check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Gorgeous Oceanfront,Awesome Sunsets, A WORLD AWAY

49 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Half Baths
Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights


West Beach House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

A World Away is just that. Simply drive to Southport, North Carolina, hop on the ferry and your off to A World Away. A unique island with no cars, just golf carts! This Oceanfront 2 bedroom 2 1/2 bath home is professionally decorated in a Tommy Bahama style. The house has been newly painted and new hardwoods in the bedrooms. The floor plan is quite spacious aproximately 2,400 sq.feet and the views from every window in the house are breathtaking.

Upstairs you will find a large greatroom with tv and dvd player, fireplace,dining room, fully equipped kitchen with microwave, dishwasher, and icemaker. There is also a porch off the greatroom with unbelieveable views of the Atlantic Ocean and the Cape Fear River. Downstairs you will find two large bedrooms, one with a queen bed and the other with two queen beds. There is also a jacuzzi tub and a shower in the master bath. The bedroomes come with tv and dvd/vcr players.

Both bedrooms share a large porch that overlooks the ocean. A washer and dryer are also conveniently located downstairs by the bedrooms. The house sits on a large private lot and has beautiful landscaping. The sunsets are awesome!!!!

One six passenger golf cart and one 4 passenger cart come with the house along with four adult bicycles. Our home has a membership to both the islands two private clubs which makes it possible for our guests to enjoy for a guest fee. The Bald Head Island Club offers tennis,swimming, dining and a fully equipped exercise room. Golf is available through a private package which we will be glad to provide you the information.

The other club is the newly opened Shoals Club that sits right on the Atlantic Ocean with a huge pool, a children's pool and another fully equipped exercise room. Dining is also available there. (Their is a fee for the use of these clubs.)

Keywords: House

More Details
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Susan Davis
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 15, 2016
Call Owner


based on 49 traveler reviews

Gorgeous Oceanfront,Awesome Sunsets, A WORLD AWAY
average rating of 4.6938777 based on 49 reviews
Asheville, NC

Fantastic birthday!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I spent my birthday at A World Away and enjoyed every moment. The house was so inviting and comfortable. The location is fantastic.....the best on the island as far as we were concerned. Throughly enjoyed exploring the island in one of the two golf carts that were provided. Ate at MoJo's several times.....the food was delicious! In the evening we would sit on the deck and marvel at the gorgeous sunsets......and we loved watching the big ships that were coming and going from Wilmington. They were SO close you felt like you could just reach out and touch them. We enjoyed our time there so much that we extended our stay 4 days!

The owner, Sue, was delightful to deal with as was Brandy the manager. We are so looking forward to our next visit, in fact, I would go back yesterday!

Thank you Sue for sharing your wonderful home with us and we can't wait to return!

I would definitely recommend this property to anyone wanting a very private, yet easy to get to, place to "chill" out. My husband and I absolutely loved it! We'll be back !

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello! Thank you for posting your review! We are so glad you enjoyed our home and look forward to you returning.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Loved the property and the view. Bald Head Island is unique and special

  • 5 of 5

Everything was there for us and the pleasure of sitting on the upper deck with a beautiful view of the ocean was fabulous. We loved driving around the island on our golf cart.

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Best sunset view on the island

  • 5 of 5

Great house. Best sunset views on the island. Would recommend

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

Arrived at 7:30 PM. The key was not where the owner said it would be. After leaving VM for owner received a call back. 30 min after arrival gained access to house. House had not been cleaned from prior renter: dirty sheets piled on MBR bed others in washer. 1/2 full coffee cup on kitchen counter! Etc.! Owner had cleaning person come over to clean. Person finally left after 10:00 PM. Next day RE agent pops in (in the house) unannounced. She apologizes and leaves after saying she was to show the house (for sale) and said "do not worry about it". 10 min later a family shows up to view the house without an agent! Not a great first time experience for us!

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I do apologize that you were so inconvenienced on your arrival. Our house manager was out of the country and the lady who took over for her accidentally dropped the ball! No excuses!! The previous renters failed to return the key to the location that it was suppose to be. Again no excuses, just human error. We did return your phone call immediately as we received it however and you were provided immediately with another key to enter the house. I apologize for the house not being ready and I know it was and inconvenience, however we did our best to immediately rectify the situation. In the 10 years that we have rented our home this has never occurred. We work very hard at keeping our home in tip top condition and maintaining our five star rating. If you would like to discuss this further please feel free to contact me personally.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hurricane, WV

Really is gorgeous, and very comfortable

  • 5 of 5

The house is truly lovely. We did have spectacular sunsets every evening from the porch. The upstairs living room and kitchen area are very comfortable, as are the beds and baths. The beach on this part if the island is very wide, good for long walks. The two golf carts offer easy transportation to all the island sights, including other beaches, the clubs, the grocery store and restaurants. We also enjoyed the bikes. We highly recommend this house.

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Awesome vacation!

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful views & quiet location. House was very pretty and clean with just about everything you could need. Added fun having golf carts to go everywhere!

Owners were so nice & helpful.

Our first trip to BHI was awesome! Will do again:)

Tip: make sure you get your tram reservations early on!

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Just 1 mi. from the ferry and .3 mile to the Bald Head Island Club.


Rates & Availability

West Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Sep 1 2016 - May 27 2017
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 12.75%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


West Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2.5
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (3), Baby Cribs (1) porta crib
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 4 bicycles
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf privileges optional
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
3 Cable TV's, VCR/DVD, Grill (BBQ), Non-Smoking home, No pets! We also have a high chair and porta crib for infants.

Partner Offers