Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

White water ocean view.

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview


Details
Property
condo
Sleeps
2
Bedrooms
1
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
3 nights

About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, Sleeps 2

We are located in Princeville, Kauai on a beautifully manicured grass knoll with views of the ocean from the lanai, living room and bedroom. Just steps away is a trail that leads to your own secluded cove. This is the perfect place to relax in the sun and snorkel along an awesome coral reef teeming with many colorful tropical fish native to the islands. Are you a golfer? The Prince and the Makai are two exciting golf courses that surround our location. Return to the condo and prepare your meals in our well equipped kitchen or if you choose, dine out at one of the many restaurants in the area. At night fall asleep to the soothing sounds of the waves breaking on the shore. In the winter season, late December thru March, watch the whales migrate right in front of our place. Paradise is closer than you think. Come visit Kauai soon.

Keywords: Condominium

More Details

Owner
Jim Grindle
Member since: 2001
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 20, 2017

About Jim Grindle

Hi, We are the Grindle's. Jim, not pictured, Ricki and our daughter Jaimi are the owners of our Princeville condo. While Jaimi was studying to become a Nurse she lived in the condo we now own. As parents we could not believe she lived in such a wonderful area as Princeville right on the ocean. One day she called and told us that the owners of the condo asked her if she would like to buy it. We were so excited about the idea that we said, lets do it. How could you not want a place right on the ocean in Kauai. Over the next six months we put in $40.000 in up grades. A friend of mine said if you are interested in renting your place I recommend vrbo. It was the right thing to do. Now we can rent our place and go when we want to. It has worked out perfect. Ricki and I live in Dana Point, Ca. and visit as often as we can.

Jim Grindle purchased this condo in 2000

Why Jim Grindle chose Kauai

Kauai is known as the' Garden Island' and Princeville, located on the north shore, is unreal. We are right on the ocean with wonderful trade winds. At night we fall asleep listening to the waves breaking on the shore. Its paradise.

Amenities

Princeville Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Queen size Bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Golf
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Cable , wireless internet, and CD player, Ceiling fan, Electric range, Cooking Utensils & Dishwasher, Washer/dryer, Pool, Charcoal Grill BarBQ, Secluded Beach, no pets

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(69 traveler reviews)

White water ocean view.
average rating of 4.8550725 based on 69 reviews
5

The View is to die for!!

  • 5 of 5

My first trip to Hawaii ever... And the stay was even better because of our stay at this condo. The pictures in the description do not even do the place justice! We arrived shortly after the noted check in time and the place was perfect! Not being used to the humidity my husband and I immediately turned on all the fans and opened all the windows! The sound of the waves outside was just so peaceful!

The place had everything we needed! We knew going to Kauai that it was not going to be cheap vacation, (we had planned so many activities) so we made it a point to go to the local grocery store and pick up some ingredients to make some of our meals in the condo. The local grocery store was only a short 5 minute drive from the condo. Which was perfect! We forgot a few necessities so having it that close was great!

I loved that the place had pretty much everything we needed. And if we used any of the things we made sure to put it back or replace it with something new! I was happy that we had a washer and dryer to use. There was already detergent there which was great, we used a little of it and was sure to leave more for any future guest!

The condo was equipt with everything you can think of. Even though the patio had tables and chairs we could use, we used the beach chairs to sit in the grass area closer to the edge of the cliff to enjoy the view, breeze and sound of the water. We sat out and enjoyed the sunset and sun rise. I could have slept out there, only it got too dark for me at night. Something I am SO not used to being from Southern California. Although there are many many many beaches to visit in the area we utilized the complex's swimming pool. I was also excited that "queens bath" was close to where we stayed as well. My husband and I learned very quickly that you cannot just drive to all the beaches. Most require a hike. So just be prepared!

Jim was wonderful to work with he responded very quickly in the time before our trip! I was so thankful he had prepared a little packet for us with tips and information about the area.

My husband and I were excited to take the short hike to the sealodge "private" beach. It took about 10-15 minutes to get there and it was so worth it! My husband is not an out-doorsy type and I was nervous for him. Haha, but he did just fine.

All around our stay at the sealodge was amazing! When I make another trip out to Kauai I will be sure to book my stay here! Mahalo and aloha!

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0
Columbus ihio
5

great view!

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at Sealodge. The view is amazing. It was a perfect place to explore the surrounding area.

  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great condo with 5 star views

  • 5 of 5

This condo was the perfect stay for my husband and mine's honeymoon and first trip to Kauai! The views out of every window were beautiful and the location of the complex was quiet and peaceful. It was amazing to fall asleep to the sounds of the ocean each night and just as great seeing it first thing in the morning. We even used the kitchen to cook several meals throughout our stay. Although the washer/dryer was not working while we were there, the owners graciously offered to send a check in order to cover the costs of doing laundry in the Sealodge's main building. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy that you enjoyed your honeymoon at our place.Thank you for understanding our frustration to replacing the washer and dryer. It takes forever to replace large appliances. Everything needs to be shipped from the mainland. We have been told they are due to arrive on February 4, 2017. Thanks again. Jim & Ricki
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great view - few problems though

  • 3 of 5

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon. Overall, the place is quite nice. The view is to die for and the location and price canot be beat. However, we did encounter some problems.

The carpet and sheets smelled slightly musty, likely due to the humidity. In addition to this problem, the washer was not working during our visit (which is being replaced with a brand new one). There is on site laundry in addition to the one in the unit.

The last thing we wanted to worry about the first night of our honeymoon (and after a long plane ride) was washing the sheets. We were very dissapointed.

  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so sorry that you did not have a 5 star experience like 99% of our guests. The washer and dryer are due to be delivered on June 4, 2017. Can hardly wait. Thanks. Jim & Ricki
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Palm Coast
5

Beautiful view

  • 5 of 5

We recently stayed at the condo and was very happy with our choice. The condo unit has a beautiful view of the ocean and is just big enough for the 2 of us. It was very quiet which is something we needed after a long trip to NZ & AU. We had a minor problem with the washer & dryer but Jim responded quickly and resolved the issue. We would definitely stay again should we come back to Kauai.

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Amazing Location!

  • 4 of 5

The location of this condo is unbeatable. The photos accurately depict the views. My husband and I spent 9 nights here and loved the sound of every wave and the rustle from the palms. The sky constantly changes as does the ocean rhythm. If clear, the stars are remarkable. The condo is adequately stocked for cooking. We found ourselves at the Dolphin Fish Market daily and bringing our catch home to cook dinner while watching the sun set. There are two very nice beach chairs and a cooler for treks to the beach. The movie selection is small but good. We only partook on one night. The closet has tons of books and I found myself reading two during our stay. Every morning and evening we had visits from Nene and a family of chickens. Ananni Beach is a short drive, as is Hanalei Cove Beach. There is a wonderful wine shop in the Princeville shopping center with reasonable prices. My favorite poke is from a food truck just around the corner from the Hanalei market across the parking lot from the large juice stand.

We would definitely rent this unit again. There is tons to do in the area and we found this condo to be a great jumping off point for exploring the island. I'm pretty sure we left no shell unturned. I give it only 4 stars because the bed needs a new mattress There is a thick foam "mattress" on top of the old one. It made the bed super soft and my husband and I could feel each other's every move. After a few nights we got used to it, but it was less than ideal. With that said, the bedding was perfect. Soft sheets and a nice cotton quilt of perfect weight. The condo was clean, albeit a bit worn, and totally appropriate for an ocean side vacation. It is a very good value. The owners were great to deal with and promptly responded to a couple of pre trip queries. We had no problems at all with the rental. RECOMMENDED.

  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: If you read the reviews from our past guests you will see that most guests love our bed as we do. We think it is a matter of preference. Thanks. Jim & Ricki
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Helicopter Tours, Boogie Boarding, ATV Tours, Whale Watching

Photos

Rates & Availability

Princeville Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$170
 

Additional information about rental rates

Out Cleaning fee $99
Refundable damage deposit $100
Tax Rate 13.41%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers