Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Crooked Lake Vacation Home

Bedrooms 4
Space 2,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights


About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 8

Bring the family and your own personal water craft toys to beautiful Crooked Lake. This is the perfect location for leaf peeping or a ski weekend. Centrally located to just about anywhere – Albany, Saratoga Springs, Jimminy Peak, The Berkshires, Lake George, and Woodstock, Cooperstown – just to name a few.

Sit around the fire pit with a glass of wine, throw some steaks on the grill, and relax with the beautiful view.

The house is a 2400 sq. foot beautiful contemporary with large open plan on the first floor. The kitchen has a breakfast bar that seats 6. There is a downstairs full bath and a laundry room. A twin trundle bed that sleeps 2 is in the front room for easy access.

The living room boasts French doors that open out to the large deck. The dining room table can extend to seat 10 – 12 people.

The second floor contains another full bath and 3 bedrooms – one king, 1 queen size, and 2 twin beds. Each bedroom has a ceiling fan for extra comfort. There are 2 queen size sleeper sofas in the upstairs loft.

The living room and loft both have 42in flat screen t.v. with cable and blue ray players. Wireless internet and basic cable is throughout the house as well.

We ask our guest to check in no earlier than 1:00 pm and to check out no later than 11am. Please ask if different accommodations are needed.

There is no smoking on the property and no pets allowed

The owners live on the property in a separate apartment so there is no issue that can not be taken care of immediately.

Like us on Facebook to find out our most recent activities or ask questions! Just search Reinhardt Crooked Lakehouse.

Who knows, you just might find some special offers on the page!

More Details

Janet Reinhardt
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 27, 2017

About Janet Reinhardt

We have been married for over 30 years - growing up in Schenectady. We are business owners and operate out of Troy, N.Y.

Janet Reinhardt purchased this house in 2001

Why Janet Reinhardt chose New York

The address is 70 Holser Rd Extension, Averill Park NY. We built our dream home back in 2001 and raised our 3 kids here. We found Averill Park and Crooked Lake while driving around looking for that special property that would be close to our business in Troy, but still give us the country living. The kids grew up and moved out. We decided to make our house available for families looking to enjoy our beautiful lake and quaint town just like we did (and still do)

What makes this house unique

Being so close to the lake and having the large deck makes this property unique. It is great for family reunions or just quiet relaxation. Crooked Lake has a nice mix of seasonal 'camps' and year round homes so no matter what time of year there are always friendly neighbors nearby. Because it is a private lake, it is never overly busy with activity. You can be as active as you want or as laid back.


Averill Park House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Downstairs Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Upstairs Bedroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • King Bedroom Upstairs - 1 king
    Queen Bedroom Upstairs - 1 queen
    Twin Bedroom Upstairs - 2 twin/ single
    Trundle Bedroom Downstairs - 2 twin/ single
  • DVD Player ...
  • Foosball
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • swimming
75' of private lake frontage - great for icefishing 30 minutes from skiing large deck for entertaining, grilling, picnic, relaxing - gas grill on deck patio table with umbrella that seats 6 plus 3 small tables that each seat 2 2 chaise lounge chairs with cushions on the deck for sunbathing dock for your personal water craft fishing, boating, swimming large eat in kitchen gorgeous sun rises for that morning cup of coffee plenty of private and public golf courses to choose from all linens, pillows, blankets, and bath towels are furnished great mountain view for fall foliage viewing fire pit by the shore to relax and enjoy a glass of wine


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

Crooked Lake Vacation Home
average rating of 4.733333 based on 15 reviews

Escape from the busy life to relax and enjoy this beautiful home and Crooked Lake.

  • 5 of 5

Escape from the busy life to relax and enjoy this beautiful home and Crooked Lake. Rented this home for the first time for a small family reunion with our son who’s in the Navy and my wife’s sister’s family. The home has a great open concept layout, lots of room to spread out including, 4 bedrooms and a pull out couch. There were 9 of us but we never felt cramped.

Most of our time was spent outside. The lake itself is a private lake which has many perks including not being very busy and the other boaters we encountered were very respectful. I think these 2 items made this place extra special and would always make me want to come back. If you’ve spent any time at all boating or fishing in the state parks you can relate to how some people can act and who likes to deal with that. The fishing was excellent, very clear water. View from the huge deck is outstanding. Kids and parents had lots for fun with the kayaks, row boat or just floating on our rafts. Our next favorite activity was the fire pit, it’s right by the lake and what a great way to end the day.

The property itself was very clean and well maintained, owner provided great customer service and would recommend staying here.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. You and your family were a pleasure to have at our home. We are very happy you enjoyed all that our Vacation Rental has to offer. Hoping we meet again.......
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Fabulous lake house

  • 5 of 5

Stayed here with 6 adults and 4 children. Was a great long weekend of fishing, boating, relaxing on the large deck overlooking the water and also down at the lakeside firepit. The house is beautiful and had everything we needed!!

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location! Beautiful lakeside home perfect for relaxing.

  • 5 of 5

Owners super friendly and accommodating. House has everything needed for a home away from home.

  • Submitted: May 21, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect vacation for the family

  • 5 of 5

My family had a wonderful time at this vacation home. We had six adults and two small children. We were very comfortable here with four bedrooms. Having two full baths with this many people was great. All the towels and linens were provided and there is a washer and dryer if needed.

My wife and I grew up in the Capital District and have a lot of family in the area. We had multiple gatherings and were able to entertain an additional 10-20 people in comfort on the large deck and in the comfortable living area. The kitchen is a dream to prepare meals and entertain. We also put the grill on the deck to good use.

My city girl granddaughter was exposed to many new experiences. Lake swimming, kayaking, fishing and making smores at the fire pit. The dock is nice for swimming and fishing. I caught a few bass just fishing from there in the evenings.

Jan and Bill, the owners, were very welcoming and helpful. The home is located in a very nice, small neighborhood. The locals were cordial and friendly. Only a short drive into Sand Lake for anything you need.

Overall a wonderful experience for me and my family. I would definitely would do it again.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Beautiful getaway!

  • 5 of 5

Thank you so much Bill and Jan for sharing your beautiful home with us! This house has everything you could possibly need! The view, the deck! We enjoyed our stay so much! A truly special place.

Sheree W.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

The only negative part of our wedding weekend

  • 1 of 5

We booked this home for our bridal party to stay in and to have a cookout for our rehearsal dinner. We got married at The Crooked Lake House just minutes away. It was great to have a "home base" for everyone to gather. Upon arrival, the owner met us, but was extremely brief and did not leave a booklet of information - there is just a single piece of paper on the refrigerator without much detail. Her dog also jumped up on my mom's white pants and was walking in and out of the house. We inquired about having our dog come over for a few hours and she said that was fine as long as she stayed outside. When our dog did arrive we got attitude and were immediately asked when she was leaving (keep in mind, we have an extremely well-behaved dog who does not bark or dig). We had our rehearsal dinner and felt like teenagers begin chaperoned with the owners on the property. On the day of check-out my bridesmaids were rudely reminded to clean up and be out by 11 - even though the online page says noon. Overall, the house is beautiful, we didn't have time to swim or use the boat, but it's right there. We were charged for things that were not clearly outlined (honestly, it's extremely difficult to find any of the rental information) and did not have any positive encounters with the owners. There was a downpour in the middle of our wedding ceremony - but staying at this house was the only negative part of our wedding!

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry to see your review. This must be your retaliation for being charged the extra $150 for the excess trash and spilled red wine that had to be cleaned from one of our sleeper sofas. We take pride in our home and hospitality. It shows in all of the reviews around yours. Let me review you and your party to set the record straight. On arrival you had a dog, our listing plainly states “no pets”. You brought it anyway and are surprised by the cold greeting? Then you left your dog on the deck alone, tied up for five hours! Do you like your dog? Our listing plainly states “no smoking”. Your party was smoking pot on the deck. Really? We could have tossed you right then but didn’t, after all it was your wedding. Our listing plainly states “No rentals to those under 30” yet we rented to you anyway. Live and learn... From now on we will be sticking to that rule. You said “one party”, then had two. That was okay but did you notice how much trash your group created? Our listing states we charge extra for parties and disposal of excess trash. The Salmon dinner dropped in our parking area and left to rot showed your lack of regard for other people’s property. We are those other people. Your brides maid was not happy when she was told to pick up the Salmon dinner. We knew this rental, and you, were going to be trouble when you showed up with the dog. We feel you and your party were next to the worst guests we have had in 5 years of sharing our home on Vacation Rentals. The worst were a bunch of West Point Cadets. We didn't see that one coming but that is why we set the age limit to 30. We are very sorry we made the exception for you, the only negative of "our" weekend.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 2


Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Albany International Airport
Nearest Barpub
1.5 Miles
Lakeview Restaurant
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Burden Lake Country Club
Nearest Train
10 Miles
Rensselaer Amtrak Train Station
Nearest Motorway
7 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
1.5 Miles
Lakeview Restaurant
Nearest Ski
15 Miles
Jiminy Peak
Car: necessary
Other Activities:

Top Thing to do in City:

* Golf at Burden Lake CC.

* Sand Lake Center for the Arts.

* Ski Jiminy Peak.

* Barrington Stage.

* Sand Lake Town Events.

Top Thing to do in Budget:

* Grafton State Park.

* NY State Museum.

* Childrens Museum in Troy.

* Water activities on the lake.

* Farmer's Markets and Apple Orchards.

Top Thing to do in Family:

* Great Escape (80 mins).

* Jiminy Peak (25 minutes).

* Hancock Shaker Village.

* Howes Caves ( 70 min).

* Saratoga Springs State Park.

20 minutes to Albany, Capital of NY State. State Museum, Historic Capital Buildings, Washington Park, Live at the Lakehouse, All types of Dining

25 minutes to Jiminy Peak, a year round attraction

20 minutes to Troy, Dining, RPI, Entertainment, Childrens Museum,

1 hour to Saratoga Race and Harness tracks, Saratoga Performing Arts Center, Saratoga Spa State Park, Lincoln Mineral Baths,

2.5 hours on the Taconic Parkway and West Side highway to Manhattan


Rates & Availability

Averill Park House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
July 4th Week
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 5 2017
4 night minimum stay
Labor Day Weekend
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $700

Minimum 3 night stay
Nightly prices based on 8 people, $50.00/night added per person over 8 guests.
If your actual party is larger than your original reservation, the above rate will be withheld from your deposit.
Maximum of 12 people for continual stay
Deposit required with contract and balance paid 10 days before arrival.
All major credit cards are accepted
A rental contract and deposit will be required to hold the dates
Check in time after 1pm and check out before 11am
An additional $100 fee will be charged for any parties held on the property.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner

You might like these similar properties