Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Sleeps 6.Pets welcome! 90 steps to beach! Quality furnishings, well maintained.

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,150 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 4 nights


About the property

1930's cottage style upstairs/downstairs duplex, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, Sleeps 6

Second house back from the beach, 90 steps to Vilano Beach! 2 queen bedroom, one queen sleeper sofa, 1 bath, sleeps 6. All pets accepted. Just bring your swimsuits!

Vacation rental etiquette is expected. As the owners, we embrace the standard rule of "leave it like you found it" and "pay it forward for the next guests".We have a high expectation of respect and gentle care of our past home and future retirement home.

Option 1 - Operation Ready!:

Includes wash/dry linens/towels & remake beds. Sweep floors. Clean dishes, kitchen/refrigerator, grill. Trash/recycle bagged and placed in bins.

** Owners will mop floors and sanitize bathrooms.

*** Please remember....for the same cost of a 2 bed nice hotel room ....your family and friends can enjoy 1000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor living space.

Option 2 - Employ Maid Service:

Communicate with owners before booking that you wish to opt out of cleaning. Additional cost of $150.

Visit all the great restaurants in our growing Vilano Town Center or several within a 2 mile drive!.

New Publix grocery/liquor/pharmacy store is 1/4 mile!

You will also find a fishing pier with Intracoastal views and fantastic sunsets. Take a stroll under the beautiful Usina Bridge on the nature boardwalk….lots of wildlife. The bridge is also a popular walking, biking and running destination to exercise or just take in the breath taking view of the Atlantic Ocean.

Intracoastal Inlet and Historic Downtown all at once!

Historic St Augustine is well known for its rich history, music and art festivals, live music venues, cultural events and fine restaurants.

Other points of interest points of interest close by include Guana State Park and Estuary Museum; Anastasia State Park; St Augustine Lighthouse and Museum; St Augustine Amphitheater; Lightner Museum, Flagler College, World Class Golf Courses, Alligator Farm; Public Boat Launch, Outlet Shopping Malls; Cinema and Live Theatre.

Day trips:

* Daytona Beach 55 min.

* Jacksonville 30 min.

* Orlando 2 1/2hrs

Our beautiful, art filled cottage features high quality furnishings and private, engaging outdoor area. The fully stocked kitchen has a washer and dryer, microwave, coffee maker, blender and toaster. . The living room is cozy and accommodating with cable TV & DVD. Both bedrooms have queen size beds. The queen size sleeper sofa also has a foam topper mattress. Full size bathroom. All floors are tile.

WiFi ~ Washer/Dryer ~A/C ~All linens provided ~ Charcoal Outdoor Grill ~ Outdoor Shower ~ Covered Terrace ~Beach chairs and Towels. ~ Coolers.

More Details

Gayla Garner
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 22, 2017

About Gayla Garner

Love to share our cottage and our beach....we value how lucky we are to live here. Love living in Florida. Have been here since 1967. My favorite area, by far, where I made my home, is Saint Augustine.

Gayla Garner purchased this cottage in 1995

Why Gayla Garner chose St. Augustine Area

We provide everything you need except for your suitcase!

What makes this cottage unique

Fenced in private area, great for pets and children! Covered outside dining. 80 steps to beach, no roads to cross!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Our stay was absolutely amazing! Gayla was so polite and helpful. She responded quickly to my questions. Her instructions were so clear. The place is clean and beautifully decorated, and it is right by the BEACH! I did not want to leave. She had everything one may need. If you accidentally leave something, she probably has it. I cannot speak more highly of her and the way we were treated. Our vacation was perfect!
May 2016
  • 1 of 5


Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Saint Augutine & Jacksonville, Fla International
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Beaches restaurant
Nearest Golf
15 Miles
Nearest Motorway
7 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Beaches Restaurant
Nearest Beach
Vilano Beach
Car: necessary
Other Activities:

Top Thing to do in City:

* Surfing.

* Walking & Relaxing on the beach.

* Historic Downtown Saint Augustine.

* Museums.

* Shopping.

Top Thing to do in Budget:

* Historic Downtown Saint Augustine.

* The Beach!.

* Guana National Park...

Top Thing to do in Family:

* Marineland.

* Alligator Farm.

* Potters Wax Museum.

