Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beaufort River Waterfront - Summer Special!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,300 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

3 MILES FROM DOWNTOWN BEAUFORT!

Updated cottage!!!! Brand new living room and master bedroom furniture, paint, new floors and washer and dryer! Lots of fresh updates and ready for new guests! Located on the Intercoastal Waterway between Savannah and Charleston, this little cottage will steal your heart away! Friendly neighbors, great neighborhood for walking or relaxing and marina located next door!

The homes in Port Royal Landing are built in the coastal cottage style architecture that was found on the southern Atlantic coast in the late 1600's and early 1700's.

This Little House by the Sea is in excellent condition, very comfortable, and right on the water! It has a king-size bed with flat screen TV in the master bedroom and twin beds with TV in the guest room. The living room has comfortable seating around a flat panel TV that is over the fireplace and is open to the dining room, sun room, and kitchen. There are two full baths, one with walk in shower, the other with a deep tub. The laundry room has a new washer and dryer.

You'll find a full set of dishes, pots and pans, and

just about everything needed for a comfortable stay.

There are new hardwood floors throughout. Plenty of closet space. Single floor living. Wireless internet access. Fenced back yard.

The house is only three miles from historic Beaufort! Take a carriage ride and learn the local history, enjoy wonderful restaurants, shop, or just sit by the water, relax, and watch the boats. You may even see a porpoise or two!

There's good food and drink at the marina's Back Porch Grill located right next door for last minute meals!

Hunting Island State Park is only 16 miles away with 5 miles of beautiful natural beach!

This Little House by the Sea is the perfect place for a vacation or honeymoon!

More Details

Owner
Anne
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 2, 2017

About Anne

I live in Hendersonville, NC but my heart is in Port Royal, SC!! I have 2 sons and 2 grand children who often visit the cottage with me. I rescue dogs through a local non-profit and currently have 2 fur babies I adopted that no one else wanted (they missed out!).

Anne purchased this cottage in 2005

Why Anne chose South Carolina

I bought this house on the spot in 2004! I updated the interior in 2017. This is where I will retire. There is no place like Port Royal Landing!

A little piece of heaven right here on earth!

Amenities

Port Royal Landing Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Village
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Showers in both bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • King size bed (1), Twin or Single Beds (2) Two twin beds in guest room
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
This house is right on the Intracoastal Waterway so the views are spectacular, sunrise to sunset! Wifi included!

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

Beaufort River Waterfront - Summer Special!
average rating of 4.928571 based on 14 reviews
5

Our summer stay.

  • 5 of 5

Really enjoy the house, location and proximity to the downtown area, all is wonderful.

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank You! I'm so glad that you have had a good time, and hope that you will plan to come back again, one day soon! I feel like we are old friends! Anne
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful week at the Cottage by the Sea

  • 5 of 5

My husband & I just spent a week at the Cottage by the Sea. It was perfect for our week of relaxation, sightseeing, exploring & golf. The location was perfect - easy to get to Beaufort and the surrounding sea islands, as well as Hilton Head & Bluffton. The house has a great layout, very clean & spectacular views! It is well appointed with very comfortable furniture. Ann is a pleasure to work with, offering lots of suggestions on places to eat & golf. Anyone planning on spending a week in this area should definitely consider staying at this charming cottage!

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Carolyn! Thank you so much for writing such a nice review! It was a pleasure having you, and I hope that you will plan to come back one day soon! Fun knowing that you are from New Jersey, too, where I have the very best memories! Please keep in touch! Anne
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Shipshewana, IN
4

Needs a little TLC

  • 4 of 5

We have just returned home after staying a month at The Little House by the Sea. The location is fine, however it needs some attention. Really minor things for the most part but you need these things fixed to have this place ever get 5 stars.

All 3 way lights need 3 way bulbs-people like to read.

Pull chain in master closet needs to be permanently attached. Even gently pulling has it come off. To reattach you need a step stool and flashlight to see.

1 blind in kitchen and 1 in living room need fixing. Both handles to shut blinds are broken, the living room one is just laying on the sill. If my husband wasn't tall I would need a step stool to turn it shut.

These items are a little more serious.

The toilet in the Master Bath is totally loose. Upon arrival when I sat down the whole thing tipped. It needs to be repaired. I can't believe the cleaning person hasn't noticed this. No tools there to even tighten it.

The Master Bed is actually dangerous in the height of it. They have a 2 step stair for you to put next to it to get into bed. We are tall people and that was a stretch to do. It is a massive bed with 4 posters. The left bottom poster is totally stripped and comes right off. My husband touched it when he walked by and it fell right off. Could probably glue it on. Neither one of us felt comfortable sleeping in such a high bed for fear of falling off.

Deck and deck furniture need some care. Deck should be sanded and sealed very rough rails and the furniture is rusting away. My husband sat down the first day and the back leg of the chair was so rusted it just bent and he fell backwards. Not enjoyable at all.

