Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Kekailoa Cottage on Kailua Beach!

Sleeps3
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Space sq. ft.
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Popular Features
  • Washing Machine
  • Outdoor Grill
  • non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning
  • Wireless Internet
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • children welcome

Overview

About the property

Studio, Studio, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-3)

Aloha! Welcome to Kailua Beach and Kekailoa Cottage.

The cottage is just 100 yards from the Kailua Beach accessed by our private beach path. The lot is the first lot from ocean front. You can smell the salt air and hear the awesome sounds of ocean surf. Enjoy swimming, bodyboarding, walking or just plain relaxing in an area of the beach less traveled by most. All these features offers a unique 'get-away' from the urban bustle.

The cottage has hardwood floors, new bedframe and headboard, two sitting chairs with ottomans and a sofa chair covertible to a futon. Other amenities include dressers, lamps, and an energy efficient ceiling fan. The roof has been coated with white acrylic covering reflecting 90% of the suns heat energy. This new covering has performed wonderfully, keeping the cottage inside cool.

Our online calendar is maintained update-to-date. Please check the calendar for availability. Expect a timely response to inquires for requested days shown open on the calendar.

This fully furnished beach studio exceeds all expectations from our visitors. Enjoy beautiful sunny days or tranquil nights on a courtyard lanai surrounded by tropical vegetation. Courtyard has table, umbrella, four chairs and two lounging chairs.

The cottage is close to interstate freeway and roads leading to Honolulu, the airport, and Kaneohe.

The cottage is a detached studio having a separate entrance to the second floor accommodation. 500 square feet of living space sits on a large 13,300 square foot, secure, fenced lot. There is a large opene yard for private sunbathing or just relaxing. A queen-size bed is perfect for a couple. Private bathroom with shower on same level (picture of bath is coming soon). Air conditioning and ceiling fan cools the entire cottage both day and night. Kitchenette has full size refrigerator, many appliances and bar-top counter with bar stools. For those that need connectivity to the outside world, broadband internet access is provided via high speed wireless access at no additional charge. Dedicated washer/dryer for your exclusive use is located outside of the cottage. Plenty of secure, offstreet parking for one or more vehicles large or small.

Come relax and enjoy Kekailoa Cottage and this unique setting on Kailua Beach.

Keywords: cottage, Studio, Beachside, Kailua Beach

More Details

Owner
Rick
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
March 20, 2017

Amenities

Kuulei Tract Studio Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • studio
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 3
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 baby crib , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1) Futon can serve
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1) Futon can serve another adult. , Child Beds (1) Futon can serve as a child bed, Baby Cribs (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Kitchenette has full size refrigerator and sink, hot plate, toaster oven, microwave, coffee maker, blender, all cooking utensils. Ceiling Fan, Wireless High-speed Internet Connection, DVD/VCR, Exclusive Washer & Dryer, Additional Hot/Cold Outdoor Shower, Outside Courtyard with Table, Lounging Chairs, and Large Bar-B-Que Grill

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(68 traveler reviews)

Kekailoa Cottage on Kailua Beach!
average rating of 4.897059 based on 68 reviews
5

Perfect place to stay in Kailua - Quiet, Great Location and Private

  • 5 of 5

For background, I was looking for a rental for me, my husband and son (3 yrs old). I wanted it to be located in Kailua (where the locals live and away from crazy touristy Waikiki), walking distance to beach, stand-alone unit, and included amenities such as kitchen, beach equipment, and AC. This rental included all of the above and more....the highlights for me were the following:

1) The unit is above a car port, which is separate from the main house, which was perfect. Giving us more privacy than a unit attached to the main house. But we had access to all the amenities included in a main house such as our own laundry, dedicated parking spot, the whole lot was gated (perfect b/c we have a kid), outdoor shower with hot water (this is so key) so we could wash off after the beach, and more! While there isn't a stove-- the hot plate worked perfectly so we could at least cook breakfast every morning and there was a microwave as well if we wanted to heat up leftovers or food. There are all the basic appliances and things you need in a kitchen for a good vacation stay. One thing I noticed is many rentals don't have AC, but this one does and it actually works! My husband is super sensitive to the heat so the chance to be able to use AC to cool us down after a hot day/activity is a huge plus in making the unit so comfortable to stay in. One more thing, water pressure of the shower was strong + hot.

2) The location was better than I expected (it exceeded expectations). Not only was it literally a 2 min walk from the private beach, the house was less than a mile away from Kailua town center--- which is super cute to walk around to get coffee/breakfast in the morning, grab essentials (there's a Target, Whole Foods, AND a regular supermarket), or dinner etc. There are also cute shops if you're in the mood for shopping as well, which was a great plus. The house was also about 1 mile walk the other direction to Lanikai beach, pillbox hikes, etc one of the most scenic parts of oahu. Kailua was also a fast drive (depending on traffic) to the North Shore (<1 hr) or down to Waikiki (15-30 min) so great for dinner or site seeing.

3) While this location is on a semi busy street so you will hear cars..but we didn't really hear much of anything else. The neighbors and owners were all very low key and quiet which was a huge plus. We would have the AC on at night, which helped as white noise and blocked out the street noise.

  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and found everything to your liking! Since you left, we have upgraded the studio with a new two burner hot plate. More upgrades are in the planning stages. The hot water in the studio is totally heated by solar panels, although there is an electricity backup in case the sun does not shine adequately, especially in the winter; the breaker is left off most of the time. I think these folks might be coming back to Kekailoa studio!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Portland
5

Amazing!

  • 5 of 5

what a wonderful place to stay! We loved Rick and Tam. They were so helpful and the place was just unbelievable. We want to go back now!

  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Excelsior, MN
5

Cute and complete.

  • 5 of 5

Great hosts and attention to details. The second story cottage has great views and is very comfortable thanks to lots of windows to let in the ocean breezes. Beautiful yard and a short walk to the world's most beautiful beach.

  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your review and kind words. We strive to make your stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible. We know most visitors travel from far away and want nothing more than to sit on the beach and breath the salt air and listen to waves on the sand. We have full accompaniment of beach gear including chairs, umbrella, coolers, boogie boards, etc. Come enjoy Kailua and "most beautiful beach"!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

GREAT BEACH Access

  • 2 of 5

The beach access was awesome a 2-3 minute walk. The "cottage" is really a one bedroom efficiency. We were disappointed as it is very old and dated.

  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kekailoa Cottage is clearly not what these folks were expecting. The studio is accurately and clearly described in the on-line write-up. As a studio, we offer 500 sq ft of space to include a queen bed, bathroom, kitchenette, sitting area, and storage closet. This rental is not a one bedroom unit, which implies a separate room for a bedroom and a much higher rate per night than $195. We are sorry these folks were not happy, which we had no indication until the review. For future visitors, please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable while you are here. We can't make the space we have any bigger, but my wife and I will strive to make you as comfortable as possible. For being "old and dated" the bathroom and kitchenette area need updating which is in the short term plans to upgrade this year. We believe this is offset by the 500 thread count pima cotton sheets, oversized 100% cotton bath and beach towels, very close proximity to the beach, and all the other things that make Kekailoa great! Aloha!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
St. Catharines Ontario
5

Location! Location!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I stayed in the "cottage" for three nights in early February. The accommodation is a bright, breezy and well equipped studio apartment over Ricks garage ...does not sound so great but it was ! The host was very accommodating... allowed us to stay until late afternoon of our departure day so we could have another day on the beach. There is a lovely patio with furniture provided for renters of the unit. But I save the best for last.....proximity to one of the most beautiful beaches in the world...Kailua Beach ! It was just a short walk down a private path and wow! I am not even a big beach fan...my wife is...but it is spectacular . The sunrise! Would go back again to this place if I was ever so fortunate to spend more time on Oahu. Bob Miller St. Catharines , Ontario , Canada.

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you were very happy with Kekailoa Cottage. Glad you love the closeness to the beach and the sound of waves crashing as we do. Most everything is provided that you could possibly need; beach chairs and towels, cooler; and inside the cottage: appliances, air conditioning, kitchen equipment, all linens, and more. We can accommodate most late checkouts or early checkins, if there is vacancy between arrivals and departures. Aloha!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location and very close to the beach! Really nice room!

  • 4 of 5

We really enjoyed staying here! Perfect location for both beach hangouts as well as sland trips. Doesn't take mote then an hour to get anywhere on the island. The room had everything you might need except partially for wifi coverage which could be a bit slow. But the owners were more than happy to assist with whatever we needed.

  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you the review. We strive to ensure all our guests have a wonderful experience at Kekailoa Cottage. Regarding the internet, we have NEVER has a compliant like this. The internet download speed 200MBS which is a high speed connection through Oceanic Time Warner. There was not any disruption in service that I know of and I always had fast connection in the main house. Maybe our guests experienced slow speed because their devices and service are from Sweden, their home country. Regarding driving times, the driving times stated on our website is the same as anywhere else on the internet. Driving time will take longer if driving in peak rush hour traffic or traveling to remote places on the island with single land roads. Additionally, making wrong turns would also add to the driving time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Rates & Availability

Kuulei Tract Studio Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$175
$1,200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $100
Credt card processing $40 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.96%

Cancellation Policy:
Full refund minus $50.00 is reservation is cancelled by renter and rebooking of entire stay is completed. Prorated refund for partial rebooking with $50.00 cancellation fee. Refund can not be given if none of the days are rebooked.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Honolulu International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Buzz's Steak House
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
H-1 Freeway
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Buzz's Steak House
Nearest Beach
0.05 Miles
Kailua Beach
Car: not necessary

Bodyboarding, Kite-surfing

Photos

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties