi reaches the end of the dock.
The Decor has the full "up north" feel to it. Log beds, end tables, leather furniture, knotty pine throughout ect. (NEW LEATHER COUCHES, MATTRESSES & KUERIG COFFEE MAKER SPRING 2015).
The area has so much to offer with top ten ratings for travelers, food enthusiasts, winery lovers and beach goers. Enjoy a book in the hammock with the morning sun and a round of golf at one of the many highly recognized golf courses in the afternoon.
The cottage is privately owned and is not set-up for more than 5 people total (including children of any age), there is a $100 per person/per week fee for any people over the 5/person limit and must be approved by the owner. This is taken very seriously as we base the price of the rental on a total of 5 people (including children). Thanks for your respect on this issue.
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within one day
- Calendar last updated:
- Apr 08, 2018
This was a "spur of the moment trip" for us and did we ever luck out!! The owner was really accommodating. The place was super clean and the beds were comfy. Great patio and fireplace for a fire, also the big platform dock and gravity chairs were spot on for a beautiful sunrise and sunset! We will be back for sure!! Thanks so much!!
FRUIT FLIES EVERYWHERE MADE FOR A MISERABLE WEEK!! Would not consider a return visit.
As advertised the cottage is small. It's the size of a double wide trailer, which makes sense as it's surrounded by neighbors all in trailers. The house is close quarters and not very well ventilated. There was no air conditioner and the temperature in the house rose to the 80's making for very uncomfortable sleeping conditions considering there are no ceiling fans. The fruit flies emerged from the sinks in both the bathroom and kitchen from the moment we turned on the faucet. With no ventilation the bathroom stayed quite humid and sticky creating a breeding ground for the fruit flies. We made some traps to catch them but it was disgusting. The kitchen was swarming with fruit flies every time you walked in. All the dishes in the house are old, plastic plates that are all scratched up, with no dishwasher I wasn't confident they were very clean so we purchased paper plates and plastic cups. The water is well water and tastes horrible. We weren't warned about that and had to go purchase many jugs of spring water. The bed was not comfortable for us, my husband was so miserable he decided to sleep on the bottom bunk which is full sized. The lake had a warm temperature but the bottom is very murky and your feet sink right in. The water surrounding the dock is filled with lily pads, so unless you rent a boat to leave the cottage, don't expect to go swimming. Also, beware as we saw signs warning about swimmers itch in the lake! The fire pit is a nice set up but the mosquitoes at night are very bad there and we were getting eaten up. The surrounding neighbors are very close in proximity and were quite loud, there's a big dog that made me uncomfortable with our young children. Overall we did not enjoy our time at Green Lake and will not return.
Well I am very sorry that you didnt have a good time. First negative review in 5 years. Allow me to address your concerns as I take all of our reviews very serious.
I am certain this review is stemming from my concern I addressed to you for the condition in which you left our cottage. In 5 years I've never seen our cottage left in this condition. When we first spoke you said you had a great time, your tune changed dramatically when I questioned why you left our cottage in the condition you did. Dishes with food stuck on them piled high in the sink. Food left all over the counters and floors. Food ground into the living room rug and in between the cushions on the leather sofa's. A whole set of towels and bath linens that needed to be thrown away, not to mention the sheets that were soiled with urine that also got tossed. Clearly your children didnt go to bed in pull ups and were free to roam around with their food.
To clarify, there is an AC unit. A very expensive unit that is on wheels and only takes a few seconds to plug in and turn on. Sorry you decided not to use it.
To clarify, the cottage has a full kitchen of dishes and supplies to cook anything you want. Do we have some plastic plates that are geared to be used outside for grilling and picnicking? absolutely!! I'm sorry that you felt using plastic plates was beneath you. Perhaps you should have used the nicer "inside" set of plates you failed to mention.
Yes, the water is well water. Well water will sometimes have a different taste than city water. But it's certainly not horrible!
With regards to the beds. The master bed mattress was bought brand new 9 months ago and the other two mattresses are less than 2 years old. Sorry it didnt suit what you are used to.
With regards to the surrounding neighbors of which there is only one. I spoke with him and he said he wasnt even up that week not too mention he is a family guy with 2 kids so I dont buy the "quite loud" comment and he doesnt even have a dog.
In regards to the swimmers itch, every lake in Northern Michigan has a sign for "possible" swimmers itch so that's nothing new. However, even though you didn't get it I appreciate you informing everyone that it's possible.
Welcome to the great North, mosquitoes are present, that's why we have the woods sprayed and supply OFF as a nice gesture. The guests before and after you said it wasnt an issue.
Clearly you're looking to bad mouth us because we questioned your disrespect towards our cottage, shameful!
Great get away
thank you Joel for letting my family enjoy your wonderful cottage. It is a very nice spot on green lake. Lots of fun fishing and boating and getting away from it all. Look forward to our stay next year.
Beautiful!! Cabin is perfect on a perfect lake!
The cabin is very cozy and relaxing. We loved being on the lake. Our kids fished and used the paddle boat daily. We also explored Sleeping Bear Dunes and hiked a few trails. Traverse City was also a fun day trip, lots to do and great food! Overall it has been a fantastic vacation and we plan to return!
Really nice cabin with great view of the lake. Super clean. We will definitely come back.
Clean and nice.
The activites in the area are numerous. We are ideally located 5 minutes from the Interlochen Academy for the Arts and state park, 15 minutes from the Mall (just in case it rains!),2 movie complexes, and 20-25 minutes from downtown Traverse City, near Sleeping Bear Dunes, Platte river, Lake Michigan, many (27) golf courses, dozens of restaurants, Crystal Mountain skiing, snowmobile trails, and the wine country. The list could go on and on... If you don't want to venture out, The lake's temperature is one of the warmer ones in the area. Skiing, boating, wake boarding, etc are allowed (and encouraged) on this all sports lake. Relax, you're on vacation! Visit us on Facebook for more info and pics at green lake cottages llc.