Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Playa Coco Tropical Beach Front Retreat

Bedrooms 4
Space 1,600 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Casa Panama is your own vacation paradise right on the beach! Situated in an eco-friendly development where trees and grounds are left in their natural state, Casa Panama sits on a large, 1/3 acre parcel which affords lots of privacy.

This spacious home (not a condo) offers four large bedrooms, two full baths, a fully equipped kitchen, dining area, and large living room with views of the Pacific. Glass doors open to the wide, covered deck which is located only 80 feet from high tide. Here you can enjoy cocktails or dinner while watching the sunset on beautiful Playa Coco beach. You will also have your own private “Rancho” – 10 feet from the beach – in which to entertain, relax in your hammock, read, or watch the spectacular sunsets. Also from the “Rancho” you can see the mountains of Costa Rica’s Santa Elena peninsula.

Playa Coco is a secluded, pristine beach - considered one of the best in Nicaragua. The ocean is safe for children and families to swim, due to the gentle, gradual slope of the sand. Guests at Casa Panama also have access to the swimming pool at Puesta Del Sol restaurant, located 250 feet down the beach.

The quaint fishing village of San Juan Del Sur is a 25 minute drive to the north. Here local merchants offer fresh fruits and vegetables in the market place. You will also find small grocery stores, bakeries, gift shops, and a variety of good restaurants. Or buy your own fresh seafood – caught that day – at the fish markets located near the harbor.

The La Flor sea turtle preserve is 5 miles south of Playa Coco. Here, where the Green Ridley turtles are protected, large numbers come ashore between August and December to dig nests and lay their eggs. At times they even come ashore right in front of Casa Panama! From September through January the baby turtles are released back to the ocean from Playa Coco beach.

For the ultimate ocean front experience, we can put you in contact with an expert masseuse to soothe your stress away right there in your own Casa Panama “Rancho”. Feel the breeze and listen to the sound of the surf as you sink into peaceful relaxation.

Come stay at Casa Panama and make your tropical dream a reality!

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english, minimal Spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 2, 2018


Playa El Coco House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Rural ...
  • Away From It All
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Hot water
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Hot water
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • swimming


3.8/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

40% Complete
40% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
Playa Coco Tropical Beach Front Retreat
average rating of 3.8 based on 5 reviews

Right on the beach

  • 4 of 5

Spacious and bright. The house is right on the beach, the sandy end. Comfortable, with a kitchen which is quite adequate for a holiday stay. Local utilities were a bit spotty during our stay but it did not affect our enjoyment.

  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

I would stay here again!

  • 5 of 5

This house is huge. The bedrooms and bathrooms are very spacious. It is right on the beach. Playa el Coco is a wide flat beach that is good for kids. It is the Pacific so there are waves. My kids enjoyed learning to surf. I didn't see any surfers other than them. I imagine the waves are too small for adults, but that is why it was good for us. The sunsets here are magical with the fiery colors of the sky being reflected off the wet sand. There are only a few other people at the beach here. My friends from Tampa, Florida really enjoyed being at a beach where they didn't have to fight for parking and a place to put their beach towel. It is remote so the best bet is to bring a cooler full of food and drinks. The tiendas there are very sparsely stocked. On this trip we didn't need our 4x4 but on our last trip to Playa el Coco we were very glad we had a 4x4 SUV. If you are going during the rainy season (invierno to Nicas) then I recommend a four wheel drive. There is a small creek you have to cross that can swell and some sections that can get muddy and slippery. We made the five minute drive down to the turtle reserve of La Flor and saw a baby turtle hatching and making its' journey to the ocean. The internet is surprisingly good at the house. There is plenty of bottled water to drink and the kitchen is well equipped. My only complaint is that there needs to be shower head put on one of the showers and the bathtub doesn't have a faucet on it. (It's actually amazing to find a bathtub in a house in Nicaragua, so I was happy just with the bare pipe going into the tub.) The shower is a bit of an issue because the water tends to go all over the place and the stream is too narrow to really shower in. Overall, we were happy with this rental and would stay here again. I also feel it is a good value. There are some townhouses at the other end of the beach that charge a lot more per night and here you have your own house and yard on the beach.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear guest, Thank you for the honest, informative review. I will be traveling to Playa Coco in November to do my annual repairs and improvements, and will fix the items you mentioned. Again, thank you for the nice review. We are happy you chose Casa Panama for your vacation home, and that you enjoyed your time at Playa Coco. Please visit again. Be well
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Bítter sweet

  • 1 of 5

The owner informed US that check in time was at 12h00 pm......Oh surprise when we arrived about 1230 pm......the previous guests were still in the House which had not Been cleaned of course...

Finally Things got better.... The House is big but needs maintenance... A bit rusty, bathrooms on the old side... Needs New terrasse furniture.

The kitchen is well equiped and the House is right on the beach! The staff is Very kind!

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm an absentee owner living in the USA, so my guests are my eyes regarding the home conditions. Your input is important to me. I rely on the management company there, to have the home ready at all times for guests. They are correct, I did inform them that the home would be available at 12:00 PM, so it was a surprise to me also, that the home wasn't ready when they arrived. To my knowledge, my home wasn't booked on the night before there arrival date. I have since contacted the manager, and he acknowledged that they had an unexpected last minute guest arrive the night before. These quests were slow in vacating, so the house was being cleaned when my quests arrived. Apparently they only had to wait half hour for access. Regarding the furnishings and home condition. This home is located directly on the beach, so do to the salt air, everything has a short life. Agree, all the furniture isn't new, but functional. I go there once a year to upgrade, and do preventive maintenance. NOT ALL, but a lot of guests come to party and do trash the homes they rent. Please respect the homes you rent, and leave it in good order for the next family to enjoy. Again, I rely on the management to keep it maintained. Unfortunately, Nicaraguan's aren't big on preventative maintenance, nor the standards some folks expect. Last year, I installed all new aluminum windows. new solar hot water system, new dining chairs for the deck dining table. Sincerely, Walt, Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Quiet Beach house on beautiful white sandy beach

  • 4 of 5

Myself and 8 others stayed here for 4 days over the Semana Santa weekend. We were 4 couples and 1 single, which the house accommodated with space to spare. We were in San Juan which was much too crazy for us and escaped to this gem of a beach house for the weekend. It was exactly what we needed.

It felt very private and secluded, but there was a restaurant 2 or 3 doors down on the beach and a little "mini super" a 5 minute walk to the main road. The mini super had a lot of things like ice, spices, bread, eggs, toiletries and even some fresh produce. The restaurant had decent food and some yummy blended drinks which we partook in most afternoons. A word of warning though - the service is VERY slow and you need to flag down a server if you'd like to place an order. It also closes pretty early - don't expect to arrive at 8pm for dinner (show up by 6 to be safe).

The beach never got very busy at all, especially out in front of the house (the busiest would be maybe 2 groups of people north of the restaurant). The busiest area on the beach was in front of the restaurant (which is also a small hotel). A few of us were surfing and we were usually the only ones out. It certainly wasn't the best surfing beach in the area (inconsistent and the big ones would often close out). There are world class options nearby, but without a vehicle to take us anywhere it worked for us.

The house itself was very spacious and open, with high ceilings and hanging ceiling fans. Each of the 4 bedrooms were very large with a HUGE armoire to unpack into. Part of the reason for the lack of a fifth star is that only 1 bedroom had A/C. Luckily we were the ones to get it, but our friends said that it was very hot at night. The other bedrooms do have ceiling fans above the beds though.

Being a beach house, it got pretty sandy, but there is a nice outdoor shower in the backyard on your way back from the beach to rinse off the salt and sand.

We cooked most of our own meals and the kitchen was very well stocked. The fridge and freezer were also a good size. I'd recommend getting as many groceries as you can in a larger city, because there is not a whole lot at the mini super. I would also recommend renting a vehicle. It was a pain to organize rides there and back, and would have been nice to be able to drive to town if needed or to another nearby beach.

Overall I would definitely recommend this place. It is just a great relaxing getaway.

  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2015
  • Stayed: April 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

un endroit idyllique!

  • 5 of 5

la maison est une merveille!! superbement agréable avec une terrasse gigantesque, de grandes chambres lumineuses avec vues sur la mer, un vaste espace central de réception avec cuisine ouverte. et un accès direct en quelques secondes sur une plage quasi déserte.... la mer est supra agréable, bien fraîche, des vagues magnifiques: du pur régal!

  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: Abritel, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Lydia, Thank you for the pleasant review, and choosing Casa Panama for your vacation time. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay at Playa Coco, and hope to have you as a return quest in the future. Sincerely, Walt Lander
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
120 Miles
Managua International
Nearest Barpub
45 Metres
Puesto del Sol
Nearest Restaurant
45 Metres
Puesto Del Sol
Nearest Beach
15 Metres
Playa Coco
Car: recommended

ATV's / quads and scooters, are available to rent in San Juan. You can also experience Zip lining through the forest near San Juan.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Insurance $59

The month of July rate is excluded from "standard pricing"

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.