* Saint Augustine Lighthouse.

* Vilano or Saint Augustine Beach.

* Historic Downtown Saint Augustine

* Marineland, Alligator Farm

* Fountain of Youth

* St. Augustine Lighthouse & Museum

* Lightner Museum

* Guana State Park

* Anastasia State Park

* TPC Golf Tournament

* World Golf Village

* Premier Outlet Shopping Center

* San Sebastian Winery

* Boat/Kayak/Jet Ski rentals & more!


Saint Augustine Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1150 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 2 bicycles
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
* Covered outdoor terrace * Private deck * Refrigerator * Toaster * Washer dryer * Stove/Oven * Cookware & utensils * Microwave * Coffee Maker * Blender * Grill * Bicycles * Boogie boards * Beach chairs and towels * Floats * Outdoor shower * Coolers * Private parking * Entertainment * Cable Television * Wireless Internet * Kitchen * Coffee Maker * Cookware * Full Kitchen * Microwave * Oven * Refrigerator * Stove * Toaster * Utensils * Living * Central Air * Ironing Board * Linens Activities and attractions in Vilano Beach Atlantic Coast North * Outdoor * BBQ Grill * Deck * Fishing * Grill * Outdoor Shower * Swimming * Walkway to Water * Geographic * Fantastic Sunrises * Exceptional Views * Low traffic beach * Convenience * Outlet Shopping * Area Fitness Center * Craft Shopping * Medical Services Nearby * Nearby Grocery


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(24 traveler reviews)

79% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
8% Complete
Sleeps 6.Pets welcome! 90 steps to beach! Quality furnishings, well maintained.
average rating of 4.4583335 based on 29 reviews

Buyer Beware

  • 1 of 5

Buyer Beware.

There are three major problems with this unit:

1) It is not a cottage. It is a two story older building with two rental units – upstairs and downstairs. Your vacation enjoyment will depend on the cooperation of the renters (and their dogs) in the other unit.

2) It is very noisy. In addition to the renters upstairs, this cottage is on A1A, a major busy highway that connects St Augustine with Ponte Vedra. There is traffic, including numerous motorcycles, all day and night. Also, the unit is directly across the street from a 24 hour gas station and convenience store. The master bedroom window faces both A1A and the gas station.

3) The owners cannot be trusted. They refused to return our housekeeping deposit, even though they initially agreed to do so. The fact is we left the house cleaner than we found it (we had to do a cleaning when we first arrived). Finally, after three complaints to HomeAway, the owners returned this deposit, after almost three months delay. Also, after we had fully paid for the unit, my wife was diagnosed with cancer and they arranged to sublet the unit for two weeks for us when we had to shorten our stay. They took advantage of my wife’s illness and never sent us the money they collected – in addition to keeping our full payment. Finally, when we questioned these items, they stopped replying to emails or phone calls. One reply they did make revealed a complete misunderstanding of the terms and conditions contained in the invoice that they had sent us. Don’t trust them with your money.

The positives – close to the ocean and pet friendly – are minor compared to the negatives with this old place.

  • Submitted: May 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our guests who have made this particular complaint were really great guests and treated our home with great respect. This couple and myself communicated heavily by email and text for two months during their medical diagnosis/recovery event. All communication was directly related to the process of re-renting all or parts of their stay depending on the frequent updates of his wife’s progress. Even after their partial cancellation, we truly wanted to accommodate them, so his wife could escape the Canadian winter and enjoy the beach and sunshine. We wished for her a speedy recovery and hoped the warm winter we were having would have a positive impact on her. On a personal note, having lost both of my parents to cancer, I am appalled by even the slightest reference that I would never take advantage of this situation. As for mentioned other mentioned items. • They never voiced a complaint until the end of March,after they had stayed for 3 week in February, half of their original planned time frame. • They had a 60 day cancellation notice. They did not ask for the second half of their refund due to the constant communication between us about the time frame when they could still possibly use the second half of their payment. • While our home is an upstairs/downstairs duplex, it is also a 1930’s cottage style house located on Historic A1A which is clearly depicted on the location map. •, after looking into this complaint and all emails not only supported our response and decisions concerning the invoice contract but also assured us our listing is of good standing. After several attempts to explaining our point of view, we did stop responding to personal communication once resolution team was involved. We did delay the return of their deposit until the resolution center had returned to us of the outcome of their conclusion. It was returned. We proudly stand by our high rating and our 10 years of experience. We really do love to share our future retirement home with couples, families and their pets so that they can visit Vilano Beach and experience the beautiful town of Saint Augustine. Thank you, Bennetts by the Sea
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Cincinnati, Ohio

Great place for people with pets

  • 4 of 5

We had a nice time at Bennett's by the Sea. It was a great place for us to stay with our dogs. Our dogs loved the fenced-in yard and walks on the beach. The location is great if you like to spend time on the beach. There was quite a bit of traffic on the road to St. Augustine, but some of that was due to an arts festival that was downtown on the weekend we were there.

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for choosing us! Its makes us very happy when our guests enjoy our home. Seeing how difficult it can be traveling with our own large dogs ....we wanted to provide a comfortable place with an outdoor shower and a safe enclosure for everyone's four legged family. Thanks for treating our home with respect. You're welcome back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location!

  • 4 of 5

The apartment is very convenient to the beach and St. Augustine. The owner was very friendly and a pleasure to deal with. The apartment shows some signs of wear and tear which is understandable in rental units. Overall, a great place to stay for a beach vacation!! Book it and have a great time!! Also having the Publix supermarket five minutes away is a huge plus.

  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

very nice getaway location

  • 5 of 5

I was very happy with the place. the homeowners were pleasant and very kind with our family. I especially liked that we could bring our 2 dogs (chihuahuas). It is a very short distance to beach , grocery store and restaurants. I will be coming back for another visit.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Awesome rental to escape to the beach

  • 5 of 5

We loved staying here and it's equipped with everything you could need! We loved that we could bring our dog with us!

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not as described

  • 1 of 5

This is a duplex, not a cottage. Owners live upstairs where you can hear every move and dogs bark. We booked this thinking it was single family because our dogs aren't fond of others. The presence of the other dogs and hearing them bark left our dogs unnerved. If you don't care about the lack of privacy and the noise, then great rental. I felt duped.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: As stated on our site we are on site owners who not only like to meet all the fun and interesting guests but their pets and children as well. It is true that our 80 year old home is a cottage style upstairs/downstairs duplex. We are also one of the very few vacation rentals in our area who accept, not only any type of dog but also any size. We love our two 50 lb boys and know how hard it is to travel with them when other pet owners ruin our chances of doing so by being destructive. As is the case with the above mentioned guests. While it was July 4th weekend and fireworks around the beach area were being celebrated for 3 is possible our pets were a little more noisy than usual due to thier reaction to the fireworks. However, as you can see from our constant 5 star rating, we always ask how our guests are finding their accommodations and if they have heard any noise, we are always praised for the great atmosphere, location and quiet privacy. We provide separate parking, entrance, fenced in yard with our guests own deck and covered terrace. We have not returned a deposit for only 4 times in 10 years for destruction and lack of respect of our home. This was one of those times.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $100
Security/clean deposit $100
Pet Fee $100
Tax Rate 6.5%

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your inquiry on our vacation rental, Bennetts by the Sea #7062801

Great news! Our property is available for the dates you have requested. If you have questions or would like to reserve the property, please reply.

We allow all dogs, big and small! We have a fully fenced in yard and Vilano Beach is dog friendly. Just remember to keep them leashed.

We love to share our beach cottage and meet new friends. I have lived in Florida most of my life and Saint Augustine is by far one of the best places you could have chosen to visit.

We have almost everything you'll need except your suitcase! Beach chairs & towels. Gas grill & coolers etc! Full kitchen, covered terrace for outdoor dining and 80 steps to the beach!

Vacation rental etiquette is expected. As owners we embrace the standard rule of "leave it like you found it" and "pay it forward for the next guests".

Option 1 - Operation Ready!:
Includes wash/dry linens/towels & remake beds. Sweep floors. Clean dishes, kitchen/refrigerator, grill. Trash/recycle bagged and placed in bins.
**Owners will mop floors and sanitize bathrooms.

Option 2 - Employ Maid Service:
Communicate with owners before booking that you wish to opt out of cleaning. Cost $100.

We look forward to hearing from you soon.

The beach awaits!

Gayla Garner Bennett

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties