Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

In Northumberland National Park close to Kielder and Rothbury

Bedrooms 3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

3 bedrooms lodge with hot tub in the beautiful Northumberland National Park.

Three bedroom Norwegian pine lodge sleeps six, with Hot Tub. Ideal for a romantic break or a fun time with friends or family.

Honey-Bee Lodge sits within the Otterburn Hall Estate on an Ancient Battle Site in Northumberland National Park. It is a place of outstanding natural beauty boasting the largest dark sky area in Europe. The sky is breath-taking on a clear night. It is an exclusive park with a small number of other lodges. The perfect location to relax, unwind and explore the Northumberland countryside, coastlines and surrounding areas. Kielder Forest and observatory is easily accessible as is Hadrian’s Wall with its historic Roman Forts and museums. Bamburgh and Lindisfarne are also within easy reach of the Lodge. The Scottish Border is only a few miles away. A trip to Alnwick with its famous castle and the Northumberland Heritage coast, peppered with castles and beaches makes a fine day out. The historic and beautiful Abbey at Jedburgh, only 30 minutes drive away, is not to be missed. The market towns of Rothbury and Hexham have plenty of pubs and shops. Outdoor pursuits are a huge attraction in the area and a favourite location for walkers and adventure seekers.

Within the five-hundred-acre estate you are surrounded by nature at its best. There are two lakes and the Otter-Burn in the grounds. Also an array of footpaths with stunning scenery and an abundance of wildlife close by. You may also spot deer wandering past the lodge. Enjoy watching a varied selection of birds, including rare varieties such as buzzards and regular visits from the local red squirrels to your balcony!

Otterburn village is a few minutes drive away or a pleasant 20 minute walk along a footpath through the fields. The village has a castle, mill, café & village shop. It also has restaurants and bars, Le Petit Chateaux and Otterburn Castle have recently opened after undergoing total refurbishment. Last summer The Coach House has opened literally 100 metres from the Lodge with an excellent menu and lounge bar.

Lodge Details

Detached - all on one level. 5 steps from the driveway to the door.

Lounge area has wooden floor and 40" television and DVD Player. Patio doors to large balcony area which has a recently fitted spa hot tub.

Dining area with dining table for six people.

Kitchen area with kettle, toaster, electric oven and hob, microwave, dishwasher, fridge freezer and washing machine. The water supply is from a natural spring.

Dining area, hallway and kitchen areas have wooden floors.

Bedroom 1 - Double bed, bedside cabinets & fitted wardrobes.

Bedroom 2 - Two single beds, set of drawers & double wardrobe.

Bedroom 3 - bunk beds & set of drawers.

Bathroom - with shower over bath, basin and toilet.

Electric heating for cooler days, but the Lodge is very well insulated.

All bed linen and towels are supplied.

Decked balcony with sunken spa hot tub & patio furniture.

On site car parking for 2 cars.

More Details

Janet and Richard Mulvey
Member since: 2017
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
March 20, 2018


Otterburn Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Village
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Electric shower and large bath. Towels provided
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - Bunk Beds
  • All with radiators. Bedding is provided.
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Tennis ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • forests
  • pond
Leisure Activities:
  • walking


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(31 traveler reviews)

70% Complete
25% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
In Northumberland National Park close to Kielder and Rothbury
average rating of 4.677419 based on 31 reviews

Fabulous lodge we all loved our stay

  • 5 of 5

Such a wonderful lodge very peaceful

  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful homely lodge

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Honey bee lodge! Very clean and homely, comfortable beds and very well thought out.

Lovely location and close to many beautiful places.

Loved the hot tub and watching the stars at night whilst in it.

Would definitely return and recommend!

  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Good communication from host nice lodge but a few issues

  • 3 of 5

Overall we enjoyed our stay, however we did experience a few problems. The lodge was not ready or cleaned for us when we arrived at the agreed time and therefore was uncomfortablely cold for the first 24 hours. The shower did not work - it did not get hot (as we discovered on our last day, having had baths) .

The hot tub was brill though and we enjoyed the games and DVD player provided but did have trouble with the tv picking up a signal for channels other than bbc1 and the remote for the DVD player did not have batteries.

Was great to see a red squirrel on the last day, overall an enjoyable stay that would have been fantastic with a few improvements.

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We thank you for your review and appreciate your comments for improvements. We agreed an earlier arrival time but unfortunately were unable to have the lodge ready until an hour later. We apologised for this at the time. We are sorry you had problems with the shower and tv. When we checked after you left, the shower was found to be working well and we were able to get all the freeview and BT tv channels on the tv. However, we were unaware of missing batteries in the remote and thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are glad you still enjoyed your holiday and hope you come back again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing holiday

  • 5 of 5

Fab location and lodge, nice and warm, well furnished and lots of nice touches such as board games, dvd's, tea/coffee, dishwasher tables, tea towels etc all supplied + bubbly and chocs in the fridge. Made us feel welcomed and our custom appreciated. Will be booking again sometime in the future

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

One of my favourite holidays

  • 4 of 5

Such a beautiful place, I recently visited with my boyfriend for a couple days, the lodge was clean and well supplied, loved the surprise gifts waiting for us when we arrived and the Christmas decorations! It felt very homely, we didn't see as much animals as we hoped except plenty of birds but we picked the right timing to witness the forest and lake at its most beautiful, frozen and heavy with snow made it almost magical. Wish we could have stayed for New Year's, will definitely visit again!

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely location and stunning property

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay at the lodge over Christmas period. Location and lodge are perfect and even though it was freezing outside the heating kept the inside at perfect temperature. It was a great touch to find the lodge had been decorated inside and out for the festive season. Everything inside was of a great standard and upon arrival there was even a bottle of champagne and box of truffles in the fridge which was a lovely touch.

As per usual for Christmas there was nothing worth watching on TV so the board games all got used which was great fun and not something we had done together for years.

They icing on the cake was definitely the hot tub though which was brilliant and was used every night. Loved being in the hot tub as the snow started to fall late Christmas day evening.

We will all definitely be back either in the summer or for next Christmas, absolutely perfect stay.

  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0





Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable damage deposit $69.24

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties