A traditional Yorkshire house dating back to the 17th Century, Gainest Cottage is named after the original Gainest Cottage which was the first Weslayan Sunday School probably in the country. It was situated just up the nearby hill called Gainest and was sadly demolished by the local authority for road improvements in the 1960's. The owners' great great grandfather purchased several of the local cottages from the estate of JE Wainhouse in 1887 because he and his ancestors had been born in them. He lived in the original Gainest Cottage and when his daughters married, he gave them one of his cottages to live in, the local pub 50 yards down the road has been named after the great man himself.
Recently and lovingly restored, the cottage has been refurbished to reflect modern day living whilst still keeping all the character with the old beams, inglenook fireplace and stone walls, Gainest Cottage makes an ideal romantic retreat.
Cosy up in front of the fire together, lazy about in the super-king bed reading your favourite books or venture out and walk on the stunning Yorkshire moors and dales, Gainest Cottage really offers it all.
Find out how Gainest Cottage was renovated into the holiday house that it is now here.