Finally the furniture. The sun porch furniture is almost like something from a 50's trailer. Stiff and uncomfortable. Living room couches were sleepers that obviously were old. No support at all.

It would not take much to fix these items and make this a better rental. The outside furniture on the porch as you come in is a dirty white wrought iron table and 2 chairs that no adult could even sit on. It is not an inviting entrance.

The owner was very nice to work with and very easy to get ahold of. I was going to write her and let her know these things but I feel an honest review of this home would help others. We have stayed at VRBO homes for at least 20 years and find small things matter. There was not 1 bit of information about the home or area other than what to do with the trash.

  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ohhhh dear......so sorry to have just read this review! I try to get down and check the house as often as I can, but I am going to have do better!.. Thank you , Colleen, for the time that it took to write this review! I will correct all that you have mentioned, as soon as possible! Anne
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Ellicott City, MD
5

Location, location, location--and more

  • 5 of 5

After four and a half months of temporary housing as we awaited closing on our new home, we had the great fortune of staying in Anne's Little House by the Sea. If the home were available for sale, we may have been tempted to cancel the contract on our new home. The home was so welcoming, comfortable, and scenic--we loved the view from the rear deck of the McTeer Bridge, marina, and Beaufort River . The proximity of Historic Beaufort and Port Royal gave us the opportunity to explore historical sites, the waterfront parks, and the excellent restaurants--the area offers visitors so much; there is always something going on. We spent many hours taking advantage of the warm weather sitting outside on the deck reading and sipping cocktails while captivated by the picture-perfect view. One December night, we enjoyed watching the marina's ships, decked out with their Christmas lights, departing for the Beaufort Parade of Ships. The layout of the rooms--all on one level--provided openness, variety, and ease of flow. We very much enjoyed the nautical themes displayed in all of the rooms enhancing the marina view. The kitchen had all we needed to prepare home cooked meals. We felt quite at home, and the friendly neighbors helped make us feel welcome. Sometimes pictures on a website give an impression that isn't reality--not true with Anne's Little House. We can't just mention the plusses of the Little House without complimenting our gracious owner, Anne. We had already had a friendly email correspondence before arriving, but on the day we arrived, a lady renting next door raved about Anne's home and kindness and asked us to say "hello' for her. We couldn't agree more about our relationship with Anne. We feel as if we've been friends for a long time, not just several weeks. Now that we're Beaufort County residents, we looking forward to meeting Anne in person when she comes "home." Friends from Maryland have asked us where to stay when visiting the Beaufort area, and we have strongly sung the praises of Anne and her House by the Sea.

  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear John and Debbie, Thank you so much for writing such a kind review! It was a pleasure having you stay at the house and I appreciate all that you did while you were there! Now that you are in your new home, and living close by, I'm looking forward to a time when we can all get together! I'm sending all of my best wishes to you and your family, for a healthy and happy New Year! Thank you both so very much, and let's be sure to stay in touch! Anne
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5

We very much enjoyed our week's stay at the Little House by the Sea. It was perfect for our family of 4. There was plenty of room to spread out on the rainy afternoon we had, but also things to do with a chess and checkers board and a couple puzzles. The kitchen was great to make a couple meals in each day. The beds were comfortable and it was really nice having two bathrooms. We found the new washer and dryer very easy to use. It's located in a beautiful area that is close to many things.

We were in town for a wedding on Parris Island, but also visited Beaufort, Savannah, and Charleston. We enjoyed a lunch at Fat Patties, brunch at Red Rooster, and a dinner at the marina right next door. There is a Publix about 5 minutes away, which is great to pick up groceries for your stay.

We would highly recommend this rental!

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Gretchen! I'm so glad that you had a good time and hope that you will come back to Port Royal one day soon! Thank you so much for taking such good care of the house and for writing this nice review! Please keep in touch! Anne
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Loved it!!

  • 5 of 5

A perfect home away from home. Anne's cottage had all the comfort of home and all the charm of the South. It was spotless clean, the kitchen had everything we needed and more. Great views of the Marina and river, close to great restaurants and city of Beaufort and the neighbors were friendly. Also a great neighborhood for walks under the canopy of huge southern oaks draped in Spanish moss. Would highly recommend to anyone and Anne was super to work with.

  • Submitted: May 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking such good care of the house! It has been a pleasure getting to know you and little Katie! I hope you will plan to come back one day soon, and that you will keep in touch! Anne
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Map

Nearest Restaurant
Next door at the Marina's Back Porch Grill
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Port Royal Landing Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer Special
Jun 18 2017 - Aug 31 2017
7 night minimum stay
$850
$2,200
 
 
winter rate
Nov 1 2017 - Feb 28 2018
7 night minimum stay
$875
$2,475
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$1,025
$2,975
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $95 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 9.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties