Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Loon Lake Retreat with Private Dock

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,496 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 8

Come and enjoy a peaceful retreat in the Adirondacks and wake to the call of the Loons on the lake, it will be a vacation the whole family will remember for years to come.

This is truly a house for all seasons.with activities for everyone. Loon Lake is a crystal clear lake renowned for its watersports and fishing. With our own dock, reserved exclusively for the use of our guests, bring your boat, your kayaks and canoes, your water skis or just sit and watch the sun set over beautiful Mt. Kipp. In autumn the lake is still quite warm, fish are biting and the long, golden days are glorious and peaceful. Winter brings with it a new wave of outdoor sports- skiing, snowboarding, snowmobiling, snowshoeing and tubing!

A contemporary salt box style home with 3 bedrooms and 2 baths on two levels make it ideal for several couples vacationing together, a family with children, or an extended family wishing to spend time together, but still provide everyone a bit of privacy.. Plenty of room for everyone to relax after a fun-filled day on the lake or exploring the Adirondack Mountains.

What more could you ask for than a beautiful, non-commercial and pristine lake with the majestic Adirondacks rising up from the shores. It is the ideal spot for swimming, water skiing, wakeboarding, fishing or just soaking up the glorious views and sunsets.

This modern cedar home is nestled on three private acres full of tall pines, providing filtered lake views. The path to one of two sandy beaches is directly across from the house. Just 400 feet from front deck to your private dock where you can get on your boat or just enjoy the sunsets. The second beach is just a short stroll away at the end of this quiet dead-end road.

About 1/4 mile down the road is Loon Lake Marina where all fishing/boating/water sports rentals and supplies are available. The lake provides excellent fishing, water skiing, swimming or just watching the spectacular sunsets from the dock. Just minutes away there are great restaurants, charming local shops,great amusement parks, other attractions, and just about every outdoor activity you could want. Gore Mountain is just 8 miles away car with mountain biking and gondola rides and Saratoga, just south of us, is in high season throughout the summer months.

Beautifully furnished and immaculately maintained, this home features an open floor plan, cathedral ceilings, cozy brick fireplace with hand-hewn rustic mantle and two decks (front and rear) to enjoy the views. With one bedroom/bath on the first floor and two bedrooms connected by a bath on the second, it's ideal for couples or the family.

A brand new, gourmet kitchen with stone counters and breakfast bar leading you to the rear deck and outdoor gas grill complete the amenities. The kitchen is fully stocked with all the cooking implements a chef could want-coffee maker, toaster, blender, food processor,and full size microwave. A stove with oven, full size refrigerator with automatic ice-maker and of course, a dishwasher.

The dining room and living room are open to the kitchen, so no one gets left out no matter what they are doing. Both dining room and living room are furnished in a contemporary style with an Adirondack flair.

There is a large, flat screen television with cable service as well as internet access for our guests. A Bose stereo with CD player and remote control are there for your enjoyment.

In the living room an open staircase and upstairs balcony allow access to the 2 upper bedrooms. The over-sized master bedroom has a queen bed, while the other bedroom has 2 twin beds. Both of these bedrooms have direct access to a full marble-tiled bath with tub and shower.

The first floor bedroom has a queen bed and an adjoining full bath with shower.

On the front deck guests will find a dining set with adjustable umbrella as well as Adirondack chairs and footrests for lounging.

A full laundry room ( we even provide the detergent),ironing board and iron are located on the lower level. And guest are welcome to use the one car garage on this level. This is also where you will find the firewood for those romantic evenings around the fireplace.

We are skiers and for years have kept this gem to ourselves during the winter months. Now we are happy to share it with other families so they too can make some great memories in the Adirondacks.. Just a 10-15 minute drive to beautiful, family-friendly Gore Mountain. So come play in the snow and curl up in front a warm fire when you are done. Plenty of space for everyone to unwind after a day on the slopes!

We have tried to anticipate all the little things that can make your stay truly memorable, right down to nightlights in the bathrooms!

Sorry, but we do not accept bookings for groups of guests under age 25. Maximum number of guests is 8, including all children.

More Details

Lynn Kiraly
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 24, 2017

About Lynn Kiraly

My husband and I had been coming to the Adirondacks since we were teenagers. We swam in the clear lakes in summer, hiked the high peaks and camped in the fall and skied in the winter. As our children began to grow it became clear it was time to buy our own little piece of paradise. Soon we were bringing them, and their friends for weeks or weekends at this lovely home. So many wonderful memories have been made here, we invite you and your family to come and do the same.

Lynn Kiraly purchased this house in 2001

Why Lynn Kiraly chose Lake George Area

We knew this house was perfect from the moment we first stepped inside. The open floor plan, the cozy Adirondack touches and modern amenities really appealed to our family. And the location was perfect.

What makes this house unique

Two private beaches just steps away, private dock and proximity to Gore Mountain.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We loved our stay at this house this winter. House was spotless, well furnished and maintained. Kitchen was beautiful and well equipped. Everything was just as the listing says. Owner was great to work with, flexible with check in and check out times, couldn't have been more professional or cordial.

House is just short drive from Gore Mountain, with snow mobile paths right around Loon Lake. After a day enjoying the outdoors the wood fireplace was a treat, and even the fire wood was provided?

We had such a good time the whole family wants to make this an annual event!

Thank you for sharing your lovely home with us.
Feb 2017
  • 1 of 8


Chestertown House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1496 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Rural ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - combination tub/shower , bidet , Carrera Marble floor
  • Second floor bathroom is shared by the master and other bedroom. It is modern, with a full bath and shower and marble floor. First floor bathroom is connected to the living area and the bedroom, and has a stall shower. Both baths have shower massagers.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • Master has a queen size bed and direct access to a shared bath. Other second floor bedroom has 2 twin beds and direct access to the shared bath (bathroom is between master and second floor bedroom). First floor bedroom has one queen bed and direct access to a full bath. There is a queen size sleeper sofa in the living room.
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Living/Dining Area has a wood burning fireplace, Color Television with cable, vcr/dvd, with many books, games and movies We have internet access too. Kitchen features a refrigerator with ice maker, automatic coffee maker, full electric stove and large oven, dishwasher, breakfast bar with stools, granite counters, food processor, blender, electric fry pan and crock pot. All brand new tile throughout, including adjacent bath. Front deck has table and chairs with umbrella as well as Adirondack chairs for sunning, reading, etc. Rear deck has a Weber gas barbeque with additional side burner. Upstairs master bedroom is spacious with a queen size bed and marble-tiled bath. This bath is shared with other upstairs bedroom. Lower level is a one car garage,and a laundry room with a Washer and Dryer.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(21 traveler reviews)

Loon Lake Retreat with Private Dock
average rating of 4.7619047 based on 29 reviews

Beautiful, clean home with great owners

  • 5 of 5

Loved this house. Owner was a delight to work with, responsive, flexible, just great. House was immaculate and so well equipped. Everything I wanted, and some I hadn't even realized I would want, was there. We had a great time skiing and snowmobiling then cooking dinner in the fabulous kitchen, chilling in front of the fire after.........

Perfect time with family and friends, can't wait to come back next winter.

  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure to share our home with your family. We looking forward to seeing you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect house, one of the best ever

  • 5 of 5

The whole family really loved this house. Beautifully decorated and maintained, clean, modern and well appointed. Kitchen is great. Great open floor plan really worked for us. Nice to have a wood burning fireplace after a day of winter sports. Beds are super comfortable. Full laundry room with heat vent to dry and warm your boots. Great open floor plan really worked for us. We plan on making this an annual stay.

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: My family fell in love with this house at first sight. Now we are happy to share it with others. It is always such a pleasure for us to host happy, satisfied guests. Thank you for taking such good care of our house and taking the time to write a review for us.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful home, perfect getaway

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful home, just as promised. The house was perfect, location great, owner was easy to work with and accommodating, everything we needed was there and more!

We all had a great time and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, will definitely be back.

Thank you for sharing your lovely home with us.

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We love to help families make great memories. Exceeding expectations is what we like to do. We would love to have you come back and visit again. Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Stay!

  • 5 of 5

We had the greatest experience, the cabin is extremely cozy and in the perfect location. With a great response time and an amazing cabin setup, this hostess offers a real catch. I would definitely come back and I hope other people get to enjoy this relaxing environment.

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay. We are always delighted to share this wonderful home with others and strive to make each guest's experience as relaxing and memorable as possible. Thanks for taking time to share your experience so others can book with confidence.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Dirty house, defensive homeowner

  • 2 of 5

I had the unfortunate task of notifying the homeowner that there were concerns over the housekeeping. It looked like the housekeeper had forgotten to clean areas of the kitchen, did not vacuum the area rugs nor did he/she wash the bedding downstairs. I emailed the owner my concerns along with photos of the obviously unclean areas. The owner became defensive, faulting me for finding the house dirty, never came to inspect and never sent a housekeeper. So, I ended up doing the cleaning myself. I appealed to the homeowner to retract the cleaning fee, but she denied my request. She felt the fee was justified since no one else had ever complained about the housekeeping before. If, in fact, no one had ever complained before, then the homeowner should have been on high alert that something was certainly wrong. This whole ordeal was so unfortunate and it certainly put a dampener on our ski weekend. A more attentive and responsive homeowner would have resolved these issues easily. I have filed a formal complaint with Home away.

  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry you were not 100% satisfied, but there are two sides to every story and what you have written is grossly untrue. Your review states the house was dirty in general, when at the time you had a few, very specific issues. You did not call to voice your concerns, but sent an email AFTER you had been in the house OVERNIGHT, cooked and eaten 2 meals with your family. I did immediately offer to send the housekeeper over, which you flatly refused and demanded a refund. I could not visit myself as I was 275 miles away at the time. I would like to clarify for future guests what your complaints actually were. After your family moved in and spent more than half a day enjoying the house you told me that you found a spot on the toaster oven and another on the kitchen faucet. While it is possible the housekeeper missed this, it is equally possible this was the result of your family's activity. You also noticed a small spot on one (virtually brand new) blanket. In the closet were many more, clean and folded blankets for your use. We have a Dyson vacuum because I am serious about CLEAN! The piece of lint you found on one rug appeared to be a bit of the cotton fringe that was ripped off by the beaters and stuck to the wool in the corner. All rugs are thoroughly vacuumed between guests, wood and tile floors swept and mopped. I leave a welcome letter at the house and ask all guests to call immediately if they have any problems, concerns or general questions. I leave my cell phone because we want all guests to have a relaxing and exceptional experience in the Adirondacks. Any concerns are immediately addressed. You did not notify promptly of your concerns, you refused to let me send the housekeeper over, would not allow me an opportunity to address your issues.. Nothing was going to make you happy short of a refund. I would never expect any guest to stay in a home that was not up to my personal standards and rest assured they are very high. I hope that future guests will not be prejudiced by this retaliatory review and see it for what it is.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location, convenient to Gore Mountain

  • 5 of 5

Our group stayed here for a weekend ski trip to Gore Mountain. The cabin was great for our stay, everyone in the group had positive feedback for it. It is nicely furnished, with plenty of room in the living and dining area to hang out after a day on the ski slopes. The kitchen was excellent for cooking meals, it was well stocked with cookware and dishware. The garage was perfect for storing our ski gear overnight, and the washer and dryer were much appreciated for having dry, clean jackets and gloves. The Internet connection was solid, and we enjoyed having cable TV. Gore Mountain was about a 15 minute drive from here, very easy to get back and forth from North Creek.

  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Happy guests are our number one goal. So glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again sometime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
OP Frederick's
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Northway, I-87
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
OP Frederick's
Nearest Ski
8 Miles
Gore Mountain
Nearest Beach
100 Metres
Loon Lake Association-across road
Car: recommended
Other Activities:

Top Thing to do in City:

* Waterskiing/wakeboarding.

* Fishing.

* Swimming.

* Nature Walks.

* Horseback riding.

Top Thing to do in Budget:

* Watersports.

* Hiking.

* Campfires.

* Fishing.

* Cycling.

Top Thing to do in Family:

* Great Escapes Amusement Park.

* Watersports.

* Fishing.

* Nature Walks.

* Campfires.

Loon Lake is prized for it's variety of water sports, fantastic fishing ( 9 species at last count) and fabulous sunsets.

Horseback riding, canoeing, kayaking, river rafting, hiking, fishing, cycling, mountain biking are all available in the immediate area.

Lake George is just 20 minutes away with everything you could want in a town known for generations as a vacation destination. Great Escapes Amusement Park with rides, shows and a fabulous water park can also be found in Lake George.

Garnet Mines, The Underground River, and a ride on an antique steam locomotive are also just a few miles away.

Seasonal activities include apple picking, snowmobiling, skiing (both downhill and cross country),snowboarding, ice skating, tubing, sledding and snowshoeing.


Rates & Availability

Chestertown House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Early Summer
May 30 2017 - Jun 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
Jul 1 2017 - Aug 26 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Labor Day Weekend
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
Winter/Ski 1
Dec 2 2017 - Jan 11 2018
2 night minimum stay
Martin LutherKing Weekend
Jan 12 2018 - Jan 15 2018
3 night minimum stay
Winter/Ski 2
Jan 16 2018 - Feb 15 2018
2 night minimum stay
President's Week
Feb 16 2018 - Feb 25 2018
2 night minimum stay
Winter/Ski 2
Feb 26 2018 - Mar 31 2018
2 night minimum stay
Memorial Day Weekend
May 25 2018 - May 28 2018
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $400
Cleaning fee $90 + Tax
Tax Rate 8.0%

During the Summer months we require a one week stay, beginning and ending on a Saturday. Most other times of the year, the minimum stay is 2 nights and turnover days are flexible.
Certain holiday weekends and President's Week require a minimum 3 night stay and rates may be slightly higher.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner

You might like these similar properties