Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Gorgeous Oceanfront,Awesome Sunsets, A WORLD AWAY

Bedrooms 2
Half Baths1
Space 2,300 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

A World Away is just that. Simply drive to Southport, North Carolina, hop on the ferry and your off to A World Away. A unique island with no cars, just golf carts! This Oceanfront 2 bedroom 2 1/2 bath home is professionally decorated in a Tommy Bahama style. The house has been newly painted and new hardwoods in the bedrooms. The floor plan is quite spacious aproximately 2,400 sq.feet and the views from every window in the house are breathtaking.

Upstairs you will find a large greatroom with tv and dvd player, fireplace,dining room, fully equipped kitchen with microwave, dishwasher, and icemaker. There is also a porch off the greatroom with unbelieveable views of the Atlantic Ocean and the Cape Fear River. Downstairs you will find two large bedrooms, one with a queen bed and the other with two queen beds. There is also a jacuzzi tub and a shower in the master bath. The bedroomes come with tv and dvd/vcr players.

Both bedrooms share a large porch that overlooks the ocean. A washer and dryer are also conveniently located downstairs by the bedrooms. The house sits on a large private lot and has beautiful landscaping. The sunsets are awesome!!!!

One six passenger golf cart and one 4 passenger cart come with the house along with four adult bicycles. Our home has a membership to both the islands two private clubs which makes it possible for our guests to enjoy for a guest fee. The Bald Head Island Club offers tennis,swimming, dining and a fully equipped exercise room. Golf is available through a private package which we will be glad to provide you the information.

The other club is the newly opened Shoals Club that sits right on the Atlantic Ocean with a huge pool, a children's pool and another fully equipped exercise room. Dining is also available there. (Their is a fee for the use of these clubs.)

Keywords: House

More Details

Susan Davis
Member since: 2005
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 20, 2018


West Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Because our cancellation policy is not offered on this page I am posting it here. We have a 90 day cancellation policy with no refund.
  • We will however try to re rent and if successful you will receive your refund back
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2.5
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (3), Baby Cribs (1) porta crib
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 4 bicycles
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf privileges optional
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
3 Cable TV's, VCR/DVD, Grill (BBQ), Non-Smoking home, No pets! We also have a high chair and porta crib for infants.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(64 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
9% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
Gorgeous Oceanfront,Awesome Sunsets, A WORLD AWAY
average rating of 4.75 based on 64 reviews
Asheville, NC

Fantastic birthday!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I spent my birthday at A World Away and enjoyed every moment. The house was so inviting and comfortable. The location is fantastic.....the best on the island as far as we were concerned. Throughly enjoyed exploring the island in one of the two golf carts that were provided. Ate at MoJo's several times.....the food was delicious! In the evening we would sit on the deck and marvel at the gorgeous sunsets......and we loved watching the big ships that were coming and going from Wilmington. They were SO close you felt like you could just reach out and touch them. We enjoyed our time there so much that we extended our stay 4 days!

The owner, Sue, was delightful to deal with as was Brandy the manager. We are so looking forward to our next visit, in fact, I would go back yesterday!

Thank you Sue for sharing your wonderful home with us and we can't wait to return!

I would definitely recommend this property to anyone wanting a very private, yet easy to get to, place to "chill" out. My husband and I absolutely loved it! We'll be back !

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2013
  • Stayed: September 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello! Thank you for posting your review! We are so glad you enjoyed our home and look forward to you returning.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 5 of 5

Awesome house and location

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location of World Away is great. Small dated house.

  • 4 of 5

The house was clean , but had a very strong smell to some kind of spray, especially on the couches. The kitchen is dated but everything works. It’s a small house that was great for a long weekend , or for a small family. The beach is wide open and beautiful, but there are riptides right there, so not advisable to get in the water. We enjoyed our stay and like Bald Head Island.

  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We take a lot of pride in our home and take every review serious. I am sorry if a house of 2,300 sq ft. was not large enough for two people but the size is clearly listed on our web site. As for the house being dated.....we have just installed all new stainless steel appliances in the kitchen this past year so I'm not really sure what your referring to when you say the kitchen is not up to date.I have taken every measure to see that the kitchen is fully stocked with anything you could possibly need as well. The house has just been completely painted and new bedding/tv's/dvd's/ new linens etc. I am not sure what smell you are referring to but we have never had an issue. The best part of our home is the location and the view. We are right on the ocean and have never had a bad experience or complaint about the beach. Again, we always take all of our reviews serious and want each and everyone of our renters happy in our home.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Right on the beach! Great house!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay. We liked the reverse floor plan with the living room on the second floor so you can see the beach and ocean and the sunsets. Bring binoculars so you can see the ships that go by in and out of the Cape Fear river.

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Manakin Sabot, VA


  • 5 of 5

A beautiful home with a beautiful view. Perfect spot for one or two couples.

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely home with spectacular views.

  • 5 of 5

We just returned from a visit to Bald Head Island and stayed at "A World Away" with another couple for three nights. The house was very nicely appointed, supplied with everything you could possibly need and immaculately clean on arrival. Susan gave us complete instructions about where we would find access to the house and we had absolutely no problem with anything. Our friends were very impressed. We have stayed at Bald Head many times in the past, but never with just another couple. This is a perfect place for two couples or a small family.

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review. We try our best to keep everything updated and in good working order!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Just 1 mi. from the ferry and .3 mile to the Bald Head Island Club.




Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
cleaning fee $125 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.75%

Cancellation policy: We have a no cancellation policy. However if you need to cancel prior to 90 days we will try our best to rerent your week. If we are able to rerent your week we will refund your deposit minus a 250.00 cancellation fee.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties