check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Owner

Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Wi. Deer Lake Cabin & Boat Rental - Relax in St. Croix Falls

17 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Balsam Lake Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6)

***Special***Aug. 20 to 27 $795wk. ****located on beautiful Deer Lake - premier recreation and Muskie Lake in Western Wisconsin, this vacation home offers something for the whole family. Handicap accessible with LIFT CHAIR for easy in and out. House is just a few short steps to the water, and spectacular sunset views. Enjoy fishing & swimming from the dock or pontoon, shallow beach perfect for children; this will be a cabin vacation you will remember year after year.

This NEWLY remodeled cabin has a full eat in kitchen, large living area, two comfortable bedrooms with three beds total, and a NEW bathroom, all with lake views. NEW this year SATALITE INTERNET! Enjoy the convenience of your own private boat launch, dock, and Pontoon/Speedboat Rental(Full Day or Week) for the complete vacation package.

Call 651-295-9001 or email for additional pictures.-

Keywords: Lake house

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair accessible
Owner
Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

Can't say enough about the fishing. Right off the dock you can catch Bass, Perch, and Panfish. We average about thirty between the dock, and the lake a day.

The Cabin is very comfortable, and quite functional. The beach is perfect for our three and five year old to practice their swimming. What more can we say, "We love it".
Sep 2005
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.2
based on 17 traveler reviews

Wi. Deer Lake Cabin & Boat Rental - Relax in St. Croix Falls
average rating of 4.1764708 based on 18 reviews
Milan, Illinois
5

Charlie & Sandy Cheesman

  • 5 of 5

This is our 3rd year and our expectations are never disappointed. This year we made a two week trip out of it and loved every minute of it. We love this house on the beautiful Lake and are looking forward to next year already. The fishing is amazing and the layout of the house and Deer Lake couldn't be any better. Thanks for another great vacation! Hoping to see you next year!!!

.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We also love our little perfect spot on the lake!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
DeForest, Wi
1

Not worth your time.

  • 1 of 5

We rented this cabin for a week in August 2015. Upon arrival found the cottage unlocked, later discovered that both doors had locks that didn't work. The carpets were dirty and stained. The furniture was covered with dirty blankets with holes in them. The sinks backed up. There is a window AC, looks to be 50 yrs old, held in place with a 2x10. We had pre rented a pontoon boat also. It was like the cabin old, shabby and dirty, but it did float. We left early and went home disappointed. After a month of waiting for our deposit to be returned we still haven't seen it. MY advise to others - forget this place.

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I try to be fair with the damage deposit and hardly ever have a problem with guest leaving the house unacceptable, but in this case the carpet needed to be shampooed extra cleaning through out. Taking shoes off at the door would help? I decided to not refund the damage deposit and in turn they decided to leave a nasty review to even the score. This review is not consistent with other reviews on the property just days before. Please read some other review before disreguarding this cabin because of guest that did not want to take responsibility for their own actions. Thanks, Deer Lake Cabin.
Did you find this review helpful?
22 0
Wanaque NJ USA
5

Great Value!

  • 5 of 5

We were looking for a cabin in the St Croix Falls Area and came across this one. What sold us on the property was the ability to have a boat available to us. So we negotiated a price including the pontoon boat and the cabin. It is usually very expensive to rent a pontoon boat and therefore we felt the price including the cabin was very reasonable. After some pretty wild late afternoon weather we went out fishing on July 15th. About an hour into our fishing trip I landed a 36 inch muskie. This was my first Muskie and made the trip. We let it go of course. The Eagles were also flying all over the place and even came within 100 yards to look at my topwater bait. Read about how to Muskie fish before you go. I caught mine using a fast troll and a Rapala off the pontoon boat. If you are looking for a cabin and a boat on a large lake (940 acres) this one fits the bill.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Alma, WI
4

Great vacation

  • 4 of 5

Had a great time. The fishing was excellent. Caught an 8" and a 9" blue gill right off the dock. The water is so clear you can watch the fish bite. Also enjoyed the families of geese and their goslings - I think there were 4 families and a pair of loons. Weather was pretty good and there's lots to do within an hour's drive. Could have used a toaster where both sides worked and the full channel guide on the TV which we didn't get until 5 days in, but overall one of the nicer cabins we stayed at. The cabin being right on the water is a definite plus.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

Great Place for the 4th of July weekend.

  • 5 of 5

Had a great time at the Deer Lake cabin. The owner and his care taker we very prompt with any concerns we had. We had a few minor issues with one of the pontoons, but it was nothing the owner could have done anything about without having a on call mechanic. Over the 4th of July it was just not feasible. He did try and fix it for a few hours, but to no avail, new battery, new spark plugs ect.... The good thing was he had a 2nd pontoon that he allowed us to take out. All in all it was a really fun weekend.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The pontoon was a simple fix and all is good. I always have a backup for these situations. Great people, thanks.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
St. Paul, MN
3

Sufficient but not Impressive

  • 3 of 5

Proximity to entertainment and stores A+. The road noise was loud, but expected. The lake is clear and sandy. There is no walk out beach. To get in, you have to use the dock or climb over rocks. Having small kids, that ended up being a pain because they couldn't get in and out of the water independently. The house and shed were well stocked with things one would need, however, it was a little too stocked. Everything was full making it difficult to store your own things. Additionally the house wasn't as clean or as comfortable as I would have liked given the price point - there were several minor things like obvious stained carpet, blankets with holes covering the couch, bug-filled cob webs in many ceiling corners, dirty dishes in the cupboards, etc. Upon arrival we were informed of a mouse in the house. We had to move most of the traps due to our kids, but one managed to catch it, which we then had to dispose of - yuck. The septic alarm went off, we had to contact the caretaker to schedule a pumping-not things I like to do on vacation. We arrived on a Sat. and shared the dock with the caretaker, his family, and friends several times through out our first few days, as they were fishing the lake. We met the owner and his family too, as he spent a day on the lake as well. Minor as the unanticipated interruptions were, they took away from the idea that this was our private family lake vacation. The AC worked well, but the main AC is a portable unit vented through the kitchen window. It’s large and took up an entire seat at the kitchen table. It was set up on a cart off the ground, making it slightly unsafe and a bit of a tripping hazard, especially since it was generally in the way around the table. The pontoon was great, although fickle (you need instruction to turn it on), but I would recommend it at this price point if you desire time on the water. There was some confusion with the caretaker, and we failed to fill the gas tank at the end of our rental period. This resulted in losing our deposit. Slightly overcharged there, but not a total rip-off. Additionally we were told that our dog had left a mud print on the carpet, which might be the case, but I can’t say for sure because of all of the other stains on the carpet. All of these things I mentioned didn’t scare us off staying for the week, we’re flexible and generally easy going, but I wouldn’t go back just because I was looking for something nicer at this price point – quick drive from Mpls though.

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello, I would like to apologize for my guests comments regarding my property. This is simply a case of sabotage based on the fact my guest left muddy carpet from a pet and no gas in the pontoon, which is in the rental agreement. I require a deposit for just these incidences, which may happen from time to time. In not returning their deposit their response was to quote "Shut me down" and leaving a negative review with false accusations was their revenge. I can dispute everything negative in their review with proof of it being opposite of any other review given. There are no mice, the cabin is cleaned by a professional service and the AC does work great! I can set up a showing of my cabin to anyone interested to insure it is exactly as listed. Please feel free to contact me about this review or any other questions. Thanks, Jim. Owner "Deer Lake Cabin"
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0

Map

Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Mpls/St. Paul
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Kassel Tap
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
St. Croix Valley Golf Course
Nearest Train
10 Miles
Osceola, Wi.
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Wayne's

Casino (Turtle Lake, WI, ), 2 State Parks, WATER SLIDES, Canoes, Paddle Boat Rides, Go Carts, Train Rides, Stock Car Racing

Photos

Rates & Availability

Balsam Lake Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$175
From
$225
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,099
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 6.0%

Please call to confirm dates and questions 651-295-9001

Deposit required. Balance due at check-in. We take all major Credit Cards,

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Balsam Lake Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (2), Baby Cribs (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Boat
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
DVD/CD Player, Cable T, V, table & chairs, countertop w/ barstools, Oven/Stove, Coffee Maker, Pontoon Rental $295wk,(Daily Rental)$125, Fire Pit, outdoor table w/chairs and, Private Boat Launch with dock, Great fishing too

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties