check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Agi

Member since: 1997
Speaks: english, hungarian

Riverfront Paradise - Minutes from Wolf Creek Ski Area

Sleeps16
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

South Fork House Rental Photos and Description

5 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 14-16)

Private deck overlooks the South Fork of the Rio Grande. Take a short trail to scenic Million Reservior. Surrounded by national forest and hundreds of miles of trails for ATVs, mountain bikes, and backpacking. Gold Medal fishing in the area. Secluded atmosphere, yet just 2 miles from shopping. With new carpeting and wood floors, this cabin is clean, comfortable and well equipped, with lots of room to spread out in. Log beds, and new furniture, large outdoor deck, complement the mountain views!

Leave the crowds and high prices of the Summit area behind and ski Wolf Creek (20 minutes), the most snow in Colorado and still the cheapest lift tickets. Cabin is located 2 miles up Beaver Creek Road off Highway 160 at South Fork and only 1/4 mile from paved road...the road is plowed to the front door!

Keywords: House

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Agi (Owner)
Member since: 1997
Speaks: english, hungarian

About Agi

Dan & Agi has owned vacation rentals for over 20 years. We know what people need when coming to Colorado, and we are always glad to help visitors make the most out of their vacation.

Agi purchased this house in 1999

Why Agi chose South Central Colorado

Dan Schmedeman (owner) has designed and built dozens of log homes through out the Colorado Rockies. There is no place in Colorado more scenic then South Fork, and our cabin is setting in the middle of one of the nicest location in the area. After a few days at the cabin, you will not want to go home.

What makes this house unique

My favorite time is the early fall when i can get up early, get my cup of coffee and walk down to the river or Million Resevoir for some trout fishing.

Guestbook comments from the owner

This is the 3rd visit and it's better then ever. Best location in the area and very private with easy access, even in the winter. The owner has made a number of upgrades recently. New glass top range, microwave, TV, and furniture. We'll be back soon.
Aug 2010
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)
Riverfront Paradise - Minutes from Wolf Creek Ski Area
average rating of 4.181818 based on 13 reviews
Wichita, Kansas
2

Our experience fell short.

  • 2 of 5

I will first say that the property owner was always pleasant with us, the South Fork area is near some nice touristy areas, and the property is in a quiet and safe neighborhood. There is a quick path to the river. The RV hookups were a bonus. There were a few things worth mentioning about our experience and the property details. If you are traveling in the Summer, make note this home does not have a cooling unit or AC. This would have been a deal breaker had we noticed before booking. We also arrived to a warm refrigerator that we could not get cooled down. A few days into our stay, someone came and did a tune-up and it was cooled by the following day. The home does have bedding and linens but we unfortunately found used/soiled items in the laundry. Also, no one thought to mention the master bathroom sink was out of order. Otherwise, I would say the house is clean but nothing fancy. It is pretty basic. I imagine it to be a wonderful option for sportsmen or those just needing a soft bed and pillow under their head at night. We had several little ones on vacation with us on nap schedules and were in/out quite a bit. South Fork met our needs. Overall, we made the best of it.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Not much to respond to. Frig was fixed and plumber was sent out the same day it was brought to my attention. As for A/C. You probably won't find a cabin in the South Fork area at over 8,000 feet with A/C. Heat waves do happen, but our normal highs are in the 80's and lows in the 40s. If you're coming to sit in front of an air conditioner, stay home because our guests are out enjoying the most scenic area of Colorado, and you can always cool off in the Rio Grande river 100 feet from the cabin.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Family Ski Vacation

  • 5 of 5

This cabin was perfect for our family of 8. We enjoyed the wood burning stove, large dining room table, and 3 bathrooms. We could easily spread out but still be together, too. We would definitely recommend it and will request it again on our next ski trip to Wolf Creek.

  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Central Texas
4

South fork - a perfect location

  • 4 of 5

The Home on Beaver Creek was the perfect location for our family and the perfect size. We had a wonderful time and the owners were good to deal with.

There are a few things that need to be fixed but that did not hinder our fun. :)

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
colorado
5

wonderful log cabin

  • 5 of 5

Perfect location for a weekend skiing Wolf Creek. the owners were friendly and very easy to work with regarding payment and the details of our stay. The house was clean and had more than enough amenities for our large group. Would definitely stay again!

  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Ski trip

  • 5 of 5

Cabin was very nice, everything was clean and in working order. We will absolutely stay there again in the future.

  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Cozy Cabin

  • 5 of 5

This is a great cabin with all amenities. We stayed for 4 nights and didn't have one complaint. The kitchen-dining area is really open and big enough to accommodate several people. We really enjoyed our stay. Thanks so much.

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Downhill skiing/boarding, Floating/Rafting, Hundreds of miles of jeep/ATV trails, Sledding within 1 mile

Photos

Rates & Availability

South Fork House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Jun 1 2016 - Sep 30 2016
4 night minimum stay
$300
$1,800
 
 
Christmas/New Year
Dec 19 2016 - Jan 3 2017
4 night minimum stay
$300
$1,800
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Tax Rate 7.4%

We accept payment by check. We can accept credit cards for a 3.5%+$0.15 transaction fee.
Check-in 3:00 p.m, check-out 10:00 a.m.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

South Fork House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Waterfront ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • King size beds (2) 2 king beds on the main floor, Queen size Beds (2) 2 queen beds upstairs, Double Beds (1) a full size futon, Twin or Single Beds (5) 4 twin beds in kids dorm plus an extra mattress, Child Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1) We also have a Fisher Price play pen available, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
Notes:
Pets by special arrangement, No Smoking in cabin, TV (satellite), Stereo/CD Player, Large kitchen/seating area, Washer/Dryer, Baseboard heat, Woodburning stove, TV/VCR in separate kid's room, Roads plowed, RV hookup available

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties