Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Farmhouse with Own Private Pool Full of Character and Charm

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Space 1,614 sq. ft.
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7

Situated in the quaint little village of Munxar is this 300 year old converted semi detached farmhouse with private swimming pool and all modern age commodities.

Beyond the lounge area is the pool, sundeck and Bar-B-Q area with spectacular views of ‘Lunzjata’ and ‘Xlendi’ valley, blue skies and the Gozitan skyline.

2016 addition is the, 75sqm sundeck / lounge also all overlooking the valley views.

Located right in the country side but minutes away from all amenities with tasteful Mediterranean decor throughout one can truly enjoy the best of two worlds.

Munxar is conveniently positioned a few minutes from The capital of Gozo ‘Victoria’ (where all the banks, shops, boutiques and supermarkets are) and a few minutes away from the magical ‘Xlendi Bay’. Activities in Xlendi include boat hire, scuba diving and other water sports. Xlendi is also where some of the best restaurants on the island are found and you can dine by candle light out on the terraces inches away from the beach under the clear, blue, Mediterranean skies.

More Details

Owner
Jeff Cassar
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
August 21, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

Dear Jeff&Mariella,

thanks for your email. The stay in the houses was wonderful. Thanks for your help and hospitality,



Warm regards from BCN,



Pere



Pere.
Jun 2015
  • 1 of 9

Amenities

Munxar Farmhouse Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • farmhouse (semi-detached)
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1614 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Village
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Free Local Calls
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Sunbed
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Freezer
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Main Bedroom - 1 queen , 1 baby crib
    Bedroom 2 - 3 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Beach Umbrellas
  • Deck / Patio
  • Deck Furniture
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch Furniture
  • Terrace
  • Yard
  • 7 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(21 traveler reviews)

52% Complete
38% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Farmhouse with Own Private Pool Full of Character and Charm
average rating of 4.428571 based on 30 reviews
3

Lovely building, fantastic island BUT...

  • 3 of 5

...in need of some TLC. Really struggling to write this review because despite everything we had a brilliant holiday in Gozo. However, we wouldn't return to this property for a number of reasons. The price of the holiday was slightly more expensive than we usually pay but given the good reviews we had high expectations. After settling in we spotted that there was no bed linen or towels for the downstairs bedroom - we transferred some spare bedding from the upstairs so were just short of a few towels. Then as night fell the fuses tripped and we were left in darkness. We managed to find one fuse box which didn't solve the problem so called Jeff who directed us to the other fuse box and problem solved. He kept asking what we had plugged in and whilst we hadn't done anything I was left feeling in the wrong. I also told him about the bedding and he promptly arranged to have the housekeeper sort in the morning but again no apology. The fuses continued to trip over the next couple of days and it was discovered to be a broken pool pump... not us!

I had reason to call Jeff later on in the week when a family was let into the house. They had been transferred by a car hire company and taken to the wrong house - quite an in uncomfortable moment for everyone but easily sorted although with little customer care.

The house itself was not uncomfortably dirty but not particularly clean -the worst being - a plughole blocked with hair, brown slime behind the taps in one room and the fridge freezer was a little rusty and mouldy. The kitchen was oddly equipped - not many mugs, lots of glasses and a bizarre amount of plates and frying pans. There were chips in 50% of the crockery, a few of the frying pans had seen better days and the can opener rusted beyond belief. None of this spoilt our holiday just sadly made the house feel a little unloved and uncared for.

The worst problem we encountered was the heat! With no air conditioning and temperatures of around 36 deg not one of us slept properly at night. My son had the back bedroom and it was stifling - the room did have a ceiling fan and floor fan but it didn't seem to help. He ended up sleeping downstairs on the sofa.

Not a particularly positive review but aside from the air conditioning everything I have mentioned could be easily sorted and the house itself is lovely, the pool is great (very well used over the week), the views fantastic and Gozo was beautiful.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Emma, Thank you for your review. Some of the points you mentioned have been noted and will be acted upon and we wish to thank you for pointing these out to us. We are constantly working hard to improve and these comments help us and are appreciated. On the other hand, other comments you made, without going into detail, felt a bit unfair, unnecessary and harsh. We are very sorry we did not meet your full expectations but glad you still had a brilliant holiday and found the house to be lovely. Best Wishes,
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
5

Clean character home with stunning view!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I chose to vacation on Gozo for our 20th anniversary in May 2016. Jeff kindly met us at the airport as planned and we exchanged payment and keys. The house is in Munxar, a sleepy little town about an hour away by car and ferry. The house is very typical of the island and well renovated and kept. Thick stone walls and a steep spiral staircase are charming and the high ceilings upstairs are lovely. The kitchen is equipped with everything you need for cooking during your stay. Although the pool was beautiful, it was a little cool for swimming most of the week we were there. The patio is lovely and provides stunning views of the nearby town. We spent many hours outside relaxing. We also walked to Xlendi for dinner several times so that we could share some wine and not worry about driving afterward. It's a good walk down to the water (3km?) and the hike back up to Munxar always helped us get a good night's rest! I highly recommend Jeff and Mariella's villa for a very quiet and peaceful holiday. There are very few amenities in the quaint town of Munxar, however, so a car was essential for us. Don't forget to visit the amazing Sanaa cliffs nearby!

  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you have fond memories of gozo and that you found our house to be comfortable and a good base to enjoy your holiday. Hope we will meet again in the near future. Our best wishes. J&M
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Poole, Dorset UK
4

Fantastic quaint property

  • 4 of 5

We had a fantastic time at the property, loved the quaintness, tried to work out how it had been changed/remodelled over the years. The pool was a blessing on very hot days. The chickens early chorus was perhaps too early, and the goats walking through the village was delightful. Munxar village we loved, people were friendly, it was clean, and easy to navigate around. We toured to most parts of the island and mainland Malta, loved the history.

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello, Thank you for your review. We are so happy you enjoyed Bebbux and Gozo too and thank you so much for saying so. We hope we will have the pleasure to accommodate you again in the future. Many thanks, Jeff
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Characterful and homely

  • 5 of 5

We love this place it is cosy and full of character. The rooms are huge and watching the sun go down is magical. There are good shops, restaurants and beaches nearby so we really find it home from home. Would highly recommend it.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your wonderful review.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Parfait

  • 4 of 5

Le village est l'un des plus charmant de l'ile.

La maison est tout aussi charmante, l’accueil est chaleureux.

Si vous avez envie d'un moment pour faire un break, pour profiter de la douceur de l'ile et d'un lieu encore authentique, réservez sans hésiter

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to be able to accommodate you again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Excellent, loved everything!

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic stay! The farmhouse is lovely, spacious and full of character and we really enjoyed the pool. Brilliant view from the living room. The kitchen is well equipped. The area is quiet and secluded. Jeff and the house keeper were very helpful and available when needed. We don't usually return to the same places for holiday as we like to explore more, this is an exception, we can't wait to go back.

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello again, Thank you for your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed gozo and our Bebbux farmhouse and are so grateful for you saying so. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we look forward to welcoming you again. Best wishes, Jeff & Mariella
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
35 Kilometres
Malta International Airport
Nearest Ferry
8 Kilometres
Mgarr Harbour
Car: recommended

Munxar is wedged between the sloping sides of two parallel valleys and it offers some of the most beautiful landscapes in Gozo.

Being situated between the capital ’Victoria and close to Xlendi bay ( both being about 3.5km away) it is a very sought after location.

Xlendi Bay is a small fishing village engulfed in a fjord like inlet amongst high cliffs. Popular with tourists as it is ideal for bathing and as diving resort especially in summer. Otherwise foreigners and locals could gaze spell bound admiring late spring and early autumn sunsets that adorn the waters with gilded streaks described only by poets and often captured by artists or keen photographers.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties