expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right
Magnifiercirclex

Beautifully located, spacious, bungalow.

Isle of Lewis, UK
  • Bungalow
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • Bathrooms1
  • Half Baths0
  • Minimum Stay3 nights

In ideal location only 10 miles from Stornoway, overlooking Loch Erisort and the Harris hills. Rural setting in half an acre of garden, with picnic table at the top. Has a quiet double bedroom at rear with built in wardrobe. The large lounge has a picture window with panoramic views to die for. The kitchen dining area is also spacious with private views of the croft on the hill to the rear. The bath and toilet is in a tasteful Avacado colour in a quiet bathroom at the rear. Facilities include 37 inch plasma television, DVD, CD player, electric cooker, wi-fi and microwave. The entrance is at the front, where there is a key safe. Oil fired central heating throughout. Fine walks, such as down through the village of Keose to the harbour. Local atractions include The Callanish Stones 10 miles away. In Stornoway are the An Lanntair Arts Centre with a cinema, and Lews Castle Museum with an exhibition of the Lewis Chessmen. The nearest supermarkets are in Stornoway, being the Co-op near the first roundabout going into town, and Tesco by the ferry terminal.

Owner

Owner

Member Since 2016
Response rate:
100%
Response time:
within one day
Speaks:
english
Calendar last updated:
Apr 04, 2018

Amenities

    • Internet
    • Heater
    • Washer & Dryer
    • Parking
    • TV
    • No Smoking

      Bedrooms

      • 1 Bedrooms, Sleeps 2

          Bathrooms

          • 1 Bathroom

              Theme

                • Away From It All
                • Historic
                • Romantic
                • Tourist Attractions

                  Meals

                    • Guests provide their own meals

                      General

                        • Hair Dryer
                        • Heating
                          oil central heating
                        • Internet
                        • Iron & Board
                        • Linens Provided
                        • Living Room
                          2 piece suite
                        • Parking
                          parking in private drive
                        • Towels Provided
                        • Washing Machine
                          available on request

                          Kitchen

                            • Dishes & Utensils
                            • Kitchen
                            • Microwave
                            • Oven
                              top oven and fan oven
                            • Pantry Items
                            • Refrigerator
                              separate fridge and freezer
                            • Stove
                              ceramic hob cooker
                            • Toaster

                              Dining

                                • Dining
                                  spacious kitchen diner
                                • Dining Area
                                • comfy seating for 3 people

                                  Entertainment

                                    • Books
                                    • DVD Player
                                    • Music Library
                                    • Stereo
                                    • Television
                                      37 inch plasma
                                    • Video Library

                                      Outside

                                        • Deck / Patio
                                          area around building for chairs
                                        • Golf
                                          Course in Stornoway
                                        • Lawn / Garden
                                          half an acre with picnic table

                                          Suitability

                                            • not suitable for children
                                            • wheelchair inaccessible

                                              House Rules

                                              Check-in: 4:00 PM

                                              Check-out: 11:00 AM

                                              Cancellation Policy

                                              100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.

                                              3 Reviews

                                              3.3/5

                                              Latest reviews

                                              Beautiful location, owners quiet and helpful.

                                              Robert W.Ringwood

                                              We had a superb week in the Outer Hebrides walking around Harris and Lewis. The islands offer many very different walks. House was basic and functional and in an excellent location. One small niggle is the bed, you can feel the coil springs pushing into you.

                                              Abysmal Disappointment

                                              Sheila A.

                                              The main surprise/disappointment was that we were sharing the property with the owner and her partner who were, very audibly, on the other side of a locked door in the kitchen; the wall between our lounge and theirs seemed paper-thin. They were lively until well after midnight.

                                              During the day, when we were out, Jane visited our premises.

                                              On the first occasion we discovered that some bread rolls (which had been included in a welcome pack) were 'removed': a heater we had left on a low heat was switched off: the kettle was switched off at the socket and problems with the Wi-fi router (which was in our part) necessitated several visits.

                                              When Jane was walking about outside - always with glass in hand - we felt uncomfortably 'under observation'. Very little privacy.

                                              The hot water tank & its control was on their side but used by both parties; not always enough water for a bath.

                                              The small bed had a 'hammock-like' mattress with uncomfortable springs pressing through the surface - the second day we bought an airbed and sleeping bag.

                                              The "panoramic view to die for" from the lounge was misted & distorted by 'blown' double glazing units.

                                              The best thing we can say is "the premises were clean".

                                              The worst holiday experience to date and not in line with your advertisement.

                                              Our first and, probably, last booking with 'Owners Direct'.

                                              We look forward to your response!

                                              Owner's Response:

                                              The bungalow is as they admit clean. These guests were however rather untidy. As the heading states, the bungalow is spacious, in a quiet spot and well located for superb views of the island. It is quite common to have very near neighbours or owners around and other holiday makers right next door that are audible. The various matters, such as the bed, that they mentioned will be endeavoured to be corrected however.

                                              There are of course as with any holiday cottage some things that one could focus on negatively, especially if one is prone to exaggeration.

                                              As it says beautiful location bright and spacious house

                                              George H.

                                              Loved it very quiet road lovely views was able to do what we came to do go all round lewis and harris good location nice welcome pack as we didn t get there till 9 pm

                                              Location

                                              Isle of Lewis, UK

                                              Rates & Availability

                                              $105avg/night
                                              Enter dates for accurate pricing
                                              For booking assistance, call 888-829-7076

                                              Property # 6889768

                                              x