Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076


Bedrooms 2
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

This stunning Lamia with its three coned Trullo is set in a large stone walled gated garden and olive grove. The property sleeps 4 in two separate bedrooms and can accommodate a further two people on a sofa bed in the main lounge area.

Trullo Michele has a fully equipped kitchen with cooker, dishwasher, washing machine and fridge freezer, In the lounge there is a wall mounted flat screen TV with DVD player. The property has working air conditioning in all the main living spaces along with a log burner to heat the radiators should you come out of the summer months.

With one of the best climates in southern Europe outdoor living is a must at Trullo Michele. Enjoy the day around the brand new salt system swimming pool which is much better for your skin and eyes, then dine under the outdoor covered terrace with food cooked on the large purpose built BBQ.

This beautiful property is situated in the incredible Puglian countryside just a few kilometers from the local towns of San Michele and San Vito Dei Normanni. For those people loving their food, the famous towns of Ostuni (The White City) and Ceglie Messapica offer a great range of restaurants and if its a day on the beach that you are looking for, head the short distance to the marine nature reserve at Torre Guaceto.

More Details

Member since: 2016
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 26, 2018


We are an English family with 3 children and our pet dog Bailey. Living in the Kent area near to the town of Sevenoaks. The property is a second home for our family holidays and a rental adventure.

MARTIN WHITEHOUSE purchased this villa in 2015

Why MARTIN WHITEHOUSE chose San Vito dei Normanni

With a love of travelling and an even bigger love of Italy, we started looking for a holiday home. After exploring most of Italy our search led us to the beautiful undiscovered region of Puglia, immediately we were hooked. Falling in love with the white washed Trulli, endless olive groves and the layed back life style, it was definitely for us.

This particular Trullo became our answer, a beautiful peaceful location with privacy but not far from the buzz of restaurants, bars and shops. With a hire car, beaches historical towns, even a safari park aren't far away. Proximity of international airports in Brindisi and Bari plus rail connections were also important to us.

We started to modernize Trullo Michelle, buying brand new furniture, decorating and up dating the kitchen. We also added a brand new luxury shower bathroom to go with the outside summer shower.

The major building project was to add our own swimming pool and BBQ/Bar area, creating all you could need to for the perfect holiday. The traditional puglian Trullo has a modern extension with beautiful vaulted ceilings giving an airy feel with double patio doors opening on to a large veranda.

This area bosts many historical towns with excellent food and a wide variety of architecture and interests.

What makes this villa unique

The Trullo is ideal for family or couples, there is a sofa bed for younger children and a cot could be provided if needed. The tranquil area is very peaceful but not isolated. Ideal for yoga on the patio , swimming or sleeping around the pool, reading a book or painting the landscape , its a perfect holiday retreat. The garden is fully fenced , safe for children (with parents supervision) to explore.

This is our first rental season and we are very excited to hear from new renters wishing to experience beautiful Puglia. Our expert guide in all things Italian and on hand to look after you and your family, is a lovely local lady Filomeana . She takes care of the house and is also very knowledgeable about local events you might not discover on your own, enabling you to mix with the locals!

What's really unique about Trullo Michelle is, its been a labour of love and we never tire of going there time and time again.


San Vito dei Normanni Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Rural
  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing


4.6/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
average rating of 4.6 based on 5 reviews

1st time but not last time in puglia

  • 5 of 5

Loved it, the perfect place to relax and have a proper holiday( r and r).

We've been to Italy many times but can honestly say puglia is now our favourite part.

Short stay but totally relaxing.

Stayed here after a rec from s friend and couldn't fault it.

  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Abbotsford British Columbia

Beautiful property, unpleasant experience.

  • 3 of 5

As depicted in the pictures this property is beautiful both inside and out, it would have been everything we had hoped for had it not been for an issue with millipedes. We had a two week stay booked to relax and explore this unique area however on the first morning we woke to several large millipedes in the Trullo, this continued throughout our stay with only a 2 or 3 day reprieve. The property manager brought over bug spray which did not work, however it was my husbands diligence in removing them each morning in addition to blocking any possible entrance into the Trullo that dissuaded us from abandoning the property. Since the property is beautifully situated in acres of olive groves it is expected that there will be insects native to the area in the surrounding garden however not expected in the house. I called the owner advising of the issue and asked for his help and suggested that for future clients he should consider a regular pest control service for the property. His response was that he had not had the same issue and that I could vacuum them up. We did not consider that a solution and were disappointed in his response. What should have been a wonderful two weeks at this property was spoiled by this experience. We hesitated to give a negative review however we want the owner to address the issue so that future clients do not have the same experience. We have rented many properties throughout North America, Asia and Europe, this is our first unpleasant experience.

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have taken our time to respond to your review as we wanted to visit the property and speak to our caretaker first hand. Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased to hear our beautiful property & the stunning area lived up to expectations. I am sorry you didn't feel we took your problems seriously but I can assure you we did everything possible to make your stay a pleasant one, we were personally in contact with you virtually everyday via phone, text & email. Having spoken to my caretaker she assures me that she did everything she could, visiting you nearly every day to see you were ok and even driving you to & from the pharmacy on several occasion for other unconnected issues. This problem has not been an issue before and looking at our other reviews hasn't been a problem since. We have just spent a lovely week out at the property without any problems, perhaps a rural location isn't for everyone. Once again we apologise if you don't think we did enough to help you. Since returning we have attempted to contact you further by email but without any reply. Hopefully your experience hasn't put you of southern Italy and the Puglia region which I hope you come back to in the near future.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

A stunning property in a beautiful setting!

  • 5 of 5

Wendy and Martin are the absolute hosts. They really did look after us, from the very start of our visit and right up to the last day. They have thought of everything! The property is stunning - in a beautiful setting; just right for lazy days by the pool with so much on offer in the local village and surrounding areas. There is lots to do and see; the food and wine is gorgeous when you want to go further afield. However, there really is no need because the villa is the perfect retreat. It is tastefully furnished and has all you need to relax. I would certainly recommend Trullo Michelle and know that we will be back again!

  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great Italy experience

  • 5 of 5

Went for my birthday last year. Very impressive place to stay, clean and spacious. Great for a hideaway or getting in the mixer to the local town or beach being near by. For me I like running and there were very quiet roads all around but felt very safe. Will be booking again soon.

  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

A great stay at Trullo Michele

  • 5 of 5

The Trullo is beautifully decorated & set in piteresque countryside. We enjoyed trips to the nearby town & plenty of outdoor BBQs & swimming. I would recommend Trullo Michele if you are a couple, group of friends or a family. It really has it all, the Trullo has a wonderful warm feeling & you will thoroughly enjoy your time there.

  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
25 Kilometres
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Damage Deposit $346.21

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties