Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Little House at Paradise Point

Bedrooms 1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

House, 1 Bedrooms, 1 Baths, 4 Sleeps

Welcome to the Little House at Paradise Point. The little house was

originally built in the early 1900's and recently remodeled. The cozy

cabin sleeps 4, with 1 bed room and a comfortable queen size hid-a-

bed in the living room. A lovely full kitchen is provided as well as

an outdoor barbeque.

The Little House is located on 14 acres with loads of

Garrison Lake frontage and just 100 yards from the ocean, and all the

while just 1 mile from the community of Port Orford.

The Little House is below a hill to block the prevailing North wind.

This quiet property is perfect for artists, family

vacationers, Birders, and those just seeking some isolation

and relaxation

More Details

Mike McWilliams
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
November 22, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

"Thank you so much!! We loved it here, we will definately be back. Beautiful & private....Thank you
May 2011
  • 1 of 1


Port Orford House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
High Speed Internet NEW!!! Play Tetris on an original Arcade Tetris table!!! Fully furnished kitchen Outdoor hot tub Barbeque Outdoor fire place Crab rings 2 decks Fishing poles cable Tv


Very Good! 4/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

14% Complete
71% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Little House at Paradise Point
average rating of 4.0 based on 8 reviews

Charming house in a beautiful location

  • 4 of 5

Slightly unusual but charming little house situated by the lake and a quick walk to a beautiful quiet beach. The kitchen is well stocked, the bathroom is cozy and the bed was very comfortable. There are a couple of houses nearby but we didn't see or hear anybody during our 4-day stay. It really was paradise.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Arlington, Washington

The house was a bit quirky!

  • 4 of 5

If peace and quiet is what you are looking for then this is the place! Beautiful view, loved the wild life visits, hot tub was nice, cooked all meals there, enjoyed the fire pit, but was disappointed that there was no lake access for my kayak. The ocean was beautiful to look at but the tides were way to rough to enjoy.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely cabin, perfect location, wonderful experience

  • 4 of 5

This is a great place to stay along the Oregon coast. Everything you need is here. The cabin is quaint, clean and well appointed. The location couldn't be better. It is only a couple minute drive (or 10 minute walk) to the beach. The lake is lovely, although there is not access to the lake. We had a fabulous experience.

The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is due to the lack of window coverings on any windows. Even in a remote area it is nice to be able to completely shut out the outside world at night and not feel like you are in a fishbowl.

We were with my girlfriend's 75 year old mother and she was beyond thrilled with out trip and this lovely little cabin. I would highly recommend Little House at Paradise Point. We will book this place again.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Quirky but Complicated

  • 3 of 5

1. It was hard to communicate with the owner about payment, but at almost the last minute he took the remaining balance off my credit card and gave the info for the house.

2. The house was quirky but fun and adequate for me and my 3 daughters. We cooked our meals there which worked great. The bathroom isn't very private so the teenager played music loudly as needed.

3. The location was perfect for us. We loved being close to the beach, which was beautiful and deserted. The waves are dangerous, so we watched but didn't go in the water.

4. Two significant things went wrong: the power was off when we arrived and was off for several hours, and the septic system backed up so the toilet wouldn't flush.

5. Christy the local caretaker went above and beyond to help us out--calling repairmen, offering us coffee and donuts in town while the septic tank was pumped, and trying to find another rental for us. All the rentals were full, so she suggested a motel. My daughters decided they like the location and the kitchen so much that they'll remain at the house but go sightseeing and use off-site restrooms until the septic was pumped.

6. I emailed the owner requesting partial compensation or perhaps a voucher for a future night's stay. I debated about doing this, since I realize we chose to remain in the house. However, I sold eggs from our chickens for a long time to save up for this, and if it had been a commodity like a lawn mower with this many issues, I'd have exchanged it. So I requested a partial refund from the owner and waited a week, but he didn't answer, and never issued any apology or acknowledgment or regretful words, so that is on his conscience, and we still have many good memories of our trip.

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dorcas, I apologize for the 2 issues that you had. It was very unfortunate that both of those occurred during your stay, but I 'm glad we were able to get them cleared up right a way. Sorry, but I did not see any email request from you for a refund. I didn't see anything on the VR site nor in my personal email. But I will be crediting your credit card for a nights stay. Mike
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
North Bend

Quirky, cozy, wonderful!

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay at Paradise!! The little house is over 100 years old and is as cozy as can be - a little arty and quirky which appealed to us - perfect for quiet contemplation, reading, writing, or painting. The only sounds were the crashing waves just beyond the sand dunes. Virtually no light contamination let us view the stars, and several deer came down to check out the fruit trees each evening. We walked a short trail to the beach and although it is warm and sheltered at the cabin, we were glad to have sweatshirts for the beach. We enjoyed the fire pit and the blissful quiet. The cabin is fully equipped and clean, and the on-site caretaker, an award-winning wildlife photographer and life-long resident of the area, could be counted on for anything else we needed as well as local lore. Thank you for the relaxing,re-vitalizing vacation experience!

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2013
  • Stayed: July 2013
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0


  • 4 of 5

Beautiful location, though windy when we stayed there. The roar of the ocean is a pleasant background to the lake view. The cabin had everything we needed kitchen wise. Good firm Queen bed. Short hot showers. It's kind of funky, but nice.

  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2011
  • Stayed: March 2011
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 1


Other Activities:

Top Thing to do in City:

* Birding.

* Beach Combing.

* Fishing.

* Golfing.

* Art shopping.

Top Thing to do in Budget:

* Hiking.

* Beach Combing.

* Play Tetris...

Top Thing to do in Family:

* Beach combing.

* Play Tetris....

Golf..Bandon Dunes 30 miles, Cedar Bend 20 miles, Salmon Run 55

miles, Bandon Crossing 25 miles

World class fishing in 2 great Oregon rivers, Elk and Sixes

Beach combing(just 100 yards of Little House property to the Beach)

Fantastic Birding!!

Art shopping in Port Orford

Kayaking Ocean & Lake


Wind Surfing ( 40 Miles to Pistol River)


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $60

Nightly Rate: $125.00

Weekly Rate: $800.00

Monthly Rate: $0 - $0

April 1 to Sept 30
700 per week 120 per day 2 day min.
Oct 1 to March 31
650 per week/ 110 per day 2 day min.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties